X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Sukhumvit Reviews

Sukhumvit Soi 38, Sukhumvit Rd, BangKok, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1697 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very secure Hostel in a great location not as touristy as p.e. in kho san roadroad, which I loved. Street food just outside the hostel. Good prices, single room very nice, dorm average. Roof terrace, very clean and close to sky train.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Kind staff, excellent location.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location right outside one of the Sky Train stops. Street food market right outside the hostel and two 7 Elevens around the corner. Nice little roof top terrace too, but in order to meet others, best to stake out the table in front of the entrance. Only downside to this hostel are the thin walls, though that probably goes for any hostel. If your sleep wake rhythm differs a lot from the other guests, you make wake up a little earlier than you planned.


86%

Very good location. Clean. Very noisy at week ends. Many young guests come to party here and there is noise on the stairs till early morning. Only due to that I would not recommend it.


83%

I really enjoyed my stay in the hostel since it was very peaceful and relaxed! Only thing that could a bit improve is the breakfast. But for the rest I was really satisfied! :)

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, loved our stay. Clean, quiet enough to sleep but great common areas, good staff, modern building with good WiFi usually, right off a street with fantastic and cheap Thai food, and just two minutes from the Skytrain line. The only downside is it isn't close to Khaosan Road or the old city, but it shouldn't cost much to take a metered taxi there if that's what you're there for. Highly recommend this place!


60%

Was nice, but over priced IMO. There is a night market outside which was really great though. Also nearby to the sky train.


80%

The staff were super friendly and the location was amazing. Right outside the hostel is a food street (it starts around 5 pm) and there is a BTS station within a two minute walk. I did have some problems with my bathroom (from the toilet never flushing properly to the shower being way too hot, more apt to boil than clean). That being said, I would definitely stay here again; the pros simply outweigh any cons.


91%

Clean, spacious, with a pool. The staff doesn't really speak English, but seem pretty nice. You get a towel and a locker, and they change the sheets daily! The age range is from 18-60.


100%

Great place, great location, great staff, what can we ask for more???

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel...10/10

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place. Had a lot of character. Nice rooms and pretty clean. Iiked the location too because it was right by a skytrain and a great street food market


89%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff and nice rooms. 2 minutes from BTS, food market on the same street! Will definitely stay here again!

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a great hotel - such a good spot next to the market and publi transport. Would stay again :)


89%

Aircondition needs a bit of cleaning, everyone in room was coughin bad after a night.


77%

Good except for the very hard mattress.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The cleanest hostel i ever stayed in. The shared toilets en showers are super clean and the woman was cleaning all the time. Comfortable and quiet dorms, but to much light as there were not really curtains. Breakfast was included, basic but good. We arrived 1.00 am and that was no problem.


60%

My husband and I are YHA members. When we presented our YHA-card, No 022 64402611 001 and 002, we was unpleasantly surprised that the YHA didn't accept this and we didn't get the discount. This was our third visit at this Hostel. In all countries we got the YHA discount, only this time not. Why not?

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest; We have mentioned on the web that YHA/HI members need to contact us before booking to apply for 10% discount. It is very clear. If you read carefully, you will definitely understand. BUT you DID NOT. We would appreciate if you took us advice from your 2nd visit. We do certainly to welcome you back and give the discount for member if you follow our advice.

97%

The best HI I have stayed in, and this must be the 7th one. Provides free soap and shampoo in the bathrooms and has 6 washers + dryer which take care of your load for 40baht only. Extremely helpful receptionist who gave accurate advice for purchasing a charger.


80%

Been to Bangkok on numerous visits, For my favorite area to stay, Thong Lo is it. Hostel is practically on the night street food market and the BTS, Staying here was convenient even if the rooms weren't the best. Staff is helpful, security is good, But the reason to stay here is really the neighborhood.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback