X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3056 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

great hostel the only thing is breakfast should be from 7.30 till 10.30 not 9.30 as its too busy everyone queing up for food! great location! great tours


100%

I had a great stay at HI DC! The beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean, and the common areas had funky decor and atmosphere. The location is great for walking around the national mall and close to a metro stop for getting everywhere else around DC. The staff were very friendly and gave great suggestions on places to eat in the area. I will definitely stay here again!

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Its a great hostel, I really enjoyed staying in it, only thing is the bed are really noisy when you move about in them so if the guy on the top bunk stirred it would wake up the room. The free breakfast was great and the gentleman helping out was really friendly and funny.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, just a few blocks from all major atractions. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Big kitchen and good breakfast.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Breakfast was amazing! So much variety, it was such a feast! And the guy organising breakfast was super energetic and upbeat. Hostel was really clean, and even though we were staying in a 10 bed dorm, it wasn't at all noisy, and felt fairly private due to walls in between bunks. Everyone was super friendly, and there were good break-out areas to relax. Maybe the outside patio area could be livened up a little? Really enjoyed the stay.


89%

It had everything you could want, except no atmosphere. No bar, no big common areas. Not bad, but if you like a bit of night life, you better hope people in your room are up for it.


94%

Great Staff. The best I've ever seen so far! 10 - 15 minute walk to the Mall. Close to the subway. Good breakfast. Huge lockers (fits a suite case inside). All in all, one great example of how a hostel should be.


54%

The noise in the hostel is terrible. Although the hostel has quiet hours, they don't enforce them to the guests so until 3am there was a lot of noise in the hall, in front of the rooms, and the walls are really thin so we couldn't sleep. The bunk beds are really old so if the person on the top/bottom of you moves, you wake up. Plus, the bathrooms have a terrible smell.


80%

John the breakfast guy was super very entertaining!


86%

Staff were very helpful and the hostel was in a good location. Rooms were spacious. More than one elevator would be nice but I understand this isn't really possible space wise. TIP: if you are backpacking and are using the bus/train use the hostel's bag storage service. It cost us $4 to store two backpacks and two smaller bags. Union station wanted $48.


60%

Wasn't super impressed with the hostel - seemed quite expensive for fairly average facilities. Location was good though.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, short train ride or walk to main sights, facilities great, beds and linen comfy. Security great too, and good wifi! Was also good value for money. Bolt burgers next door was delicious but their staff were awful!


74%

Pros: The staff as a whole were very helpful and welcoming. The hostel was also in a great location, only a mile and a half from most of the museums and monuments. Also, free bananas are a wonderful idea after being out in the heat. Cons: The beds were pretty hard and difficult to sleep on. The guy in charge of breakfast was very demanding and in your face which is not great any time of day but especially before coffee. Overall I'd recommend the hostel.


86%

The only inconvenient is that the hostel charges you for using the lockers for the luggages before checking in/after checking out a 4$ fee. I think it should be free... Like in many other hostels.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The morning staff for the breakfast (particularly John) were excellent and good fun. A planned bar crawl in Georgetown was cancelled at short notice and noneof the ~8 people sitting in the foyer were told this by staff which I thought was poor communication. If events are cancelled some notice would be appreciated. Apart from that had a very good stay”


71%

I was surprised to have additional fees for for withdrawal of cash and to leave my bag to pick it up after my check out, since this hostel was not cheap. Maybe these are normal is US but for me it felt like charging too much.


91%

Really appreciated the location, cost, the international clientele and the variety of ages.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was perfect even if our group stayed in 8-people dormitory room. I felt comfortable so much, and mood was so actively. I just hope to drink in the second floor. Not too much. Just one or two bottles of beer for each person. I understand and respect hostel's policy because there are lots of students in hostel. Anyways I was really satisfied with that experience


100%

The staff was amazing. Everybody was crazy nice and available.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

location is conveninent, staff are nice,more important the belief is good : we are all glad to help young people to explore the world

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback