Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3,245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3,245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
90% 3245
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kent_tam6119
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

The location is strategic fit for those who want a short distance to the main city, not to mention that the convenience to get a public transport or a cable car. The design of the hostel is simple but modern. I love the breakfast provided whereby the bagel, banana, apple, coffee and milk are served. Most important, the wifi here is super speedy whereby you have no worry to connect eventhough you walked out a bit from the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Very happy with my stay. Had a four room girls dorm with bathroom. Friendly staff and good vibes all round.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel. everything you need, epic location. beds were perfect with charging points/lights/secure lockers etc. bathrooms and toilets were easy,clean and everywhere! Didn't get to use the theatre but it looked great I would definitely stay here again for longer....if i could afford san fran! Every accommodation in San Fran is expensive so considering what you get here and how close it is to everything (including Amtrak) I would say one of the best I have stayed in pity it was so quick

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nkrngmko8314
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.9

Excellent location. Helpful staff. Recommendable and affordable hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.9

I have slept very comfortable. I like the way breakfest were provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Really clean environment. Friendly, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this hostel as the most affordable/clean/safe in the area. Also, great Wi-Fi and free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
8.0

Great hostel. Good location next to Union Square and Market Street - easy to avoid dodgy tenderloin area. Free towels, good laundry facilities, movie theatre. Range of activities available. Ok breakfast. Really good beds with individual sockets, lights and underbed lockers. Felt safe staying here as a solo female traveller

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Really cool hostel, we stayed in a private room and it was clean and nice. Make sure to let the staff know if you have a HI membership because we had them as per our booking but the staff member that checked us in didn't ask and assumed we weren't. Also, we were told the airport shuttle takes half an hour or so to get there, allow more because it didn't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback & thank you for being a member of HI! I am sorry that your membership was overlooked at check-in and thank you for bringing that to our attention so we could provide a refund. You were given the wrong information about the shuttle, and I apologize for that. It often will take 30 minutes (or less) to reach the airport, but depending on traffic & pickups queued at other locales, it can certainly take longer! Thank you for bringing this up. We will ensure we address the travel time appropriately for guests in the future. -Sincerely, Mike Foyder, GM

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
6.9

It was alright, good atmosphere, it did the job

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel, very clean, and in a good neighborhood. The free breakfast was great, taco dinner for 5$ on Wednesday was also a steal. Great place to meet other travelers, although it's quite expensive but everywhere and everything in San Francisco is expensive. Would definitely recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the recommendation! I am happy to hear you loved the tacos! We ask for a $5 donation for those, but we do pass all that along to St. Anthony's Foundation, a local non-profit which feeds and clothes those who are living in poverty. Thank you for helping out! -Mike Foyder, GM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.