Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
6.9

Good location, friendly staff and many free activities. Located right across the link station, only 20 minutes walk to Pike Market. Many Asian food restaurants nearby.... The only big issue would be, hmm, there's no heat in the room when the temperature is low....every hostel I've been to before has heat in the room.... also the hallway smells a little. It might be caused by the wet weather. No heat in the room downgrades the value of money. There's fan provided though, which helps a little bit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.1

Very nice place, staff, location, etc... ,I´ll come again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us! I look forward to next time. Thanks for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
6.0

Cramped, shady area with good connections. Heating didn't work in the room so it was insufferable to sleep during the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so sorry that the room was cold during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this and I hope that you will try us out again in the future. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

4th Mar 2017
5.4

Just bad vibes! I was in and out in 20 minutes. I wasn't feeling well after a flight, so I was happy to arrive at my hostel which was in a great location. Everything was off. Lights weren't functioning in my room, the heat was off and my room was bitter cold, the elevator to my fourth floor room was only for staff members. I'm used to a very different standard from Hostels international. It's a perfectly safe place with beds for everyone, and that's about it. Stay uptown in fremont.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so sorry for this. It sounds like one of those days that anything that could go wrong did go wrong. Please accept our sincerest apologies and I hope that you will continue to stay at other HI Hostels during future travels. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

24th Feb 2017
7.1

The location isn't that great. The hallways smell a bit. The TV room couches are not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your important feedback. We are in the process of sprucing up the TV Room and changing up the air fresheners we currently use in the hallways. Next time you are in town, check out Kayla's Chinatown Walking Tour; it might change your mind about the neighborhood. Thanks so much for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

8th Feb 2017
9.4

Overall a good place to stay and right near the light rail and bus/train links. Great staff, the mattress on the beds have been improved since my last visit, wifi can be a little slow, good breakfast and good showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for noticing the new mattresses! We have recently had them replaced. Thanks for staying with us and I can't wait to see you again! Happy Travels, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Good place to stay in. Really liked the added security of being able to hire larger lockers. Not in a great area to do stuff, but it was just down the road from the Link which made getting places really easy. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were clean. Good breakfast, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad we could help you out with directions and using the nearby transportation to get to the local attractions. Thanks so much for staying with us! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

27th Jan 2017
5.1

There was paid parking across the street. I was told by the front desk that parking on the street was free. I woke up to a 44$ parking ticket. Being from out of town, better assistance would have saved me the extra 20$ I had to pay for this error. The shower head was also broken in the restroom and the floors were not very clean. This is why I gave a poorer rating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so sorry for the misunderstandings regarding parking. Thank you so much for letting us know about the maintenance and cleanliness items we needed to address. Your feedback is extremely important to us. Thanks for staying with us--Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi here is terrible. Quite expensive to stay but it does balance out as you're in China Town and can get great cheap food. spacing of guests is odd. should fill a room to create more opportunity to make friends. 1/2 people in a 4 person room isn't the best option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so sorry about the WiFi. Thank you for letting us know so that we could get that reset and do some investigating. We know how important WiFi service is to our guests. This time of year, we're a little quieter and since we have the extra space, we like to spread folks out to give more room, bottom beds, etc. Thank you so much for your feedback; now we'll ask what folks would prefer at check in. Thanks for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such a great rating! Happy Travels, Lydia, AGM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.