X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Portland - Northwest Reviews

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
919 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff were friendly and helpful, clearly explaining everything I needed to know about the facilities and hostel rules. They were also able to point out interesting places around town. The facilities themselves were clean, efficiently-run, and comfortable. The location was pleasantly quiet while not being far from downtown Portland which was a plus. Overall, I was quite satisfied and would have enjoyed staying longer even.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Okay hostel with good security and all necessary facilities. Really poor breakfast in comparison to all other hostels, that I've visited. Staff did not seem glad or motivated and in general the atmosphere at the hostel was boring and weird.


77%

The check in process was easy, the beds were pretty decent, and there are giant lockers in each room to store your goods. The bathroom also seemed to be clean the entire time I was there (just a few days). The prices are reasonable and you are fairly close to all the downtown stuff.


97%

Really nice staff and experience staying at this hostel.


89%

Great location near a lot of stores and restaurants and bars. A pretty standard hostel for the price, but it was clean and fairly quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location. Loved Mission Theater which is only 2 blocks away. Only complaint was they didn't allow alcohol anywhere on the property besides the Secret Garden which shuts down at 10pm. Which is cool, but when a guest was drinking beers on the smoking section one of the female employees lectured the other guests for not explaining the rules to the traveler with beer. As travelers and guests at your hostel we shouldn't be held responsible to explain the rules to other guest.


100%

First time here. Absolutely loved it! I will definitely be back.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, great common area outside and in, located very close to some great restaurants and shops. Nice and quiet hostel.


49%

2 friendly staff members, 2 unfriendly ones. 1 a guy, the other a girl - both walk around as if they hate their life, and don't make guests feel welcome at all. Also, place desperately needs a good clean. The stench of urine when you open the room to the dorms is overwhelming and the disgusting, overused sheet I got to sleep on was just gross. How often are the beds and pillows cleaned? Not often enough at all I think. The blanket was horrid.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was in a friendly neighbourhood, close to lots of bars, a supermarket and downtown Portland. The courtyard at the back of the hostel was lovely and all in all a very friendly and relaxed hostel. All staff very helpful and always smiling. There are plenty of activities on offer at the hostel and staff were very knowledgeable regarding places to eat, drink, visit in Portland and the surrounding area. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. There were lots of activities to help you get to know other travelers. Also a lot of info regarding things happening in town.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a great hostel. The rooms were nice and the area it's in is also nice! I made some great friends while staying here. I deffenitly recommend it to anyone coming to visit portland!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Talk about having a great time from the minute I arrived to when I left I had a ball. Sitting outside one the decks ahnging out with folks from all over the world was a blast. The staff is excellent & the location is perfect centrally located & ez to find . Hostel bathrooms & bed rooms spotless. I would highly recommend this Hostel to anyone traxvelling to portland


80%

Awesome location if you want to see NW 23st (shopping!) and want to be within walking distance to the Japanese Gardens and the Waterfront. I also heard there was bus and train stations a few blocks down...beautiful building!


91%

The price showed in hostel world was not the same I was charged, it should be the same. The breakfast could have something more than bread. The house is beautiful and the neighborhood is amazing, especially to walk.


69%

Nothing really special really; if you need a place to sleep it fills that criteria.


86%

REALLY friendly staff, has a house feel over a hostel feel. REALLY good continental breakfast!


94%

The staff were extremely helpful, single room was great & loved the breakfast!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay! I loved the staff and the location was perfect could walk everywhere. While there they had a great night of open mic and live music! Just fab..... however the shower was a bit small and the curtain was always touching you whilst showering! Very minimal thing considering the rest of my great stay!


100%

Awesome staff and atmosphere!!!!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(65 results)


View all Portland Hostels

Please give us your feedback