Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
85% 1459
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
3.1

used my quarter century card went to the marriott for free.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.0

Had a nice stay in San Fransisco. The hostel is close to the attractions, but Ellis Street is not a great location(located in the Tenderloin district and has a lot of homeless people). The breakfast was very good, the staff was helpful and the rooms had big lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel, enjoyed my stay very much. Very nice and helpful staff, good complementary breakfast each day, and the hostel itself was clean and pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.3

One of the best hostels I stayed in during my visit to the states. Fresh bagels for breakfast every day and a clean towel every day. However the location in the tenderloin is not good for travelling on your own. Particularly if you are arriving at night. I asked one of the staff for directions and it walked me right through the middle of it. I later heard a different member of staff tell someone to walk a few blocks up before walking to the same location which was much safer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.7

This is a nice Hostel close to the city center. The staff is super nice and the rooms are clean. Th only thing is that it is next to the district where most the if the homeless people live but the security in the Hostel is really good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.6

Overall, great value! The location sucks (the equivalent of Skid Row in LA), but it's great once you're safely inside! The rooms were spacious and clean. I'd definitely recommend to a friend,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Clean! Friendly! Comfortable! Great staff. Neighborhood is a little sketchy, but that's part of the charm. My friend and I walked everywhere on New Years Eve, and as long as you have a buddy it's fine. This is where I will stay next time I'm in SF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.7

What an incredible place, friendly staff. Its in the middle of the tenderloin, which is a vibrant and quirky place. You have to be prepared for it. But the hostel is faultless. I had a wonderful time and was well taken care of xox

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel! Great facilities available including happy hour at the bar downstairs, super cheap breakfast, and complimentary tea/coffee. Beds were comfortable and rooms maintained daily to a high standard. So long as you aren't scared of walking through the Tenderloin (not that you should be), this place is a fantastic hostel to stay in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JoymanOU
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

Wonderful stay in San Francisco!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.