Hostelworld.com

HI Portland - Northwest

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
HI Portland - Northwest Located at 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland - Northwest
USA
Portland Connecticut OR 97209 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon
88% 1259
45.5260585 -122.6894974
HI Portland - Northwest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
8.3

Somewhat grand and lovely house. Close to restaurants and nightlife in the Pearl district. Hostel provided what they called a "mini-breakfast", which was just artisan bread with butter or jam. Not a problem for me since there are great food spots in Portland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • livvylove_86750
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Only positive things to say about the hostel and portland itself. I would Recommend this hostel for travellers who look for an affordable price with a stellar overall experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.4

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm. There were huge lockers in the room where you could lock your bags and the doors had keycard locks. Unfortunately there were no plug-ins for the top bunks. This wasn't a problem for me because I have a one cord and my friend was staying in the bunk under mine but I can see this being annoying. On the first floor bathroom the shower doors were like bathroom stall doors where there was space above and below.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

Beautiful building, although I think a lot of the other dorms may have been in other locations on the site. On arrival I was waiting for about 15 minutes before someone appeared at reception to check me in, despite using the call bell numerous times. After a long day of travelling, this wasn't ideal. The lack of breakfast was disappointing, however they stated this was to keep the costs down. However, overall, this was a good, clean, friendly hostel which I would use again on my next visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
9.7

I stayed here for week, and I really loved the location! It was very close to the bar strip, shopping strips, and great places for walks/runs. Definitely would stay here again! Lockers are a great size, each room had plenty of space for locking up belongings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
6.9

Slightly far out of town. Good building, good security, staff helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Loved it here! Staff was great, guests were great, facilities were great. Lots of info up about what to do and where to go, and staff was super helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.1

Great place, great people, great breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
8.3

I had a great time The hostel is very nice even through construction on a new wing is being built.staff was great , traveler too! Just a reminder to people who drive car's... do not leave valuables visible ., their was a break-in while I was there and a lot of broken glass around the blocks . Thieves are targeting this area .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.