Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.7

We stayed in a private room for 3 nights, the room was fantastic, the bed was super comfortable and very clean. The staff were great, advised us on streets to avoid (as the area is not ideal) and how to get around easily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellently run hostel! Super safe with great security measures, super clean considering the high numbers of people staying there and really cozy! Booked another night because it was such a cool hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.1

Great as always!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

This is a really great hostel. Very cool decor, great breakfast offerings, and cheap drinks at their in-house bar. Comfortable beds, too! We didn't have any issues with the location-- my female friends and I were able to very easily avoid any sketchy areas while walking around during the day, and used Uber to get to and fro at night. Highly recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.4

The stay there was Uber fun. The theme was great too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.7

It was my first time to stay in a hostel and it was a Great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
8.3

This hostel is doing a great job. The staffs are kind and friendly. Yet they take a very good care in hygiene no matters in kitchen or room itself. I would stay again in future. Thanks for giving me such good memories.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing to stay at City Center! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hostels are a great place meet new people and to create memories. Our guests contribute just as much as we do to the overall experience so thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
7.7

The hostel locates in the city center in Chinatown. Bar at the first floor, full of young and energetic vibe and perfect for nightlife or simply have a place to stay. Not suitable for travelers who values quiet night highly or being neat freak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing to stay at City Center! We're glad that you were able to enjoy your stay and hope that you come back soon. Unfortunately the city noise is out of our hands and is a symptom of having such a central location location. Safe travels! - Anthony, Guest Services Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
5.7

The hostel in and of itself was fine. Nothing remarkable. The staff just gives you the rules on a receipt that they're supposed to read. You're provided lockers in the rooms, but no one tells you that you need to provide your own lock. They had them for sale for $4, which was cool. The issue was the fact that they were key locks and not combination locks. If my problem is my safety, a key lock isn't going to do a wealth of good when that key could be easily attainable. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.9

Inside the hostel was great. Clean, tidy facilities, helpful staff, simple free breakfast with the option of $1 pancakes or eggs. Only downside to this hostel is the location, it's right in the poorest area of tenderloin and there's quite a number of homeless people and services in the area. If that something that would make you feel uncomfortable maybe reconsider staying here. In saying that we had no issues at all :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.