X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3020 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Everything was perfect even if our group stayed in 8-people dormitory room. I felt comfortable so much, and mood was so actively. I just hope to drink in the second floor. Not too much. Just one or two bottles of beer for each person. I understand and respect hostel's policy because there are lots of students in hostel. Anyways I was really satisfied with that experience


100%

The staff was amazing. Everybody was crazy nice and available.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

location is conveninent, staff are nice,more important the belief is good : we are all glad to help young people to explore the world

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I arrived and the girl at the counter did not even bother to welcome me or check me in. An other girl had to come to do so. The air-condition in the room was very cold. Even after asking to turn the temperature up. The dorm was tidy with a lot of space. The breakfast in the morning looked great, although I could not eat there since I am gluten allergic. The neighborhood was quiet and not to far from everything.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The beds are noisy


71%

Good location for sightseeing. The bathroom could have been cleaner, there was hair in the drains but it served the purpose. The breakfast host was a little imitating, especially by demanding a good morning in another language. Overall, the hostel was good but looked a little tired.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Breakfast was very good and you cannot beat the location. I had a very satisfactory stay.


100%

I had a blast. The staff was kind and entertaining, extremely helpful. You deserve an A+ in hospitality.


57%

Changed our booking so we had to check out and check back in half way through our short stay, meaning from 11am-3pm no access to room or facilities which was inconvenient but made worse by the fact no one could really tell us why our booking was changed and there was no apology given for the inconvenience. In addition to that one of our chargers went missing after only the cleaners had been in our dorm, nothing was handed in to lost property and the staff we're not helpful.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! Let me be the first to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for the unfortunate occurrences during your stay. We are very full during the summer, and while we can guarantee you a bed, we may not be able to place you in one place for the entire time. We do hold luggage for free, to try and add some relief to an unfortunate circumstance. We hope you'll come back and give our hostel a second chance on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

91%

I loved everything in general but it was very hard to sleep. The air conditioning would turn on an off every 5 minutes and it made a lot of noise. First it would go like boom! Then for 5min. It would vibrate against the wall making this awful noise. That every 5 min. I only stayed 1 night so did not have chance to see if it was fixable. But hope it does.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I felt a little bit unconfortable going out and there were always 1-3 homeless people directly in front of the door. I think it would be good changing the WiFi password sometimes. Some people are sitting in front of the door, using the WiFi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and comments. We really appreciate it. I'm sorry that you had the experience of being uncomfortable by some of our less fortunate residents. We do try our best to ensure the safety of our guests, to the best of our abilities. Safe travels, Christina

100%

I loved my stay the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the food was great. Plus I even got a banana at check in. Who doesn't love bananas?

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Very average. Bit pricy for what was offered but served the purpose.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Probably the best hostel of the Capital Many school groups in weekdays, when it's better to have breakfast after 8,30- A lot of activities but wifi is slow and internet is not free.


80%

I think it's a nice hostel. My second stay there. I hope that there would be more activities like tours, etc.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The Hostel was good and in a fairly good location. The included breakfast was great and the atmosphere there created by the breakfast man was so much fun! However the mattress was super uncomfortable, the lift was a nightmare and the schools kids playing around on it didn't make it any faster! I ended up taking the stairs up and down to level 5 most times.


91%

Probably the best hostel of the town,with a lot of services (but wifi is slow),good safety,breakfast and kitchen. If you arrive con greyhound and megabus, take the comutator to Georgetown inside the bus station.


100%

Everything about this hostel was above expectations. Our floor was full of students, yet we did not have any issues with using the shared facilities. Breakfast was a bonus and John made everyone feel welcome. The kitchen and dining room was the best set up we have ever come across, and we have used hostels all over the world.


97%

Great hostel! I recommend.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bathroom was small and not clean. Rooms were good size and the beds surprisingly comfortable. Was surprised that we had to buy a lock for the in-room locker. Hostel was very noisy - neighboring rooms were playing music loudly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback