Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
84% 1195
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.7

We had a really nice time in SF. We booked a private en suite room for our stay and it was perfect. The bed was super comfortable and it was quiet. The whole place was really clean and a super positive atmosphere in the day. The location was okay. We spent almost no time in the area, but were able to get cheap taxis to the GGB and also Pier 39 and the Mission for some BOMB BURRITOS! The night staff was rude, didn't engage with us at all, but we would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • iredia92
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

I really enjoyed the location. It is close to most pf everything you may be interested in. The rooms are clean and there are a lot of people to mingle with

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
7.1

The staff at the desk made my stay - they were warm and overly helpful changing my bed to a bottom bunk. They went out of their way to accommodate me during a heavily booked weekens. However, the neighborhood is sketchy with homeless people around at night and nothing worth while to eat or see in walking distance. The water pressure in the shower goes from hot to cold in seconds. The beds sag and don't hold your shape and you can't have visitors past the lobby. Not worth $50 a night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
8.3

Awesome place! Right in the happenings of San Francisco and close to many other neat places. Check in went super smooth and staff was super knowledgeable and friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.0

Everything about the hostel was fantastic! Except, the location was horrible. There were a lot of very unpredictable homeless people outside the door and for most of the walk to the bus and train stops. We had a group of 5 of us but still felt unsafe out at night.. So just be weary of this. Once inside the hostel it was great, good breakfast and nice staff and good rooms. But there were drug deals and very dodgy people on the street outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We agree, we are fantastic! :) Sadly, our neighborhood does have a large homeless population as many of their services are located nearby. Most are harmless and keep to themselves but it can still be intimidating, especially if you come from somewhere without such problems! Our staff are also at the desk 24/7 to offer info on the best routes and modes of transportation around the city. Hopefully, you still enjoyed this fantastic city and will visit again! Cheers, Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Great vibe in this hostel - beautiful décor and lovely common areas that are perfect for chilling out in. Staff are very helpful but some may need to work on their friendliness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Really cool place to stay. A little dodgey location however I never felt unsafe at all. Bar is awesome for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Great price quality ratio, especially in San Francisco

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! We try to keep the price right in this crazy expensive city! Hopefully you took advantage of the free activities we offer (Chinatown walking tour is my favorite!) or enjoyed some cheap beer in our house bar! If not, there's always next time. ;) Cheers. Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.0

Great hostel only negative is there are many homeless on the street not safe at night to walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! This neighborhood does have a lot of services for the homeless, hence their sometimes overwhelming presence. Our staff are at the desk 24/7 to point out the best routes to get you safely around town no matter what time of day. Hopefully you got some good advice and got to eat some of the delicious and cheap food that's hidden in our neighborhood! :) If not, give our hood another go next time. Safe Travels! Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.9

I had a nice stay. Everything was great except the homeless people in the streets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Sadly, we can't do much about the homeless folks on the streets. :( Hopefully, our staff gave good directions and filled you in on how to get around the city! Hope to see you next time! Cheers, Kelsey HICC STAFF

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.