X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Hostel Reviews

Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1047 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is very well located. Walk out the front and one side you have a view of Golden Gate Bridge and the other side Alcatraz. Close to Fisherman's Wharf. Staff very friendly and informative. The cafe really good food. Excellent facilities. One of the better hostels I've stayed in.


80%

The location directly at Fisherman's Wharf is amazing but like most of the HI hostels it leaks some kind of atmosphere as they are very strict when it comes too drinking. Also, the mattress was horrible and it seemed like that tried to put the absolute maximum of possible beds into my room. Still, the food in there restaurant is really good! I enjoyed their sandwiches a lot.


100%

Very clean and safe ! Beautiful setting, caring and pleasant staff ! The guy working at night shift was particularly helpful and kind ! Special thanks to Sam and Joshua who stood out from the rest of the staff : always smiling, excellent advice and very friendly.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We really enjoyed our stay here! The hostel itself was really cool, we stayed in a 24 bed dorm


100%

Absolutely loved my stay here! After a little mix up by me on the booking, the staff was very accommodating and made the stay great. The food was great, and the views of both Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge were breath taking. Using uber it only cost 24 dollars to make it to AT

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

great place and atmosphere, nice kitchen… good hostel to stay in San Fancisco with a small budget !

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Ok hostel in a great location at a good price for san fran. No real complaints, beds a little tricky to get up and down, breakfast basic but bagels good but please get some proper black tea! Can't beat the location, ideal for a base. I wasn't there to meet lots of new people but if i was i may have been left a little disappointed as maybe lacking a bit in atmosphere.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

poor bathroom facilities great and very helpful staff

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic customer service and staff in great location, not too hectic but still people around

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Located in a great location and within walking distance to the infamous Fisherman's Wharf grotto and Pier 39, and about a 30 minute walk to Golden Gate Bridge. It was really an ideal location, great breakfast, and decent rooms. Security is a bit on the low side as I had food stolen, and there are people who look homeless seen on the property. I even had a roommate that was a bit of a mental case. Lock up your things at all times, even when you have to leave to go to the bathroom is all I can say


100%

love staying at the hostel at fisherman's wharf!


63%

Rooms were ok, but i think you can get a better amd cleaner hotel for the price we payed.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in San Francisco

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel i have ever stayed in! Staff were amazing. Free brekkie was good and enough to keep me going till lunch time. Loads of facilities, space and something going on every night. Location is outstanding and also in an extremely safe area of town. Was nice to see a good mix of age groups, there were ladies over 65 in my dorm - still living life to the full and having a great time! Will definitely return.


83%

Ah pretty boring. But great if u wanna chill and sight see


89%

This was a great place to stay, staff were friendly, check-in was simple, and you get a view of the Alcatras. Two things disappointed me though, their profile states that they provide free (or cheap) tours, when i arrived i was told that they werent offering those - kinda felt cheated. Lastly, it appeared that the hostel catered to families, so if you are young and lookhng for a party atmosphere, this is not the place to be (there are curfews).

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

great place with amazing views and close to best parts of the Bay Area. awesome vibe, would recommend! Perfect place to be on 4/20


91%

The location it's awesome.Just the price a little to high considering the 20 bedrooms!!! Safe and clean with well equipped kitchen


91%

The beds are comfy and the surrounding area is beautiful! I would definitely stay again!


89%

IS LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE PARK SO I COULD BE CONFUSED TO ARRIVE AND VERY DARK AT NIGHT. BUT WHEN YOU GET THERE IS GREAT.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(629 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback