Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
HI Seattle at the American Hotel Located at 520 S. King St., , Seattle.
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
USA
Seattle Washington 98104-2834 520 S. King St.
82% 688
47.5985237 -122.3267555
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, the only negative were all the bums on the seem street as the hostel at night. Other then that, great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
9.1

The location was really good. It's really close to the station so we can easily go to airport. And also bus stop was in front of the station near there. They have very good access.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Sep 2016
4.6

Not a good place for socializing, no designated smoking area and no alcohol allowed inside the Hostel. Common areas were pretty bad too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tardisoperator
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

My first stay at a hostel in many years, and I was not disappointed. The staff were friendlier than most 4 star hotel front desk, the room was a decent size, Only thing that gave me some grief while sleeping was the bed was a tad on the creaky side. And by that I mean, it sounded like some crazy sex was going on when it was only the guy on the bottom bunk rolling over. Would stay again in a heart beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Windows that opened more easily and a larger, more powerful fan, would have improved the environment of the room. A choice of cold cereals, along with some pastries. would have been better than the compulsory instant oatmeal presented for breakfast. Besides above, the hostel was nice. It was clean and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
7.7

Improvements should be made to this property. Rooms should be painted to make the property and bedrooms more attractive and comfortable. Windows need to be replaced badly and immediately. I heard noise from the street for 3 nights. Bedding and primarily the mattresses are as hard as a sidewalk. Mattresses should be replaced asap to make guests more comfortable. If you need to adhere to a strict budget, then the American Hotel is fine and reasonable otherwise. Common areas were fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel is super-convenient for trains & the Seattle Link/light rail, so you can get to other places in the city very easily. It's in Chinatown/International District, so most of the food places close by are from that region; If that's not to your taste, prepare for some walking. The folks running the place do a fantastic job of letting people know what's happening in Seattle which might interest them, as well as hosting events & doing walking tours & so on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • regulimartin2667
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.0

Relatively good hostel, staff polite but rather not too helpful.. overall was a choice I would repeat again, but it could have been better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location near the Amtrak station, with convenient transportation to the airport; walking distance to downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Sep 2016
7.1

the hostel was lacking atmosphere a bit. the breakfast was really good however and everything seemed pretty clean. location is very handy if you need king street station, otherwise I would stay in a hostel in a better neighbourhood ie Fremont

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.