Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
HI Portland Hawthorne Located at 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland Hawthorne
USA
Portland Connecticut 97214 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon
81% 317
45.5120750 -122.6344160
HI Portland Hawthorne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

This was everything I needed for a stay in Portland -- very clean, relatively quiet. The bike rentals are a nice touch. When my bike got a flat on a morning ride, the staff were understanding with my late check-out. The free breakfast is great. Two minor complaints: 1.) there is a resident cat. It doesn't go into the bedrooms, but spends some time in the common areas. If you are allergic like me, get ready to sniffle. 2.) Bunk beds are creaky metal - Earplugs definitely needed for dorms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
7.1

Way too many people downstairs. People constantly coming and going up/down the stairs or the one bathroom who's door banged shut every time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize if you had trouble sleeping in the dorms downstairs. We plan to separate those rooms as soon as we have the budget, hopefully early next year. In the meantime, we will be sure to investigate the bathroom door. Thank you for the feedback. -Hostel Staff

  • saskiaames6423
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
8.0

Cozy hostel, clean, warm atmosphere, very welcoming and helpful staff (thank you again to the nice receptionist who played a little tourst guide with me planning the best of Portland in a day:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
8.3

Located in a nice looking neighbourhood/suburb with amazing thrift shops and lots of food options too! it's a cute and cosy hostel with easy options nearby to go downtown. I really enjoyed my stay although I would recommend asking to be in a room on the first or second floor. I was in the basement and could hear every single creak of stairs and pipes throughout the night which was disturbing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jsweinno
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.4

It was a great stay! Even though I turned up after check in time, staff were accommodating to assist me in my late arrival.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're happy to hear you had a welcoming and enjoyable stay here. Safe travels back home! -Hostel Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

Wonderful people. Wonderful place. I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, Soma! We were delighted to be your home away from home. -Hostel Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
10.0

LOVED my stay at this hostel. Very down to earth staff members. Great location, surrounded by lots of awesome people and many hippies. Just outside of the city so my kinda place! Lotsof great food places and quirky little shops. Very safe area. Felt lots of love. The hostel is a great place. Everyone is easy going and made some great friends. Was told it was the greenest hostel in the world too! It will be my hostel of choice if i stay in portland again. Will recommend to others too. Love!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so glad to know how much you loved the hostel and thoroughly enjoyed your time here in Portland. We hope to see you again someday! Safe travels back home, -Hostel Staff

10th Aug 2016
9.1

Clean, safe, and in a great location! Staff was wonderful. It is a bit pricey for a hostel, but most are in the USA so I cannot blame them. Overall a great experience. Thanks HI!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
4.9

The hostel itself is a nice place, really tidy and well kept. Beautiful garden and bike rentals is great. Pretty average location though as there is hardly anything to do in the area. I recommend staying towards Mississippi if you want to be able to walk out of your hostel into a more lively neighbourhood. The manager was extremely unhelpful when I asked for directions, a map, and which areas are good for what. Everything was a hassle. No atmosphere and very unfriendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review. I apologize if you felt that either I or one of my staff had a short interaction with you. I don't remember dealing with you myself, but that's not excuse. We take great pride in our customer service here. It's a little surprising that you didn't care for the neighborhood either, most folks find it fun and charming. Good luck and Happy Travels. -Talbot

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, awesome people. This hostel was an original place with good vibes and the staff were very helpful and the other guests were cool and friendly as well. It's in a very cool neighbourhood with lots of interesting places to eat and things to do. I would absolutely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.