Hostelworld.com

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
HI Seattle at the American Hotel Located at 520 S. King St., , Seattle.
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
USA
Seattle Washington 98104-2834 520 S. King St.
84% 560
47.5985237 -122.3267555
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2016
8.6

Old Hotel renovated into a hostel in the heart of Chinatown International District of Seattle.The Chinese archway with dragons and Uwajimaya market (huge asian grocery/take-out stalls) are just steps away from the hostel's front door. Light breakfast was included- coffee,tea,bread,bagel. The dorm rooms are small but clean with large lockers, communal bathrooms were tidy. I recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to see the International district or taking the King St. Station Amtrak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.3

Bathrooms could use a refresh and more womens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.7

Overall I would say this was exactly as we thought it would be. We came in about midnight so the area looked a little sketchy but once inside it was great. In the daylight it was fine. The staff were wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
5.7

The hostel overall is good. However, the room we were in (330) only had terrible translucent miniblinds on the window. There is a streetlight outside that rendered the room as bright as daylight from around 2am (when the light first woke me up) right through to sunrise. This was honestly one of the worst sleeps of my life, and made our 3.5 hour drive home to Vancouver the next day quite dangerous as I was so tired and sleep deprived. Curtains absolutely need to be installed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
5.7

Staff weren't overly warm or welcoming and didn't seem eager to assist us. It was very loud on our floor as a large group of people were in the common room down the hall. The atmosphere of the hostel wasn't memorable. Room was clean and had necessary facilities and location of hostel was great as it was close to transport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
9.1

As usual, this hostel is incredibly clean and people are very respectful. It is the first time I go there and I always had a great experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
7.1

The staff, the rooms in general are pretty good but when you are staying in a hostel for a weekend is sure that you wanna go out late, in two times we were intimidated by two situations. In our first night there was a fight outside in the street of a group of people and from our window we could see a knife and hear the screams. On the second night after we got out of the bathroom at 9pm one guy start following us to our room screaming at us super drunk with blood all over his shirt.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Amenities are standard but not extravagant. Seattle is very walkable/bikeable and public transit is pretty good, so the location works well. Many good restaurants/bars/shops in the immediate area, however, be aware that the neighborhood has a high concentration of homelessness relative to the rest of the city. Nothing particularly concerning, but one should be smart and aware of surroundings. If you're traveling solo the hostel doesn't seem to do a lot of group activities. City has a lot though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Travelling with some friends in seattle and staying here was a fantastic choice. The neighbourhood feels a little unruly, but all in all this was definitely a worthwhile cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

Only spent one night, perfect location to catch the train to the airport ! When i first came to drop my luggage before the check-in, I had the feeling i had no right to come earlier, the woman at the reception was unfriendly and no smile. (this first impression is not really welcoming when you arrive in a city). But when i came back, the other staff was really nice ! I liked that we have our own lamp, outlets and fan in the room but it was really hot, i can't imagine during summer !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.