X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
2824 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I really liked this hostel, the only thing is that internet was very very slow. The night tours are really good and the staff is super friendly.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. Free bananas was great! the guy that takes care of the breakfeast was awasome! Would stay again for sure.


71%

Convenient location. Rooms are too small to fit in 6 people. Heaters are old and makes lot of noises and it woke me up multiple times at night.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, good options of tours, friendly staff. A great place to stay to get a great experience in DC

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This place was ok. There was painting going on in the hallways so it smelled like paint the whole time. They had a no alcohol policy but it seemed like it would be easy to get away with drinking in the rooms. There was no community feel.


80%

so cold...i have a cold flu.. and air of room is so dry

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was very clean, secure and centrally located. The breakfast was good, it consisted of cereal and toast/bagels. The atmosphere was a bit more reserved, it was harder to meet people compared to other hostels I have stayed in.


97%

I really enjoyed my stay and loved the wonderful mix of cultures and ages.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Thank you, we enjoyed our stay. Hostel is in good location, rooms ok and enough bathrooms. Quiet at nighttime. The breakfast guy is awesome! Overall good experience, would stay again.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The beds are a bit sqeaky and not very comfortable.


80%

John was a great guy to have greeting everyone for breakfast


86%

Great location - within walking distance to most museums and monuments etc. Beds comfortable enough, and clean. Hot water was variable but not stone cold.Free breakfast was pretty good considering.. toast, cereal, yoghurt, bagels, orange juice and coffee.. Temporarily lost my phone while there and girl on front desk was of absolutely no help at all when I inquired about whereabouts but rest of the staff I dealt with were more than helpful throughout rest of the stay.


63%

I found the staff to be completely un interested in helping a single traveler. No help and seemed like they disliked their jobs and life...


94%

Most of the assistants are good. But one woman is really arrogant! She shows discrimination! Even if she is black n


80%

Not the best HI hostel I've stayed at in America, but very good. Good location (although a lot of street noise at night), staff on the whole are great, breakfast sets you up for the day. More could be done to give hostellers some privacy and I think some specific bar crawl events would help to give a more social atmosphere, but, on the whole, a good hostel manned by good staff.


86%

I loved the location of the hostel and its proximity to all the major monuments and attractions. The hostel provided a walking tour of the capital building and the surrounding area. I really enjoyed that.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything you could want in a hostel. Clean, secure, excellent location. Staff were friendly and organised a free halloween meal which was an excellent ice breaker. All dc main sights / shops / bars are within walking distance. Staff weren't esp knowledgeable with local attactions when we asked but this is a very minor gripe.


89%

It was a nice Hostel to come back to each night after being out all day exploring your great Capital.


86%

They were very friendly and helpful. The heat needs to be turned off/down at night (late October)...there are plenty of bodies to heat up the rooms!

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The best kitchen/dining area I've seen in a while! The free breakfast is great! All that's missing is some protein 😃 Great hostel, can't wait to visit again. I really enjoyed walking to The White House, Washington Monument and all the major attractions nearby.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback