Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.1

It was the perfect location for a weekend in Seattle. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. The cleanliness of the whole hostel was impressive - particularly the kitchen and bathrooms. We definitely didn't expect breakfast at all and the selection of breakfast food was impressive as was the kitchen. At times it a little noisy in the night but overall we slept well and comfortably. I would definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
6.3

Since my last visit this Hostel had made some improvements, but as far as having clean carperts in the room, and the bathrooms . both still need improvements.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback. We've got bathroom renovations in process, which has hurt us a little bit for bathroom capacity. Thanks for staying with us and happy travels!--Lydia, AGM

7th Aug 2017
10.0

The location is amazing! Chinatown and the international district has amazing restaurants and proximity to all kinds of downtown events and attractions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
6.3

Very expensive but location is ok near the light rail and Amtrak station. Room had no aircon and was very noisy. Breakfast was good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
7.1

Great stay other than the guy on the desk who ran down the stairs shouted 'hey dumbass' at me upon entry into the hostel simply because someone had pressed the buzzer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so so sorry this happened. This was a horrible way to be welcomed in and absolutely unacceptable. Management was alerted to this when it happened and the employee has been dealt with regarding this incident. Thank you so much for staying with us and I hope that your future hostel experiences are much more welcoming. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.1

This was a well set-up hostel, and very convenient to public transportation links. The area is a little dodgy. It wasn't the most social, although they did have activities most days (I was only there 1 night on a Sunday so wasn't able to check them out). Main downside was that it was quite noisy around midnight, both with street noise, and people coming and going (despite having rules about noise after 11). They said they provided free earplugs, so I should have taken them up on that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexandra2591
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
8.3

Nice and cozy hostel. Clean rooms and very large kitchen/social area. Also has laundry and big lockers. In the heart of Chinatown, Seattle. About 45 mins to an hour walk to downtown. Only downfall was that the streets outside the hostel and within a few blocks were really smelly and kind of sketchy with a lot of homeless people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jenacy7564
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.1

It's located in Chinatown so you need to Uber at night to get home safely. The kitchen is big and good free breakfast. Close to lots of food and downtown. No night life at the hostel no bar either. Clean rooms and met some sweet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us!--Lydia, AGM

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

It is the second time I go. It was exactly as I remembered it. I would go back a third time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.9

The location is in Chinatown with it tasty restaurant. But there are still a lot of homeless people around the corner. You just have to know where to go, then you are all right. The rooms are locked but the kitchen and the cleaners are open for everyone. The breakfast was tasty and in the kitchen you can find a lot of successions what to see in Seattle. The atmosphere was really nice and I enjoyed my time there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm so glad that you enjoyed breakfast and your stay at our hostel! Thanks so much for staying with us. Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.