Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 3,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 3,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
90% 3443
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Good rooms, good staff, good location and easy to get to. No atmosphere and the common area is always quiet :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

I had a great stay at this lovely hostel ! As a native San Franciscan it's nice to know that I I was so welcome in the city even though I've moved away ! I would recommend to anyone traveling here and and stay here again on my next visit !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere and pleasent staff willing to assist with any inquiries one might have! The location made access to attractions throughout the city easy. Thoroughly enjoyed my time here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
8.9

Overall the hostel was great. Really nice rooms and great facilities. The only thing I thought was lacking was trying to get people together and socialise in the evenings

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Ideal location close to Union Square, good breakfast, best kitchen to prepare our own food and store items, snack vending machines, decent gathering areas for groups.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Really nice hostel. I stayed in the double bed ensuite and was very happy with it. It was clean, there was hot water for showers and the bed was super soft. Location wise this hostel really stands out. A couple blocks away from Union Square is an awesome selling point. If I am back in San Francisco in the future I will be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the very kind words about our hostel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! -Michael Foyder, General Manager

  • nfugere
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

First time ever staying in a hostel and I was very impressed! Great atmosphere, full bathroom in my dorm, and free breakfast. Will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! Great to hear you had an impressive inaugural hostel stay! I hope you will be a convert and stay at hostels wherever you go! -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Such a great place to stay! Location was great, just a couple blocks from the train station and an uber away from fishermans wharf. Breaki was good, bagels fruit and juice. Beds were comfy. Staff were always really helpful and the common areas were comfy and a great place to meet ppl. Would highly recommend, def stay there again 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the thumbs up and recommendation!

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
7.4

Th elevator was broken and it was quite difficult, or even dangerous, carrying suitcases up the narrow stairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I do apologize that the elevator was our of service during your stay. I know that it was not ideal for our guests, but the circumstance was unavoidable. Thank you for your patience. SIncerely, Michael Foyder, General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.1

Staff super cool. Give everyone a raise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.