Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.7

I would still stay here again 100%, but a couple things to note that if fixed would make the hostel even better: -Windows let in a lot of noise -heat was blasting so hard that we had to blast the air conditioner -queen mattress could use a slightly bigger fitted sheet (kept slipping off) Other than that I love this hostel. Great value 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

This place has an awesome design, I actually found impresive the fact that they provide local artists an opportunity to show their work and a chance for the guests to be in touch with it. The bed was really comfortable, bathrooms were clean and the kitchen and other facilities were flawless. I'm really looking forward to come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We look forward to see you again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
7.4

Great location and friendly staff but floors are dirty and there are no privacy pods/charging stations in each bunk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
5.7

Kitchen not very clean. There were no windows in the room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ceyssonhelene9503
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.9

This hostel is ideally located in the Gaslamp quarter, at the heart of San Diego and close to restaurants, bars and the conference center. It's a short walk to the Seaport Village and USS Midway (under 30 minutes) and you can also take the bus or tram to go to other parts of the city. We really enjoyed our stay, the staff is really great, especially Joseph who is passionate about his home city and takes guests on walking tours. My only criticism if for breakfast which should be more varied.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Delightfully surprised at the comfy mattress, luxury towel and location. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Cute decor. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
4.9

Not sure why this hostel is so well rated. There is no atmosphere, and the washrooms are dirty with not enough for the number of rooms. I was there during St. Patty's day and no events were organized or even other travelers into the festivities. No drinking is allowed in the hostel, most other travelers were older or even had young kids. The private room was not as described, it's didn't even have a window to outside. It, not a terrible hostel, just not worth the price or rating.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever! Awesome staff, service and place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
6.0

My room smelled too smoke and was really noisy. The rooms are not really clean, there supposed to be housekeeping.. I know it is a hostel, but I paid hotel room prices so you expect a little bit more comfort and service.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel, was exactly what we were looking for during our one night stay. We stayed in a private room, hostel is in great location and staff were very helpful. There didn't seem to be much going on in the hostel (tours, central hangout location) but there's plenty surrounding the hostel to go and explore. Had a great time! Thanks again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.