Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 4012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 4012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • peem19388336
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
9.7

Great facility and staff. Felt safe and sound.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.7

Quality. Not the cheapest in town, but it shows with the facilities. Would cost too much for most to have a lengthy stay, but definitely worth treating yourself with for a night or two.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.3

A great place to stay. We were in a double room with enquire. Clean and modern. Breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Helpful and knowledgeable staff. Comfortable bed and decent shower. There were a couple of rowdy people outside day (homeless) and night (too much to drink in the local Irish pub), so just have your wits about you. Good location for Financial District, Union Square, public transport. Walkable to most of the city, though it can be hilly. Enjoy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.7

Near perfect hostel. Location, facilities, staff, activities. I really enjoyed my stay here. Only loses a bit out of ten because it was quite pricey but not all that out of line with other hostels I've stayed in in the USA. I think the US, and California are just particularly expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
7.4

Lift is old and rickety, only used it once for the time I was there. Breakfast was decent and plentiful. Staff helpful and friendly. Overall a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you found the staff helpful and the breakfast good. While our elevator is older, it is in good working order, well maintained, and safe! -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
9.7

Exceeded my expectations! Kind and helpful staff. There's a great sense of space too. I loved that it was cross-generational, I had such interesting conversations with different people at breakfast. Bagles, fair trade bananas, organic apples aplenty! Great that it's a non-profit, changes the objective!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for this great review. I am so happy to hear that had interesting and engaging conversations in our spaces!

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Everything was perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, very happy to hear this! -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel with a great vibe. Really convenient location within walking or cheap über to all attractions. Great facilities with clean rooms and bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, I am glad you found the location good and the facilities clean! -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
8.3

Great hostel! Everything was as described!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Staff was friendly and understanding. Location was great. Good restaurants and sights were walking distance. Farther sights were available through public transportation or tour shuttles. I highly recommend trying to travel by foot or public transport. The rooms, bathrooms and public areas were clean and comfortable. Great place to meet new people. They have events and activities that allow you to see the city and meet other people. Highly recommended! It was our first hostel stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.