Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Toronto Reviews

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1345 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Nice hostel, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast :)


Elevator smelt a little funky. Music on the bar was really loud in enclosed space.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1) Breakfast. The concept of a made to order breakfast in nice but in reality its just not worth the wait. Both mornings I just wanted a quick bowl of cereal and to get out early but was forced to wait >30mins each time for my soggy raisin bran. The breakfast set up in your Washington DC hostel was vastly better. 2) Island 'tour'- In reality the tour consists of someone walking you to the ferry and leaving you to your own devices once you arrive. Guide was a little socially awkward


The breakfast is very slow. I had to wait 40 minutes every time. All the other things are OK


Hi standards respected but lack of atmosphere. Too big...


Only stayed here for one night and booked it based on prices. It was worth what was paid. But wifi connect was that poor on the room that I couldn't connect


One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Centrally located, very nice staff, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, daily tours and a bar directly in the hostel. Doesn't get much better than that.


If you are no member you have to pay much more for everything!


The best free breakfast I've had in a hostel yet. :D


No atmosphere... Very old dated... Small rooms, not a lot space for luggage Rather noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there!HI Toronto offers a variety of daytime tours as well as free live concerts at the Cavern Bar to help our guests socialize and have a good time-however,it's up to each guest to participate and get to know the other guests in order to make the atmosphere work, right? We agree our hostel has some areas that need more attention-and we assure you we are working on them constantly. We hope you'll have a chance to visit us again soon, and hopefully, have a complete experience.Safe travels


Good location, great facilities, and staff. However, the atmosphere was rather poor. Everyone in the common areas was just sitting around on their phones. The bar downstairs wasn't great and the hostel run the worst pub crawl I've been on. If you want a clean, well located place to crash when visiting Toronto, this will suit you, but for me it lacked the hostel vibe that makes backpacking fun.


An excellent option for accommodation in the heart of the loveliest city in the world.


Good hostel and facilities, a pity the kitchen closes at 9pm


It's at a great location! 8 minutes walk to downtown area, and there's a lot to see and but. Small restaurants and cafe everywhere around the hostel so dining is not a problem at all! The hostel also offer very delicious breakfast, and lots of city tours. After all I had a very great experience staying there for 2 nights! Thanks to the Australian guy who recommended it to me^^


The staff took this place to another level. The reception and the cooks were all very friendly and helpful. The a.c. in the room we stayed in the first night didn't work very well, but they were glad to switch our room for the second night. they are in the process of updating the a.c. units and in the second room we were set up great! The cave in the basement served great food which was part of the price included for the room. also they set up a huge projector for the world cup games!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Centrally located, lots of activities, great atmosphere, and very comfortable mattresses. The only gripe I have is regarding the really early close time for the kitchen (9pm) ... most hostels have 11 pm as their close time, which suits me better (and many others), as I tend to have late dinners as a matter of course. Other than that, excellent place to stay!


An ideal place for discovering the town, situated in a lovely part of town. Good atmosphere.


Not a bad hostel but is a H I so just remember u can not bring your own alcohol into the hostel plus higher prices if your not a member.


I had a nice stay in Toronto, the hostel is clean, has comfortable beds and nice and helpful staff. The only thing I can complain about is the live-music. It is a good thing and the music was definitely not bad, but you can hear it up to several floors, although it is in the Cavern. If you are sensitive to extreme loud music while wanting to sleep, try a bed on the upper floors and do not forget earplugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for the feedback. We are happy, despite some noise, you seemed to have enjoyed your stay and the free live music held at the bar. Also - the hostel does offer FREE earplugs at the front desk, so even if you do forget yours, you can always get some for free at reception. ;) Safe travels


The hostel was in a nice, safe area but a bit removed from nightlife. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel setup was nice with a big common area and a bar downstairs.

(747 results)

View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback