X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1805 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The only issue we had was it was very warm in the room with no way to fix it... A fan or something would have been perfect! Otherwise great place to stay.


80%

The hostel itself was great; friendly staff, the building is excellent and overall downtown is a good hostel. The location is the issue. Being situated in the tenderloin where a lot of crime happens, drug deals happen, scary people happen, it's not ideal for a woman traveller on her own.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Pros Excellent location, Great staff, Great facility. The bunk beds in dorms are solid and stable. I really liked the mobile charging sockets (AC and USB power) and personal reading light in the beds Cons The hostel should upfront mention additional charge of $3 / day / bed while booking in lieu of Hostling international per day membership. This cost is inevitable for majority of travelers as majority would not already have yearling membership of HI. Its good to know this while booking.


74%

Good overall but the water when showering was cold.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Didn't get the room that was actually booked. 8 person dorm instead of a 4 person room without refund.


86%

Excellent location, near BART and all kind of transport connections @ Powell station. Breakfast was quite nice (amazing coffee!), facilities are very "green", although there was a weird smell in the building and some showers very quite small. Good place to a stay in a fabulous city. And there's an awesome diner just around the corner!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best Hostel in the westcost of USA!! Very cleanliness, good STAF.


100%

An excellent place to stay and it has everything you need and more. Great breakfast and really nice staff.


97%

Very good hostel. Get your money's worth. People that work here are so good to find things for u to do around the city. Would recommend it!


94%

One of the best hostels I've ever been. The only thing that really should get improved is the wifi - if you get a connectiom (which is really hard) the Internet is really slowly


86%

It is a good hostel, and I would stay there again. the only draw back is the price for using their computer connected to internet. of course there is free wifi but reception and speed is rather poor, unless you are in the main lobby.


94%

A very nice hostel, great staff, clean, secure and plenty of information. Highly recommended. Sometimes noisy as expected in downtown SF.


100%

Brilliant all round

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A good location

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good advice regarding where we can eat Japanese food in San Francisco. We got the Wild SF Flyer from the front desk,it was a great tour. The breakfast with bagels and cream cheese was really good.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This was the best location to stay in the city, I saw a couple of other hostels which were close by but HI was in the best spot, close to union square. We stayed in a private double room, it was perfect and I was surprised by the daily servicing of the room (fresh towels, bins emptied etc - great for a hostel). We didn't have the complimentary breakfast, it was always so busy in the kitchen in the morning. I recommend cafe mason next door, it's awesome!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Enjoyed our two days staying in this hostel, warm atmosphere, even breakfast was included!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing staff and loved the hostel activities!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel with beautiful style and nice worker staff.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

This was one of 3 hostels I stayed in during my time in SF and this hostel was by far the worst. My 4-bed dorm was extremely cramped and dirty, there were also not enough lockers for the number of beds. The staff were not welcoming and it created an uninviting atmosphere. Also the laundry facility was broken. Usually I find it easy to meet other travelers in hostels but here I had a tough time. If you are looking for a central place to stay whilst in SF I recommend HI City Center or USA Hostels.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(124 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback