Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
HI Portland Hawthorne Located at 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland Hawthorne
USA
Portland Connecticut 97214 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon
89% 344
45.5120750 -122.6344160
HI Portland Hawthorne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
7.4

I booked a last minute trip to Portland on a Saturday and was only left with one choice of hostel for my price range. Not bad at all! The room I was in was very well laid out and spacious. Convenient number locks, so no keys necessary! It was quite a bit out of the way of downtown, where I was going to a show, but the bus lines were convenient enough to make it work. The hostel itself was was laid out in kind of a confusing pattern, but it was quiet and safe and warm. All I needed, really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

I wasn't expecting this place to be so good! It's super clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful all the time! Would stay here again next time I'm in Portland :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel! We would love to have you again, next time you are in town.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a really cute Hostel. It only takes you like 10 minutes to get to Downtown Portland and in the area of the Hostel are a lot of cute shops and nice places to eat. The staff is super friendly and I would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Dec 2016
9.1

The HI in Hawthorne is in a cute neighborhood with a lot of little cafes and boutiques. It is about 15-20 minutes from downtown with the bus, but the connection is pretty good. The house is great! Super ecologically. And all the staff are super nice and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and also for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
9.1

First time staying at a hostel and let me say it was a good experience overall. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was nice and and accommodating. It was located at a very cool neighborhood with lots of interesting places to eat and things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
10.0

The rooms were spacious. The entire hostel was kept really clean. The facilities were great and there was nothing to complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mgarrett
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

It's a very pleasant and calm hostel. Def not for people who want to party, but they do have weekly pub crawls. The hostel is located on a street filled with plenty of restaurants, food trucks, bars, and shops. It was only a 10 min drive (20 min bus ride) to downtown. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They were helpful with planning what to do and when. Would I stay here again? Yes! It was clean, I felt safe, and it's located close to downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

I have stayed at a LOT of hostels in the last 12-24 months and without hesitation I say this is the best one I've been at. The hostel is very clean, very well kept. The staff are great and very helpful. The location is superb in a great city--Portland. Bike rental is SUPER reasonable and available lockers, automatically locked dorm doors and key-in front door at night makes security very well done. Overall a great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
8.9

Over the pass 10 years I have stayed at the Hawthorne hostel many times a very warm friendly old Victorian house with great staff this was the same as all of my passed visits

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

I had the best time here. I arrive early to check in and they kept my luggage in an outside storage area. After I checked out, I had some time before my flight and they kept my thing locked away free of charge. I felt so safe to leave my stuff around in the room and I felt that it was very spacious. It is located in the center of the Hawthorne district with shopping, food, bars, and anything else you could ask for in walking distance. It is also right in front of a bus stop. Had a great time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.