Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 862 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 862 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Diego - Downtown Located at 521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego.
HI San Diego - Downtown
USA
San Diego CA CA 92101 521 Market St, CA 92101
91% 862
32.7113775 -117.1596728
HI San Diego - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so pleased to hear you had a great time while staying with us in Downtown San Diego. We hope to see you again in the future, but until then, safe travels and happy adventures where ever you may end up next (: Best, HI-Downtown San dieg

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.4

Everything is brand new, it almost doesn't even feel like a hostel! Definitely worth the extra few bucks and would definitely stay here again. The only thing kinda strange about the hostel culture was the amount of old (60+) people staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location and good value for money. A little noisy outside in the evenings but I didn't mind! I'd visit again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
5.4

The location was great and it would have made up for a lot of shortcomings, but there were just too many. I was in the deluxe female dorm (4 bed). The rooms were about 8'x8' (really small). There's a rooftop club directly behind the building so a lot of noise filters through the leaky windows. In my room at least, there were few outlets and they were placed such that only the bottom bunk people could access, and no lights on the beds. Much worse than European hostels I've visited.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic stay! Close to a lot of things, right in the middle of Gaslamp Quarter. Really clean and felt extremely safe. The beds are really comfortable! Plus they provide free towels! Would definitely come back and stay here, and I highly recommend it for others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.1

I was in Live with this hostel! Great location, super cool, hip $ Happening style, funky decoration and good staff. Only downside for me was breakfast. First day I was there, there was only black coffee available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
10.0

Super helpful, very friendly staff and good atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.9

i like it. Its clean. And the staff were very helpful and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your awesome review! Come back anytime (: Safe travels, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.4

Wonderful friendly staff. Some of the facilities were a bit dated but overall clean. The breakfast was quick but filling, especially awesome it's included. The rooms were air conditioned and quite spacious. Would def stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a great time while staying with us in Downtown San Diego! We hope you come again soon, but happy adventures to you where ever you may end up next. All the best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel in the heart of downtown! Well connected to everything and the hostel offers lots of walking tours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.