Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 928 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
HI San Diego - Downtown Located at 521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego.
HI San Diego - Downtown
USA
San Diego CA CA 92101 521 Market St, CA 92101
90% 928
32.7113775 -117.1596728
HI San Diego - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

WD40 would have been great for bathroom and locker doors to not wake our sleeping neighbors as well as reading lights and outlets next to the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review and for letting us know about the lockers. We'll look into that today.

2nd Nov 2016
8.9

Perfect for anyone needing accommodation during an event at the convention center. Not your typical youth hostel. During my stay there were many families and much older guests. This could be good or bad depending on what you're looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed staying here! I would recommend it to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the lovely review!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2016
10.0

This is the nicest hostel ever! I just have great things to say about my stay: It is very clean, the breakfast is nice, stuff is so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great. Definitely coming back to stay for a long holiday in San Diego. Please keep doing the free downtown tour, it was awsome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the kind words!! I'll pass the word along to our activities coordinator that you enjoyed the tour. Visit us anytime :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice people, bit pricey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review!! Unfortunately the tax in this area can be quite high. We hope you enjoyed your time in San Diego!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
5.4

This place was pretty disappointing. Firstly no drinks allowed in the hostel and no real communal area meant no atmosphere. Secondly, the noise from the street was unbearable! I couldn't sleep because it sounded like there was a party going on in my room. They need to do something to better soundproof the building because it was ridiculous.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that we missed the mark with your stay. We don't allow alcohol in the hostel to prevent underage drinking, a lot of our guests are under 21. Some good news is that we are currently renovating to add a large communal room to our facility. We hope that you give us a second chance and stay with us again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Oct 2016
9.7

Only problem was there was no power points near the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are currently working on finding a solution for the outlets. Historic buildings can be tricky to rewire :) We hope you enjoyed your trip to San Diego!

  • Life_of_Ruby
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.9

Awesome location, kitchen, and staff are excellent. Beds were comfortable but didn't have their own powerpoints so I couldn't charge my phone overnight, that was the only negative of this hostel. It is noisey at night because it's in the middle of Gaslamp district but this wasn't a problem for me. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hostel to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are currently working on finding a solution for the outlets. We hope to see you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
10.0

First time at a Hostel. Amazing experience. Super close to the convention center, too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! Come back again soon!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
9.7

This hostel is fantastic in terms of location, friendly staff and great amenities! The private rooms are a little bit more expensive but absolutely worth the price and we would definitely consider staying at this HI location again. The kitchen served a simple breakfast and had all the necessary utensils and appliances to cook at a feast. One thing to note is that the hostel is close to the baseball stadium so parking is a nightmare on game nights. An amazing experience overall!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words!! We love that you enjoyed your stay. :-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.