Hostelworld.com

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
HI Seattle at the American Hotel Located at 520 S. King St., , Seattle.
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
USA
Seattle Washington 98104-2834 520 S. King St.
83% 585
47.5985237 -122.3267555
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.6

Very handy location right next to the trains and the rooms had big lockers and power to charge your devices right next to every bed. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.3

Nothing bad about this hostel. A bit of distance from the centre but I chose it as it is very near Amtrak station. Kitchen well equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
10.0

wonderful place to stay thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.4

I was in town to see some friends; the surrounding area might seem a bit intimidating but in terms of access, it was amazing. I used public transit pretty liberally; being within spitting distance of a LINK station makes it easy to get to/from airport and rest of the city. It's also within 15 minute walking distance to the waterfront area (be aware: lots of construction going on!) and I could be at Pike Place Market within 20 minutes on foot. Amenities were great, clean, secure. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.9

Location was a little farther from the main city center but close to good public transportation that gets you there in around 10 minutes. Clean facilities but pricey for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dlmoffitt
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Overall I was greatly impressed with the stay. Cleanliness was amazing in both the shared bathrooms and the linens. Staff was friendly. I would recommend staying here and would stay here again myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

I was in town for a visit, and I am so glad I booked this hostel. Clean towels and sheets. Free breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff. Short walk to downtown! Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • meghalton2509
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
7.4

The bright and friendly staff were the best part. It's an old building, it's got old paint peeling windows. Areas like the kitchen and bathroom were well cleaned and bed linen and towels were fresh and bright, but it was a bit dusty in our small 4 person room, which wasn't great for my dust-mite allergy. It was also very warm in the room, 2 of the party had very fitful nights sleep. The only cooling was a small, very noisy fan on each bed. Not practical to leave this on overnight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
4.9

The tanned black haired girl behind the desk came in at 7pm whilst we were checking in with another member of staff, very intoxicated with sick on her clothes talking about how drunk she was and that she needed to be sick again. The next day when she was working and hungover, I asked her for some help on where to go and what to do in Seattle and her response was "I don't know". Great location in the heart of China town close to trains/buses.Building/rooms needs renovation. Bathrooms were clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.6

Old Hotel renovated into a hostel in the heart of Chinatown International District of Seattle.The Chinese archway with dragons and Uwajimaya market (huge asian grocery/take-out stalls) are just steps away from the hostel's front door. Light breakfast was included- coffee,tea,bread,bagel. The dorm rooms are small but clean with large lockers, communal bathrooms were tidy. I recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to see the International district or taking the King St. Station Amtrak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.