Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Diego - Point Loma

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

Strong choice for a stay close to the beaches of San Diego. Very good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
8.6

The hostel had great amenities and was very comfortable - it's all very organized and clean and orderly. But that being said the atmosphere wasn't quite as fun as other hostels. And we were a group of young guys and there wasn't many people there our age which you would usually expect at a hostel, most of the people were older. Really good comfort is traded for a slightly more sterile environment I guess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
9.1

I enjoy staying here because of the value for the money and proximity to Point Loma Nazarene University. The facility is generally clean, but bathroom showers could be cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that our hostel was a convenient place for you to stay while visiting San Diego. We really appreciate your feedback!

2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Minnie was a wonderful hostess. Communicative, outgoing and very helpful easing anxiety. Will look forward to coming back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Happy to hear that you will be returning in the future and that our staff made you feel so welcomed! Safe travels!

  • gustavommagal8985
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

Staff was very friendly and helpful. You can't drink alchool or smoke in the hostel areas, so that makes the atmosphere a bit different of what we're used to, but cool place anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us despite the lack of a party atmosphere. :) Happy hostelling!

13th Jan 2017
9.7

Was fun. Too much whistling though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
7.4

I was pretty happy about the stay expect that everything was built for way smaller people. As a 192 cm (6'2) guy the showerhead was at chest level and i didn't fit into the bed at all (thouching both ends laying normally im the bed).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved it. Such a nice space, felt like home. I'll be back here for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to San Diego!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
9.7

One of the nicest hostels we've ever been to. Great atmosphere, great facilities, cozy outside area, hammock, kitchen, rental of yoga mats, surf boards and more. Two negative points: acoustic isolation is really bad and the breakfast is a little poor. But I still recommend it, definitely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing HI Point Loma! We will soon be offering free bagels as a breakfast option. We hope you can come visit us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Nov 2016
6.6

Left standing around at check in due to only staff member showing another guest round, after a long flight it wasn't ideal. Had us down for 2 nights and we had booked 3 but that got sorted. Also had to pay an additional $3 pppn which we wasn't aware of. Not sure of the HI policy but you cannot bring alcohol onto the premises. Breakfast wasn't great, wasn't topped up when supply was low, nothing really to fill you up for the day. Rooms and showers were clean. They allocated you a bed too.!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize for the delay in the check-in process, our staff does their best to attend to every guest's needs. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, and are currently in the process of switching up our free breakfast menu to better satisfy our hungry hostellers. :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.