Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2017
8.3

Good hostel, but a little bit expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2017
10.0

The localization is perfect, the staff is so friendly. It is a good choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2017
8.9

Excellent location and ease of access to public transportation, the bed was ok, hostel activities are good, decent WiFi The breakfast variety can be improved

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2017
10.0

This place has everything one could wish for! Bathrooms were very clean, great location and a nice atmosphere! One of the nicest hostel's I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2017
10.0

A great place to stay. Staff were particularly warm and accommodating. My only challenges would be that it was v hot in the dorms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Great place, well run

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2017
10.0

The hostel is located in the heart of San Fran. Walkable everywhere and connected to great public transport. The staff were incredibly helpful when I had a problem and needed to use the international phone to call home. Very friendly and happy to offer advice. There are heaps of awesome places to visit and lots of hostel free events to get involved in! The rooms were amazing- clean, secure and comfy. The only thing is they are a little stuff when it is hot, but I just opened a window.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
9.1

Lovely staff super friendly vibe. Great social hostel, I met so many amazing people and I was only there for 1 night. Would go back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying at HI San Francisco Downtown, this is what we love to hear!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed our stay here it was my first time staying in a hostel so was slightly apprenhensive about what to expect but I worried unnecessarily. From the moment you walk in to be greeted by friendly smiling faces who help with any small (or large query) anytime of the day or night. The room was large, clean and was comfortable. The only downside was noise from the alley at the back but that's not the hostels fault that's just life in San Francisco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2017
9.4

Fabulous location, area does become dodgy at night so just be careful. Great breakfast and facilities. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×