X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
2334 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent location and atmosphere but noise room and very very small bathrooms.


83%

Staff were really great - very friendly and genuinely happy to help with anything!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was one of the best that I have stayed in. The facilities were great, very clean and the location was excellent. Additionally there were many activities throughout the week for those who want to participate. I highly recommend this hostel. The only criticism is it the carpets are a little older and probably need to be cleaned or replaced but you have to keep in mind that this is a very old building. The kitchen facility is amazing and very organized.


83%

Great place

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Unfriendly staff

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time in San Francisco. The hostel is in a really good lokation. Highly recommended.


100%

Best I've seen yet. 74 yr old grandma and 40 something son at destination of a VA to CA road trip thoroughly enjoyed stay. Slept well in 8 bunk co-ed room. Kitchen fantastic 3 ranges, big fridges, generous work area, cooking equipment. Hostel filled, never had to wait for shower, toilet. Cleaning staff deserves highest praise&raise! Front desk folks too-highly knowledgeable, helpful, competent. Breakfast&Amenities great-Wed nite movies, generous common room spaces, excellent internet access.


94%

Lovely hostel, really well decorated, with helpful staff and loads of great facilities like washing machines, free breakfast, a cinema room and trips out into the city. Our shower did back up one evening and we ended up with an unusable shower with lots of dirty water in it but we were refunded 25% for that evening and it was sorted by the next day.


97%

The staff were all really nice and helpful, the free breakfast with bagels, spreads, oatmeal, coffee and fresh fruit was great, the location was decent, and the room itself was very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again.


86%

Very good breakfast and Wifi. I really depended on Wifi for work, and it was just as I had read in the reviews. Excellent in every location. Very clean in general.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A great hostel in a fantastic location in Francisco. The I've ever been stayed in! Would return in the future.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A bit expensive in my opinion, but on average in San Francisco. Rooms are modern with good facilities. Activities are nice.


89%

Huge hostel and great for meeting people, especially at breakfast. Beds were comfortable, only thing is because it's so central it was quite loud with the windows open! And don't forget to bring your own padlock. Otherwise i was very impressed with the breakfast - bagels! And all staff were very friendly, expensive compared to other hostels I've stayed in around the world, so dependant on price, i'd definitely stay again.


83%

At reception they were very busy, when we arrived. But they were polite and treated each customer with their full attention. We are both in our 60 to 71 years of age and we have traveled for the last 6 weeks staying at all kind of hotels. This was the 1st time we chose a hostel for the location and the price. Staying here has open our eyes to the friendliness of both staffs and fellow travelers. Your Staffs are so helpful with all our questions we felt so at home. Big thanks to all.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

HI Downtown San Fran was a very friendly place to stay; brilliantly located near Union Square, busy but not overly noisy and staff were always keen to help. The facilities were all very clean and modern, and the complimentary breakfast is also a great addition. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better hostel.


83%

Get better windows as noise pollution kept us awake two nights in a row! And possibly blinds for more privacy

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It is pretty cool, a great location in the middle of Downtown, and have everything that you need, pretty awesome to be a hostel!

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall good, shower wasn't very clean, that's probably the only bad thing about. Also kitchen area is overcrowded with people, so that makes it hard to get breakfast after 8:30am.


80%

Really great hostel, fab breakfasts and very friendly staff. The only complaint i have is one of our bag of food was taken from storage and though i know the hostel is not liable/to blame for that the staff at the time didnt deal with it in a very helpful way... It was late at night and it was our food for our long train journey but they didnt seem to want to help. Unfortunately that made for a disappointing end to what had otherwise been a great few days.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel was in a brilliant location close to all the attractions. The staff were friendly and the facilities excellent. It was nice having a breakfast (bagels, fruit, juice, tea and coffee) as well. The hostel was reasonably expensive but worth it for the great location and it was cheaper than many alternatives.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback