Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3,558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3,558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
89% 3558
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mayledlin
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Super helpful staff, felt very welcome. Throughly enjoyed my stay here. 10/10 would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Excellent place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.9

Good comfortable stay at the hostel. Great location if you want to move about and explore the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JojoWhitworth
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.7

This is the best hostel ever. The whole place is clean, tidy, and well-organized with tons of helpful signage everywhere, and a great breakfast, and very neat rooms. The bathrooms are clean and the sheets and towels felt really clean which is always so comforting when you're staying in a crowded place with lots of people. The staff were also super friendly and I appreciated all of their helpful advice. I think they have an incredible program going here and highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

We stayed in a private room with ensuite, it was clean and well appointed with modern décore and comfortable bed. Location is convenient to most things you'd want to do. Breakfast bagels are a nice touch too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.0

Please provide more variety in your breakfast

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Loved my time there. Would go back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
10.0

This place was such a steal! A wonderful location, in a perfect place to walk and explore the city. The staff was so helpful! I couldn't have chosen a better place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
6.6

- extremely strict on their rules. Probably the most strict hostel I've ever stayed at. - they made me switch rooms between nights despite availability in my room. - they constantly reprice their rooms, so book ahead of time - I was stuck in a room (my second night) with 3 Australians who came in at midnight, then again at 3 am and made a huge commotion. I couldn't sleep after 3 am. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and never had this sort of problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking time to provide us with this feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced this inconvenience mid-stay -- we were quite full during your visit and it looks like staff were not able to keep you in the same room when you extended on the second morning. We really do our best to try to keep guests in the same bed for consecutive nights, but sometimes it's just not possible. As for unruly roommates, we do take guest comfort and quiet hours seriously, and our staff are always happy to resolve any of these issues that come up. I thank you again for your feedback and hope you enjoy safe travels to your next destination! Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
4.9

1. allocated a bed where someone was already sleeping there! 2. Ambiguous directions: After being informed to take another bed in the same room and settling in for the night (with 6 hours of sleep left before an early morning flight), I was woken up 2 hours later and chastised by a staff member for stealing someone else's bed!! 3. Room was a garbage pile with heating up to volcano levels. 4. Unruly bunk mates. Overall not impressed and would never stay there again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking time to leave this feedback for us. We take our guest comfort very seriously here, so I'd like to reach out in a separate email to discuss your experience in a bit more detail. Thanks again, Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.