Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
9.4

My thanks to the friendly and helpful staff. It was a great place to stay on my own . Jen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th May 2017
7.4

Given how expensive SF is this is pretty pricey considering what you get. Location is really good though and rooms are comfrtoable and breakfast is also good. However my main complaint was the number of bathrooms (only 2 toilets and 2 showers on each floor and given the number of people staying they were often not available when you need them). Also not a very sociable place and not as many bonding events run by the hostel as in other HI places. However it's a good base to stay in central SF

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. They offer a great breakfast in the morning and very entertaining program during the week. I especially enjoyed the Chinatown tour. This hostel has a great vibe and is located in a perfect location. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the lovely review, traveler! I'm especially pleased that you got a chance to join our free Chinatown walking tour -- such a special experience that is unique to what our hostels can offer. Take good care and hope to see you again in SF someday! Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

  • kennethqua
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Everything was very clean and there were plenty of activities. The staff were extremely helpful with advice on things to do around the city. My only gripe was the water pressure in the shower was rather weak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.7

I was very impressed with all facets of this hostel. The location is superb. The staff is very congenial and always willing to assist.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so happy to hear this, thank you so much! -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
8.3

Great atmosphere. Plenty of places to hang out and relax with friends or chill by yourself. It was also clean. The staff were very pleasant, courteous and always willing to help with any questions. Ideal safe location with only a short walk around the block to all public transport. Plenty of places to eat and drink too for all ages and types. Negatives were the air mattresses were uncomfortable at times. The location was noisy at night and a couple blocks west of Mason st was a bit sketchy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.7

We had a little trouble with our rooms and was moved twice. There was lots of miscommunication and it ended up with the hostel taking away our stuff from our rooms which was very disconcerning and stressful for us. However, the staff, especially Rachel, handled it very well and was very apologetic along with the management team. Apart from this, the hostel is amazing, clean, good breakfast and modern rooms with big lockers and plugs and lights. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your patience and good humor through misunderstandings at the desk! We really appreciate that you chose us and I'm glad you got a chance to meet Rachel -- she's really wonderful and we're lucky to have her. :) Take good care and safe travels to your next destination! Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2017
9.4

I had a really great stay at the HI Downtown! The staff is great, and the rooms and facilities are clean and comfy. The location is great, and the breakfast is really good. Maybe a little bit pricy, for a backpacker on a budget, but average for the city, and you get really good accommodations:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of all our free amenities. Come and visit again sometime! Safe travels, Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th May 2017
10.0

Awesome place, felt safe and comfortable. Great location, bit of street noise at night but nothing too bad. Beds are super comfy :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, I am super happy to hear you found it to be comfy and safe. The positive feedback is much appreciated! -Mike (GM)

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

I had a lively stay. Thanks a lot !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wonderful to hear this! Thank YOU so much for choosing to stay with us. Safe travels, Lydia (Assistant General Manager)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.