Hostelworld.com

HI San Luis Obispo

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
HI San Luis Obispo Located at 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA, San Luis Obispo.
HI San Luis Obispo
USA
San Luis Obispo California 93401 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA
82% 166
35.2776570 -120.6558670
HI San Luis Obispo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Location is a short walk from town but far enough out to miss the buzz. A good clean hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hereistriona2952
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jun 2016
6.6

It is a quaint little hostel near the train station in SLO. The rooms are cozy, not a lot of space and they don't have lockers. They seem very "set" on their rules. Maybe understandable but it didn't make it a very "fun" hostel. The closing between 11am-4.30pm is a little unreasonable and some staff were very rude if you let yourself back in, just for a nap (so quiet time!) during this time. Other staff (Gerald in particular) were very helpful and very nice. Pancakes were nice in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Excellent place to stay in San Luis. Perfect location, great staff !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.6

Pretty clean and quaint little hostel - really good location only a couple blocks from the downtown SLO area. The beds were not very comfortable and the place was definitely very old but the staff was nice and the pancakes were delicious!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.4

Perfect stop south bound from SF to LA driving route 1 slo was a cool city a very friendly staff and the hostel just promoted itself to having guest interaction. Had a great time would totally go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

A teeny tiny hostel with a charming atmosphere. It has a gorgeous front garden with a porch swing. Situated in the middle of SLO, everything easily within walking distance. Breakfast is included and it's homemade sourdough pancakes! 😍 There was a glitch in my booking and the female dorm i booked was not available; still a lovely hostel and I would definitely recommend this. A note re closing hours: once you're checked in, you can access the premises with a security code!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
3.7

Absolutely FILTHY! The sheets were stained and we were uncertain whether or not they had even been washed. The shower was so dirty and mould covered we did not want to even use it. We had a private room and the lock did not work, we notified staff and they seemed unphased and we just had to leave our room unlocked. I would not go back again, ever!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
9.7

It worked out perfectly for me. I just needed a bathroom and sleep. The mattress was very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2016
8.3

The location is kind of awkward, as it's kind of down a darkly lit street. However, the town around it seemed ok, so it wasn't that big of a deal. Plus it's about 10 minutes walk near popular area (food, movies, etc) The hostel was cheap, so that was a plus. Mostly used it for sleeping, as I was in an out. I'd recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
8.0

Loved the pancakes. Super location near Amtrak. Bike rental problematic ended up renting at steep price from commercial outfit (excellent bike tho). SLO a bike friendly town. Public bus system superlative, cheap and far-ranging (went out to Hearst Castle with rental bike). This setup reminds me (in a very positive way) of Austin TX site. Looking to go to DC next.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.