X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2696 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Really enjoyed my stay. The hostel has a great location, everything I wanted to see was close by.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your review and comments. We take pride in knowing that our location was able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. Please stay with us again soon. Safe Travels-Dylan

94%

The free breakfast was good. I like the guy(i think, John) at the breakfast room trying to make everyone talk to each other.


86%

Wonderful place to stay, everything in walking distance. Staff were very helpful. One of the best hostels we've stayed in on our trip around America.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hostel. We are glad here at Hostels International Washington DC, was able to make your stay a good one. Have wonderful future travels- Dylan

94%

The facilities are great and the staffs are polite and friendly. Breakfast is really worth and taste good. The hostel is well maintained and clean. More important is: it only likes 5 to 7 mins walk from the metro station.


89%

Really great hostel guys- though its so big I'd suggest having an intern or social person, answering questions, hanging out in the common area - not just behind the front desk

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your comments in order to help us improve. We currently have an intern doing just that, although we generally schedule the intern too answer important questions around the hostel during busy/rush hours. We look forward to you staying with us again. Have a nice day! Regards- Dylan

100%

One of the best hostels that I have stayed in the US. Great location :close to metro, a lot of the tourist attractions are walkable from the hostel. Chinatown is several blocks away and you can always get wonderful food there. Nice breakfast and super helpful staff. Clean ans safe . I like the guy working in the kitchen . He will ask every guest to say Good morning in their own language and responds in the guest's native language.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate your very kind comment and review! Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next stay with us here in Washington D.C.

89%

This hostel is very nice and convenient. At breakfast the staff tried to connect people sitting around. It's the best place to find new friends. The air conditioner was a little bit loud at night, but with earplugs I could sleep very well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They organize many events you should attend. HI-Hostels are the best hostels ever.


100%

The hostel is great, has the best ubication, great enviroment, breakfast is really good and the staff so welcoming, and most important is really clean, I will defenetely stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dulce, Thank you so much for your kind words and great review! We really appreciate it, and look forward to your next visit with us! Safe travels, Christina

94%

This is the best hostel ive ever stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you for your great review! We really appreciate your feedback! You didn't seem to think the value for the money was as good as your overall stay. Could you elaborate? We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Washington, DC. Safe travels, Christina

89%

Location is good, 15 mins walk to subway, bus stop is next to hostel. Room is very clean, breakfast is free and excellent. Staffs is good and very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and we are thankful for your kind words. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Washington DC. Safe travels, Christina

94%

Really liked my stay. The hostel is not in the center of Washington but everything is easily walkable. Staff was really nice and helpful.i felt secure because chip cards were working without a problem and had to be used to get to the dorms.so only guests could enter that part of the building. Room and bathrooms were clean.breakfast was excellent for american hostel standard:bagel toast muffin fruit cornflakes juice and you could go as often as you wanted. Breakfast guy (john?) Was really amusing


83%

hope more variety for breakfast, thank you

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and comments. We will work on possibly adding more variety to our breakfast. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next trip to DC. Thanks, Christina

94%

This is a faultless hostel and you get what you pay for. The staff, breakfast and other facilities are at a very high standard and all of the main attractions are within walking distance. There is a very broad range of ages staying at the hostel and there is a friendly atmosphere - I strongly recommend this place.


54%

Only stayed one night, but that night was horrid. The 4 bed dorm had an industrial air con which you could not control which randomly turned itself off and on and was so loud i could not sleep. Showers also have no cubicals, they are just curtains in the corner, so no real privacy. With the extra fees for not being a member which is bull its really not value for money. Stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback to help us in making everyone's stay better. I will be contacting you directly to address each of the issues that you had. Safe travels, Christina

86%

I had two nights at the hostel where the a.c. did not work in my room, that is really tough to take in D.C.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the issues with the AC in your room. We are working on making improvements in our heating and cooling systems. Hopefully you'll still with us again next time you visit DC and we'll have the improvements complete. Safe travels, Christina

69%

Escalators dint, and I had to use stairs all the way to fourth floor so many times. I would say its a good hostel, Centrally located to all major attraction, International standards.. But bathroom is shared by a whole bunch of people with just two toilets. So in mornings it becames difficult to rush out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are very appreciative as they help us make everyone's stay better! We do know that our elevator is a bit of a challenge and are working on getting it replaced. You are able to use all three toilets even the handicap accessible one in the bathrooms. We're sorry that you felt rushed because of the shared bathroom facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us your next trip to DC! Safe travels, Christina

80%

Showers were a bit dogdy, but good pressure at least. and due to the fact that one could not open windows, it reeked in the room one night. good staff, awesome location

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it! It is very helpful in helping us to make everyone's stay better. I'm sorry to hear about the showers, what exactly was "dodgy" about them? The windows in the room can not open due to safety restrictions. I'm sure it does get a bit stuffy sometimes. We will let the housekeepers know to spread good scents more often, hopefully that helps. Please stay with us again on your next visit to DC! Safe travels, Christin

100%

Really enjoyed breakfast, especially John requiring a good morning in a language and encouraging people to meet and greet!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your AWESOME feedback! We really do appreciate it. John is one of our beloved staff members, and we're very lucky to have him. We look forward to you hopefully staying with us on your next visit to DC. Thanks, Christina

91%

Great hostel! Location like 10 min (by foot) away from the White House and from Union Station (by bus) and you're not alone at night in the area. There are always more than enough showers. I did not have to wait once. The A/C in the rooms won't freeze you to death as some others in the US will. Morning staff was kinda rash, yet the evening staff was some of the greatest and most helpful people you'd imagine. Common Room has a piano and a guitar!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and feedback. We really appreciate it. Very happy you enjoyed most of the amenities and features that we have here at HI-DC. I apologize for any issue that existed with the staff, I have notified their supervisor. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

86%

Really good hostel! Good location to subway, bars, monuments etc. Only stayed for 2 nights but would happily stay for longer. Great to meet people! Definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback and comments we look forward to having you come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels, Christina

(50 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback