Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Beautiful hostel with fully equipped kitchen with everything you might want. Nice lounge areas with local art and books! Very large eating and game area. Love the opened windows in the common areas to let the breeze in. Ample private large bathrooms are really practical and very clean!! Only cons is that it faces a loud bar at night. In a room with window sealed to block out the noise, it gets very stuffy and warm. I woke up many times throughout the night sticky. AC is too loud to keep on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review (-: Come back and visit us anytime! Best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.4

Cool art, lots of bars and restaurants nearby and close to the airport and Balboa Park too! Common areas were clean and new, room simple and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent staff; value; location; cleanliness; a happy place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Fabulous hostel. Location central. I had a private room 306 which was great but looks onto 5th ave and boy was it noisy at night. Saying this I used ear plugs and turned on the air conditioning to drown out the noise from outside and I slept okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review!

  • jade_maestas7292
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

Place was in a great location! The room was nice but smelt like smoke, even the towels had an odd smell to them. For the price, I would not stay again if given the same room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sincerely sorry that our room did not meet yours and our expectations. We currently looking into that room to see what may have been the cause. If you stay with us again in the future, please let us know of any issues immediately, so that we can help you have a comfortable stay.

29th May 2017
9.1

Quick short 1 day stay. Great location but can get loud at night from the street noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! If you choose to stay with us in the future, make sure to call ahead and we can book you into a quiet interior room.

  • clearfieldjc2115
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
10.0

For my first time staying at a hostel. With all my concerns prior to coming. I was very happy with the service. It was better than what I had excepted. Even though there was a big party out in the street because of the holiday weekend. Every one was respectful. The staff was helpful. I know where to stay when I need a place to crash for the night. Had a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

A really cool place near downtown. It's within walking distance of the Gaslamp District (I think that's what it's called) and the location is very comfortable to be in. Facilities are nice and modern, the place well-lit as well. Loved the experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.1

A really nice place for anyone coming into town -- I was there for a convention. Why waste the money on a hotel? This was just as pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
10.0

I loved everything about the place, the style, the decorations!! It's cozy and lovely. feels like home! I would recommend staying here for anyone to enjoy San Diego. The only thing I would mention is there's no bathroom in the dorms. You have to go out of the room to get to the restrooms, which might not be comfortable for people who like privacy. Overall,it was perfect place to enjoy our trip, and I would go there again if I go to San Diego.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again in the future! We hope you had fun on the rest of your travels

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.