Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
91% 2937
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

My stay was excellent, the staff was friendly, the hostile was clean, and they always had things planned to do in order to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.1

I had a very nice stay . Everything was nearby public transport , shopping , food and mostly it was safe . Positive and nice vibes .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.1

I can recommend this place. Being located close to Powel and Market Street, it offers a very good starting position to visit the city. The rooms are very modern (huge lockers!) and clean. Moreover, there is a nice common area, the hostel organizes several activities (Pub Crawl, Walking Tours) and they can get you a 40%-discount for renting a bicycle. I really enjoyed my stay at the HI-Downtown and would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
10.0

This hostel was amazing. Everyone was nice, it was in the heart of the city with multiple restaurants. The cable cars and Bart train were just around the corner. I had an incredible experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Thoroughly enjoyed my time in San Francisco and staying at this hostel! Location was ideal for public transport/exploring the city, although near a notoriously bad part of town. The staff were fantastic and helpful. Best, most welcoming atmosphere of any hostel I've ever stayed in, fact. I would definitely use this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel! I was new to San Francisco, and the location was just perfect for my situation. It is very central; close to union square, Powell station, and so many great restaurants. Easily walkable to some very cool parts of town (Tenderloin, AT&T park, Chinatown, Fishermans wharf-30 mins walk). The hostel itself was very clean, the beds were very new, and staff was great. I'd definitely recommend. Nice to stay here on weekends if you're into bars and such.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, Thank you for the wonderful compliments, so great to hear that we are checking all your "Awesome" boxes!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel, also the breakfast is amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Had an excellent stay - staff very helpful & friendly, great breakfasts & only couple of blocks from Union Square & lots of small art galleries Thanks very much, Penny , New Zealand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Penny, glad you had an excellent stay!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Wonderful activity program. Did Chinatown tour and bike tour. Enjoyed both tremendously.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! I will let our Anthony & El, who guide those events, know how much you enjoyed them!

7th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location. Only minutes from the convention center. Numerous 5 star hotels are within walking distance. Kitchen facilities and breakfast were great. The only negatives were the high costs, the heavy vinyl covering the mattresses were uncomfortable and the carpets could use a good cleaning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.