Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Victoria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
HI-Victoria Located at 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island, Victoria.
HI-Victoria
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1K8 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island
80% 374
48.4269140 -123.3697560
HI-Victoria
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kellytoor
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

The best thing about this hostel is the location. You are close to many different restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, and the harbour. The staff was really nice. The rooms were plain but you don't need much in a hostel, our room only had one outlet which wasn't the biggest deal but if you were backpacking for a long time it might be a problem. The atmosphere was okay, there were lots of people but no one was super social, maybe it was just a bad weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.3

Just stayed for one night in the male dorm, not much to say. Only couple could stay in mixed dorm even you booked it. The staff were very friendly and patient. But the bed was too soft, not so comfortable really. Since it's a 40 men dorm (my first time to stay in such huge number of dorm), you could expect noise, people kept coming in and out. The opposite of the hostel is a bar. Then you may concern it if you are sensitive to sound. The bathroom was pretty small, but not so busy when I used it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a great location and had really nice and helpful staff. The bathrooms were quite clean and it was very much dormitory style in the rooms and bathrooms. The only complaint would be the bar across the street being quite noisy and had bright neon lights which earplugs and a mask couldn't fully cure. Superb location downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Pros: Great Location, right in the heart of downtown and literally 30 second walk to the harbour. Staff were super friendly and the place was always kept clean enough. Nice big kitchen meant you were never fighting for a spot to cook. Cons: No atmosphere! I came as a solo traveller and had an extremely boring time in the hostel. A much older crowd than I'm used to in hostels and not many fun, social activities organized.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.4

Although the staff were friendly, we weren't given a towel (though we saw others were) and there were a good few other things the woman who welcomed us in forgot. There isn't much of an atmosphere but the common rooms are cosy and the pool table is free and there's a large selection of books to read from. There should be more toilets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.7

The staff were absolutely amazing and helpful anytime I had questions. I met some pretty awesome people while staying there. The location was INCREDIBLE! I could walk to pretty much all the major sites. And for one I had to take the bus which was super easy and cheap to do! I will stay here again when I go back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.3

Excellent location, free breakfast was a definite plus - coffee, toast, porridge. Wifi was good, staff were helpful. Just be aware that in the large dorms there most likely won't be a plug socket by the bed. Eyes a extension cable in the common area. Beds were comfortable, bed linens and towels provided. No noise from the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Perfect, central location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean facilities. Earplugs are a must if you're staying in one of the larger dorms. I enjoyed the variety of people hanging out in the dining area: old ladies playing cards, college students hosting rowdy drinking games, and families eating picnic lunches. Will definitely go back next time I'm in Victoria if I can't find a Couchsurfer to host me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.7

The location couldn't be beat! This hostel is so close to everything downtown! Great value for the cost. Just be sure to pick up ear plugs from the front desk because there is a loud nightclub across the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

Friendly staffs!!! Always helpful❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.