Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 819 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

Building looks a little run down but the rooms are clean, beds are comfy and made up very neatly. Why pay over $300 usd for a hotel when the HI hostel is in the perfect location and has everything you need. Even free breakfast from 7am-9am!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.0

A little dull on the atmosphere. Clean, secure and decent spot to get around town. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Our stay was pretty standard for a hostel- nothing fancy but a place to lay your head. Extremely clean and secure spot. Our only complaint was the staff. Our first night there, the staff on desk were so rude to a gentleman in front of us and also to us directly afterwards. The staff the other days seemed good enough. But none were very helpful or approachable except for the gentleman I am assuming was the manager who helped us back into our room after forgetting something

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

What a lovely place to stay! A block from the train - very clean and very friendly staff. My bed was comfortable and my room was warm. I shared with some young women and it was only $34. For the night! I'll stay there again for sure!!! Thank you!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

This was the first city hostel that I have stayed in and I loved my experience. The hostel was so close to a bus and train station that can easily transport you anywhere you would want to go in the city. It's also located in the international district of Seattle, known for the best cheap eats! The staff was really helpful and seemed genuine. The kitchen was very clean and had free coffee all day! Loved my stay and would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel. Friendly staff, good location close walk to CBD, nice breakfast, overall very clean and tidy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
8.3

Very good wifi. Nice location right next to light rail station. Metal dorm beds are very shaky so expect to wake up every time the other person moves. Power outlets, lamp and fan next to every bed. No elevator so climbing to the 4th floor with 20 kg of luggage takes an effort. Pretty alright hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
6.6

Really cold in the rooms, made it hard to sleep and the heater we were given tripped the entire rooms fuses so couldn't be used for long periods of time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
8.3

Great first hostel to stay in! Friendly staff and guests! People from around the world come to stay there and if you strike up a conversation they may just cook for you!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.