Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3,142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3,142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
91% 3142
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
8.6

Would highly recommend if staying downtown San Francisco. Great location, price awesome and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
6.6

Was alright I guess, location was a bit sketchy but other than that it was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
9.4

We enjoyed our stay at HI San Francisco very much so, we had a very clean private room and the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, we only stayed one night as we had to fly back home to Australia the following day. I. Hindsight I wish we had have stayed there the whole time we were in San Francisco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

This place was wonderful, it was stylish and had class about it. If you like a more up class place, stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oooh Thanks! (blushing), -Mike Foyder, GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff are really friendly, and facilities are always clean and accessible. Basic breakfast with bagels and fruit, but was good enough for me. The beds are not overly comfortable, and covered in plastic so it makes a noise overtime you move - my only negative. they can book airport shuttles for you which is really handy. movie night and free pizza was a bonus on friday night :) would definitely stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is great to hear you enjoyed so many things about your stay. I'm sorry that you did not feel the SoFlux covers on the dorm mattresses were comfortable. I will remember this feedback when we are looking to get new covers. -Cheers! Mike Foyder, GM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

This place gets all the details right! From the free bag check to the fresh fruit and bagels I enjoyed everything about my budget stay. Not too many old dudes like me (60) but if you're young at heart and want to keep your lodging cost low this should fit the bill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2016
7.1

Very clean, safe hostel, great breakfast if a little crowded. Friendly staff. Stsyed in private room so atmosphere not so important for us but seemed social and inviting. In a very run down area. MANY homeless people which does colour the area but this is a problem in SF. Would stay again though as could count on the reliability.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. I agree, the number of displaced people on the streets of San Francisco can certainly be jarring and this can color your experience. I do not wish to discount what you are saying, because you certainly felt it, but as a long term resident of San Francisco, I have to say the hostel is not in an area most would consider "run down." We share a corner with three 4-star hotels and are a block from the bustle of Union Square and the major shopping streets of SF. I am delighted to hear we were able to compensate for your negative impression of our neighborhood and that you would still return. When you come back, please ask for me. I would be happy to go for a walk with you and discuss history, social, and economic factors of the surrounding areas if you wanted to. Thank you for your honest assessment, -Michael Foyder, GM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.7

This is my second stay at the Downtown location. We stayed here again because of the close proximity to public transportation, it is a great central area, and frankly, the kitchen is a wonderful way to continue to eat healthy and economize by doing some of our own food prep. The complimentary breakfast is a nice way to start the day. I am impressed by the overall decor and cleanliness. It would be fun to learn more of the history of this old hotel! I feel safe on the streets in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks! So glad you enjoyed it here and came back again! HI-USA, originally American Youth Hostels, took over this building 25 years ago in 1991. It was formerly the Hotel Virginia for many decades, then previously the Hotel Minster, and was built at the Hotel Gloster, finished on December 22nd of 1909. It was actually the first building built on the block after the infamous 1906 Earthquake and Fire which destroyed 80% of the city. In light of the devastation and loss of homes, numerous "Residential Hotel" style buildings were built in the same style as ours across the city, but these are most concentrated in the areas around Union Square and the Tenderloin to this day. Such buildings had modest sized rooms and shared bathrooms (making the footprint ideal for a hostel). There is also still traces of the original gas lamp piping which came out of the ceiling to light each room. While DC electricity was also piped into the building, during that time it was expensive and unreliable, so I believe this is why both solutions were utilized. Other features in the building include interior "light-wells" which allow every room in the building to have at least one window, even the interior facing rooms. This was due to San Francisco building code at the time which guaranteed every resident got some sunlight. Our elevator is even the original Otis Flat-Top installed in 1909 (although its been through upgrades over the years). It is indeed an interesting old building, and since you mentioned it may be fun to learn more about the history, I had to try my best! Sincerely, - Michael Foyder, General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.3

If I hop off a 36 hours flight, you can bet your bottom dollar I do not want to make my own bed. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, your grievance about putting the fitted sheet on the dorm mattress has been noted! Cheers! - MIke

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.4

I had a wonderful stay here. 6 flights of stairs but other than that it was very convenient. Right near Walgreens, where you can buy muni pass, and many shopping areas. Its also close to the bus stops and a street away is the trolley. Inside is very neat. I stayed in a four bed dorm style room where we shared one bathroom which was very clean and easy to use. The lock under the beds were very comfortably. The staff is very friendly and we were helped by Maggie. She greeted us very cheerfully

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the compliments! I am glad to hear you had a good time with us and Maggie treated you well. Also, thank you for taking the stairs. I know the wait on the elevator can sometimes be a pain. Sincerely, - Mike Foyder, GM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.