X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2707 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I had two nights at the hostel where the a.c. did not work in my room, that is really tough to take in D.C.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the issues with the AC in your room. We are working on making improvements in our heating and cooling systems. Hopefully you'll still with us again next time you visit DC and we'll have the improvements complete. Safe travels, Christina

69%

Escalators dint, and I had to use stairs all the way to fourth floor so many times. I would say its a good hostel, Centrally located to all major attraction, International standards.. But bathroom is shared by a whole bunch of people with just two toilets. So in mornings it becames difficult to rush out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are very appreciative as they help us make everyone's stay better! We do know that our elevator is a bit of a challenge and are working on getting it replaced. You are able to use all three toilets even the handicap accessible one in the bathrooms. We're sorry that you felt rushed because of the shared bathroom facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us your next trip to DC! Safe travels, Christina

80%

Showers were a bit dogdy, but good pressure at least. and due to the fact that one could not open windows, it reeked in the room one night. good staff, awesome location

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it! It is very helpful in helping us to make everyone's stay better. I'm sorry to hear about the showers, what exactly was "dodgy" about them? The windows in the room can not open due to safety restrictions. I'm sure it does get a bit stuffy sometimes. We will let the housekeepers know to spread good scents more often, hopefully that helps. Please stay with us again on your next visit to DC! Safe travels, Christin

100%

Really enjoyed breakfast, especially John requiring a good morning in a language and encouraging people to meet and greet!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your AWESOME feedback! We really do appreciate it. John is one of our beloved staff members, and we're very lucky to have him. We look forward to you hopefully staying with us on your next visit to DC. Thanks, Christina

91%

Great hostel! Location like 10 min (by foot) away from the White House and from Union Station (by bus) and you're not alone at night in the area. There are always more than enough showers. I did not have to wait once. The A/C in the rooms won't freeze you to death as some others in the US will. Morning staff was kinda rash, yet the evening staff was some of the greatest and most helpful people you'd imagine. Common Room has a piano and a guitar!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and feedback. We really appreciate it. Very happy you enjoyed most of the amenities and features that we have here at HI-DC. I apologize for any issue that existed with the staff, I have notified their supervisor. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

86%

Really good hostel! Good location to subway, bars, monuments etc. Only stayed for 2 nights but would happily stay for longer. Great to meet people! Definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback and comments we look forward to having you come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels, Christina

83%

Excellent location, good atmosphere, clean, good breakfast. Major drawback though: the ventilation system in the sleeping rooms is extremely loud (and working all night).


100%

We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. The free dinner on Monday night was excellent and allowed us to meet some of the other people staying there, who we often saw at breakfast and talked to. The hostel was very accommodating, allowing the three of us to book a four person room to ourselves for the week. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone going to Washington, DC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful message and awesome feedback! We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to the next time that you stay with us! Safe travels, Christina

94%

This was a great place to stay. Lots of school groups. Very clean


94%

Everything was perfect for me there. Unfortunately, a guy that was staying in the hostel one of those days had his ipad stolen by someone not from the hostel in the main lobby ( which is somehow "open" to general public). I think the guys on the hostel could warn people about these issues. Besides this unfortunate incident, I can only say good things about the hostel: clean, helpful staff, good breakfast, nice people staying there, huge lockers on the bedrooms, good facilities etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback and comments. We really appreciate it. Unfortunately, bad things happen, not just in cities but everywhere. Our hostel is not "open", we stop people at the front door, lock the door after 11pm, and regularly check access receipts for anyone that we don't know to be a guest. It is always best when traveling or in general, to not leave things unattended. We do our best to keep our building safe for all. ~Christina

69%

We thought we reserved a 2 person room with a Jack/Jill bath. We received a regular room with the joint hallway bath. And there was a glut of school kids that overwhelmed the dining hall for breakfast. We skipped breakfast and went down to the local coffee shop. I know that was our choice, but it didn't look very promising for us to get coffee in less than 30 minutes. Last year we reserved a "co-ed" room, but we had a regular room. Me and 5 guys. We were told that's what we ordered.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry to hear about the mix up between the room you booked and what you actually received. As it is right now, we only have two "en-suite" private rooms (with private baths) and they can't be booked online, because there are just two. I'm sorry about the noise and groups, it can be unfortunate to our individual guests that because of the space that we have, we host large groups of children. We hope you will return to stay with us again, and have a better time. Christina

86%

地理位置很好,毗邻火车南站(south station)地铁站以及唐人街,而且从机场有免费公车到火车南站。值得再次预定。


100%

i had to cancel my stay . so i can not say much. cancelling my reservation went fine. Thank You

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Even though you did not stay with us, we really appreciate your review! Thanks so much! We look forward to hopefully having you again sometime! Safe travels, Christina

86%

Good location close to subway. Breakfast is good. Be ready to translate "good morning" into your native language,it's fun!


97%

It was my first time staying in a hostel and i was pleasantly surprised at how clean everything was. The staff was also friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to you hopefully staying with us again on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

1 2 3 Next » last »
(55 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback