Hostelworld.com

HI San Diego - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Diego - Downtown Located at 521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego.
HI San Diego - Downtown
USA
San Diego CA CA 92101 521 Market St, CA 92101
93% 813
32.7113775 -117.1596728
HI San Diego - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th May 2016
5.4

Room 311 is not only super hot but it's so loud! The location of the hostel is good, but when you're bombarded with street noise literally all night while sweating it's difficult to get any sleep. The beds are not made for you and the sheets slip right off the mattress so you're a tangled mess during the night. There are no electrical outlets for the top bunks so if you don't have a long cord you're screwed. For $42 a night for a 4-bed dorm, I'll stay at a hotel next time for $

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lowisc8203
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th May 2016
9.4

Excellent location and good atmosphere. They go out of their way to ensure the hostel is more than just a place to sleep. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
8.3

The location is crazy good, you need to stay here in downtown HI. Had a night that couldn't sleep becauae of the noise, next door was a club. Changed room and was amazing... Should promote more life in the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
8.9

The facilities weren't as good as other hi hostels I've stayed in (beds didn't have any sockets or lights & hooksaround beds - I think only one socket in the room actually). There seemed to be fewer bathrooms/ showers to usual too but then again this hostel was a lot cheaper than the other hi hostels I've been in before. Would still recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
10.0

excellent, fn

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.1

Nice people/staff, amazing location, comfy bed, good room choices, big kitchen, can't really fault it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

It was terrific to stay at HI San Diego Downtown. The room and bathroom were terrific - spacious and clean. The common areas were friendly and inviting. Joe organised a terrific day for us at the beach. I highly recommend signing up to one of the organised activities. The street outside has lots of nightlife (restaurants and bars) and is noisy but if you can work around that, you'll love your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

As my second HI experience, I am really into that chai of hostels. They are a non profit company and they are super organized. The staff is always nice and have good knowledge and suggestions about the city, there are activities that are organized, etc. The only thing, no alcohol on site and there is no bar neither...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed for two nights and had a very pleasant experience. It was a simple affair but I didn't find it lacking in any way. The bathroom was always clean and for some reason always available. I shared a four bed dorm with just one other person. He was gone during the day, so I had the room to myself and could write without interruption. The room was clean and airy with lots of light. The lockers weren't funky. I moved on to the hostel in Santa Monica and thought SD had much more charm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Wonderful staff, but very noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and apologize for the noise. One of the perks of being centrally location in Downtown is being walking distance to all the attractions, but this can make distractions when you are trying to rest. In the future, please see the front desk and we would be more than happy to offer you complementary ear plus. We hope you have safe travels and happy adventures in your future! Best, HI-Downtown San Diego

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.