Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI-Vancouver Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
HI-Vancouver Downtown Located at 1114 Burnaby Street, , Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Downtown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6E 1P1 1114 Burnaby Street
81% 1095
49.2798165 -123.1329202
HI-Vancouver Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.9

Good location between downtown, English Bay, Granville Island etc. Pretty dated and institutional looking (and smelling!) however the rooms and bathrooms were clean and fit for purpose - even though there were only 3 loos and showers in the ladies bathroom on our floor I never had to wait. Breakfast was good for a hostel (bread, bagels etc and spread, porridge, fruit, tea/coffee and juice) although the self-service system is chaotic with so many guests. Helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Really great value and good location. Rooms & bathrooms were very clean. Awesome that they offered free towels and the free breakfast had a good selection. Better than most free breakfasts I've had a hostels in the past. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Vancouver Downtown. Lovely and attentive and very helpful staff, fabulous location, and an unexpected big breakfast including fresh fruit, really awesome. The only thing that could be improved is the entrance/lounge area which is just really very dull and functional. Even just a few posters of the surroundings could brighten it up :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

A good location, good facilities and a tasty breakfast. We also went on the lynn canyon valley and city tour with Eric which was very good, interesting and informative!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
7.1

The carpet in the room was filthy - I cannot guess the last time it was hoovered. But the staff were great. Free breakfast appreciated. The wifi was very fast when it actually connected, which wasn't all the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Lift was not working (under maintenance), so baggage had to be moved up and down through the stairs. Wi-fi pretty good throughout several areas except during one of the four days. Free breakfast has been a good way to save money, staff has been very nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
4.6

Beside the great location, unfortunately the hostel has a lot of minuses. First of all when you enter, it seems as if the hostel was still under construction. The elevator was not working so you had to carry your stuff up to the fourth floor.. The room was very dirty, the floor hadn't been cleaned for days. My roommate arrived and got a bed which still had dirty sheets on it so she had to change them herself. The Wifi isn't working at all. The atmosphere ist very cold and unwelcoming.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
8.6

Great hostel to stay in, close to the beach and breakfast is included which is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
6.6

Our private room was not clean when we first arrived, wifi was absolutely terrible, could not get it to work for the majority of our stay. Paper towel dispenser in the girl's restroom was broken, toilets did not always look clean, and the elevator was broken for our entire stay. Only made it for breakfast on one of the days, but nothing looked appetizing so I walked away without eating. No atmosphere, sink in our room looked like that you'd find in a prison. Staff was nice, but that was about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
9.4

Having stayed in a few hostels within Vancouver city this has to be my favourite. As a lone female traveller this hostel offers nice sized rooms, location is safe and away from the busy city centre but still close enough to walk or take the bus in and there are thousands of nice restaurants within walking distance as well as Stanley park and Granville island. The staff were always keen to help and breakfast was great :) sufficent plug sockets in rooms and clean bedrooms/bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.