Hostelworld.com

HI-Vancouver Central

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Amazing location, right in the middle of a huge shopping district along Granville Street, 15 minute walk to the harbour, easy to walk to Stanley Park and plenty of public transport just outside the door. Bathrooms could use some improvement, bareable but not exactly nice and not always the cleanest. Lacks a little bit of atmosphere and doesn't have too many activities but I mainly went out on my own or with people from my room anyway. Friendly staff, laundry area, free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.6

Good central location. Staff was super friendly and the free breakfast was a plus. Overall a nice place to stay would definetly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
8.0

Overall it was pretty great. I was impressed that it was only a 10 minute walk to the waterfront, and by its overall cleanliness. Also I really appreciated the free daytime bag storage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
5.7

My first impressions were bad, I thought the reception/entrance was dark and dingy and it needs to be brighter and warmer. The kitchen is awful for a hostel. It needs at least some rings to cook on and a convection heater or two. The breakfast was lovely though. It wasnt a party hostel which was nice, it meant some sleep while there. The whole building could do with some modernising. I stayed at Hi Hostel in San Francisco, that was cool how they brightened up the hostel in an old building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved my stay in this hostel! Excellent location in downtown Vancouver and staff were super helpful with any questions/recommendations! Surrounded by heaps of great places to eat, drink and shop. Only downside was the wifi was unreliable and would often disconnect but thats all. Would stay here again no doubt!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davidheeley69999
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.0

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at HI Vancouver Central hostel. The hostel was well located in the centre of town within easy reach of the skytrain and a bus stop right outside. The staff were friendly and our private en suite room was fine. The breakfast bagels were tasty and the peanut butter spread went down well with my vegan girlfriend. The street was vibrant at the weekend, but our south-facing room was away from the street and nicely quiet. Wi-fi intermittent. Would happily return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location close to the sky train and buses. Friendly staff. Decent breakfast. Very clean! Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice place, but overpriced and not worth it. It was listed for around $26 USD, but I ended up paying over $40 CAD. Expect to be hit with a surprise "non-member fee" of roughly $5. Breakfast was great though, and the staff were lovely.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sabinearnold8974
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.9

nice central hostel, helpful staff, join the fun events

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.4

Hostel with 0 atmosphere. Great location, fantastic cleanliness except the hallways stink. Staff were super helpful :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.