Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.9

Awesome location. Helpful staff. Big range of travelers age. Comfortable beds and good water pressure. I would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.4

What a great stay. Staff, customers, location, and, of course, the great city of San Francisco

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Loved this hostel! Would highly recommend. Pros: - Easy to find hostel - Great views - Best mattresses I have ever slept on in a hostel - Free parking - Walking distance to Fisherman's Warf/Pier 39 Cons: - Breakfast was not great, but it's free. - Not in a central or happening location, but can easily walk to other areas of SF

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.4

It ia a little hard to find in the dark for the first time. They have the best blanket i have ever had at a hostel! Staff was great and very helpful. Breakfast was basic and u have to do your own dishes. Overall it met all my basic needs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.1

I am intimidated by big cities. Staying in Fort Mason got me away from the scary downtown--quiet and very safe. I appreciated the free parking, although it was hard to find in the dark. I stayed in the 24-bed dorm and was assigned to a top bunk. I was able to climb up the side of the bed frame, but I know people who can't. It was warm, dark, and comfortable enough (lights out at midnight). There were snorers in the room. Breakfast is continental. Everyone cleans up after themselves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • LFlanagan
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.7

Fabulous place in all ways. What a surprise to discover the free juke box down in the kitchen. Extremely clean! Wonderful free events like the 6 hour walk we took with a tour guide who filled us in with all sorts of San Francisco history. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay for many reasons: the location is one of the last remaining "wild" stretches of SF Bay. Beautiful almost surreal closeness to the GG bridge and freighters going under the gate. I personally loved the music-esp. Kiss by Prince. Drawback~ Loud chatter at 5 am coming from the Common room. Next time we stay, I will ask who to call for in-house problems. Also-due to weather, nearby tree fell, necessitating chainsaw work prior to 7 am. Free parking-YAY!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
7.4

Didint stay canceled at front desk the staff that attended me said that there was goin yo be no charge ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.7

Very Nice Kitchen that was clean and big. Doorm with 12 beds was small but it worked out ok. Nice hostel, ond of the best we stayed on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Ex Civil War era Barracks Hospital Building at Fort Mason. If you arrive after dark, Uber drops you off right at front entrance, a very good idea if you arrive after dark till you have your bearings. Muni SF City buses drop you off outside Fort Mason park grounds and you'll need to walk through pitch black punctuated by odd runners and bike riders, Busy place, bring flip flops for good hygiene around common areas like showers. This is a wonderful hostel, I've stayed at about 60, this is top 5.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.