Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
84% 1183
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Great vibe in this hostel - beautiful décor and lovely common areas that are perfect for chilling out in. Staff are very helpful but some may need to work on their friendliness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Great price quality ratio, especially in San Francisco

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! We try to keep the price right in this crazy expensive city! Hopefully you took advantage of the free activities we offer (Chinatown walking tour is my favorite!) or enjoyed some cheap beer in our house bar! If not, there's always next time. ;) Cheers. Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.0

Great hostel only negative is there are many homeless on the street not safe at night to walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback! This neighborhood does have a lot of services for the homeless, hence their sometimes overwhelming presence. Our staff are at the desk 24/7 to point out the best routes to get you safely around town no matter what time of day. Hopefully you got some good advice and got to eat some of the delicious and cheap food that's hidden in our neighborhood! :) If not, give our hood another go next time. Safe Travels! Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.9

I had a nice stay. Everything was great except the homeless people in the streets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Sadly, we can't do much about the homeless folks on the streets. :( Hopefully, our staff gave good directions and filled you in on how to get around the city! Hope to see you next time! Cheers, Kelsey HICC STAFF

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.1

Amazing staff, amazing people, a lot of fun all together! Warmly recommend and definitely looking for other HIs throughout my travels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

yay! Thanks for this great review! Come and see us again sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with security on the door ,friendly staff very helpful and over all very clean . I didn't find the location to nice but felt safe after getting use to the area and would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
9.4

The place is centrally locaed. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. The rooms are clean, the showers, and the halls have a clean smell. The neighborhood at night can be intersting, but nothing to be afraid of. I was there for Pride weekend, which is probably the best time of the year for a young traveler to visit San Francisco. There wil be lots of places to party. The whole city/hostel is in party mode.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave this great review! You're very right that you picked our finest hour to visit. We love love here at City Center, and we really love when great guests like you come back again... so please do!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
8.6

The bedrooms are very clean and having a room with ensuite bathroom is truly amazing. The neighborhood is not the best, but generally safe during the day. I never walked around alone at night and definitely would not. The staff tells you the neighborhood gets a bad rap for its homelessness, but it's not the homelessness that's the issue. It's the rampant drug use. The staff was SO amazing. Very helpful and super cool. It was also really nice to have a bar in the hostel. Id return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel. Even though it's by where all the homeless congregate they are no trouble at all. Very easy to get around and offer few activities and pub crawls are really good. Only downside is my belts out of all things went missing. But other than that all good. The bar helps to get to know people too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying and for leaving this nice review! I'm so happy to hear you had a nice stay, though very sorry your belts went missing! We have it logged in our lost and found tracker, so hopefully we can get them back to you eventually. See you again soon we hope!

23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Enjoyed my one night here. Surprisingly clean, nice and helpful staff. As others have said, lots of homeless nearby but never felt unsafe as a solo female traveler. Yummy Vietnamese restaurant a few steps away. Walking distance from market street. Satisfying free breakfast. Guests ranged from children to elderly. I would recommend and stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.