Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf Located at Building #240, Fort Mason, San Francisco.
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf
USA
San Francisco CA 94123 Building #240, Fort Mason
88% 1486
37.8070375 -122.4285936
HI San Francisco - Fisherman's Wharf
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel, super good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location to everything. No atmosphere really though, everyone just on their phones constantly because the room only had 1 area for plugs in a corner (in my room someone had all their devices plugged in so couldn't use it) I booked to stay in a 10 bed and was put into a 12 bed, could never get any sleep because my room mates were inconsiderate, constantly turning lights on and watching videos on their phones at full volume (even at 3am!!!) so this would need to be addressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a great stay at the HI San Francisco! We stayed here for 2 nights. This place had all the comforts of home and was in a great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place for staying in SF for some nights. Located in a quiet and nice area to walk around, kinda in the middle between SF downtown and Golden Gate. It has a special deal with a local bike rental company, not far from the hostel. Nice staff, and amazing facilities. Also comfortable beds. Definitely recommend for stay in SF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel, great location n great staff. Only problem I had was that the showers are not private at all you basically shower together but I found there was another shower room with better showers on my second day. All in all fab hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.3

The position is really good for visiting the area and anyway well connected to the center. The big shared room is a bit of a sacrifice for privacy and sleep but that's expected... recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Beautifully located right by Fishermans Wharf, friendly&helpful staff! Probably the cleanest hostel I ever stayed at. Free breakfast also was really nice, simple but just what you need. Big thumbs up for all the organized activities and tours! Totally recommend everybody this well organized hostel with prob the most beautiful location in SF!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your awesome review of our humble hostel by the Bay! We are so pleased to learn that you had such a great time while visiting us. All of us here strive to ensure that all of our guests feel like they are are at home when they are inside our walls. How thrilling to know that we succeeded with you! Take care and safe travels :)

16th Jul 2016
9.7

This place reminded me of all the GREAT things I enjoy about hostels, least of all the value of the place. Staff were informative and helpful, I loved seeing the history of the Fort Mason location. WiFi was excellent as was the delicious free breakfast. Don't be fooled by the typical standard fare bunk beds, those mattresses are COMFORTABLE!! Would definitely stay again- view of the Golden Gate bridge through the fog, couldn't ask for a better stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woo hoo! Thank you so much for this kind review of the hostel! We are super excited to hear that you had such a grand time! Glad to learn that you found our Tempurpedic mattresses comfortable. Please let us know before your next visit that you'd like the fog to go away during your stay and we'll do our best to make it happen ;) Seriously though - the view of the bridge with the fog is pretty spectacular and we are so lucky to be able to see it from our work. Stoked we can share that with our guests as well. Take care safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic stay, such a great location and free parking was a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of the hostel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back one day soon to experience more of what we have to offer! Take care and have safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel is in a strange location and difficult to find first up. It would be good if the showers had doors and not gross curtains, or if the gross curtains were actually full length!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your candid review of the hostel. We are sorry that you did not like our location here in Fort Mason, overlooking Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Regarding the showers: please know that the shower curtains are cleaned every day along with the rest of the facilities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you enjoyed your stay while here regardless of these issues that you mention. Take care and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.