X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI - San Diego - Downtown Reviews

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
539 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This is a well run facility. Staff observed good security while maintaining a warm and efficient operation.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch for the kind words. Security, safety, and comfort are our main concerns here, and we are always glad to hear that we are doing a successful job at maintaining those items. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

very good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We are only getting better. We have big plans for this upcoming year. Maybe we will see you again soon. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

54%

Hey, I am sorry but I was not happy with this stay. There are two important issues since I rated the hostel low. Firstly, the kitchen was awful. A person (I guess a homeless) who was in the kitchen, ate and then left dirty dishes on the bench. It was really unhygienic. Secondly, I paid the 10 % of total fee on www.hostelworld.com when booking. However, the hostel charged me fully rather than 90 %. So I paid about 10 % extra.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • kahvecimuk
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We apologize for the quality of your stay. First off, the person you are referring to as "a homeless" was a guest with us, and some guests can be a bit less tidy than others. In the future, if you have an issue with another guest, please alert us to it, and we would be happy to speak with them for you. In terms of the rate you paid, we charged you the 90% of the Hostel World rate plus local taxes and member fees. This is notated on all of your confirmations.

71%

Good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We always appreciate some kind words. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Smashing place. Great, hospitable, competent staff. Everything cuts the mustard. Nice warm showers and, yes, warm water at the sinks for shaving ... unlike at that other hostel, which shall remain nameless. Street noise from the jollities on the streets below wafts up into the norms. But hey, it's the Gaslamp Quarter. Fun and games, noisy fun and games, are all the rage. Highly recommended hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch! You were an awesome guest! See you next time for sure. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

94%

SHOWERS SHOULD BE IMPROVED

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and the request. We will get back to you personally to find out what you disliked about the showers, so hopefully we can get them up to par. All the best! -HI San Diego Downtown

100%

great place, in the middle of the party. clean, safe, just to much asian with smell in my room


100%

This international hostel is truly that! Lotsa well-traveled Germans, people from places you might not even be able to pronounce, or travellers headed for instance to spots like the island of Reunion, a small geography-quiz nation in the fabled Indian Ocean (well off the shipping lanes of the new movie All Is Lost). And do see the folks at the Metropolitan Transit System information office nearby on Broadway. An MTS bus pass under any circumstance in San Diego County is of inestimable value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We strive to be everything you mentioned, and we are glad we have succeeded in your eyes. Hope to see you again soon. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

83%

The location is perfect for a traveler attending a meeting at Convention Center and is very convenient and easily reached either from/to Amtrak station or airport (992 bus is just a few blocks away). The best part is after checking out, I still can use the kitchen facility to have a cup of coffee and chart my computer and cell phone before leaving for airport. This is very friendly. The breakfast is good and the facility in the kitchen is friendly and worth for the price.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You have touched on some of the great points of our facility. We have just added a pool table and game room to help out with the atmosphere a little bit, and it is getting a great response. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

100%

Best hostel we have ever stayed in

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

97%

Located in the heart of San Diego, close to the convention center and restaurants and pubs!! We had a great time there... If you are going to San Diego, this is the best place to stay

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I only stayed one night not four. The only problem is very expensive parking. Also, there is demonically evil art of the walls, occult symbols etc. It is a great place to stay. I highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback very much. Parking can be a bit tough. We recommend that guests stop in our loading zone and drop off their belongings, then go park, as we can then give you instructions and you won't have to carry your bags back. As far as the artwork goes, we have a quarterly art show called the Hostel Takeover, and this past event was the Halloween edition, so we did have some "scarier" artwork up for the season. It rotates every quarter.

94%

Hard to think of a better location for a hostel in Downtown San Diego. Easy access to good entertainment and public transportation, including to/from the airport. Way to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a bunch! We're really glad to hear that you had and excellent stay. Come see us again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

97%

The building is a bit older, so it's not quite as nice as other hostels I've stayed at, but it was very clean and the location was excellent. The staff and security were wonderful, and the atmosphere was great.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are glad to hear that you had a great time while here with us. We have some big ticket remodel items scheduled for the next few years, so we should start looking better and better. Hope to see you again soon! -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

It was clean, secure, and with a great location. The staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again if I came back to San Diego!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd be happy to have you! Thank you so much. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Overall a great experience with very friendly staff. Although we thought the premises and all associated with the place were great, being an asthamatic I am conscious of dust and there wasquite a bit of it in our room, wspecially on the window sills , ledges and walls however I would still recommend the hostel.

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful review. We have actually just hired more housekeeping staff to get us going on a more effective deep cleaning schedule. Also, old buildings such as ours (120+ years!) tend to get a bit dusty. We highly recommend that you, or any guest, alert us to conditions like allergies or asthma so that we may better maintain your comfort level, whether it be assigning extra housekeeping to your room, etc. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you soon. -HI San Diego

80%

Girls dorm near windows was a bit dirty. And the bathroom was dirty too. Not terrible, but the others in the hallways are really nice and redone. I liked the location near enough to bus, train, etc. I never had to get a cab. The WORST things was that i didnt sleep one whole night because of all of the noise from the bars below. The windows were all open and i couldnt shut them but it went on every night until bar close.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are in the process of a full scale remodel, and the dorms are next on the docket. We felt like the common area bathrooms got the most use and should be remodeled first. We will look into the window issue you brought up, and in the future, please bring this up to our front desk and we will fix it immediately. Thanks again for the time you took to review us, and your business. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

89%

We had a great stay with the best breakfast that we ever had in a hostel by far. And we even had a hairdryer in our room!! The only thing we could "complain" about which is really not even worth mentioning would be the very slow elevator. But really, that doesn't matter at all.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the comments! Our elevator can be a bit slow, as it is probably an antique at this point :). We really appreciate the great review, and look forward to your next stay. All the best. -HI San Diego Downtown

100%

This was a wonderful hostel in so many ways. The location was excellent right down in the gaslight district. But with that, you had to deal with the noise especially on Friday and Saturday nights. And the parking was very difficult. But the staff suggested that I park on the street free beyond Market & 15th or go to the Park Place kitty corner from them with the maximum daily payment of $11.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that we were able to have you stay with us, and that you had a great time. Come visit us again soon. -HI San Diego Downtown

94%

Really great hostel. Very clean, lovely rooms for what you were paying & really chilled out atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the totally sweet review! Come back and see us any time. All the best. HI San Diego Downtown

(403 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback