Hostelworld.com

HI San Diego - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
8.3

The staff really made the stay. I wasn't particularly impressed by the physical building but the beds were clean and comfy and the staff was great! When all is said and done, isn't that what Hosteling is all about?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review!

17th Jan 2017
10.0

A lovely hostel smack dab in the middle of downtown SD. The staff was courteous, the beds are very comfortable for a dorm room, the lockers are HUGE, and there are both ensuite bathrooms, and common bathrooms. I recommend showering in the common area toilets--they're much more spacious and well ventilated. The dorm rooms do suffer from a dearth of power outlets, due to the older, masonary construction. You'll adapt, though. It's a quality location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have stayed in! Location could not be better! Also the breakfast was great and unlimited coffee and so many facilitie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay! :-)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely people and great location. Would come here again for sure. Ps cleaning staff are friendly also and everyone is polite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review! Please come back and see us anytime! Safe travels and happy adventures where ever you may go next (: Best, HI-San Diego Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.7

This was a veey nice hostel. Very clean and staff was friendly. The only complaint was that I could hear all the people at the bar but it was okay since the location was perfect to transportation and sightseeing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the liveliness of the neighborhood. We hope to see you again in the future!

  • DemiRae
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.6

The staff wasn't the friendliness. But everything else was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback, I'm sorry you felt our staff wasn't up to our standards. We'll be looking into this matter.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
10.0

It's an amazing place to stay in San Diego - central location, friendly staff, and a great atmosphere. They have kitchen where you can have a basic breakfast and cook your own food. I enjoyed free walking tours in Balboa park and pub crawl at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad you enjoyed the activities and your stay! Thank you for the review!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.7

By now the best Hostel I've ever stayed. Incredible nice atmosphere and great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the kind words!! We are glad that enjoyed your stay with us :-)

21st Dec 2016
10.0

This place has made me fall in love with hostels all over again. Screw Airbnb! Clean, friendly, spacious, great furniture and decor, and a great kitchen. I'd stay again. Came with my wife and got a private room with bath. Also, the game room has the Simpsons arcade! 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we restored your love of hostels :)! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

20th Dec 2016
9.4

So much art scattered throughout the hostel! It was fun to simply spend time inside and take it all in. Loved my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have quarterly art shows featuring local artist. We hope you stay with us again get to enjoy one :-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.