X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1784 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

An excellent place to stay and it has everything you need and more. Great breakfast and really nice staff.


94%

One of the best hostels I've ever been. The only thing that really should get improved is the wifi - if you get a connectiom (which is really hard) the Internet is really slowly


94%

A very nice hostel, great staff, clean, secure and plenty of information. Highly recommended. Sometimes noisy as expected in downtown SF.


100%

Brilliant all round

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A good location

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good advice regarding where we can eat Japanese food in San Francisco. We got the Wild SF Flyer from the front desk,it was a great tour. The breakfast with bagels and cream cheese was really good.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This was the best location to stay in the city, I saw a couple of other hostels which were close by but HI was in the best spot, close to union square. We stayed in a private double room, it was perfect and I was surprised by the daily servicing of the room (fresh towels, bins emptied etc - great for a hostel). We didn't have the complimentary breakfast, it was always so busy in the kitchen in the morning. I recommend cafe mason next door, it's awesome!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Enjoyed our two days staying in this hostel, warm atmosphere, even breakfast was included!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing staff and loved the hostel activities!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel with beautiful style and nice worker staff.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

super professional staff. very clean and organized facility. Loved my experience here. THis is what hostelling should be like everywhere! good job HI SF!


94%

Incredible hostel, so clean, so modern, the double room was basically a 3* hotel room. The only negative I had is some of the staff seemed a little stoned... But it was easy to find, and they get you discount on parking nearby, which is handy in what is one of the most expensive cities to have a car in. Would definitely stay again.


83%

Wifi and washing machines did not work


94%

A well run hostel. Very impressed. The only thing a 6.1 earthquake should have necessitated a check of people in rooms. Great breakfast and central to all

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the better hostels I have stayed in. Very tidy, great breakfast provided, secure and plenty of facilities. It can be fairly noisy as to be expected due to the location of the hostel centre downtown but well worth it for the location, so handy to everywhere. They even supply free ear plugs which made the noise no bother at all!!! Highly recommended.


100%

Great great great! Professional, friendly, dedicated staff. clean facility. Organized hostel. Great breakfast. Amazing value. Highly recommended!


91%

Great hostel, clean, fun staff, great activities. Would definitely stay here again. However, there are a lot of homeless people in the neighborhood.


91%

Great hostel overall - good location, very helpful and friendly staff, good common room and breakfast / kitchen areas. En suite bathrooms aren't so nice because the sink is in the room, so unless you're the earliest riser, be prepared to listen to that sink running all morning. Our door also didn't close properly, if people didn't pull it shut, so the room was never secure. But we had lockers anyway, so who cares. I'd stay here again. Unlimited bagels for breakfast. Mmm.


80%

When booking ask for a room away from the common lounge. NO HOT WATER. Great atmosphere though and lots to do both with hostel and in surrounding areas!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved the hostel and so did my boyfriend and also my friend. Works both for couples who want to be alone as for groups and unaccompanied travelers. It was close to the cable cars, the shops and the big Westfield/bloomingdales shopping mall. It's also close to the BART -Bay Area Rapid Transport, which can take you to the airport or maybe Oakland and other places near SF.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(115 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback