Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland - Northwest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
9.7

Atmosphere was super chill and common spaces were buzzing with activity. Breakfast of coffee and bread selection was a perfect pick me up to get you out the door to start the day, the kitchen is stocked for you to cook if you wish, the place is clean and staff was helpful in suggesting things to do. Also the location right between the pearl and nobb hill districts is PERFECT. Walk anywhere in 10 minutes. I loved Portland and I will more than likely stay at this exact place again next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have ever stayed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.6

kinda nice hostel with friendly staff.. i was there for only one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Very bread-and-breakfasty, loved the feeling of it. Didn't stay for very long but was very comfortable and happy with the staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2017
7.7

Wifi was so bad i barely had a connection in my room. lucky i had a sim with data or it would have been a real pain. showering in a small bathtub with barely any room to move is not the best. Not sure if i was unlucky with timing but there was noone else in my room or anywhere around me, making for a pretty boring time. The free walking tour with the hostel was good. It may say there is no breakfast but with nice bread, spreads and coffee it's enough for most.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.3

They wouldn't refund three days of an unused bed I paid for, or even donate that to match with the homeless program.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
10.0

I can't remember the front desk girl's name, but she was super helpful of things to do and see within walking distance to the hostel, full of energy, and the perfect kind of smile and spirit to be met after a long day of flights, public transport, and walking! I'm sad that I don't remember her name. She loves polka-dots and is from the East Coast! Thank you Hostel Int'l!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Great clean rooms and bathroom. Great front desk staff. Would have loved a couch in front parlor. Great safe location I was able to walk everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.0

Overall, I'd say the people & location really make this hostel great! They allowed me to store my stuff the day before, & had at least one activity scheduled daily for hostelers to participate in, from tours to local music events. They were replacing older beds when I was there, & are expanding to a third building by late 2017 which is great! Only complaint was that the bed I did have was a bit hard/uncomfortable, & would suggest full blackout curtains be added to block light & especially cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.3

Overall, I had a great time here! Just quickly, the building itself was a little old and the carpet feigned some dirtiness to it. There were a couple staff members who were really nice but then for every nice one, there was one who could care less. Some really helped me find things to do and give good advice, others it was like teeth-pulling to get any information from. The best place to meet people was in the kitchen, and they had some tours you could sign up for. Overall though, great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.