X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1945 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great Hostel! Awesome people.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This was the best hostel we stayed at in the US, and we woul definitely stay there again next time. It was mere minutes away from union square, and they have lots of fun group activities for the guests who are 21 and over (we weren't unfortunately). The free breakfast was bagels or instant porridge which was fine by me because I love bagels. All in all this place rocked.


51%

Staff were very rude and unhelpful, we were put in to a room that we didn't book that we payed extra for and they were unapologetic and unhelpful, will definatley not be returning

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of our hostel and staff, I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Our team will investigate the circumstances surrounding your reservation to ensure situations such as yours are handled properly and professionally, as we do with all of our guests and reservations.

83%

Good location and cleanness of the rooms; somewhat too little space in the breakfast room. Can be recommanded.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was superior. Location is superb. Room felt a bit tight, but bathroom was large and after one figured out how to use the shower....well, after an inquiry someone hung a sign in bathroom...nice touch...tradeoff between air from outside and loud noise...fabulous breakfast. Will stay here again and if you join HI-USA you can get a buy one/get one free stay here.


91%

Staffs are all good and I could meet good friends from other countries. Breakfast was good as well

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hotel was great, we loved it. However, it took a bit of time for us to check in because the guy at the reception was very distracted and didn't seem to pay much attention to what he was doing.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Cold Showers (2 days)!!! Staff didnt care, apologise or look to do anything to remedy the issue.


77%

Nice hostel very close to Union Square! Every bed has it's own light and plugs to charge phone etc. Breakfast was ok (bagels and jam), doesn't need to be much more for me! Would definetly recommend this hostel.


71%

My initial check in was not good. The staff member looked flustered from a large check in before me, was not very welcoming. The room was small but nice w/ great lockers, however, there was an incredibly bad smell in the room that did not go away for my 3 nt stay. I didn't have a hot shower the whole stay - cold to luke warm the whole time. Great breakfast. The wifi didn't work either although it worked at other places in the city and I had to pay to use hostel computer.


94%

Really helpful, friendly staff. Nothing was a problem and made you feel welcome.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A very nice place to stay, great room mates! Very active social bunch within the hostel itself, and that's a lot of fun! :)


74%

not enough room for bags in dorm rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. As of August 1st, all of our dorm rooms will have been updated with new bunks that are capable of accommodating larger checked-bag luggage underneath the beds to create more space in the dorm rooms. We hope you'll stay with us soon to see the new upgrades!

94%

Nice Hostel although very big, so it's Not that easy to get in touch with other people, but not impossible. Nice breakfast!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so happy you enjoyed our assorted breakfast of authentic SF bagels, porridge, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and milk! As the largest hostel on the West Coast, it can be a bit overwhelming finding people. We highly recommend suggesting a common meeting ground at either the lobby or the lounge. If you have to wait, you might as well be able to enjoy some great tunes selected by our staff!

89%

Nice place to stay. Convenient location. A bit pricy but that's SF. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired. Rooms are big and comfortable. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're stoked you enjoyed your time here with us in Downtown, San Francisco! The room rates we offer are slightly more expensive now than in the off season due to high demand and increased services. We like to believe the quality is in line with the rates, especially with our new bunk beds that offer two USB ports, two outlets, a reading light, shelve, and privacy panel. We hope to see you again for more fun under the fog!

86%

Wonderful staff and wonderful stay, the only problem was the shuttle bus company who took us to the airport, they were late and very rude. Maybe a different internet provider to help when the hostel is full and everyone is trying to get online.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm very sorry to hear you felt treated poorly by the shuttle bus driver! I can attest that is not an overall representation of Lorrie's Shuttles or HI-San Francisco Downtown, and we'll surely follow up with the company regarding your comment. As far as internet, I'll let you in on a secret. The first three floors are the most utilized, so the higher you go, the better connection. We have benches and chairs on every level to accommodate guests. Just something to keep in mind.

86%

A great place to stay in San Francisco. Really close to Union Square. Perfect for the discovery of the city. The staff was helpfull and the accomodations are clean.


89%

Great free breakfast. Helpful staff. Really convenient location for getting around and finding food. Felt really safe.


86%

There is a common room but no one talks to each other, they just sit there with their cellphones and laptop. There should be more pubcrawls (not only on thursdays) or activities where people can meet each other. The dinning room was often full so we had to squeeze in. Lots of families too. Weird to combine pre-drinking and kids eating pizza in the next table. Not enough toilets and showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I've totally been in similar situations where you walk in to a common room and everyone is using a device -- less than what you want from a hostel! We do our best to get guests off their devices and interacting with each other with activities (pub crawl, movie night, Mission tour, bike the bay, pasta night, taco night, beer tasting, etc). We only offer one pub crawl because a number of our events have alcohol involved and we like to keep a balance for non-drinkers and underage guests.

71%

The doors weren't very secure, and you had to slam the door to close it properly resulting in a lot of noise. The floor was also very noisy until late in the night, and nothing was done to reduce the noise. But the facilities were good, if occasionally not clean, and the whole building was well air-conditioned and in the perfect location to explore San Fransisco. The staff were also really friendly and helped whenever they could.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so grateful to have guests like yourself who provide us with a full view in to their time here at HI-SF Downtown. As a result of your comment, you were able to inspire change. We've tightened the closing door mechanism on the room you occupied during your stay and we're implementing a procedure to check each floor throughout the night to ensure quiet hours are being respected. Thank you kindly and safe travels!

(142 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback