Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Feb 2017
7.1

The location isn't that great. The hallways smell a bit. The TV room couches are not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Overall a good place to stay and right near the light rail and bus/train links. Great staff, the mattress on the beds have been improved since my last visit, wifi can be a little slow, good breakfast and good showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Good place to stay in. Really liked the added security of being able to hire larger lockers. Not in a great area to do stuff, but it was just down the road from the Link which made getting places really easy. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were clean. Good breakfast, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
5.1

There was paid parking across the street. I was told by the front desk that parking on the street was free. I woke up to a 44$ parking ticket. Being from out of town, better assistance would have saved me the extra 20$ I had to pay for this error. The shower head was also broken in the restroom and the floors were not very clean. This is why I gave a poorer rating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so sorry for the misunderstandings regarding parking. Thank you so much for letting us know about the maintenance and cleanliness items we needed to address. Your feedback is extremely important to us. Thanks for staying with us--Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi here is terrible. Quite expensive to stay but it does balance out as you're in China Town and can get great cheap food. spacing of guests is odd. should fill a room to create more opportunity to make friends. 1/2 people in a 4 person room isn't the best option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so sorry about the WiFi. Thank you for letting us know so that we could get that reset and do some investigating. We know how important WiFi service is to our guests. This time of year, we're a little quieter and since we have the extra space, we like to spread folks out to give more room, bottom beds, etc. Thank you so much for your feedback; now we'll ask what folks would prefer at check in. Thanks for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such a great rating! Happy Travels, Lydia, AGM

23rd Jan 2017
6.0

There are homeless ppl and shady characters that litter the area. The interior needs to be renovated and reimagined. The cleaning staff does a great job and are nice people. Kayla was a great hostel ambassador.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
4.6

No vibe. Not the best location. Old facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I welcome your feedback so that we may improve our services and offerings for future guests. Thank you so much for your business and I hope that you enjoy the remainder of your travels and hostel stays within our network. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • christianwb
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Nice place - beds very squeaky though so if anyone else in a dorm is moving during the night, tends to wake everyone up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for letting us know about the squeaky beds so that we can get that fixed right away. I'm so sorry that it kept you awake at night. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and your adventures in the city. Thanks for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Hostel staff are welcoming; also give an update on their daily board of events in Seattle; the price was reasonable. Rooms are clean as well of the men bath rooms that is the main concern for myself; the morning breakfast was wonderful not like some hostels that lay out the same food from the day before. So, over all I highly recommend American Hostel to my friends; family for future events in Seattle. Sincerely John Martinez

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for such wonderful praise about our team members, cleanliness and breakfast! I'm looking forward to your next visit. Happy Travels, Lydia, AGM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.