Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
HI San Francisco - City Center Located at 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - City Center
USA
San Francisco CA 94109 685 Ellis Street, CA 94109
85% 1400
37.7841131 -122.4172639
HI San Francisco - City Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.1

It's a nice place close to many atractions and services, you can meet great people there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.9

The hostel is very nice in an old type of building. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, they put fresh towels in your room each day. Big kitchen with all the amenities you need. The hostel bar provides cheap drinks especially during happy hour. The breakfast is simple but achievable (I was able to wake up in time for it). The location of the hostel is in a neighborhood on the questionable side. I didn't have any issues but could see people possibly being confronted by it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
7.4

It's in the Tenderloin.... An area you want to avoid. I was terrified to leave at night, and was told my numerous cabbies to avoid the area. Plus, it is ridiculously far from the centre of San Francisco (Union Square etc). While in the Hostel, it was great! Clean, tidy and I felt safe in my room. Outside the Hostel, didn't feel safe. Just my opinion.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laceyj10
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
10.0

This place was awesome. The staff is extremely friendly and completely aware of everyone's comings and goings. I felt safe, comfortable and like I was among old friends. There was a ton of lounging spots, cute little tucked away couches and a quaint area that served drinks in the evening - you can't beat $4 beers! The communal kitchen had plenty of dishware, cookware and was always clean. The room was clean, bedding clean, bathroom clean...I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
4.6

The location is very questionable and in an area of town which is not very safe if you stay here try and not walk down Ellis Street. The staff were rude especially when we checked in. Depending on what room you are in it can be noisy depending if you are by a window, there are usually people arguing in the streets or police sirens during the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Nov 2016
6.6

The actual hostel is lovely, the rooms are v clean with comfy beds, breakfast is great. However the position of this hostel is not good, it is in the dodgiest area of San Francisco. Also most of the staff I encountered during my stay were not the most helpful or polite. There just isn't really a friendly atmosphere at the hostel, which, as a solo traveller, wasn't ideal for me. Overall it's okay but if I were to go back I would definitely stay somewhere else & would recommend not to stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
8.0

Great hostel, super clean and really friendly staff. The Thurs bar crawl is good fun. Only downside is the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Oct 2016
8.0

A great hostel in a good central location apart from the roads around it and immediately outside do not feel safe at all. Wouldn't recommend a lone female walk around at night. But the hostel itself is great and more like a hotel in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elfaquarsmile
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.9

Provide breakfast and coffee and also San Francisco map are very nice. Even u do not know where u gonna go ,the staff will give u some recommend like which line of cable car will have more fun. The best thing I like is their breakfast is until 11 am, so if you are the person who always wake up late, you still have more chance to have a breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review! We're glad you enjoyed our long breakfast hours! We definitely understand a traveler's need for sleep AND breakfast, (between jet lag, partying with new friends, and trying to see a whole city in a few days--especially one with crazy hills like San Francisco--vacation can be exhausting!) Travel safe and come see us again sometime! -Kate, Front Desk Lead

  • erinborden
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel has a really good atmosphere, especially when they decorated it for Halloween (I love Halloween) ! Everyone at the front desk was always super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good too! Overall good experience! A bit pricy for the size of the dorms, but the rest of the place makes up for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.