Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Vancouver Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
HI-Vancouver Downtown Located at 1114 Burnaby Street, , Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Downtown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6E 1P1 1114 Burnaby Street
81% 1116
49.2798165 -123.1329202
HI-Vancouver Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.4

The hostel is very good located. It is quiet but as well easy to walk to everything in downtow. Cool that they do rent bikes there. Unfortunately the reception was really unfriendly and not interested in helping in any way. Breakfeast was okay but could have more variety.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.4

really clean for a hostel great location some times directions from staff not 100% clear but always very friendly and lovely delicious bagels comfy beds well organised

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
6.9

This place is not a youth hostel so there will be old creepy drug dealers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.1

We stayed in a private room which was nice, but it had a really strange smell! The showers were great, they had doors!! I loved the location, so close to downtown and the staff were super friendly and knowledgeable, I would definitely come again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.9

Good location between downtown, English Bay, Granville Island etc. Pretty dated and institutional looking (and smelling!) however the rooms and bathrooms were clean and fit for purpose - even though there were only 3 loos and showers in the ladies bathroom on our floor I never had to wait. Breakfast was good for a hostel (bread, bagels etc and spread, porridge, fruit, tea/coffee and juice) although the self-service system is chaotic with so many guests. Helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Really great value and good location. Rooms & bathrooms were very clean. Awesome that they offered free towels and the free breakfast had a good selection. Better than most free breakfasts I've had a hostels in the past. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.3

Great location. Really close to everything! Didn't appear to have the most fun atmosphere for a hostel but we were only there two night so maybe we just didn't have enough time to get involved. We have a private room which was clean and more than enough space. Nice to have own toilet and sink. Shared bathroom shower kept leaking (hopefully this has now been addresses) and the rooms are VERY hot in summer months. We barely slept so didn't feel hugely rested. All in all was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Vancouver Downtown. Lovely and attentive and very helpful staff, fabulous location, and an unexpected big breakfast including fresh fruit, really awesome. The only thing that could be improved is the entrance/lounge area which is just really very dull and functional. Even just a few posters of the surroundings could brighten it up :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

A good location, good facilities and a tasty breakfast. We also went on the lynn canyon valley and city tour with Eric which was very good, interesting and informative!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
7.1

The carpet in the room was filthy - I cannot guess the last time it was hoovered. But the staff were great. Free breakfast appreciated. The wifi was very fast when it actually connected, which wasn't all the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.