Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
HI Portland Hawthorne Located at 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland Hawthorne
USA
Portland Connecticut 97214 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon
82% 304
45.5120750 -122.6344160
HI Portland Hawthorne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jsweinno
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.4

It was a great stay! Even though I turned up after check in time, staff were accommodating to assist me in my late arrival.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

Wonderful people. Wonderful place. I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
10.0

LOVED my stay at this hostel. Very down to earth staff members. Great location, surrounded by lots of awesome people and many hippies. Just outside of the city so my kinda place! Lotsof great food places and quirky little shops. Very safe area. Felt lots of love. The hostel is a great place. Everyone is easy going and made some great friends. Was told it was the greenest hostel in the world too! It will be my hostel of choice if i stay in portland again. Will recommend to others too. Love!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
9.1

Clean, safe, and in a great location! Staff was wonderful. It is a bit pricey for a hostel, but most are in the USA so I cannot blame them. Overall a great experience. Thanks HI!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
4.9

The hostel itself is a nice place, really tidy and well kept. Beautiful garden and bike rentals is great. Pretty average location though as there is hardly anything to do in the area. I recommend staying towards Mississippi if you want to be able to walk out of your hostel into a more lively neighbourhood. The manager was extremely unhelpful when I asked for directions, a map, and which areas are good for what. Everything was a hassle. No atmosphere and very unfriendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review. I apologize if you felt that either I or one of my staff had a short interaction with you. I don't remember dealing with you myself, but that's not excuse. We take great pride in our customer service here. It's a little surprising that you didn't care for the neighborhood either, most folks find it fun and charming. Good luck and Happy Travels. -Talbot

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, awesome people. This hostel was an original place with good vibes and the staff were very helpful and the other guests were cool and friendly as well. It's in a very cool neighbourhood with lots of interesting places to eat and things to do. I would absolutely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
4.9

Hawthorne area is not as fun as downtown was unlike the reviews of the hostel led me to believe, I found my self disappointed in this hostel the beds were very uncomfortable and the I ended up driving downtown to do things. One nice perk is free parking over night. The atmosphere is lacking and the showers looked dirty. We only stayed one night then an airbnb the other, which was cheaper and nicer experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a comment. We're sorry you did not find our neighborhood to be fun. Downtown and the Southeast definitely have different vibes and offerings, and depending on the night, things can be mellow or lively. We are working to offer more tours, but because we are small hostel, it's difficult to wrangle up a group all the time. We try to keep the hostel very clean at all times, but it is an old house, which can sometimes appear dirty when it's actually not. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Portland and beyond.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st May 2016
6.6

It is in a great location, Hawthorne is way more fun than downtown. The size of the dorms are really big and the beds comfy. However, there are only two showers in the hostel and three toilets so there were always queues in the morning. It felt less like a hostel and more like an old distant relatives home. Clean but shabby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. What room were you staying in? FYI-The men's room has two showers and there are 3 more toilets upstairs and two more showers. Sorry, perhaps you didn't know that? Take care and Happy Travels, Talbot HI-Portland Hawthorne Hostel Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a great location. There is a lot to enjoy in the Hawthorne area. All staff and other guest that I met were very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Felt safe, comfortable, and everyone was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.