Hostelworld.com

HI Portland Hawthorne

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4
HI Portland Hawthorne Located at 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland Hawthorne
USA
Portland Connecticut 97214 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon
80% 287
45.5120750 -122.6344160
HI Portland Hawthorne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jun 2016
4.9

Hawthorne area is not as fun as downtown was unlike the reviews of the hostel led me to believe, I found my self disappointed in this hostel the beds were very uncomfortable and the I ended up driving downtown to do things. One nice perk is free parking over night. The atmosphere is lacking and the showers looked dirty. We only stayed one night then an airbnb the other, which was cheaper and nicer experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a comment. We're sorry you did not find our neighborhood to be fun. Downtown and the Southeast definitely have different vibes and offerings, and depending on the night, things can be mellow or lively. We are working to offer more tours, but because we are small hostel, it's difficult to wrangle up a group all the time. We try to keep the hostel very clean at all times, but it is an old house, which can sometimes appear dirty when it's actually not. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Portland and beyond.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st May 2016
6.6

It is in a great location, Hawthorne is way more fun than downtown. The size of the dorms are really big and the beds comfy. However, there are only two showers in the hostel and three toilets so there were always queues in the morning. It felt less like a hostel and more like an old distant relatives home. Clean but shabby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. What room were you staying in? FYI-The men's room has two showers and there are 3 more toilets upstairs and two more showers. Sorry, perhaps you didn't know that? Take care and Happy Travels, Talbot HI-Portland Hawthorne Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a great location. There is a lot to enjoy in the Hawthorne area. All staff and other guest that I met were very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Felt safe, comfortable, and everyone was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

Well equips for a good night's stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2016
8.3

This hostel is great if you enjoy nature, peace and beautiful hikes. There's no signal on your phone so you won't be disturbed by social media and you can actually focus on reading your book or whatever you want. Everyone is really laid back and the staff helped me finding he perfect hikes in the area. I would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
6.9

This hostel is located perfectly. However the dorms in the basement are not really separated and the male dorms and the 6 bed coed dorm feels like one big room which I think would be a more appropriate way to sell it, as it is only separated by a very thin door, plus the fact that you have to walk through the other dorms to get to the bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write up a review. I completely understand your point regarding the basement . We are aware of that issue and are working on putting a divider wall in the upcoming year. Hopefully you'll keep that in mind in the future. Happy travels, Talbot

  • sentafue8475
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Feb 2016
9.7

Great Staff. Had a great time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2016
7.7

Very eclectic backpackers in a great location for food and shopping. Very enviro conscious and overall a lovely place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2016
8.0

Great location in the Hawthorne district and just a short hop downtown. Dormitories a bit oddly arranged and common areas a little skimpy. Lockers are inconveniently located down in the basement with the washing machine. Breakfast nothing special. Price, however, is very competitive for a US west coast hostel and the location, combined with a good vibe, make for a winner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.