Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Victoria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
HI-Victoria Located at 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island, Victoria.
HI-Victoria
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1K8 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island
79% 389
48.4269140 -123.3697560
HI-Victoria
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed on a Friday night and it was chaotic. People were coming in up to 3 AM making noise, talking and swearing in a very loud voice. No member of staff was controlling the noise and curfew. Honestly, it was one of the worst experiences ever....thank god for earplugs only way I got any sleep. I stayed at this location a few years ago and was relatively quiet. I will never stay again and would never recommend. Very disappointing no staff control of any rules!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
7.4

The location is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, the showers and bathrooms are fine. The room is OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2016
6.0

There are just a few sockets for 20 people in a room. I had to charge my devices in the common area. Wifi was okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
7.7

One night in 40 bed male dorm. Good reception with after midnight check in. Adequarely clean and comfortable bunk bed in dark dorm. Good notices re transport and activities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kellytoor
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

The best thing about this hostel is the location. You are close to many different restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, and the harbour. The staff was really nice. The rooms were plain but you don't need much in a hostel, our room only had one outlet which wasn't the biggest deal but if you were backpacking for a long time it might be a problem. The atmosphere was okay, there were lots of people but no one was super social, maybe it was just a bad weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.3

Just stayed for one night in the male dorm, not much to say. Only couple could stay in mixed dorm even you booked it. The staff were very friendly and patient. But the bed was too soft, not so comfortable really. Since it's a 40 men dorm (my first time to stay in such huge number of dorm), you could expect noise, people kept coming in and out. The opposite of the hostel is a bar. Then you may concern it if you are sensitive to sound. The bathroom was pretty small, but not so busy when I used it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a great location and had really nice and helpful staff. The bathrooms were quite clean and it was very much dormitory style in the rooms and bathrooms. The only complaint would be the bar across the street being quite noisy and had bright neon lights which earplugs and a mask couldn't fully cure. Superb location downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Pros: Great Location, right in the heart of downtown and literally 30 second walk to the harbour. Staff were super friendly and the place was always kept clean enough. Nice big kitchen meant you were never fighting for a spot to cook. Cons: No atmosphere! I came as a solo traveller and had an extremely boring time in the hostel. A much older crowd than I'm used to in hostels and not many fun, social activities organized.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.1

The location of this hostel is great. It is right downtown and in walking distance of most of the attractions. The staff was very friendly and it was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.4

Although the staff were friendly, we weren't given a towel (though we saw others were) and there were a good few other things the woman who welcomed us in forgot. There isn't much of an atmosphere but the common rooms are cosy and the pool table is free and there's a large selection of books to read from. There should be more toilets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.