X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel Reviews

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
839 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

シビックセンターステーション周辺にたくさんのホームレスがいて通りづらかった

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • ariyama01082210
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Perfect staff! They give advice. Good quantity of breakfast. Creepy neighbourhood

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, might sound a little overpriced but facilities and cleaning were impeccable. Helpful staff and awesome kitchen! Would recommend.


94%

beautiful building and really nice people

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome atmosphere, great value. Ensuite bathrooms were great although I wish they had fans to drown out some of the noise. Room was cleaned everyday and new towels were given which was nice. Nighttime security was great too. Parking was done nearby but was easy to handle and was priced well/secure. Overall I was very impressed.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We love it when our hard work pays off. Hope to see you next time you're in town! Cheers, Kelsey HI CC STAFF

100%

Super sociable hostel, fantastic bar facility, the staff are extremely helpful on tips and recommendations. Whilst tenderloin has a bad rep there was no trouble and was perfect place to start my adventures off out into the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We love to hear that our bar is getting good use! Our Happy Hour from 6-8 pm is a great way to enjoy some delicious California brews before heading out for a night on the town or just stay to chat with our lovely bar staff and other hostelers is always great! Hopefully you had some grand adventures while you were here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! :) Cheers, Kelsey HI CC STAFF

91%

Top hostel, just is located in a bad place. Very Downtown and many homeless life there. But is not unsafe. The Hostel is great, the rooms awesomes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Sadly, the Tenderloin does have a lot of homelessness but also a lot of rich history. Next time you're in town, try and visit the new Tenderloin Museum. There's a ton of information on how this neighborhood transformed from a working class/arts scene to it's current state. Totally worth a trip! Safe travels and we hope to see you again! Cheers, Kelsey HI CC STAFF

74%

Everything was good when I was there, roommate and staffs but it' felt scary at location have homeless all around


86%

My stay was brief, but good. I rolled in at ~1:00am and left at 9:00am for meetings in SF. (Grad Student on a budget.) I stayed in a 6-bed male dorm. I liked the availability of lockers in the room right by the beds as well as having plug-ins up high for the top bunks. It was a bit warm in the room when I arrived, but the SF night air cooled things down by morning. Coffee at the included breakfast was exceptional and actually worth waking up for.


66%

Location was overfilled with the riff raff. I was unable to stay due to the scary location. Also the parking attendants that park for the hostel scammed me for as much money possible and when I left after only staying 3 hours and payed for overnight the didn't prorate it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, the Tenderloin, does have a lot of homeless since many services and SRO housing are located nearby. It can be intimidating which is why staff will gladly point out the best routes and places to avoid. It is a sad epidemic we face in this city which is why we also offer ways to help. Guests and staff have the opportunity to volunteer with GLIDE serving food to the homeless. A small act of kindness can make a huge impact. Safe travels, Kelsey HI CC

89%

Great hostel, felt safe inside and the breakfast bagels were nice. The surrounding area is not so nice, but we spend so much time sight seeing around the city that it wasn't that big of a problem.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of our $1 eggs and pancakes that our kitchen staff makes to order. Security is a top priority here at City Center especially since our neighborhood can be intimidating. We have staff at the desk 24/7 to answer your questions, fill you in on the neighborhood, and address any issues. We hope you had fun in our amazing city and keep us in mind on your next visit! Cheers-Kelsey HI CC Staff

94%

I can't say enough great things about this hostel! The staff was friendly and very helpful. They have free basic breakfast, and they have free WiFi throughout the hostel. They also have a bar with fairly priced beer and wine, which is perfect if you don't want to go out in the neighborhood. Keep in mind the bar is cash only, but they do have an ATM on site.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We love to hear when guests have a blast at our hostel. We also love it when our amazing bar gets some use! Hopefully, you took advantage of our daily Happy Hour and our Thursday night Pub Crawl! We're also working on offering beer flights so keep an eye out for those next time you're in town. :) Safe travels! Kelsey-HI CC Staff

89%

Little bit of home in a strange city-loved it, thanks to the amazing staff.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Np freezer, breakfast is shocking compared to other HI hostel.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your experience! With the free breakfast of bagels, toast, oatmeal, coffee, orange juice, fruit, and milk, we try to have something for everyone. I hope you tried the scrambled eggs or pancakes for only $1! If that wasn't your scene, staff would have been more than happy to recommend nearby restaurants. Brenda's is my favorite! Though we have no freezer at this time, hopefully in the future! I hope you enjoyed your time in SF. Thanks for your feedback! Cheers, Kelsey HICC

86%

Staff was really good and helpful about bus lines.


89%

Nice décor and the hostel was very clean. The staff were nice and helpful. Like other reviewers have stated its not in the nicest area, but to be honest this wasn't a huge concern for me. There are some nice Asian restaurants nearby.


86%

Loved the free evening tea tasting, and other refreshments. Eggs scrambled only, not any way you like it, just scrambled. Tasted good. Very clean rooms! Nice place.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

All was wonderful. One of the employees was showy of American English- again, this was her native language, ou non? What so proud of that? Mais, I still rate excellent for the team.


86%

Helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, nice atmosphere, wonderful breakfast. Had a great stay here!


83%

A good hostel. Good people. Bar attached to the Hostel which was the best value for money when drinking. Great kitchen if you feel like cooking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We love it when guests have a good time and are able to take advantage of our bar stocked full of those delicious California beers. $4 beer ($3 during happy hour) is the best value around, especially in this town! :) Hope to see you again in the future! Cheers, Kelsey HI CC Staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback