Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - City Center

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
8.0

This hostel has a fantastic interior in an old building, and is in a convenient location that is easily walkable to both SF landmarks and the Civic Center BART/Muni stop. The free breakfast is decent, but nothing exceptional. I found the staff to be friendly and talkative.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.7

A really cool place a 7min walk from Union Square!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back soon. Safe travels! – Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
5.7

Didnt feel safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope that you were able to enjoy your stay. The surrounding neighborhood is rather diverse and does have its problems but there is definitely more than meets the eye. We work hard to provide a safe and welcoming environment for guests and I sincerely apologize if that did not come across. Take care. - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
9.4

Sketchy area but not dangerous, hostel was very secure and safe. Staff were awesome and the breakfast was very generous. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you felt safe and that you enjoyed your stay. We're located in a very diverse area with a reputation that often times exceeds the reality of the surrounding community. Our staff work hard to maintain a cozy and welcoming environment for guests so we appreciate your honest feedback. Take care! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Like everyone before said, great location but there is a lot of homeless in the area. Noisy at night also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately San Francisco has historically struggled with chronic homelessness which is understandably shocking to a lot of visitors. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your your stay and our central location! Safe travels! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

25th Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed for one night and it was lovely. The staff was very kind and helpful, the hostel itself has a wonderful atmosphere to it, and the free breakfast in the morning was the cherry on top of a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your feedback and hope you come back soon. Take care! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Easy to find and a 10-15 minute walk from the nearest BART station. Just FYI, the area has significant numbers of homeless people on the streets (especially in the evening), but they were generally quite friendly and never gave us trouble. Hostel has friendly staff and is very clean. Shared kitchen is well equipped. Free breakfast is quite basic, but enough to fill up on. I appreciated the individual lockers in our dorm. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you were able to find us without any hassle and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Historically SF has struggled with homelessness and unfortunately the issue is often hidden from view. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you come back soon. Take care! - Anthony, Guest Service Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Nice rooms and good wifi. Good breakfast deal. Good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your time with us! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Prices are steep in SF but glad we paid a bit more and went for an HI hostel. Not in the best location - its the spot for a lot of SF's homeless people however it was only a 10min walk to union square and we never experienced any issues. Beds were really comfy, breakfast in the morning was great, wifi was good. Staff were also super friendly and helpful. It's not the place to come if you looking to party and meet people -really chilled out atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
3.1

used my quarter century card went to the marriott for free.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.