Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Portland Hawthorne Located at 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland Hawthorne
USA
Portland Connecticut 97214 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon
85% 335
45.5120750 -122.6344160
HI Portland Hawthorne
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Nov 2016
10.0

The rooms were spacious. The entire hostel was kept really clean. The facilities were great and there was nothing to complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mgarrett
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

It's a very pleasant and calm hostel. Def not for people who want to party, but they do have weekly pub crawls. The hostel is located on a street filled with plenty of restaurants, food trucks, bars, and shops. It was only a 10 min drive (20 min bus ride) to downtown. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They were helpful with planning what to do and when. Would I stay here again? Yes! It was clean, I felt safe, and it's located close to downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

I have stayed at a LOT of hostels in the last 12-24 months and without hesitation I say this is the best one I've been at. The hostel is very clean, very well kept. The staff are great and very helpful. The location is superb in a great city--Portland. Bike rental is SUPER reasonable and available lockers, automatically locked dorm doors and key-in front door at night makes security very well done. Overall a great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
8.9

Over the pass 10 years I have stayed at the Hawthorne hostel many times a very warm friendly old Victorian house with great staff this was the same as all of my passed visits

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

I had the best time here. I arrive early to check in and they kept my luggage in an outside storage area. After I checked out, I had some time before my flight and they kept my thing locked away free of charge. I felt so safe to leave my stuff around in the room and I felt that it was very spacious. It is located in the center of the Hawthorne district with shopping, food, bars, and anything else you could ask for in walking distance. It is also right in front of a bus stop. Had a great time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
10.0

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Atmosphere open and peaceful. Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
10.0

Had a great time. Parking was limited, but I happened to get a spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
8.9

Great place to stay in Hawthorne district-- close and walkable to make restaurants, bars, and even to a nice hike up Mt. Tabor. It's also right near a bus stop so it's easy to get into downtown. In the basement the 3 rooms that are all attached to each other-- you have to go through 2 to get to the 3rd which is a bit odd but I didn't mind. I just imagine some of the guys who booked male dorms did so for a reason, and to have a coed dorm attached could be weird. Also it's a bit less secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

This was everything I needed for a stay in Portland -- very clean, relatively quiet. The bike rentals are a nice touch. When my bike got a flat on a morning ride, the staff were understanding with my late check-out. The free breakfast is great. Two minor complaints: 1.) there is a resident cat. It doesn't go into the bedrooms, but spends some time in the common areas. If you are allergic like me, get ready to sniffle. 2.) Bunk beds are creaky metal - Earplugs definitely needed for dorms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
7.1

Way too many people downstairs. People constantly coming and going up/down the stairs or the one bathroom who's door banged shut every time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize if you had trouble sleeping in the dorms downstairs. We plan to separate those rooms as soon as we have the budget, hopefully early next year. In the meantime, we will be sure to investigate the bathroom door. Thank you for the feedback. -Hostel Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.