Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland - Northwest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
HI Portland - Northwest Located at 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland.
HI Portland - Northwest
USA
Portland Connecticut OR 97209 425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon
89% 1353
45.5260585 -122.6894974
HI Portland - Northwest
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
9.7

I stayed here while I was in town for a conference and it was perfect! It was probably the most clean hostel I've ever been to and so cozy and Portlandy. Staff were so nice, parking is only $2/day, beds were good, bathrooms were spotless, outdoor garden area was adorable and fun - it was all just great! The only one small complaint: the location is good for downtown, but kinda far from the super trendy SE areas in Portland (ex. Mississippi and Hawthorn).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Second time I've stayed there and I will certainly stay again. Great location, accommodating staff and plenty of space to find a corner and read a book or play a board game. Carpet in the rooms is a bit old but not a big deal at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • travelyogigirl
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
6.0

i stay in hostels all the time, and i have the best time! we were only in portland for a night, and they put us in a room with the weirdest people, it was obvious they did it because we were only there a night. it was horrible, and we paid $100 between the 2 of us! to share a room with 6 people, including 2 old men over 60, a guy who snpred and farted all night, and a guy that made it uncomfortable to sleep because he was creepy. worst hostel experience ever. i felt unsafe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Wonderful hostel in a fantastic location. I especially enjoyed the garden:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
7.4

In the good area, maybe 20 minutes walking to great part of downtown. Hated the atmosphere, theres literally nowhere to hang out and talk above a whisper past 10pm. Has a much older person feel as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.4

Close to everything. Free coffee in the morning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, friendly staff and an awesome way to meet people when traveling solo. You can find people to go out with but it's still a very chill atmosphere at the hostel itself. Gorgeous little "secret garden" to hang out at between exploring the city. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen/dining area were clean and guests were respectful and friendly. Plenty of space in rooms so it doesn't feel cramped. Hostel's free activities and brewery tours were great! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
9.4

Friendly, helpful staff, healthy local bread&jam for bkfst, outdoor garden, free towel usage, comfortable beds,plenty of maps,info,activities. World Travelers from everywhere. Construction next door. 5 long blocks to Max train.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.1

Friendly and helpful staffs. Located in a safe neighborhood. Within a walking distance to everything! Want to rent a car? Just a few minutes walk away. Great activities led by local staffs. Construction next door is pretty noisy in early morning, but once it is done in the next few months, there will be more new, clean room for us to enjoy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved the tours, having something to do with a group at no extra cost was fantastic! Tour guides Robert and Nancy thank you, you were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.