Hostelworld.com

HI Seattle at the American Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
HI Seattle at the American Hotel Located at 520 S. King St., , Seattle.
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
USA
Seattle Washington 98104-2834 520 S. King St.
85% 542
47.5985237 -122.3267555
HI Seattle at the American Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Amenities are standard but not extravagant. Seattle is very walkable/bikeable and public transit is pretty good, so the location works well. Many good restaurants/bars/shops in the immediate area, however, be aware that the neighborhood has a high concentration of homelessness relative to the rest of the city. Nothing particularly concerning, but one should be smart and aware of surroundings. If you're traveling solo the hostel doesn't seem to do a lot of group activities. City has a lot though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Travelling with some friends in seattle and staying here was a fantastic choice. The neighbourhood feels a little unruly, but all in all this was definitely a worthwhile cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

Only spent one night, perfect location to catch the train to the airport ! When i first came to drop my luggage before the check-in, I had the feeling i had no right to come earlier, the woman at the reception was unfriendly and no smile. (this first impression is not really welcoming when you arrive in a city). But when i came back, the other staff was really nice ! I liked that we have our own lamp, outlets and fan in the room but it was really hot, i can't imagine during summer !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.4

Good hosts with great facilities. Friendly staff on the whole but the girl that greeted me was very off hand and quite rude which made my first hours in Seattle not great. Apart from this would recommend it. Location is good, 20/25 minutes walk to the market and seafront.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
8.9

I love this hostel, staff is super friendly. There was a problem with my keycard but the staff was quick to fix it. The washroom and rooms are SO CLEAN. I like how I get my personal lamp, outlets, and fans. The residents are very friendly as well. The only concern is location, there's a lot of homeless etc. outside it's scary after dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

The property was clean and comfortable. The location couldn't have been better and the staff was very professional. I would surely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.6

My go to place whenever I layover in Seattle. Extremely convenient place to catch public transportations. Good grocery stores and restaurants nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.1

Everything about the hostel itself was great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I accidentally made my reservation for the day after I wanted to check in but they helped me straighten things out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
7.7

HI Seattle is conveniently located less than a minute walk from the International District metro rail station, and is in a quieter part of the city. We were in town for an event in SoDo, therefore the location was great for us, but may not suit travellers wanting to explore the heart of the city. It felt very safe, and we loved all of the great food options around (being in Chinatown). The bathroom facilities were clean, and never had a line. I really liked the area, but may not be for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.1

Really lovely and welcoming staff; nice dorms with plenty of space and room, beds had individual lights and power points; always great to have a breakfast provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.