Hostelworld.com

HI San Diego - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Diego - Downtown Located at 521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego.
HI San Diego - Downtown
USA
San Diego CA CA 92101 521 Market St, CA 92101
91% 797
32.7113775 -117.1596728
HI San Diego - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

It was terrific to stay at HI San Diego Downtown. The room and bathroom were terrific - spacious and clean. The common areas were friendly and inviting. Joe organised a terrific day for us at the beach. I highly recommend signing up to one of the organised activities. The street outside has lots of nightlife (restaurants and bars) and is noisy but if you can work around that, you'll love your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

As my second HI experience, I am really into that chai of hostels. They are a non profit company and they are super organized. The staff is always nice and have good knowledge and suggestions about the city, there are activities that are organized, etc. The only thing, no alcohol on site and there is no bar neither...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed for two nights and had a very pleasant experience. It was a simple affair but I didn't find it lacking in any way. The bathroom was always clean and for some reason always available. I shared a four bed dorm with just one other person. He was gone during the day, so I had the room to myself and could write without interruption. The room was clean and airy with lots of light. The lockers weren't funky. I moved on to the hostel in Santa Monica and thought SD had much more charm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Wonderful staff, but very noisy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and apologize for the noise. One of the perks of being centrally location in Downtown is being walking distance to all the attractions, but this can make distractions when you are trying to rest. In the future, please see the front desk and we would be more than happy to offer you complementary ear plus. We hope you have safe travels and happy adventures in your future! Best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
9.1

Great location, extremely clean and well maintained. I wouldn't stay here if I were looking for a fun vibe to meet people but if you have your own crew then it shouldn't be an issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We definitely have a lot of fun things to do around our location! Hopefully you will stop by if you ever find yourself in the area again. Until then, safe travels! All the best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel, would highly recommend to anyone. Perfect location, friendly staff, clean and good facilities. It was so good my friend and I stayed an extra night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your awesome feedback! We love to hear when a guest has a great time! We hope you come back to see us sooner than later, but safe travels and happy adventures to you where ever you may end up next (: Best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
9.7

Great staff, location, and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. We hope you think of us the next time you are in San Diego. Safe travels and happy adventures wherever you may go next! Best, HI-Downtown San Diego

18th Feb 2016
10.0

Clean, and straightforward. Private room was nice, bathrooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to give us great feedback! Please don't hesitate to think of us the next time you are in San Diego. All the best, HI-Downtown San Diego

5th Feb 2016
10.0

One of best hostels in US for my money. Great facility, friendly staff, unbeatable location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your super rad feedback! We always love to hear when a guest has a great time. Hopefully you think of us the next time you are in San Diego. All the best, HI-Downtown San Diego

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
10.0

I stayed in a private double shared bathroom for 3 nights for a conference trip. This has been one of the nicest hostels that I've stayed at. The rate for the room was good and the quality of both the room and the amenities at the hostel was superior to many hostels. Nice atmosphere too. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Perfect for business or vacation as there were no issues with noise and the location for seeing San Diego and being close to the convention center was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers! I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Please don't hesitate to come by the next time you are in San Diego. All the best, HI-Downtown San Diego

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.