X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
615 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Rooms a little outdated, but besides that all good! Great atmosphere, staff, common area.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel itself was really good - clean & convenient location. Not the most welcoming feel from some of the staff, but others were really nice.


100%

It was very cool


100%

This hostel is fantastic! This was my second stay and I brought 12 of my friends along this time. They all loved it and we had a great time in San Diego.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! We are truly happy to hear that you had such a great time, and we can't wait to see you again next time. Come back a lot :), we miss you already. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

80%

Great hostel, in the centre of the Gaslamp Quarter, lovely helpful staff. Discount tickets to attractions available. Breakfast with coffee, tea, bread, cereal and oatmeal. 10-bed room had an ensuite bathroom and otherwise a few bathrooms are located around the common areas. Earplugs, towels and linen supplied and overall good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review, and your business. We are glad we could show you a good time in our fair city. Come back and see us anytime. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

80%

I feel some kind of stink in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the review. Our apologies for any odd smells in the room you were in. We will research which room you are speaking of and get to the bottom of it. In the future, and this goes for any guests, please alert us to these sorts of things while you are staying with us and we will gladly do our best to take care of the issue, as we do not want funny smells in our rooms. Thanks for the business and for bringing this to our attention. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Everything was great, but if you drive parking was a nightmare.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Parking can be a bit tricky downtown, but we can help. Please contact us before you arrive and we will give you the lowdown on the parking situation before you get here. Thanks a bunch. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

86%

The location is great, room is ok, the facilities are really good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We will be working to bring our rooms up to the standard of the rest of our remodel this year, so come on back and check it out. Thanks again for the business and the review. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

80%

Would definitely stay there the next time

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! We can't wait until next time. See you again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

This is a great Hostel. Very clean and modern decor throughout, and the value for money is great. My mate and I went for a few days and had reserved a 2 bed private, but they only had a double bed available, so they put us in a 4-bed and blocked off the other 2 beds from being reserved to help us out. I was very grateful for their help and how nice all staff members were. Really clean and close to everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! So glad that we could accommodate your needs. Excellent to hear that you had a fantastic time in San Diego. Hope to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

It is the best hostel I 've stayed in America. Location, facility, kindness of clerks, facility.. all the factors are best!!! I recommend you if you stay in sandiego!!!!!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aww! Thanks! We're glad you stayed with us and really touched by what you had to say about your stay. Come back again and see us soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

89%

Great hostel with very friendly people. The hostel is well kept and in a great location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We are super glad to hear that you liked our hostel and had a good stay. Come back and see us again some time. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

I liked this hostel very much! The staff is excellent, they helped me everything I needed. The room I stayed was excellent, there was an ensuite in it and many others restrooms and showers on the 2nd and 3th floors. The breakfast was very good: coffee, chocolate, different kinds of milk and bread, butter, jams. Some nights it can be little noisy, since it's located near to many restaurants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We really appreciate it. You touch on the fact that it can get a bit noisy in the Gaslamp Quarter, especially on the weekends. We recommend that all light sleepers contact us ahead of their stay so that we can do our best to get them in a quiet room. Thanks again for the comments and for staying with us. We hope you come back and see us again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Outstanding Hostel!!!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Outstanding guest! Thanks a lot! We really love the encouragement, and we are glad to have taken care of you well during your stay. Come see us again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

This is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at and my room was more than what I expected. I'm very happy with it and would stay here again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! We will share this with our Housekeeping department, as they have been working really hard to keep our hostel sparkling for everyone. So glad you enjoyed your stay. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

80%

It's a good hostel, nice location, good place to stay in and very secured area. Very friendly atmosphere in the hostel, Staff are supportive and helping. They are very cordial. It's worth to stay, value for money.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We are really glad that we could accommodate you so well. Hope to see you again next time you are in town. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Staff on the front desk were fantastic and the location is perfect!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We love getting great reviews like this, and we are happy to have helped you see our great city. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

83%

Unfortunately elevator was out of order and I had to cross in front of restaurant with my towels. In addition tables should remove from rooms. They are unnecessary. And bed clothes should change. It is full nylon.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thanks for the review. Our apologies for the elevator issues. They have been resolved and are not typical. Unfortunately, a part was on back order for it. Thanks for the comments about the tables. We will look into that as we are always in the process of improving our hostel. As for the linens, sheets are provided for every bed in private rooms and bedrolls are provided to all dorm goers. We apologize for the confusion there and will follow up with staff about this. Thanks!

100%

I fell in love with the place. took pictures in the balcony overlooking the downtown buildings. Staff is very helpful and she actually saved me money by telling where to park for one third less of the regular parking lot.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to hear that you had such an awesome time with us! We're glad we could help you save a little cash as well. That's what we are here for. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Really nice hostel in a perfect location, all restaurants and bars at the corner...good for party but not a party hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the sweet review! We are super glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback