Hostelworld.com

HI Portland - Northwest

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
HI Portland - Northwest Located at 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland - Northwest
USA
Portland Connecticut OR 97209 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon
87% 1194
45.5260585 -122.6894974
HI Portland - Northwest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Great stay! Loved the ghost conference outing with Kim! Haha thanks, Kim! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
9.1

This a nice hostel. it has a great location, a lot of walking distance in every coffee shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious, and quite cozy. Staffs are nice although for some reasons they tend to just barge in to the rooms without knocking first. but other than that, i had a great stay at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.7

I was only in Portland for one night for a concert so I needed something easily accessible from the airport (light rail), located near public transit, and close to downtown. The HI Hostel fit the bill! It's quick 10-15 minute walk to the Pearl (Powell's Bookstore, Brewery Blocks, etc.). The staff were all very friendly. They offer towels free of charge and luggage lockers. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere and facilities and good location for Washington Park and Downtown as well as being in a great area. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tyronebrowne1336
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.6

Good hostel, very homely but the beds squeak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Loved it here! The layout was a bit weird but felt perfect :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.9

The location was close to downtown (within healthy walking distance), the facilities were clean, and I really enjoyed the fancy breads / jam for breakfast. The only downside was a woman who was quite loud and caused multiple "scenes" during my weeklong stay. Otherwise, everything was top notch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
8.0

Good wifi. There're lockers offered with locks. If it's cold just ask for an extra blanket. The staff were absolutely wonderful, so helpful and positive.I stayed two nights.The first was in a 6 female dorm which has curtain partitions between each bunkbed with each having its own associated sockets and light which I appreciated. There was also a toilet and shower in the room. The second room i stored in was an open 6 bed female dorm with no toilet and no associated light and sockets for top.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.4

Pretty central hostel, walking distance to many attractions and parks. The beds are squeaky but comfortable and the people I met were wondeful travellers and keen to socialise. Great times to be had here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • skysonkyh
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.3

It was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.