X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Vancouver Central Reviews

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1408 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A great place to stay. The free breakfast is amazing. The wifi is not great but it's free so can't really complain. Free luggage hold too. The facilities are great. Bad directions to the hostel though (which way is south? Just turn right on Granville street). Most staff were really helpful but one seemed like it was too much effort to tell me which bus to catch. All in all a great place to stay and I will be back after the ski season.


83%

I had a very comfortable stay at HI. The doona smelled terrible, but the room was clean, had massive lockers and there was a sink which was convenient. A free breakfast was offered daily until 10am and included cereals, bagels, toast and muffins plus juice, tea or coffee. It's only a couple of blocks from the metro station and a short walk to the ferry or Stanley park. If you want equal, if not better amenities plus a social atmosphere, however, stay across the road at Samesun.


77%

Carpets need to be changed.


100%

This was my first experience staying in a hostel. The staff was amazingly helpful. I recommend this hostel due to it's location and the staff. What a great place, the staff made you feel right at home.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place, awesome staff and really great location. Only bad thing to say is that sometimes there's a weird smell in the common areas, the wifi doesn't work in rooms and there's no stove in the kitchen. Otherwise overall the stay was great!

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

CANADA IS AMAZING

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I checked in around 9pm and found that my roommate was sleeping at that time. Only one main light in the room and no small bulb. Therefore, it was hard see anything without turning on the light which made my roommate unhappy. Besides, the room is small which makes it hard for more than 2 people to open their luggage


86%

I checked in around 9pm and found that my roommate was sleeping at that time. Only one main light in the room and no small bulb. Therefore, it was hard see anything without turning on the light which made my roommate unhappy. Besides, The room is small which makes it hard for more than 2 people to open luggage


86%

best hostel in downtown but a little expensive in the last day in vancouver i can got a same price in the hotel downtown area


74%

Anything is good. But the WiFi in the room doesn't work. It's a little inconvenient for the people need internet.


94%

My stay was really good, meet great people and had a lot of fun! The room was clean and nice, there were lockers. The bathroom was also nice and clean!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, really good breakfast! The common areas could be improved a bit, and the WiFi really needs improving - the signal and speed aren't great.


54%

The whole building smells really bad.


51%

Smells bad


63%

Internet conncection is terrible. you can't use wifi in rooms


89%

Good location, convenience for transportation, food and shopping The hostel is a bit old, yet is clean The breakfast is fine, but it is starts at 8 am, you may miss it if you need to go out earlier Wifi is not stable at my room but is better in common area They arrange activities everyday, please check from their website / fb in advance, I enjoyd by especially the tours by Mr. Erik Atmosphere is good and a nice experience to stay here

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Please give more detailed directions from the train stations. Landing jetlagged after a 10-hour flight from the UK - plus the 8-hour time difference - telling me to head north is really not helpful. How about telling me which streets I will walk past?

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Basic features in dorms, one powerpoint on floor bit of a stretch for top bunk and one communal light (if you want to read etc not so good). Excellent Granville st location can walk to everything!! Missed out on breakfast because there was too much to explore so was up early. Bit of a shame!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • loz655
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff were very helpful and the facilities were clean and basic. The location is excellent.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Breakfast was great, lots of choice, bagels/bread/rolls/muffins/cerial/fruit etc, washrooms were cleaned everyday but get in early if you want to avoid a que. Rooms were hot but weather was scorching whilst I was there. A bus stop is right outside the hostel. Easy to walk most places though as well. It is on the main party street and street facing rooms are noisy, take earplugs and an eye mask it helps big time!!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback