X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Sukhumvit Reviews

Sukhumvit Soi 38, Sukhumvit Rd, BangKok, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1565 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The guesthouse was very clean and modern! We loved our room. The bathroom was nice and clean. We even had a little balcony. It is so close to the subway - very convenient. This was the best place we stayed in Thailand. The staff was extremely helpful. We arrived late at night and they stayed up to check us in (with advance warning of course). Thank you for a great stay!


86%

Amazing location, with the best food just in the alley. (this is where the locals go) Fantastic roof, with a great view. So easy to find it from the sky train, you can practically see the roof with it's 4 silver eco-water-tanks on it from the platform. Rest is pretty good, there is always room for an improvement, but I would love to come back for sure.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

the reception said the aircon is only allowed from afternoon onwards. I do not think that was stated anywhere when I booked.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great value for money. Super close to the skytrain.


77%

Of course the location is very strategic, near BTS Station, help us to easily travel around, and when tired after walking around bangkok, back hostel in late dinner time, there are so many food stall open with various menu. Great !!!

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel has a great atmosphere with a sitting area in front were it is easy to meet new people. The rooms are clean and with ac, the bathrooms are really nice and clean too. The location direcr to the skytrain line is perfect and on the end of the street the hostel is located on you can get amazing street food.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good hostel, excellent location.


86%

i loved of how they have thought of everything when it came to the beds in dorm rooms with the curtain, reading light & hooks.


83%

It was a nice hostel but the beds were hard as rocks and it was wierd that you had to do your own dishes.. Otherwise it was really nice!


60%

Very loud, short way by feet to the eastern Bus Station

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Well located (right next to BTS) and very secure with lockers and security doors. Hot showers were decent but the beds were quite hard, small social area was ok for meeting other travellers. They really need to invest in some curtains though as in my dorm one window let in a lot of light very early in the morning. Decent enough place though with polite staff.


91%

Very nice hostel, but there should be at least one non-AC dorm, and mosquito screens in the window. Left after 1 night because the dorm was freezing!

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is in a nice, calm and quiet part of Bangkok. It is clean and has a very peaceful atmosphere due to its nice ornaments like the little lake right at the entrance or the old tables and chairs with beautiful carvings and the sculptures on the wall. The end of the little street (Sukhumwit Soi 38) offers a great variety of excellent street food. It is a bit far from the center but the sky train is very close and taking a taxi is also a good option. The staff is very nice and helpful too.


86%

Stayed 2 weeks ago in a private dorm with ensuit. The room was clean and tidy, AC worked, no safe in it but happy to leave stuff in room. Hotel staff were great on arrival, check-in was nice and easy. On the same street, within 30 seconds is some great street food. Walk to the end of it and you're at the Sky Train meaning you have easy access to most of the city. Best part of the hostel is the roof top terrace, grab some Changs kick back and find some quiet in an otherwise manic city!


89%

Great hostel in great location. Staff were always smiling and happy to help with any question. Loved the open reception area and the rooftop area. Would recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to stay in Bangkok and get a good nights sleep!


94%

I am very satisfied with my 2 night stay at Hi-Sukhumvit hostel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleanliness was at the very high level. The only thing I would like to add is a breakfast with more variety and a more spacious luggage room. Otherwise I am very satisfied with the service. Thank you. Kobkun kaa!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were efficient when checking in and out. It's also great that the hostel provides lockers. The room I stayed in (single with shared facilities) was good size and very clean. Nearby night food market is a bonus, too. I stayed at this hostel for just one night for transit but would have liked to stay a bit longer to explore the area.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a great hostel. I personally get overwhelmed in Bangkok, so this was a great place to escape to after braving the city. It is really close to great street food at night, right next to the train line, and has an amazing view from the rooftop lounge. I would highly recommend staying here for a laid back place to chill. Not the place to go to party since there isn't much around. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Bangkok.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This not located in the hub of the city so costs a bit to taxi over to the Grand Palace, etc. But it is on one of the main BTS routes, making it easy to get around most of the city quickly and cheaply. Staff speaks English mostly but some working there not as friendly as others. Air conditioning in the room and bathrooms clean.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This was my second stay at HI Sukhumvit and as usual I found it warm and friendly. In terms of location this place is fantastic. Thong Lo BTS is just a couple of minutes walk. The rooms were fairly big and breakfast is basic but enough to start your day. If ever I go to Bangkok again I would definitely stay there again.


(42 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback