Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Located at Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf
USA
San Francisco CA 94123 Building #240, Fort Mason
87% 1467
37.8070375 -122.4285936
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Beautifully located right by Fishermans Wharf, friendly&helpful staff! Probably the cleanest hostel I ever stayed at. Free breakfast also was really nice, simple but just what you need. Big thumbs up for all the organized activities and tours! Totally recommend everybody this well organized hostel with prob the most beautiful location in SF!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
9.7

This place reminded me of all the GREAT things I enjoy about hostels, least of all the value of the place. Staff were informative and helpful, I loved seeing the history of the Fort Mason location. WiFi was excellent as was the delicious free breakfast. Don't be fooled by the typical standard fare bunk beds, those mattresses are COMFORTABLE!! Would definitely stay again- view of the Golden Gate bridge through the fog, couldn't ask for a better stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic stay, such a great location and free parking was a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of the hostel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back one day soon to experience more of what we have to offer! Take care and have safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel is in a strange location and difficult to find first up. It would be good if the showers had doors and not gross curtains, or if the gross curtains were actually full length!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your candid review of the hostel. We are sorry that you did not like our location here in Fort Mason, overlooking Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Regarding the showers: please know that the shower curtains are cleaned every day along with the rest of the facilities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you enjoyed your stay while here regardless of these issues that you mention. Take care and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Great location, quite and ideal place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your sweet review of the hostel! We are so pleased to hear that you think HI Fisherman's Wharf is an ideal place to stay! We are quite proud of what we offer to our guests and it makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. Come on back and see us any time! Take care and safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

i'd recommend this hostel a thousand times. The bed was super confortable, good breakfast, awesome staff and this view!! wow!! thank you for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you ever so much for such an enthusiastic review of the hostel! It's music to our ears to learn that you had such a fantastic experience while visiting us! The hostel is a pretty magical place and we are so excited to share the magic with everyone that comes through our front doors. How wonderful that we succeeded with you. Hope you get an opportunity to come back again one day! Take care and safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

As usual, people were coming and going all night long. For one who needed a good solid night's sleep, it wasn't. Most folks were friendly. I felt misled by a couple of staffers who directed me incorrectly to the laundry room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of the hostel. We are sorry that you weren't able to get a good night's sleep. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the free earplugs that we provide at the front desk. Regarding the laundry room - we apologize if you felt misled. We do have quite a number of new staff members, so perhaps someone got confused. We would never want a guest to feel anything less than helped by us, so for this we apologize. Hope you can come back and give us another chance one day! Take care and safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

So great! Absolutely loved my stay, everything was super chill and everyone was quite kind. Good location for the wharf and not terribly far from anything else, highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

Had a wonderful time. Check in with Meaney, (Is that name correct?) went very well. She was able to answer all my questions, very helpful, friendly, courteous, and professional. breakfast in café was all one could ask for. Staff there and at front desk were always courteous and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.3

Wonderful location of the hostel: very close to the golden gate bridge. Surrounded by green park. Close to beach!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.