Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
HI Seattle at the American Hotel Located at 520 S. King St., , Seattle.
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
USA
Seattle Washington 98104-2834 520 S. King St.
83% 651
47.5985237 -122.3267555
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
5.4

Staff are good , but over all Condition of rooms is poor . Fans didn't work and the rooms are small.the location is in China town where there is a lot of street people ... so noise is premium at night...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Really clean and a nice and bright atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Place was great. Will definitely be coming to stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • reidmeister
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Great place to stay on a budget. Bed was okay and comfortable. Great location near downtown Seattle, Safeco Field, and CenturyLink Field. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
7.7

Overall the experience was fine, no major issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

Hostel was clean and quite a close walk to Downtown Seattle. Staff were excellent - really helpful and friendly and answered all of my millions of questions. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
6.3

The pictures on the website made it seem as if the rooms would be bigger. Our room had two bunk beds and big lockers, you couldn't even put your elbows up without hitting anything - the room was that cramped. People were running up and down the hallways all night, even after "quiet hours" started. The breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
7.1

I booked a three night stay and was informed at check-in that I would need to change rooms mid stay. This required me to have to check out one morning before 11am then wait until 3pm in the afternoon to check back in and get a room again. I tried to get into a room before 3pm after explaining my situation to the front desk. The wonderfully unapologetic front desk associate informed me that I would need to wait until 3pm. I later found out that someone extended their stay which then bumped me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jillrclark
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
4.3

If you don't want to have fun, then this is the place for you. If you want staff who can't gove you any information on things they have hand written on the white board, than this is definitely the place for you! If you want to experience Seattle and all it has to offer and stay in a place where you feel like you've made connections for life, this is not the place for you. Attitude of staff member is jaw droppingly terrible, I don't think anyone ever smiled either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
7.7

Nice employees. The largest plus for this hostel is its cleanliness. I saw the kind cleaning staff cleaning the showers 2-3 times a day, and it was a thorough clean of the whole room. That alone would make me come back. The location is a bit seedy and loud, but was manageable. Overall pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.