Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
85% 1247
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

The place is great. I was in a four-person dorm with an in-suite bathroom. It didn't feel crowded and the staff cleaned it every day. The kitchen is huge and there are lots of fridges and storage space and an organized way of keeping your food. They always have coffee, water, and tea available and the free continental breakfast is loaded - and you can pay US$1 to get four eggs or pancakes - that are really really good. Always cool people to talk to or a quiet place to do your own thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Amazing place with really lovely and kind people. Location is close to a less than great area but it's avoidable and so so worth the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
6.9

Staff very rude. Especially the guy that works at night! I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.4

Except location, everything is perfect!!!! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

A great place to stay! Really quirky with a lovely atmosphere, with a downstairs & upstairs to chill/socialise. A lovely surprise also to get free breakfast as well as tea & coffee all day. Staff very friendly, helpful & always available. Location isn't the most wonderful part of San Fran, but it's near the other hostels & is only a 15 minute walk from union square. I would 100% stay here again & recommend it to other travellers. I am a 19 year old female travelling alone & felt very safe here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Location-wise it can be dodgy - especially early in the morning and late at night. Otherwise, it's a really nice hostel with such good facilities - a bar, good breakfast and a really nice chill area. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. There wasn't much socialising between the hostel guests which was a pity but this might be just the timing of my visit. Overall I'd stay again and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
3.7

the room smelled like urine, the staff were super unfriendly and it was in a really dodgy area and there were hidden costs so we ended up paying waaay more than expexted

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • EcaterinaThomson
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice, clean hostel. Has its own bar which is handy and great to interact with other guests. Large kitchen facilities. Good free breakfast and $1 extra for eggs and pancakes. Very comfortable beds and lovely rooms. Wifi very strong. Have great tips to do around the city and discounted bike hire from fisherman's wharf. Is near tenderloins but no trouble at all and they have security if staff are low. Will recommend this hostel for future travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.6

This place is great. The only downfall is the location which is in kind of a sketchy area but is still close to everything. The place is clean and inviting with lots of spots to just hang out and chill. I shared a 4 bed dorm room and it had its own full bathroom which is nice. There is a funky bar in the lobby, the kitchen is great although I didn't use it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed for 3 of my 6 nights here because it wasn't available the full time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.7

Such friendly and helpful staff. They were able to help us with day trips and amazing tips for bars etc. our room was also very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.