Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
84% 1330
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
9.7

Comfortable bed, great breakfast, helpful staff--all around a good deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Great value for money, but be prepared for the location being in the Tenderloin, which is a poor and destitute neighbourhood , despite being every central. Other than that, the hostel itself is great for a trip to explore San Francisco. Staff helpful , clean and bright rooms with ensuites, great breakfast and activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.4

We spend 4 nights in the HI San Francisco. I really liked the place - everything was great close to the city center but it was a little bit scary 'cos the lot homeless people. But we had a perfect time in San Francisco the satff was really helpful. Sooo thank you! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

My stay was great. I came in drunk enough so I could sleep just in case it was loud or the bed was uncomfortable. Went way over board because it was quite and the bed was one of the best I've slept on in a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and our mattress's! We have tempurpedic mattress's in all of our rooms and they are perfect for resting your bones after a long day of exploring the City. Safe travels and come see us again! Anthony - Front Desk Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.7

This hostel was great! Fantastic clean rooms and communal spaces.... great breakfast and bar set up too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great guests make great hostels! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. You can thank our amazing housekeeping team for the overall cleanliness of the building. They work their magic and keep the hostel and us looking good! Anthony - Front Desk Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Nice enough hostel in not so good area. Quite pricey tho.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Our rates are comparable to other hostels in San Francisco and we do our best to keep them affordable for all travelers. We appreciate you staying with us and for contributing to our goal of building a more tolerant world. We are a non-profit organization and all monies made in our hostels are reinvested back into our cause. Anthony - Front Desk Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.7

We are a British couple travelling California for a couple of weeks, this was a great start! The hostel is in a great location & really handy for everything. There are lots of homeless people as mentioned in other reviews- but that is just part of the district. The room was clean & really well decorated. It only doesn't have 10/10 because the staff could be a little grumpy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us! You’re absolutely right about our great location and the convenience it provides our guests. We are surrounded by some of SF’s most popular restaurants, bars, museums, shopping, and more. We are also in close proximity to public transit making any part of SF easily accessible as soon as you step out the door. Thanks again and safe travels! Anthony – Front Desk Manager

14th Sep 2016
9.7

I enjoyed this hostel. I was traveling alone but found people (staff and fellow travelers) to be outgoing and friendly. The neighborhood gets a bad rap, but it did not feel dangerous and, in fact, provides a glimpse of a side of San Francisco that needs acknowledging. Very convenient to get around town from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
3.7

I never leave reviews but this hostel went overboard in bad service. First, staff put their best to be rude and unhelpfull. They would get mad at you if you even asked for the restroom. My friend was not allowed to go to the lobby restroom While he waited for me bacause he was not staying there. I been to over 100 hostel and this was by far the worst. Stay somewhere else. It really sucks.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel. Very clean. Very good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us! We're very fortunate to have such an amazing housekeeping team and we appreciate your feedback. Safe travels! Anthony - Front Desk Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.