Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI San Luis Obispo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
HI San Luis Obispo Located at 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA, San Luis Obispo.
HI San Luis Obispo
USA
San Luis Obispo California 93401 1617 Santa Rosa St., San Luis Obispo, CA
84% 177
35.2776570 -120.6558670
HI San Luis Obispo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

They were so nice and accommodating they let me sleep in a staff bunk since they were overbooked and the pancakes were awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
6.0

Hostels are great except when you have one guest that is rude and does not follow the rules, and uses his cell phone in the room surfing the net or checking emails In the middle of the night with sound on. Sometimes you just have inconsiderate a__holes. Also hostels that close guests out all afternoon is a little inconvenient when you become tired from sightseeing and wish you could just go back and rest or nap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
8.6

Great place to stay. I really thought the staff was super nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

I loved so much: nice, quiet wooden beds, windows I could open for ventilation plus a fan, plenty of bathrooms, truly unique sourdough pancake station in the morning, and on and on. It wasn't quite as beautiful as the ITH Adventure Lodge in Big Bear or as cheap as Las Vegas hostels, but this is in my top three places I've stayed (not just hostels). I forgot an onion that I got from the farmers market, but they, fortunately, put it in the staff refrigerator, so I got it back! Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Location is a short walk from town but far enough out to miss the buzz. A good clean hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlieleahy
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.7

Good hostel and staff, pancakes in the morning! Very chilled atmosphere, the type of place to unwind after a bit of traveling. hostel does close during the day 11am-430.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.0

An average hostel with friendly staff, cool pancake breakfast and nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hereistriona2952
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jun 2016
6.6

It is a quaint little hostel near the train station in SLO. The rooms are cozy, not a lot of space and they don't have lockers. They seem very "set" on their rules. Maybe understandable but it didn't make it a very "fun" hostel. The closing between 11am-4.30pm is a little unreasonable and some staff were very rude if you let yourself back in, just for a nap (so quiet time!) during this time. Other staff (Gerald in particular) were very helpful and very nice. Pancakes were nice in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Excellent place to stay in San Luis. Perfect location, great staff !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.6

Pretty clean and quaint little hostel - really good location only a couple blocks from the downtown SLO area. The beds were not very comfortable and the place was definitely very old but the staff was nice and the pancakes were delicious!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.