X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel Reviews

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
960 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very clean and safe ! Beautiful setting, caring and pleasant staff ! The guy working at night shift was particularly helpful and kind ! Special thanks to Sam and Joshua who stood out from the rest of the staff : always smiling, excellent advice and very friendly.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We really enjoyed our stay here! The hostel itself was really cool, we stayed in a 24 bed dorm


100%

Absolutely loved my stay here! After a little mix up by me on the booking, the staff was very accommodating and made the stay great. The food was great, and the views of both Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge were breath taking. Using uber it only cost 24 dollars to make it to AT

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

great place and atmosphere, nice kitchen… good hostel to stay in San Fancisco with a small budget !

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Ok hostel in a great location at a good price for san fran. No real complaints, beds a little tricky to get up and down, breakfast basic but bagels good but please get some proper black tea! Can't beat the location, ideal for a base. I wasn't there to meet lots of new people but if i was i may have been left a little disappointed as maybe lacking a bit in atmosphere.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

poor bathroom facilities great and very helpful staff

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic customer service and staff in great location, not too hectic but still people around

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

love staying at the hostel at fisherman's wharf!


63%

Rooms were ok, but i think you can get a better amd cleaner hotel for the price we payed.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in San Francisco

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel i have ever stayed in! Staff were amazing. Free brekkie was good and enough to keep me going till lunch time. Loads of facilities, space and something going on every night. Location is outstanding and also in an extremely safe area of town. Was nice to see a good mix of age groups, there were ladies over 65 in my dorm - still living life to the full and having a great time! Will definitely return.


83%

Ah pretty boring. But great if u wanna chill and sight see


89%

This was a great place to stay, staff were friendly, check-in was simple, and you get a view of the Alcatras. Two things disappointed me though, their profile states that they provide free (or cheap) tours, when i arrived i was told that they werent offering those - kinda felt cheated. Lastly, it appeared that the hostel catered to families, so if you are young and lookhng for a party atmosphere, this is not the place to be (there are curfews).

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location it's awesome.Just the price a little to high considering the 20 bedrooms!!! Safe and clean with well equipped kitchen


91%

The beds are comfy and the surrounding area is beautiful! I would definitely stay again!


89%

IS LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE PARK SO I COULD BE CONFUSED TO ARRIVE AND VERY DARK AT NIGHT. BUT WHEN YOU GET THERE IS GREAT.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing hostel. Room are great. I was in a 4 bed room. Loads of space and a sink in the room. Kitchen was ok not much of a breakfast. Only two bathrooms for the whole hostel. So may have to wait to use it. But perfect location. Really couldn't have asked for better


91%

We had a great stay here. Beautiful views of the bridge and Alcatraz. The walking tour on Wednesday morning was AMAZING!! I will recommend that to everyone!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

YOU IMPROVED THAN BEFORE(ESPECIALLY RESTAURANT).

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, love the ocean views from our room! Friendly staff and clean bathrooms. :)


(44 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback