Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
85% 1236
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
6.9

Staff very rude. Especially the guy that works at night! I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.4

Except location, everything is perfect!!!! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

A great place to stay! Really quirky with a lovely atmosphere, with a downstairs & upstairs to chill/socialise. A lovely surprise also to get free breakfast as well as tea & coffee all day. Staff very friendly, helpful & always available. Location isn't the most wonderful part of San Fran, but it's near the other hostels & is only a 15 minute walk from union square. I would 100% stay here again & recommend it to other travellers. I am a 19 year old female travelling alone & felt very safe here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Location-wise it can be dodgy - especially early in the morning and late at night. Otherwise, it's a really nice hostel with such good facilities - a bar, good breakfast and a really nice chill area. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. There wasn't much socialising between the hostel guests which was a pity but this might be just the timing of my visit. Overall I'd stay again and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
3.7

the room smelled like urine, the staff were super unfriendly and it was in a really dodgy area and there were hidden costs so we ended up paying waaay more than expexted

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • EcaterinaThomson
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice, clean hostel. Has its own bar which is handy and great to interact with other guests. Large kitchen facilities. Good free breakfast and $1 extra for eggs and pancakes. Very comfortable beds and lovely rooms. Wifi very strong. Have great tips to do around the city and discounted bike hire from fisherman's wharf. Is near tenderloins but no trouble at all and they have security if staff are low. Will recommend this hostel for future travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.7

Such friendly and helpful staff. They were able to help us with day trips and amazing tips for bars etc. our room was also very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
9.4

My friend and I really liked this place, whoever decorated the lobby area can come to my house any day, awesome style and the vibe was great. The bar was really great as well, $4 beer and wine, cozy space. And the kitchen was awesome, huge and no issues getting food and cleaning up. The dorm we stayed in was good too, bathroom was nice and the house keeping ladies did a great job. Would stay here again, only thing is that it's right near the part of DT where a lot of homeless people are.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words about our hostel! I'll be sure to pass along the compliments to Anthony (who decorated the lobby) and our housekeeping staff. The neighborhood does have a lot of homeless people, which is why we work closely with a local non-profit called Glide that helps support our local homeless population! Happy Travels :) Mellice - Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.0

Location of the hostel is well within reach of all the main city sites. Ellis street is a dodgy street and we wouldn't recommend walking down it at night, and definitely not alone. We found a diversion down o'farrell street which is parallel to Ellis street and was much more safe to walk down, as a girl I felt much safer, even though I was on holiday with my boyfriend. Rooms were clean, breakfast was good for 1dollar and staff were helpful. We would recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
10.0

I loved the decor of the hostel very magical .. Ivy bar attached to it was a please treat as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.