X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
659 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Location was awesome, right next to some really cool bars, pubs and cafes. Room was clean, kitchen was lovely and the general atmosphere was brill!

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I ALWAYS STAY HERE WHEN IN SAN DIEGO. EXCELLENT LOCATION IN GASLAMP DISTRICT, EASY ACCESS TO BUSES AND TROLLEY. STAFF IS EXTRADORINARILY HELPFUL. FREE BREAKFAST MORE THAN ADEQUATE AND THEY PROVIDE SOY MILK FOR THE VEGANS! BEDS ARE COMFORTABLE. BATHROOMS VERY CLEAN AND SANITARY. TWO SUPERMARKETS WITHIN 4 BLOCK AREA, RALPHS AND JUMBOS. ELEVATOR FOR EASY ACCESS TO SECOND AND THIRD FLOORS. EXCELLENT KITCHEN FACILITIES AND DINING AREA. EXTRA-LARGE TV IN MOVIE ROOM. TWO FREE COMPUTERS.


94%

Staff so helpful. They are incredible. They went out of their way to be of assistance. The breakfasts and dinners are right on....wonderful bread, not the usual fluffy white stuff, soy milk for the vegans amongst us, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. and the dinner, Asian, Italian, etc., buffet style, perfect. Compliments to the chef! I rented the private room this time. It was very large. Lots of fresh air because I could open the windows. Private bathroom.


89%

Really clean and modern facilities, more of a hotel vibe than a hostel. Probably not as good for meeting people and young travellers but good as a home base to check out San dieg as it's in the perfect location for food and bars.


94%

Everything perfect. I stayed at Portland,Seattle(HI).....This was the third time to use this property.Very satisfied.


80%

clean and good service


100%

Awesome place, very clean, most staff are so so nice there's a couple who are weird though. Nice location. Good breakfast they do cereal and toast which is cool. Wifi in rooms and powerful hot showers. Beaut of a place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Some of us can be a little weird sometimes, but hey, we work in a hostel :). Come back and see us again really soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

80%

NO ALCOHOL ALLOWED IN HOSTEL: just wanted to state this fact. There is no indication of this fact when booking, I wouldn't have stayed here if I had known. Other than the no drinking rule, it's a pretty great location, for bars and restaurants, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It's about a 45 minute bus ride to the closest beach. No real common room where you can meet people in the hostel.


97%

Mugs in the kitchen are too small, no milk, no sockets next to beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the review. We always appreciate the feedback. We definitely will look into our mug size and we should be revamping our cups this year as well. We do offer milk, but only during breakfast, as it needs to be monitored if left out. We are also going to attempt to get the necessary work done to have electrical sockets next to each bed in the next few years, but due to the age of the building it can be a bit tricky. Thanks again, and we hope you come back soon.

100%

Awesome first experience at a Hostel

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice! So glad we could be your first time. We hope you stay in hostels all over the world from now on. Come back and stay with us again any time. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

The location is great IF you have a car! If you don't have a car expect very very long walks to pretty much everywhere except for the gas lamp district itself. Which is great if you're looking for good food and amazing night life! 21 is definitely the way to go if you're staying here without a car. Staff and the hostel itself A so trendy and clean! Some of the bathrooms are more on the not so nice side...but there are TONS so if you don't like one, walk around the corner! It's probably nicer.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. In all seriousness, we actually do have a great location, at least by San Diego standards :), if you don't have a car, as the public transit pretty much centers around the Downtown area, but, as you point out, due to SoCal Urban Sprawl, everywhere is a long walk. Glad you liked everything we had to offer, and we are looking to repaint and upgrade some of our older bathrooms very soon. We really appreciate the business and the review. All the best,

100%

Beyond my expectations

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! This is the review we strive for every time. We hope you come back and see us again really soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

The staff was amazing and very helpful. They were always so happy to give you info about their favorite places too. Had the best burger based on a staff recommendation! This hostel made my San Diego trip--highly recommend!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do love cheezburgers :). So glad we could help you out! Thanks a lot for giving us a shout out, and we'll see you next time. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Great hostel! We stayed in a private room and enjoyed it very much. The room and bathroom ensuite were very clean. The kitchen was across from us and provided a nice breakfast every morning. Lots of travellers hang out there, so it's easy to meet people. The Pub-crawl was great as well but our leader left a bit early. Hostel location is downtown, so you have your pick of bars and restaurants. Front desk staff is usually helpful if you have questions. Check the desk for deal coupons.


77%

noisy neighborhood

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! You are correct that we are right in the heart of things and it can be quite noisy, during the weekends especially. We strongly advise that light sleepers contact us ahead of their stay so that we can do our best to get them in an interior and quieter room. Thanks again for the business and the review. Please come see us again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

Great hostel, in a great location.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us a shout out. Come back and see us again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

I stayed here February 13 to February 14th and shared a room with 1 other person (booked a 4 female room). It was my 1st time staying in a hostel. Vo and Carrie went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. This was my 1st and no doubt will not be my last stay at this location. Thanks so much Vo and Carrie. I have no complaints, but lots of commendation. Breakfast options were great!!! Soni

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the kind words. We will pass them along to Vo and Carrie. Can't wait to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Great hostel, had everything I needed and in a very good location for someone without a car! The hostel was full of weird and interesting people, and I found it was very easy to meet and chat to other guests. Only problem I had was my room was right above an alleyway where restaurant staff went for a smoke, so the room always smelt like cigarettes and was hard to ventilate without an openable window (only the attached air con).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments and the business. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The room you are in is definitely a conundrum, as without the AC in the window it will get quite stuffy in there, but yes it is on the alley. In the future, should you have any issues, please let us know when you are here and we will see about relocating you to a different room. Thanks again for the review, and we will see you again soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

54%

Unfortunately this hostel was below average. Bathrooms- the few that they had, were very dirty. Expect a line up to get to a bathroom, there is about 1 per 5 dorm rooms. We booked a "deluxe" dorm and nothing about it was deluxe, I'd hate to know what an "average" dorm was. If your keen to be in an area with tacky partying and "doof doof" music this is the place for you. Expect to be woken numerous times throughout the night due to noise and lighting spontaneously coming on

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our apologies for the quality of your stay. Our neighborhood can be quite lively, so we apologiize for that and recommend that light sleepers contact us ahead of time and we will do our best to get you in a quieter room. The difference between a premium dorm and an economy dorm is the number of people per room. Premium is a four person dorm and Economy is a 10 person dorm. We will contact you personally regarding the bathrooms as we take cleaning very seriously. Again our apologies.

97%

Really great facilities, especially the kitchen and the restrooms, nice and always available staff especially Amalia, great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass along your sentiments. Come back and see us again really soon. All the best, HI San Diego Dowtown

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback