Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
91% 2844
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.7

By far the best hostel I've stayed in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
10.0

It was greeeaaaaatttt hostel. Clean, safe, nice, and great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • christophertumilson
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2016
8.9

Nice Hostel, Good Facilities, Great Location, Lovely Staff. The beds were comfy, great amount of storage space under beds, clean and reasonably sized bathrooms and showers. Only criticism was the variety for breakfast. If you don't like bagels, apples or bananas you might want to eat elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
10.0

I stayed in the HI Hostel at SF downtown and really enjoyed. The staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were big enough and super clean and the people in the hostel respectful and nice, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
9.7

The room was really warm even with the bathroom and room windows wide open all night. We ended up in a handicap-accessible room so the bathroom was huge. Very nice location, great diner next door!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • piccilla7064
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th May 2016
9.7

Centrally located, clean rooms and common spaces, friendly atmosphere and super-helpful and smiling staff! What more can you ask for?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.6

This hostel has a great location! My friend and I stayed in a private room and really liked how clean it was and how cute the room looked. I wish there had been a deadbolt on the door, but that's my only security complaint! It's really nice though! I would suggest booking a private room if you can afford it, it makes a huge difference!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
6.6

This is a place to go and stay if you are not traveling alone. If you have a group of people and you have it all figured out then go for it. I got there the first night and the girl in reception just checked me in and that's it. No more information about what to do or where to go. I had to pretty much figure it out by myself. The next day I asked them what's there to do and she replied " well it depends on what you want to do" If I am asking is because I am open to anything kinda deal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jchennaux5620
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

I had a great stay here! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean. The location is perfect! Close to public transit and walking distance to many shops and attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
10.0

We're a working couple in our mid-twenties... came here to the weekend to visit some friends. Great vibe. We got a private for one night and a shared room for one night (which was not occupied by anyone else but us at the time). Both rooms were clean and ready by the appointed time. Front desk was really nice and knowledgeable. Breakfast was plentiful and simple: coffee/OJ, huge bagels, oatmeal, and fruit. We will definitely come back again. - Couple from Chicago

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.