Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Luis Obispo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
HI San Luis Obispo Located at 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA, San Luis Obispo.
HI San Luis Obispo
USA
San Luis Obispo California 93401 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA
88% 214
35.2776570 -120.6558670
HI San Luis Obispo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
5.7

I found the staff friendly and helpful but the common areas were very small and it was crowded. I found the upstairs bathroom shower to be dirty and the doors to the dorms were constantly left wide open

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
9.4

This was my first time staying at a hostel. My experience was very positive and I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Awesome staff, I was really impressed! Beautiful city, I will defiantly be coming back! The price is higher during December and January when college students are traveling around. If you happen to come before 4:30pm when it isn't open you can knock and they will allow you to keep your stuff in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
8.6

Arrived via Amtrak at 2pm was able to stow backpack via (unlocked) back door. Wanted to rent a bike but staff not available until 4:30 (too dark for safe riding as no lights come with $25/day rental). Two men rose early and talked loudly in kitchen during "quiet hours". Pancakes & coffee excellent. Price a big draw.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

I stayed over Thanksgiving and was so delighted from the hostel! Great stuff in a cozy house! So much good talks like in a big family - Greetings to John! It was like heaven after spending a night in a "hostel" in Downtown LA. - SLO is great! SLO is California! - If you arrive by amtrak 2pm you can friendly ask for luggage storage, it should not be a problem. PS: The pancakes are delicious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
9.7

Thumbs up

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

Awesome Hostel in a super cozy town. I will definitly get back here when I'm in the area. The pancakes for breakfast were super good. By the way, I did not expect San Louis Obispo to be such a cool Party town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
8.9

Great location by the train station and centre of town. The breakfast is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel and met great people there - really welcoming atmosphere and went out with staff and guests in the evenings, really social and fun but without being a crazy party hostel, chilled feel too. Got great tips of places to visit (make the journey to Hearst castle if you can, its worth it!) from the other guests in our dorm too. Dorms are spacious, decent lockers, plenty of bathrooms, clean and tidy. Sourdough breakfast pancakes are amazing! Whole hostel really cute and well located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.0

Pro- Jarred was great- helpful checking in and provided lots of local tips. Con- I think the other staff were a bit distant and not that welcoming. Not sure why, but a weird vibe. Are they happy working there? Please drop the constant F-Bombs in mixed company- manager was chatting with his friend (regular guest?) who was very foul-mouthed, and it was a bit much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.