Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Toronto

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
HI-Toronto Located at 76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto.
HI-Toronto
Canada
Toronto ON M5C 2G1 76 Church St., Toronto
85% 1717
43.6506402 -79.3747615
HI-Toronto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Juandavidu
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Even though the hostel is a bit expensive, the place is great. Security is tight and the people who stay here is so friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

I've been to this hostel before, many years ago and both times I had a very good experience with the staff and room. The location is very good too. We can walk to many attractions nearby or easily access public transportation. However, I've got the impression that the bathroom in my room was dated and not very clean (worse than my previous visit).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Its an okay hostel compared to others I've stayed in. Location is excellent but I found the toilet/shower in the room to be extremely small and kinda dirty. Also no free breakfast??! Stay in Planet Traveler instead - much better value for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
9.1

This was a decent hostel but it's too much at $40/night. You pay $40 unless you're a HI member, when it's $35/night. Also, the air condition was very weak and I could barely sleep because it was so hot and humid. I don't know if someone in the room lowered the AC but it was very hot. The main door to the room makes way too much noise when people come in and out. However, the location is excellent and close to everything. The staff is good and the place has a cool vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.9

I encountered friendly staff who had plenty of time for me. The place had everything that was needed. Small but worthwhile.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
10.0

Stayed here for only one night, for I was meeting with friends. However, whilst in Toronto, I will continue to come back to this place to meet new people, and enjoy the hospitality of the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
6.3

Was quite disappointed. As a solo traveller I found it difficult to meet other people here. At the pub downstairs, there is no bar to sit at, which makes it a bit awkward to join a big group at one of the benches. The sheets and towels I was given were stained, the bunkbed felt unstable to get up and down from, and the mattress was saggy. Also, my key card to get into the room deactivated every single day of my stay, requiring me to wait in the lobby each time. Too expensive for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Always have a great time in HI hostels, and this one was no difference. Perfectly located in the city center near the harborfront and St. Lawrence market, which has nice bars and restaurants. The rooms were clean, staff was superfriendly and helpful and the bar in the basement was a great extra :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.1

Overall the facilities were great and the staff very friendly and helpful, the rooms were a bit cramped but always clean. You can't open the windows so not much fresh air in the room but OK as long as the AC is on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels in Toronto, nice place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.