Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
7.7

We had booked a private room with a double bed and an ensuite bathroom for 95 USD. This is a lot of money for staying overnight at a hostel, even when you consider the prime location. When we saw the room we were shocked. Extremely small, you could only open one of two suitcases at the same time. The room was dark as the window didn't have any view outside but led to a small shaft or pit. You couldn't open it, the aircondition was insufficient. We felt like being in a dark hole.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This was a great place! I had no problems. The breakfast wasn't anything totally special but it did the job (bagels, fruit and oatmeal). It was a clean place with cool people and it was in a great location. I would go back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location, great staff, comfy beds, not that many showers for the number of rooms but OK. The variety of the breakfast has been downgraded in recent years but still good for free

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
10.0

I very much enjoyed my stay in the San Diego Downtown Hostel. It was like home away from home. Great location and very pleasant staff. I would certainly stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
8.3

The staff really made the stay. I wasn't particularly impressed by the physical building but the beds were clean and comfy and the staff was great! When all is said and done, isn't that what Hosteling is all about?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review!

17th Jan 2017
10.0

A lovely hostel smack dab in the middle of downtown SD. The staff was courteous, the beds are very comfortable for a dorm room, the lockers are HUGE, and there are both ensuite bathrooms, and common bathrooms. I recommend showering in the common area toilets--they're much more spacious and well ventilated. The dorm rooms do suffer from a dearth of power outlets, due to the older, masonary construction. You'll adapt, though. It's a quality location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have stayed in! Location could not be better! Also the breakfast was great and unlimited coffee and so many facilitie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay! :-)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely people and great location. Would come here again for sure. Ps cleaning staff are friendly also and everyone is polite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review! Please come back and see us anytime! Safe travels and happy adventures where ever you may go next (: Best, HI-San Diego Downtown

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.7

This was a veey nice hostel. Very clean and staff was friendly. The only complaint was that I could hear all the people at the bar but it was okay since the location was perfect to transportation and sightseeing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the liveliness of the neighborhood. We hope to see you again in the future!

  • DemiRae
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
8.6

The staff wasn't the friendliness. But everything else was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback, I'm sorry you felt our staff wasn't up to our standards. We'll be looking into this matter.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.