Hostelworld.com

HI-Vancouver Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,072 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,072 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
HI-Vancouver Downtown Located at 1114 Burnaby Street, , Vancouver.
HI-Vancouver Downtown
Canada
Vancouver BC V6E 1P1 1114 Burnaby Street
81% 1072
49.2798165 -123.1329202
HI-Vancouver Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
4.6

Beside the great location, unfortunately the hostel has a lot of minuses. First of all when you enter, it seems as if the hostel was still under construction. The elevator was not working so you had to carry your stuff up to the fourth floor.. The room was very dirty, the floor hadn't been cleaned for days. My roommate arrived and got a bed which still had dirty sheets on it so she had to change them herself. The Wifi isn't working at all. The atmosphere ist very cold and unwelcoming.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
6.6

Our private room was not clean when we first arrived, wifi was absolutely terrible, could not get it to work for the majority of our stay. Paper towel dispenser in the girl's restroom was broken, toilets did not always look clean, and the elevator was broken for our entire stay. Only made it for breakfast on one of the days, but nothing looked appetizing so I walked away without eating. No atmosphere, sink in our room looked like that you'd find in a prison. Staff was nice, but that was about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
6.9

Staff were helpful. Good location. General maintenance needed e.g. One shower not working (female facilities), lift broken, bed missing wooden slats, sink blocked in kitchen, severely dripping tap in toilet (by laundry), temporary flooring in reception area. Overall not as great as the reviews we had read.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.6

I found almost all the facilities are wonderful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location, right beside Davie Street and the beach. Big kitchen available so it's great if you're on a budget and there's a supermarket only 5 minute walk away. The kitchen can get busy at times. Free breakfast in the morning is a nice touch. Internet is a bit spotty at the bets of times, and you need to sign in every time you want to use it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2016
7.4

Little bit expensive for what it is, but a decent hostel. Free breakfast is great, couldnt find fault with our room (couples room), games room is good to chill in but needs more seating, location is great and it was really quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
7.4

Goood hostel. Good location, activities, and breakfast. Staff overall not very helpful or knowledgable. Staff cancelled saturday barbecue and we subsequently saw all staff members eating hamburgers at their work stations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.6

Very nice staff, extremely helpful with patient directions. Very clean, good value. Very hot though, no. Air, but it cooled off. Would be intolerable in late summer. This was June 5th

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
7.4

Super hot in the room! Also the beds are wooden so they creek with every movement. While I was there two out of three of the shower stalls on my floor where out of order. The staff was very nice and helpful, the locations was central to most things we wanted to do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
8.0

Rather dingy trip up the stairs......WIFI ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE.......RECEPTION ON FIRST FLOOR ONLY, THEN NOT ALWAYS AVAILABLE.......I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY ELSEWHERE.....SANDY WENZEL

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.