Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place. Very recommended!. The neighborhood is not the best, but certainly well located!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
7.4

Best beds ever..maybe my. Ed at home sucks but these are like heaven. Nice bar. It's good - dumb u have to join some club for $3, but it's $3 so who cares. If money wasn't an issue I would stay in a 5 star hotel, but considering it is, I would be happy here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.1

As usual, with any HI hostel the facilities and location were fantastic. The 4 bed dorm was excellent, and it's always nice to have clean folded towels on your bed without having to ask for them. The price does seem to have increased significantly since I last used them however other hostels in SF were charging similar prices. I would highly recommend to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zacklewis97
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
4.9

Location is horrific, every uber driver explained to me how Ellis street is one of the worst in the whole of San Francisco which is a shame. I always used an uber to leave and return to property as I was on my own. Bathrooms are tiny. Staff are good and facilities such as common areas and breakfast are great. The location lets down the hostel and especially at that price as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
7.1

Hostel was great! Location was awful!! The area is so rough... would not recommend if you're travelling alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.3

This is great hostel. The neighbourhood leaves a bit to be desired. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a lot of common area to mingle with other travellers. Our room was a good size and the bed as very comfy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We have an amazing group of folks working the desk and I'm glad that they were able to help you out. We hope that you enjoyed your time in SF and thank you for choosing to stay at HI San Francisco City Center. Anthony, Guest Services Manager

9th Aug 2017
9.1

Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Offer free luggage storage should you require it when you check out which is very accomodating. The continental breakfast is bagels, toast, coffee and OJ. They even offer pancakes and/or eggs for $1 for up to 4 pancakes, eggs or a combination of both of them to total 4. As others have stated in their reviews, the area is not the greatest but we didn't have any issues during our stay. May be noisy at night but you receive free earplugs from front desk. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving such a thorough review! We appreciate your honest feedback and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You can't beat $1 eggs and pancakes! Safe travels! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.3

Hostel was lovely and we felt very comfortable staying here, except for the location - we did not feel safe walking through the neighbourhood at night back to the hostel. Easily fixed by getting an uber back to the hostel, but we did have to plan that out. Great stay otherwise - breakfast bagels are great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.6

Although the location was central the area was pretty scary and felt very unsafe particularly when walking to and fro

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry to hear that you felt unsafe when walking the streets. At check in we provide our guests with information regarding the neighborhood, including tips on how to get around, and what parts of town to avoid. We also have a robust security procedures in place to ensure our guests have a safe and relaxing stay. Thank you for giving us a chance and we hope that you enjoyed your time in SF. Take care. - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

The nicest, coolest, hostel I've been to! Super clean, blew my professional level cleaning standards. Felt so safe and welcome in the space . Very good breakfast value, free coffee and tea 24/hr was a surprise! Comfortable beds given they are bunk beds. Fast internet and a tone of places to chill and hang out. Board games and book galore to occupy your down time ! This hostel is amazing ! Way to go guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words! Our housekeeping and maintenance teams do an amazing job of maintaining the building and keeping the hostel spotless. I'll make sure to share your feedback with them because they really are the heart and soul of the hostel. We appreciate your feedback and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.