X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
573 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, very friendly atmosphere in a great location.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for saying so! We really appreciate the business, and the comments. We are also adding some activities and some facilities upgrades (most of which are completed at this point) for this summer that should really make things exciting. All the best! -HI San Diego Downtown

86%

Positivies - very clean and loved the cute layout of the different rooms - private yet sociable. The decor was beautifully fresh too. The staff were friendly and helped us where they could. Criticisms - the location was very central in the Gaslamp Quarter, but if your room faces the main street then it gets very loud and you cannot block out the street noise because of single glazed windows. Staff were lovely, but some of their street instructions need updating :)

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We always appreciate the feedback. To address your concerns: we always recommend that people contact us up front if they would like a quieter room and we will do our best to accommodate. Also, do to our recent remodel, a lot of our local area information got confused. We are in the process of recreating it all, so we should be back up to speed there soon. We are so glad that you had a good stay. Come see us again soon. HI San Diego Downtown

100%

The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I will definitely stay here again!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch for the kind shout out. We hope to see you again soon. Stop in any time. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

100%

People with cars need to stay at another hostel.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Parking is a bit of a pain in the Downtown area. Most of it is pay parking, and free parking is a bit of a walk from the hostel. Another option in San Diego is our sister hostel in Point Loma. They have plenty of free parking. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some time. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

Sheets could have been replaced....other than that great place. Bed was comfortable! Slept good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the review. We aren't sure if you mean you required linens service, or if your particular sheets were not up to par. We will contact you directly regarding this. To explain our linens service though: we offer limited linens service for all private rooms. This means that if you leave the "Service Room" tag on the door, we will provide new linens. If not, we only empty the trash and sweep the room. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. -HI SDDT

89%

I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the convention center. The location was great, the beds were super comfy and the staff was very nice and helpful. The only downside was the noise outside, but all the reviews mentioned that beforehand, so it wasn't unexpected. Overall a great place to stay! I would definitely stay there again!

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We always recommend that light sleepers call us ahead of time and request a quiet room. We will do our best to get you off the street and into some good sleep. We appreciate the feedback and hope to hear from you again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

Excellent location and the staff are very nice. The only comment is that I went there for a conference. My room was just opposite to the main street and it was very noisy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review! We really appreciate the feedback. Noise is perhaps one of our biggest challenges due to our wonderful location. We suggest that anyone who is a light sleeper contact us directly ahead of their stay and we will do our best to put you in a quiet interior room. We also have free earplugs available at our reception. Thanks again for the stay and the review. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

A big hostel in a central location in the trendy Gaslamp District, where you probably can't afford anything. The nearest trolley station is about five blocks away. Served my lodging needs well. Only drawback is an apparently lack of air conditioning. Rooms can be hot in the summer, and some of my fellow travelers had trouble sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, and your business. We currently have A/C in all of our private rooms with private bathrooms, which makes us one of the only hostels in San Diego to even offer rooms with AC. We will also be replacing most of our ceiling fans before summer, which should help, and adding more AC's in here and there. We really appreciate you bringing this up and we hope to see you again soon. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

overall a really great place, I stayed 3 nights and when I had to return to downtown SD a few days after I stayed there again. Unbeatable downtown location, very clean, great facilities (the kitchen is rediculous!). Very quiet, but all downtown bars are at your doorstep if you're looking for a party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are glad that you decided to stay with us, and also glad to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon. HI San Diego Downtown

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

This is a great hostel. I was very impressed by the size of the dorm room and common spaces. Quite clean too. Friendly staff. In the Gaslamp district.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch for the great review. We are in the midst of making all sorts of improvements at our hostel, so come back soon and see how great it all works out! Thanks again. -HI San Diego Downtown

80%

It's strange that the fee paid is different than the marked price on net. My friends and I are so confused about it.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the confusion regarding our rates. The confusion could be caused by one of two things. One, upon arrival we charge the mandatory 12.5% city taxes, or two, upon arrival all non-members of Hostelling International are required to pay a $3 per person per night daily membership fee. We do our best to have this notated on all of our websites and confirmation emails, and this will be the case for most HI hostels you stay at in the US. Thanks again!

86%

Quiet room, clean towels and a simple breakfast was included. Had nothing to complain about, everything was good. In great location too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear! Glad that you enjoyed your self in our classy city. Hope to see you next time. -HI San Diego Downtown

71%

Construction working caused some noise as well as strong smell of paint and varnish. Excellent staff who where very helpful. Good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are in the process of remodeling a bit for the summer months. We apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you come back in the future to see the finished product! Thanks again. -HI San Diego Downtown

86%

Great location, great staff, nice amenities

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thank you so much, we truly appreciate it. All the best and see you next time. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Except that the area around the hostel was crowded and noisy all over the night and the beds were bit too soft, everything was just great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us! We really appreciate the great review and the business. Hope to see you again soon. HI San Diego Downtown

94%

This hostel is pretty superb. It's nice and clean, the staff is flexible, super helpful and noticeably friendly. Nice, clean towels were provided, the location is unbeatable, and you can count on really secure luggage storage. I spent the last 13 months staying in different hostels around the world, and this is one of the best I've encountered. Remember to bring your own padlock for the locker in your room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the sweet review. We really appreciate your business, and your time, and we are very happy to have made your stay an excellent one. Until next time! -HI San Diego Downtown

71%

overall it is ok,but my single room has always a smell that is not good. But the location is close to convention center which is good for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Please in the future, and this goes for all guests, let us know if you have an issue with your room. We will always do our best to either resolve the issue or place you in a different room. We really appreciate the comments, and we will inspect the room in question. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

91%

This is a well run facility. Staff observed good security while maintaining a warm and efficient operation.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch for the kind words. Security, safety, and comfort are our main concerns here, and we are always glad to hear that we are doing a successful job at maintaining those items. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

86%

very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We are only getting better. We have big plans for this upcoming year. Maybe we will see you again soon. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

54%

Hey, I am sorry but I was not happy with this stay. There are two important issues since I rated the hostel low. Firstly, the kitchen was awful. A person (I guess a homeless) who was in the kitchen, ate and then left dirty dishes on the bench. It was really unhygienic. Secondly, I paid the 10 % of total fee on www.hostelworld.com when booking. However, the hostel charged me fully rather than 90 %. So I paid about 10 % extra.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • kahvecimuk
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologize for the quality of your stay. First off, the person you are referring to as "a homeless" was a guest with us, and some guests can be a bit less tidy than others. In the future, if you have an issue with another guest, please alert us to it, and we would be happy to speak with them for you. In terms of the rate you paid, we charged you the 90% of the Hostel World rate plus local taxes and member fees. This is notated on all of your confirmations.

(421 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback