Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI-Victoria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
HI-Victoria Located at 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island, Victoria.
HI-Victoria
Canada
Victoria BC V8W 1K8 516 Yates Street, Vancouver Island
78% 400
48.4269140 -123.3697560
HI-Victoria
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Nov 2016
7.7

Maybe because it was the offseason, but with the large size, it felt kind of empty. It was nice and clean, and the legislative building was walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Nov 2016
6.9

Good place great location, no locks on dorm rooms actually get no keys whatsoever. My friend who wasn't staying there just walked straight in no questions asked. Staff are really friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were very helpful and great location. Only negatives were that there were not enough power sockets throughout the hostel rooms and there lacked a social vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
6.9

The staff was friendly. Location was great. The interior of the building was very run down and really could use an upgrade. It was a generally quiet hostel. The hostel didn't have much of a social atmosphere so it was tough to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
6.6

Soso. I don't wanna stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed on a Friday night and it was chaotic. People were coming in up to 3 AM making noise, talking and swearing in a very loud voice. No member of staff was controlling the noise and curfew. Honestly, it was one of the worst experiences ever....thank god for earplugs only way I got any sleep. I stayed at this location a few years ago and was relatively quiet. I will never stay again and would never recommend. Very disappointing no staff control of any rules!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
7.4

The location is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, the showers and bathrooms are fine. The room is OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2016
6.0

There are just a few sockets for 20 people in a room. I had to charge my devices in the common area. Wifi was okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
7.7

One night in 40 bed male dorm. Good reception with after midnight check in. Adequarely clean and comfortable bunk bed in dark dorm. Good notices re transport and activities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kellytoor
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

The best thing about this hostel is the location. You are close to many different restaurants, bars, tourist attractions, and the harbour. The staff was really nice. The rooms were plain but you don't need much in a hostel, our room only had one outlet which wasn't the biggest deal but if you were backpacking for a long time it might be a problem. The atmosphere was okay, there were lots of people but no one was super social, maybe it was just a bad weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.