X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI - San Francisco - Downtown Reviews

312 Mason Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1689 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice Hostel although very big, so it's Not that easy to get in touch with other people, but not impossible. Nice breakfast!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay. Convenient location. A bit pricy but that's SF. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired. Rooms are big and comfortable. Would stay here again!


86%

Wonderful staff and wonderful stay, the only problem was the shuttle bus company who took us to the airport, they were late and very rude. Maybe a different internet provider to help when the hostel is full and everyone is trying to get online.


86%

Everything was perfect. The breakfast was great too.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A clean hostel in a good location. Beds were comfortable by hostel standards. Staff were unfriendly

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome location, staff very friendly and helpful, offered some great activities ( Especially the bike tour). I was in a 4 bed dorm was great bit loud but expected from any city hostel ( Free ear plugs at reception). The room needed more power points and was bit disappointed with the kitchen area closing at 10 and the movie room not being open all night. Other than that I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're pleased our staff, amenities, and free activities were to your liking! We're currently in the process of installing new bunks that have two USB ports, two power outlets, and a reading light! These bunks also have storage lockers that can safely store a carry on bag, which decreases clutter in the dorms. We do close the movie room, laundry room, and kitchen at night to ensure quiet hours are enforced, as these areas are near dorms and private rooms.

89%

This was my second stay at Hi San Fran Downtown and it was exactly as I remembered. The location is superb, rooms are clean as are all the common areas. A simple breakfast is included each morning and they offer a range of different activities every day as well. I would certainly recommend this hostel to anyone, whether you are travelling solo, as a couple or with friends. A++

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for your lovely review and positive recommendation to other Hostel World travelers! Please be sure to join us again the next time you're in San Francisco so you can complete your hat trick and stay with us for a third stay!

57%

I am the most griped about the Hostel not sticking to the promised price of what was owed on the HostelWorld Reservation sheet. The HostelWorld Reservation clearly said after paying the Reservation Deposit, I would owe $40.00 upon checking in. So what was I charged? $47.60. When I pointed this out, they just said, tough. Like it, or else go someplace else. The place was very old and seedy, right on the edge of the Tenderloin. That would have been OK, if the price was right. $53 X 4 persons

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please accept our apologies for any confusion about tax charges. As listed on Hostelworld, online prices do not include tax. When making a booking, the total price including tax due at check in is detailed in steps 1 and 5. We're sorry if it wasn't explained better at check in. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of free wifi, breakfast and daily free or cheap hostel activities. We hope you got to enjoy other areas close to us including Union Square, Chinatown, Nob Hill and North Beach.

86%

Not the best social atmosphere but you pay for the location, its close to everything. Staff was super friendly, cranky dining room cleaning lady though. Recommend for those with friends and looking for a bed to sleep in, also they have free ear plugs, just saying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry you didn't enjoy the social aspects of our hostel. We host a variety of tours and activities which include dinner nights, movie nights, bike tours, pub crawls, and a beer tasting to allow guests the opportunity to mingle in a relaxed setting. Our staff takes great pride in offering the best customer service in the city, and we'll be sure to follow up with our breakfast attendant regarding your comment. We appreciate your recommendation and vote of confidence!

86%

It was really matching the expectation and good reviews of the others. Great location and hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you could add to the ever growing list of positive reviews! More importantly, we're glad we could offer you the experience to leave the positive review! With love, HI-SF Downtown Staff

80%

Great place to know San Francisco, good location, friendly ambient, and the oportunity of meeting different travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad we could host your for your time in San Francisco! It sounds like the vibe we aim to cultivate was right up your alley! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you find yourself in our great city.

94%

Good solid hostel experience. Would have liked some more hostel-run activities to make it easier to meet people.


100%

the best hostel in town, friendly, green, nice people!. The organize events every night to enjoy several aspects os S.Francisco. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Words cannot express how thankful we are that you enjoyed your experience with us at HI-SF Downtown, so we won't try. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND you stay with us again soon! With love, HI-SF Downtown Team

83%

The hostel is great and we had a very pleasant stay. We had a private room with three beds, the room was very small for three people and luggage but it was ok, since we were out most of the day. The breakfast is good as well and we used the large kitchen (well-equipped) for cooking dinner. The only thing that was negative was that the bathrooms were sometimes a bit dirty.


100%

Just like a hotel, but with more atmosphere and personality

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your interpretation of our hostel is the EXACT vibe we aim to cultivate. Thank you for being apart of the experience! With whiskey and wanderlust, HI-SF Downtown

91%

If you want central SF you won't get better; if you are put off by tramps/homeless (a common and not to be feared element of down town SF) you might stay at their fisherman's wharf hostel...


94%

The twin room is clean and spacious.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I think the final price of $50dlls plus for the small room is a bit expensive

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, good facilities, however the staff were not that helpful in guiding you on what to do in their city and when asked they couldn't care less. Free breakfast if you like bagels everyday. So all in all good value for your money.


86%

We were a party of 5 people and were all very pleased with our descision to stay at this Hostel for our fist visit of San Francisco!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback