Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
8.6

It was a good hostel for the price you pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel, perfect location, awesome people. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel to stay in San Francisco! It is located in downtown, close to Union Square and many key points of the city. Safe (access cards to open room and drawer for each bed), well structured (bed with individual outlet, usb, light and towel/bed sheet/duvet) and clean. Breakfast with a few options but it was enough for me. Staff always attentive. During weekends, depending on the room position, may be a little noising due to parties and movements on the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Thanks! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

29th Jan 2017
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at HI Downtown San Francisco. In all honesty, I am extremely frugal traveler. Most would even accuse me of being a penny pincher. That said, for years I went out of my way to save the few extra dollars on places that were not as centrally located as the HI hostels or that offer less amenities. After years of hostel hopping, I have come to realize that the HIs are the best deal for the money spent. I especially appreciate their efforts to foster community.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
10.0

So comfy 🙂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

great to hear!

  • Russell_Coight
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.9

Overall it's a great hostel, everything was clean and free breakfast was great. 6 bed dorm was quite small when people were pulling draws out trying to get ready but could be worse. Hostel activities weren't as good as others I've stayed at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.4

Really good place. It's big, which slightly degrades the atmosphere, but hey – that's a really fine point. Comfortable beds, great free breakfast, free coffee and sometimes sweets in the lobby, fast wifi, nice furniture for a hostel. Finally a place with 2 personal outlets over the bed, lamp, usb ports for power, and lots of hooks for stuff. Really liked it there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • missmie_895629
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

I always stay here when I am in SF. Great location. Great bedrooms (I especially like the security boxes under the beds and sturdy beds). The bathrooms are just so-so though - quite old and not always clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

I had a great time at HI SF-Downtown. My room was ready when I arrived, so I was able to go right up. Each bed had bedding and a towel, along with a drawer underneath that can be locked if you have a padlock. I stayed in a 4 bed room and we all ended up being solo female travelers. The front desk was great at giving recommendations for where to eat in the city. I 100% recommend you to go on the bike tour arranged by the hostel, it was a great way to meet people and get a nice workout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

My stay here was amazing! Met so many people at the activities organised by the hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were really clean as was the kitchen. One of the most organised kitchens i had seen around hostels. Would recommend to everyone that this is a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.