Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3677 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Mar 2017
9.1

The stay was great, the facilities were clean and well kept. The single bathrooms were large and had tons of hooks, shelves and places to put things which I found useful that not all hostels have. Unfortunately the elevator was broken so we had to lug our heavy bags up and down six flights of stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.7

Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, a shower more per floor would be practical. Very satisfied in general!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel! The breakfast was great, people were friendly and had lots of suggestions for places to eat and see. This was my first time staying in a hostel so thank you HI San Francisco Downtown for making it great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.1

This was my 1st stay at a HI property & my 1st hostel experience within the US. Compared to the other hostels in the surrounding downtown area this one is the best. While exploring the area on foot, I passed the other hostels & they looked downright frightful. The place is clean & atmosphere is very laid-back. However, I was freezing at night & I didn't see any AC, so I have no clue how they cool the place during the summer. Free breakfast is good but basic. I definitely would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.9

The only problem was noise on the street during the night, but I guess that is normal for the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.9

Everything OK

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.1

This was the first time staying at a hostel and was skeptical but The staff were all helpful and knowledgeable of the city. They were eager to get residents involved in excursions and hostel outings. The rooms were clean and organized. I felt safe leaving my belongings there for the day. The other residents were all willing to mingle and create new friendships. I would highly suggest this hostel and location to anyone going through SF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
10.0

No doubts: The best hostel I have been!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.7

We had a very comfortable stay. The facilities were good and the staff were quite helpful, although I can't say there was a very proactive attitude from the staff to engage with the guests. One suggestion would be to find a different company to provide an airport shuttle service - we were booked with Lorrie's Airport Shuttle via the hostel and the service was a bit 3rd world!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the BEST hostel experiences we've had. Breakfasts are great, staff is fantastic and helpful. We had a room with en suite, a good size, fun wall decorations. Make the most of the excellent and free tours the hostel provides, among the best we've done. Hostel is quiet, but expect street noise, this is SFO after all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.