Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - City Center

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
84% 1097
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jewelie071529
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
6.9

After a long drive along Highway 1 from LA, I never really spent a lot of time here. But after driving around San Francisco the next morning, I would definitely be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
7.4

I just can't understand why couples choose to share their rooms with strangers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.1

Very cool, funky, clean place. My shared room was an ensuite that even had a barhtub! And the room had a closet. Bed was comfortable. Common areas had a sweet SF vibe. Just be aware it is smack dab in the middle of the Tenderloin which can be pretty sketch any time of day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words! We are cool, clean and funky to boot! Sadly, the Tenderloin can seem sketch at times but our staff are at the front desk 24/7 and we give the best tips to get around town. Hopefully you were able to take part in some of our hostel activities. The Chinatown tour and pub crawl are not to miss! Not that I'm biased, but our bar Ivy's Place is one of the coolest spots in town! ;) Hope to see you next time! Cheers-Kelsey HICC STAFF

11th May 2016
9.7

We stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm for the 4 of us girls. The bathroom was a little small, however the room was everything we needed! Just a heads up that location-wise the area has a lot of homeless people, there seems to be some shelters down the street. However, we weren't bothered and the hostel felt safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
9.1

It was a pretty cool place! It was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a pretty great experience! Not a fan of the bunk bed concept though, it make it hard to get to the toilet quickly in the midst of the night. And the restroom was soooo small (my butt touched the sink just standing there and I am extremely slender) but other than that it was great. Also, it's very close to a pristine dining establishment called Brenda's. AMAZING food is very close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2016
9.4

Clean. Reasonable price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2016
8.3

Overall not a bad experience. The area around the hostel is a bit doge with a lot of homeless people, but the hostel did provide good access security. I didn't like the spring beds (I guess thats personal preference) compared to flat bottom/foundation beds. But the facilities was nice and clean. Liked the cheap bar (which has good beer on tap) during evenings, which created a good social gather spot

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rafalimarj
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
5.1

Front of the house could be more friendly towards the clients. Breakfast OJ is the best thing ever, hands down, getting a glass of juice in the morning!!! Bagels are good enough, beds at the suites were absolutely perfect. Location of the Hostel is bad, and worst than 8 years ago, lots of homeless people on crack on every corner. Cleaning staff members were more attentive and closer than the other crew members. Appliances are great at the room. Paid more than I expected, over $60 per night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're sad to hear the area and desk staff weren't agreeable to you. We all love to chat when we have a chance, especially over a beer in our bar! Our neighborhood boasts a lot of services for the homeless and others in need therefore their presence is felt. Sad though it may be to see it is a part of the reality of San Francisco. As travelers, we come across those in all walks of life both good and bad. It can remind us how lucky we are. Perhaps that's why the OJ was the best. :) We agree, our cleaning staff are AMAZING! Hope to see you next time you're in town. Cheers- Kelsey HI CC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.6

The interior really is what makes this place wonderful. The common room areas and bar are beautiful! Cool, bustling neighborhood. Staff were very friendly, although, too busy with all the people coming and going to give more than rudimentary service. We should have skipped the breakfast. Bagels were awful :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
7.4

When I walked in there was a funky smell in the lobby so I was a little worried the rooms would be dirty/stink. I was pleasantly surprised to find out they were very clean and tidy and not smelly. Bathroom connected to the room was also clean. Even saw ppl detail cleaning. Went on the Thursday night bar crawl and made some new friends. Only complaint would be the area. Directly to the right of the hostel is rampant with homeless and drugs. But just walk out to the left and all will be well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.