X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
573 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Staff on the front desk were fantastic and the location is perfect!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We love getting great reviews like this, and we are happy to have helped you see our great city. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

83%

Unfortunately elevator was out of order and I had to cross in front of restaurant with my towels. In addition tables should remove from rooms. They are unnecessary. And bed clothes should change. It is full nylon.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thanks for the review. Our apologies for the elevator issues. They have been resolved and are not typical. Unfortunately, a part was on back order for it. Thanks for the comments about the tables. We will look into that as we are always in the process of improving our hostel. As for the linens, sheets are provided for every bed in private rooms and bedrolls are provided to all dorm goers. We apologize for the confusion there and will follow up with staff about this. Thanks!

100%

I fell in love with the place. took pictures in the balcony overlooking the downtown buildings. Staff is very helpful and she actually saved me money by telling where to park for one third less of the regular parking lot.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to hear that you had such an awesome time with us! We're glad we could help you save a little cash as well. That's what we are here for. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Really nice hostel in a perfect location, all restaurants and bars at the corner...good for party but not a party hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the sweet review! We are super glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

We were super surprised to find what an excellent location this hostel had! You can't beat the price for a clean, hip downtown hostel, just a quick bike ride away from the bay! All of the rooms seem to be quite unique, and where ours had a rather small window to a balcony, our friends' room was awesome and right over the bustling Market Street. Super hip place :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the great review! We're trying to be hipper these days, so we are glad to hear it is working out for us :). We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Loved this hostel, the staff were really friendly and did all they could to help us, the location was fantastic and I would recommend going on the bar crawl with the staff and guest was really good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for the wonderful review! We really appreciate it, and we a glad that we could make your stay with us special. We hope to see you again soon. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

97%

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at HI San Diego. The staff - day and night crew - are very friendly and helpful. The location of the Hostel is accessible to all public transportation. I would like to recommend HI to anyone who wants to enjoy the beauty of San Diego and the night life.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We really and truly appreciate the kind words, they really keep us positive and going strong. We hope to see you again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

74%

needs air conditioning otherwise very goos hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments. We are getting AC's in rooms currently. It is just a bit of a process due to complications with some of the windows and such in the rooms. We recommend that if you are sensitive to the heat, to inquire about a room with AC before you check in and we will do our best to get you into one. Thanks for the review and the business. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

83%

Some rooms can be quiet noisy, especially in the weekends. I do hope that they install A/C pretty soon so you can close the window. If that would be the case I'd rate it excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are in the process of installing AC's in all rooms at the moment. Unfortunately, it has been a little slow going due to budgetary and building maintenance issues, but it should be completed soon. We really appreciate the feedback, and for the time being we recommend that you request a room with AC, and we will do our best to accommodate you. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Great renovations and awesome staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We really appreciate it. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

91%

Everything was wonderful except for the lack of A/C forcing our window on Market St. to be open, which resulted in lack of sleep from noise. Although the fan helped drown it out a bit..

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We are in the process of getting new AC's up in all rooms that can handle them, so hopefully this will solve these issues. We really appreciate the business and the kind words. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

I loved my stay. great location . people were friendly and clean.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome to hear! Thanks for the great review and the business. Come see us again sometime. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

71%

Good location, attentive and friendly staff and good cleanliness. However I was in 4 bed dorm and was like sauna in the night. Air con desperately needed. This hostel isn't cheap and is a necessity in such a warm city. As a result always interrupted and restless nights sleep. It was same for other guests in room too. This issue really let down hostel as otherwise very good but expensive. Also breakfast should be served from 7am for those who need to be up early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments. We truly appreciate them. We are currently in the process of purchasing AC's for all of our rooms that we can install them in, due to the amount of comments we have received this summer. It has been a hot one. We will also be assessing our breakfast time this off season to better serve our guests. We appreciate the feedback greatly, and we hope that you will stay again in the future to see the changes we have made. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

91%

While the night life is a little obnoxious when I was trying to sleep, I would request a different room that doesn't face the main streets. Other than that I loved the building and the staff. The location is perfect and there's a bike shop near-by as well as a Ralph's for food.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the great comments! Street noise does tend to be our biggest issue, and you are right to inform people to contact us prior to their stay if they are light sleepers, as we will gladly put them in an interior room if we have them available. Hope to see you again in the future. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

89%

Great stay but not a fan of jacked up prices because its Comic Con!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback on our rates, and will be looking at possibly altering them a bit for next years Comic Con. We do still have some of the cheapest rates around for that four day period, as most other hostels were charging around $100.00 for a dorm bed. Hope to see you again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Everything was so tidy and well organized HOWEVER there is no single common room where you can sit alone and meet peopl. Hard to meet new people outside breakfast or in the dorms. I'm glad I met some cool people in my dorm bc otherwise i would've felt very lonely. Great location, next to many bars. I wish there were more initiatives such as pub crawls or any advertisement for nearby parties. Too family oriented. Great hostel in general but I don't think i will come back in my twenties.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments and the review. It looks like you stayed with us during Comic Con, which is a huge convention that comes into town. We typically cancel our hostel activities during this convention as there are many things to do out in the Gaslamp Quater, and we don't usually get very good participation because of this. Usually, we have 4 dinners per week, a pub crawl, 2 walking tours, a brewery outing, and a pool tournament. Thanks again! HI San Diego Downtown

100%

This hostel is amazing! Very welcoming staff and it is centrally located in the middle of the gaslamp district. Loved this hostel and will stay here every time I'm in San Diego!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we can't wait to see you again! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

97%

An island of serenity and friendship in the middle of downtown San Diego, the hostel is within walking distance or bus access to everything. The staff was helpful and courteous, excellent in every way, as were the accomodations. Fellow hostelers were quiet and considerate. I had a lovely stay and will definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this awesomely poetic review! Reviews like this really keep us going and aiming to please. Hope to see you again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

86%

Perfect for a couple that is there to party in the gaslamp district

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. Come see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

94%

I had a very good time, although I only stayed one night. I'll definitely come again and try out the violent Simpsons video game..!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Springfield needs your help! Home you come back soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback