X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI - San Francisco - City Center Reviews

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
552 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

They have city activities most nights and have a bar. A decent place but majorly overpriced but that's San Fran for ya!


94%

Auberge très sympa, service à la hauteur. Quartier un peu craignoss (pas mal de SDF) mais le personnel de l'auberge indique les bons chemins à prendre.


86%

Très bon accueil, tout est propre et impeccable. Le staff est accueillant et vous aide si vous en avez besoin. Petit déjeuner gratuit, wifi gratuit. Canapés et tables de jeu en nombre et très agréables. Seul problème est le quartier, beaucoup de sans abris, atmosphère pesante et incomfortable.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel is much better than the San Francisco International Hostel. It's much much cleaner, beds more comfortable, and has lockers and bathroom attached to the room. It provided towels and has free breakfast. Unfortunately it's in a bad area of town and scary to go out alone at night. Also the movie playing in the common room was too loud and I couldn't sleep.


100%

Super Hostel! Kann ich jedem empfehlen!


71%

Hostel was ok but the neighborhood around the hostel is a slum full of homeless people.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Security was fine. Checked at the front door and keys to rooms. The location was central to many places you can go, but not the best neighborhood by any stretch of the imagination. Staff and Atmosphere were great. Pretty clean, but a little smelly at times. Showers were a little inconsistent on temperature, but tolerable. Overall, facilities were nice. Need better wireless signal and speed.


77%

The neighborhood is a little creepy, but using the main streets it is ok. I was alone and I arrived late but I was not bothered by anyone. I hoped the breakfast had more options. Location is very convenient to reach downtown, Chinatown and public transports are close. Staff very helpful.


49%

The hostel was too noisy, too dirty and somtimes ugly. The beakfast wasn´t very nice and bad organised.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This was my first time staying in a Hostel. It was a great experience. The staff was helpful and kind. The atmosphere was nice, everyone was nice and great to chat with. The location is good. It seems to be in an area of SF that could be considered on the rougher side. Although I had no issues with the location, it was close to everywhere I wanted to go and close to all public transit. Overall a great experience!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel offers a member room rtes if a membership card is produced. Even I did ot have it with me, the manageress agreed to give me a discounted rate after I hadd shown m bookinhg records on the net. It offers good breakfast and on certain daysbudget rates for diner. But the drawback is tht the hostel is loated at Little Saigon where a lot of homeless people stay. It could be a little intimating, espeially at night when they ask for a small change. The hostel let guests make local calls


91%

Reception stass need to be more vigilant when peopl come in as it is no locatedin a good area. The doo opens to a main street. Guests are expeced o show a kind of pass, which is not strictly enforced when reception is too busy with guests checking in or making enquiries.


100%

This hostel is the perfect location and has a great atmosphere! The staff are so kind and went above and beyond expectations! :)

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

sehr zu empfehlen.. für junge sowie backpackers top.. direkt im stadtzentrum.. man sollte vorsichtig sein, dass man abends nicht alleine unterwegs ist, ist ziemlich das ghetto viertel.. der rest top..=) gerne wieder


100%

La estancia fue excelente!..

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything is really excellent except its location. 5-block far away from BART and about 2-block from metro bus. There are also a lot of homeless and scary people wandering around the hostel.


89%

Hostel itself was awesome. Our hosts - Norah and others were very courteous and helpful even when very busy. Room was clean, well serviced, support staff were friendly. Bar within the hostel is welcome and was conducive for socialization. The only drawback of this hostel is its location - it is located right next to one of the largest congregations of homeless people in SF - that makes walking around the hostel a little risky. Love the hostel itself tho.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

As to stay in San Francisco is expensive, this hostel is a good choice. Nevertheless, the location is bad since it is located in the middle of the "crappy" area which makes your stay unconfortable as each time you go out of the hostel, the street is dirty and the smell is unpleasant.... And I don´t understand why we have to wash our dishes after the breakfast! We pay for that! Good thing: the private rooms are OK. But the restrooms are so so so small! Big people could have problems!


80%

Very good hostel but the neighborhood might be dangerous.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel is located on a horrible area. Homeless people everywhere, drug addicts, pimps, dealers, etc. supposedly due to a nearby church feeding homeless people. The hostel is ok (facility-wise) and the staff was good to me (with the exception of Arjen) but I'm afraid the issue of where the hostel is located is unavoidable. If you can, avoid staying in the "Tenderloin" area altogether.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback