Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2017
7.7

Location is one of the worst areas in America and just being outside the hostel made us feel really unsafe. Except from the location the hostel was really nice with clean rooms, friendly staff and simpel but nice breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Stayed here 2 nights. Great hostel in walking distance to Powell St. Cable Car station. Felt a bit insecure walking the streets in this are at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
7.4

Nice clean facilities and friendly staff but Ellis street is one of the scariest streets I've ever walked DAY AND NIGHT...this is not your average homeless crowd here but rather a crowd that is extremely mentally ill and shooting up right on the street. As far as the hostel itself goes, my only drawback is that there are no public restrooms (apart from one on the ground floor) which can be very annoying if your roommate is using the one toilet/shower in your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.0

It's what you expect from a hostel. The acommodations are not great but It's far from being something you can't bear. The localization is great and staff really friendly. It's also full of young people from all around the world. It was expensive tho, but I guess everything about SF is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
9.7

CUTEST place! Not going to lie, they area is a little... different. Not scary, just sad. Loved the hostel and staff! Sooo cute!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.1

Very quirky and cool hostel with comfy beds and clean rooms. However, the area is one of the worst in San Francisco and I did not feel safe as a solo female traveler! Also, not a lot of events held by the hostel, which is not great if you want to meet new people! There is a cool bar to hang out in though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
5.4

A few things were sub-par. For starters, the wifi is not good at all. And when asked about it, lied to/misled by the staff. Staff were not at all friendly, and also when sick at about 3:30pm the cleaning staff still came into the room and banged and crashed around WHILE I was in bed trying to recover and even after I asked them to be quiet as I had a migraine they continued to VACUUM loudly and chat and laugh among themselves. Very unhappy with my stay. Oh and unsafe location at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
6.3

Honestly it's a rip off to stay in the private rooms, on top of everything you're not allowed to eat or drink in your own room??? It was a hassle to let my friend into my room. The bartenders rock though !!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
8.0

Free brekkie is good but there isnt much atmosphere. I found most of them didnt speak English. Also the hostel is close to the centre but a long way from the bars and nightlife

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th May 2017
8.3

The hostel is nice and tidy. It has its own bar too but doesn't get too loud at night. Location is probably it's biggest draw back as it is located within the tenderloin. There is a lot of homeless in this area which made me feel uneasy walking back at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.