Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2017
9.1

I loved the location and how small the hostel is. Despite the size, they had plenty of amenities like bike rentals and cooked breakfast. ++Drug and alcohol free++

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Stupendous staff, cozy rooms, great location! Couldn't have been happier (:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marta_taba3022
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Best hostal I have been so far within the USA, the place was very quite and peacuful besides being very well located. The stuff provided me an extra pillow when I needed and a hairdryer, I was in a 6 beds room and it was very comfy, I felt like home. You can chill in the coach reading or play with the cat, I also loved how they recicle everything and that you can store your food in their refrigerator, they have maps for bike tours an public transportation! I will definetaley come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks so much for your kind words and we are really happy that you enjoyed your experience so much! -Talbot HI Portland Hawthorne Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere and proximity to restaurants, bars, shopping, and public transit. Would definitely recommend this spot to fellow travelers looking for an affordable way to experience beautiful Portland!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
8.9

Good spot, cool hostel and decent facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.1

My first time staying at a Hostel was a great exprience. The staff were friendly and the facilities were clean. Great location that made me feel like a local while visiting Portland. I loved meeting other travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
7.7

The hostel is out of the way but accessible to the city by bus or car and there's a nice area with restaurants and breweries immediately surrounding the hostel. It's a very quiet and small hostel but everyone there is extremely friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
6.9

Pros: nice communal dinner table, good wifi, eco friendly aspect was interesting, free breakfast, free linens and towel, staff did a good job of keeping the place tidy, lots of outlets (at least one by each bed), staff were pretty friendly and helpful Cons: far from downtown (45-60 minute walk), shower didn't work well (the further you turned the tap, the colder it got), bed was very squeaky

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
7.1

The location and staff were great. There was good parking in the back and it felt safe. However, the facilities were not great. The room I was in was tucked away in the basement and smelled a bit off. The bathrooms and kitchen were not very clean and there was cat poop all over the bathroom floor. Sheets and towels are provided but were not the most comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for leaving your comment. Appreciate the shout-out to staff. Yes, the building is a little older. You may have caught us on a bad day, bc we take a lot of pride keeping the place clean which is a challenge with on older facility. I cleaned out the cat hairballs myself (not poop) in the lobby (not bathroom) unless I didn't see it. Sorry, the cat is more of a neighborhood cat and only comes in the lobby, no other areas of the hostel. Happy Travels, Talbot HI- Portland Hawthorne Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
7.4

The actual hostel itself was very nice, the environment was great. The beds were quite hard and the sheets they provided where not comfortable at all. Although, it was nice to be given a towel to use. I woke up at 9am and went into the kitchen for what I thought would be a bigger free breakfast, but there was only cereal and milk avaliable to eat. Location was pretty good, lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.