Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,793 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,793 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
HI San Francisco - Downtown Located at 312 Mason Street, , San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Downtown
USA
San Francisco CA CA, 94102 312 Mason Street
90% 2793
37.7865212 -122.4096465
HI San Francisco - Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
10.0

Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Location is the best .. It is only 5mins to subway, 2mins walk to hop on off stop.. It is very easy to hang out at night close to the bar ,shopping center.. Love it! I will come back and stay here next time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
8.9

I had a great stay at the HI- San Francisco Hostel. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the room (4 ed female +bathroom) and bathroom were clean and housekeeping came every day. It was very easy to get around from that location. The wifi worked perfectly and the breakfast was good with fresh bagels and fruit. I would always come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel. Friendly atmostphere, good facilities and clean. Breakfast is also really good. Would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.3

I was expecting a better atmosphere for a hostel. It was Saturday Night and there were no activities at all. Despite that, the hostel is quite good. Good location, very clean and great wi-fi. For improvement, I believe the rooms could have those small locks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
6.9

Breakfast is same everyday with hard bagels, jam, butter, banana, apple etc. Very old elevator that takes time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
9.7

This is by far, one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I stayed in a private room and I can't say enough about how great it was. The room was very clean, very well kept. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. After adventuring around SF all day, it was a relief to come back to a cozy room with a conformable bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the location couldn't been any better. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would definitely book here again and recommend it to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.4

It's good hostel that i had been stay and the location is so close and easy to going out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
6.6

I really regret booking this hostel. Fortunately I changed to the Fisherman's Wharf hostel in the fourth day. The biggest problem is the area surrounded is very dangerous and not suitable or tourist at all! The Powell/Market street is actually in the Tenderloin area and according to reports is the place with the highest crime rates in SF!! I got harassed, catcalled a lot, and there are so many people loitering around the streets, asking me for money and doing drugs! Lots of fights going on too!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.7

This place was super nice for the price and location. Will definitely return if I am ever in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.