Hostelworld.com

HI-Vancouver Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
HI-Vancouver Downtown Located at 1114 Burnaby Street, , Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Downtown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6E 1P1 1114 Burnaby Street
83% 1047
49.2798165 -123.1329202
HI-Vancouver Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nicomeara5448
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
5.1

Don't stay here. This is the dirtiest hostel I've ever stayed in, bathrooms with used sanitary napkins and toilet paper on the floor. This hostel appears to also let homeless people stay - had to ask to swap rooms the odour my original room was that bad. Internet barely works on first floor, doesn't work at all on other floors - Elevator out of commission for the next 5 weeks, so expect to drag your suitcases up multiple flights of stairs. only redeeming feature is the location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
8.0

The hostel is older than what they portray on their website photos (the wonders photo editing can do) but it is not too bad. 24hr free coffee is a plus, the bed was comfortable, working elevator and location was the best part of this hostel (in a quiet parallel street to busy Davie St w all the restos) Negatives: few of the staff's command of english is Fair, no papertowels in the shared bathroom, wifi is intermittent in the rooms, somebody was vomiting in the shared bathroom's sink everyday 😂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2016
8.0

Excellent location, 1 block from Davie Street. Easy bus connection to skytrain for YVR, walking distance to most things, supermarkets, cafes, train etc. Breakfast was advertised until 9:15 but get in early, it's gone by 9. Staff were nice but didn't really tell me where anything was, easy to figure out though. There wasn't any real atmosphere, which I do find the case with most HI hostels. Long story short, is it the best hostel no but would I stay again yes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
7.7

Overall, it is a decent hostel. The wifi is terrible and barely works outside of the lobby, so that is really inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.3

Excellent bang for the buck, but security or "cleaning times" needs to be better communicated. I walked into the ladies room for a shower only to be greeted by a male staff member who simply told me I wasn't supposed to be in there, and that I can use another floor. Another day, I was walking to my room and noticed a staff member cleaning an empty room - OK. It was around noon and I was headed to my room for a nap, and about 10 minutes later someone opened the door (and it wasn't a roommate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
7.4

The hostel overall was really nice to stay at, everyone was super friendly and it was great for meeting people. It wasn't the cleanest hostel I've been at, but it wasn't offputting and I'd certainly stay at it again. Personally, I loved the location, close enough to walk to the beach, Stanley Park, and downtown, access to busses, but in a quiet neighbourhood.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

Quiet, clean, secure hostel. I booked two beds to have a room for my own, anyway good value for money. Bagels, muffins, bread, cream cheese, butter, marmelade, peanut butter, orange/apple juice and coffee (bad taste, better go to Blenz Coffee/Starbucks nearby) for breakfast included. Staff seams sometimes uncharitable but helps you with all requests. 10 min walk to Robson Street. 5 min walk to Sunset Beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location and comfy beds and linens. Rent the bikes right on site and you can really enjoy the city much easier. Bad WiFi in the rooms but good in the common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Very happy with my stay cleanest and tidiest hostel minimal noise in a really good location I felt safe in.will stay here again! Staff great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2016
9.4

Had an enjoyable stay here. Not a frantic party hostel and also walking distance to everything which worked perfectly for me. Could have done with a shelf and perhaps a reading light up on the top bunk, as there was nowhere at all for me to put things up there but that's pretty minor. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.