X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2261 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel. It was a very big hostel but the staff were all friendly and there were lots of common areas on every floor. Our room was small but clean and tidy with a sink and a fan being helpful extras. The shared toilets and showers were cleaned regularly and there never was much of a queue. The hostel felt secure and it was in a brilliant location. It was quite expensive as hostels go but we couldn't find anything cheaper in nearly as good a location.


100%

All awesome, thank you!! Staff were great and helpful, James especially. The private room we stayed in was fantastic, and the location was perfect. Thank you!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel. Many comfortable common areas, a great breakfast and great dorm rooms. The location is perfect if you're a first time visitor to San Francisco.


74%

A good clean hostel, kind of pricy for what it is but facilities were good, rooms were clean and staff at the counter we're welcoming and helpful. It's right in the city so location is good but the one downside is that it's quiet noisy, you can hear all the city noise from the street below and this made it hard to sleep.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Overall a great hostel. It was a bit noisy but I think that just comes from it being such a large city.


100%

Far exceeded my expectations. Amazing place.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great location in the city centre of what is a beautiful city.


86%

We really enjoyed our stay in San Francisco! This hostel was pretty good compared to some but don't expect luxury. Had to ask for new towels, private rooms shared bathrooms and had a bunk bed (double on bottom twin on top). Staff was really friendly and helpful! They've got a lot of activities and day trips to go on. Close to bus subway and trolley! No A/C so some nights were hot. The room had a fan.


86%

GREAT HOSTEL! would highly recommend. I stay in tonnes of hostels and this was easily the best. Clean rooms, your sheets get cleaned, free bagels and fruit for breakfast. very safe and very quiet, cant hear noise once in your room. ONLY issue- there seems to be a fair few people sharing the one singular toilet, and one singular shower, so can often be a wait.


97%

One of the best hostels we have stayed in. Even came with a towel! Friendly staff and activities running all the time. Free bagels is the best addition ever.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel Bathrooms clean and all other facilities. Goof location to union square where you can catch the hop on bus. Resturants and shopping are all close. Enjoyed my stay would recommend to everyone. Thanks again to all staff.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good hostel, a little pricey

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Breakfast could be better, the bagels are delicious but there is only cheese, peanut butter, jam and butter to add. It is good that there are fruits too. There are filters with hot and cold water in each floor. The toilet and shower are separete, so there is no "restroom jam". they are very clean and there is soap. There is only one elevator, however it s an old very well kept building so I believe there is no possibility of adding a new one.


91%

Beds are terribly uncomfortable but overall a wonderful value and I would stay there again


86%

Super cute hostel, rooms are small but comfortable, and the atmosphere is very lively. It is at a great location surrounded by cafes and restaurants, and union square is a short walk away. I would definitely recommend.


86%

we stayed in a private room with bathroom! it was clean and comfortable! We enjoyed our stay!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel is probably the best one we've been too! The location is good, it's only a 20-30 min walk away from most things. Even with the hostel in the middle of the city, the room was quiet at night. The room was very spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, and was cleaned(as well as the room ) everyday when we returned from a day of walking. The staff was very welcoming, and even let us check into our room early. I would highly recommend this hostel!


97%

Great hostel, above average breakfasts (all u can eat bagels, cream cheese, jam,pb, coffee, oj!) only drawback is being expensive.


80%

I enjoyed my stay at the Hostel but, i dont like the carpets in the rooms. They should make the place more modern specially the bathrooms. It is ok if changing the inside look change the price but at least it will feel more new and clean. It kind of feels dirty but it is ok for a few days. The locations is really good, its close to all the shops and close to the Trolleys Last Stop :). I hope this review its helpful.


80%

Good location to access various tourist sights easily by public transport.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback