X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-San Francisco Downtown (Union Square) Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1551 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

They ask 28$ for the HI association, and If you don't get it they charge 3$ per each day of stay. The worst thing is that they don't make this info easy to find. They write it in their web site, but not where you expect it, like price list. It means that you have to look for it. It is a hidden info that you get when you are at the front desk. I also think that hostelworld.com should have given that info. The hostel was good but I don't like this behave, and this is why I would't raccomend it.Bye

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We're sorry for any miscommunication you may have felt regarding the membership. Hostelling International is a membership organization worldwide and requires either the daily membership ($3) or a yearly membership ($28 for adults, $18 for seniors). This information can be found on all of our websites, in addition to the Hostel World website. It is listed under the "Property Information" tab. Safe travels!

100%

It was AWESOME!! Staff were extremely helpful and competent, activities run by the hostel were fun and interesting :) Would definitely recommend this place to a friend!!

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad we could be the catalyst for San Francisco adventures! It was fantastic having you as a guest, and I can surely say you left San Francisco with a positively hilarious impression. Be sure to visit us again and bring your friends. Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi! Oi!

100%

Amazing place, couldn't recommend it more. Unfortunately, I couldn't stay there for my whole stay. I booked late and so had to go somewhere else for the last two nights, which were a weekend. I was sad to go. Will definitely go back next time I'm in San Francisco

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Usually never stayed in hostel before, but was very positively surprised! Would stay again!

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love to hear positive feedback from guests who don't generally do the hostel scene. They're usually pleasantly surprised and love the type of vibes that we aim to cultivate. Please join us again the next time you're in San Francisco and help us continue to create those good vibrations!

100%

Great hostel, central location, tasty breakfast, functioning WIFI on all floors, clean rooms with wash basins.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds like our hostel was exactly what you were looking for in San Francisco! We really appreciate your positive feedback and wholeheartedly hope you'll be staying with us again in the future.

74%

Great activities (especially the mission tour - great way to see a neighboorhood differently and to get to meet new people)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you enjoyed our Mission tour! That and our Chinatown tour are great ways to explore new neighborhoods with fellow hostelers and experience some of San Francisco's famed eateries. We hope you'll join us for more tours and some night life the next time you're in the city.

94%

The facilities were great. We really liked the decor and the overall feel of the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive comments! Our hostel and all HI-Hostels take great pride in having common areas that reflect the neighborhoods of the city, as well as the personalities of our staff. San Francisco Downtown is our home away from home, and we LOVE to make it feel that way. We're glad you could enjoy it as much as us!

60%

Decent hostel in a fantastic location, but the bathrooms were not kept very clean, and were not plentiful considering the number of guests. The bathroom also only had cold water to wash your hands. Staff were quite slow at check in. Also important to note that the kitchen closes overnight, and you have no access to any food in the refrigerator during that time. Overall a decent place to stay.


100%

thank I like the atmosphere and facilities I hope one day come back and stay forever.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Very clean with good facilities.

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The place was good. There were not so many showers, I would have expected a big bathroom with individuall showers, but it worked out anyway :-) Everyone had ti show their security card, but if the receptionist was busy, no one checked, who got into the Hostel. So i guess this was a leak of security, but when we were there nothing happend. After all its a good place.


97%

Had an excellent stay for two nights mid-week, and were welcomed by friendly staff to a clean and lively hostel. Great stay.


91%

Great place to stay in downtown San Fran. You get nice white towels on arrival which is a treat. They also do breakfasts that include bagels, spreads, fruit, cereals, coffee and tea. Rooms are bigger than your average hostel (double private, shared bathroom). The facilities were always clean and a water cooler which came in handy. Only down side was that it was a little dull, and mingling didn't seem to be encouraged. That said, I would definitely recommend to future travellers.


100%

Very nice hostel, ultra central location, helpful staff, but like the most part of central San Francisco, there are a lot of homeless people around in that area. Though, we didn't have any problems with them!


66%

Please fix the drain and the plumbing! We stayed in a private room for three people and the room was way too small for our luggage. The location was good, very near the F tram line that goes through practically everywhere. And maybe cleaning can be done more frequently. There are some very bad sights that one might stumble into in the bathroom. And, if you don't want us to bring the sheets, DON'T TELL US TO BRING THE SHEETS.


49%

hostel in the middle of downtown, right next to the tenderloin which can be iffy depending on time of day however i had no problems here. rooms felt abit small especially the lockers which ment someone was always lacking a place to put their valuables. the common areas in the hostel were nice and had good tours on through the week. the staff seemed very miserable while i was there which didnt give the best vibes. compared to the other hostels ive stayed in SF i probably wouldnt stay here again.


100%

Great place to stay, comfortable beds, great staff, good breakfast - fresh bagels, fruit and oats. Great location! Would definitely come back and stay again.


100%

Super friendly staff! Great place to stay if you travel alone, there is stuff to sign up for every night. They provide free coffee, breakfast and the wifi worked perfectly. The new dorm bunk beds has huge lockers underneath where you can lock in all your stuff, and lights/power outlets for each bed.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The lockers are REALLY small. I didn't feel safe leaving my luggage in the room.


83%

Like other HI hostels I've stayed at this has loads of facilities but lacks character. Seems like it attracts slightly older travellers. Nice bagels for breakfast.


(56 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback