Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
91% 3018
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.4

Good area although it's close to the Tenderloin district where I wouldn't walk alone at night. The rooms were a little small but the bunks had large lockers and privacy with outlets and lights in each. Breakfast was very busy and packed but everyone was easy to talk to! It was a bit expensive but I guess that's just how San Francisco is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Fabulous location and staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Nice hostel in a great location. It's very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. It's also walking distance from some famous SF sights and things to do. I did the pub crawl on Thursday night which was quite fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
6.0

Really disappointed. Checked in, dropped my stuff off and then went out for the night. Came back to hop into my bed and there was someone in it and I had been double booked. I was then moved to another room only to have a girl come in, in the morning and tell me I was in her bed and I'd been double booked again meaning I had to leave the hostel early. I'd like a refund or part refund because this is so unacceptable. The guy on the night shift was extremely rude and unhelpful as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you letting us know about this. This is very disappointing for us as well, and the fact that you had two issues with your bed assignment during your stay is, frankly, ridiculous. The Front Desk Manager and I are going over this with staff today to avoid any further incidents. I will reach out to you today and we will of course give you a full refund. Again, thanks for bringing this to our attention! -Andy, Assistant General Manager

18th Jul 2016
9.4

It was lovely. Wish there were more seats in the Internet lounge but what can you do? It's a very nice place. Well kept and colorful !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Very very good. A little pricy but considering the location and all the other good things about it, it was really good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Excellent (for San Francisco) hostel. Well located. Great staff. Clean- organised bright and welcoming. The only down side would be people having long phone calls in the middle of the night in the corridors. Other than that- great!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved it good location, great food around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
10.0

good hostel in convenient location to public transportation. strong wifi, ample breakfast. maps available & many suggestions of things to do in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.6

My only complaint would be the room I stayed in had no floor space to keep your suitcase so you have to put everything in the locker under the bed, this makes it super annoying to get anything out and also makes it loud anytime anyone else wakes up early and needs their bag.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.