Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Luis Obispo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
HI San Luis Obispo Located at 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA, San Luis Obispo.
HI San Luis Obispo
USA
San Luis Obispo California 93401 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA
85% 193
35.2776570 -120.6558670
HI San Luis Obispo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.0

Pro- Jarred was great- helpful checking in and provided lots of local tips. Con- I think the other staff were a bit distant and not that welcoming. Not sure why, but a weird vibe. Are they happy working there? Please drop the constant F-Bombs in mixed company- manager was chatting with his friend (regular guest?) who was very foul-mouthed, and it was a bit much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
10.0

This hostel was superb. I had a mistake with my reservation-wrong dates. The place was packed but they put me on the waiting list for the same night, called me and saved the day while me and my boyfriend were stuck in route one without I place to stay the night, waited up till we arrived and treated us so sweetly. Great staff. Beautiful & special hostel with a great atmosphere. Definitely will go back there if I'll ever be again on route one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.7

Very cut hostel with guest kitchen if you feel like cooking. Breakfast provided (pancakes are tasty) and plenty of space to hang out after a long day exploring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
7.4

It might be nice to have a sign up sheet for showers, since there are only two. I put my things in the bathroom and stepped away for a second and someone snaked my spot. There are no paper towels in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel, lovely town! Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

This is a great location! It is located centrally in small SLO and feels very homey! The staff was friendly and accommodating and parking was not an issue at all. We will definitely be returning for a longer trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

They were so nice and accommodating they let me sleep in a staff bunk since they were overbooked and the pancakes were awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
6.0

Hostels are great except when you have one guest that is rude and does not follow the rules, and uses his cell phone in the room surfing the net or checking emails In the middle of the night with sound on. Sometimes you just have inconsiderate a__holes. Also hostels that close guests out all afternoon is a little inconvenient when you become tired from sightseeing and wish you could just go back and rest or nap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
8.6

Great place to stay. I really thought the staff was super nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

I loved so much: nice, quiet wooden beds, windows I could open for ventilation plus a fan, plenty of bathrooms, truly unique sourdough pancake station in the morning, and on and on. It wasn't quite as beautiful as the ITH Adventure Lodge in Big Bear or as cheap as Las Vegas hostels, but this is in my top three places I've stayed (not just hostels). I forgot an onion that I got from the farmers market, but they, fortunately, put it in the staff refrigerator, so I got it back! Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.