X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI - Washington DC Hostel Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2778 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Really liked my stay. The hostel is not in the center of Washington but everything is easily walkable. Staff was really nice and helpful.i felt secure because chip cards were working without a problem and had to be used to get to the dorms.so only guests could enter that part of the building. Room and bathrooms were clean.breakfast was excellent for american hostel standard:bagel toast muffin fruit cornflakes juice and you could go as often as you wanted. Breakfast guy (john?) Was really amusing


83%

hope more variety for breakfast, thank you

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and comments. We will work on possibly adding more variety to our breakfast. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next trip to DC. Thanks, Christina

94%

This is a faultless hostel and you get what you pay for. The staff, breakfast and other facilities are at a very high standard and all of the main attractions are within walking distance. There is a very broad range of ages staying at the hostel and there is a friendly atmosphere - I strongly recommend this place.


54%

Only stayed one night, but that night was horrid. The 4 bed dorm had an industrial air con which you could not control which randomly turned itself off and on and was so loud i could not sleep. Showers also have no cubicals, they are just curtains in the corner, so no real privacy. With the extra fees for not being a member which is bull its really not value for money. Stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback to help us in making everyone's stay better. I will be contacting you directly to address each of the issues that you had. Safe travels, Christina

86%

I had two nights at the hostel where the a.c. did not work in my room, that is really tough to take in D.C.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for the issues with the AC in your room. We are working on making improvements in our heating and cooling systems. Hopefully you'll still with us again next time you visit DC and we'll have the improvements complete. Safe travels, Christina

69%

Escalators dint, and I had to use stairs all the way to fourth floor so many times. I would say its a good hostel, Centrally located to all major attraction, International standards.. But bathroom is shared by a whole bunch of people with just two toilets. So in mornings it becames difficult to rush out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and review. We are very appreciative as they help us make everyone's stay better! We do know that our elevator is a bit of a challenge and are working on getting it replaced. You are able to use all three toilets even the handicap accessible one in the bathrooms. We're sorry that you felt rushed because of the shared bathroom facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us your next trip to DC! Safe travels, Christina

80%

Showers were a bit dogdy, but good pressure at least. and due to the fact that one could not open windows, it reeked in the room one night. good staff, awesome location

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it! It is very helpful in helping us to make everyone's stay better. I'm sorry to hear about the showers, what exactly was "dodgy" about them? The windows in the room can not open due to safety restrictions. I'm sure it does get a bit stuffy sometimes. We will let the housekeepers know to spread good scents more often, hopefully that helps. Please stay with us again on your next visit to DC! Safe travels, Christin

100%

Really enjoyed breakfast, especially John requiring a good morning in a language and encouraging people to meet and greet!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your AWESOME feedback! We really do appreciate it. John is one of our beloved staff members, and we're very lucky to have him. We look forward to you hopefully staying with us on your next visit to DC. Thanks, Christina

91%

Great hostel! Location like 10 min (by foot) away from the White House and from Union Station (by bus) and you're not alone at night in the area. There are always more than enough showers. I did not have to wait once. The A/C in the rooms won't freeze you to death as some others in the US will. Morning staff was kinda rash, yet the evening staff was some of the greatest and most helpful people you'd imagine. Common Room has a piano and a guitar!! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review and feedback. We really appreciate it. Very happy you enjoyed most of the amenities and features that we have here at HI-DC. I apologize for any issue that existed with the staff, I have notified their supervisor. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to DC. Safe travels, Christina

86%

Really good hostel! Good location to subway, bars, monuments etc. Only stayed for 2 nights but would happily stay for longer. Great to meet people! Definitely recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback and comments we look forward to having you come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels, Christina

83%

Excellent location, good atmosphere, clean, good breakfast. Major drawback though: the ventilation system in the sleeping rooms is extremely loud (and working all night).


100%

We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. The free dinner on Monday night was excellent and allowed us to meet some of the other people staying there, who we often saw at breakfast and talked to. The hostel was very accommodating, allowing the three of us to book a four person room to ourselves for the week. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone going to Washington, DC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful message and awesome feedback! We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to the next time that you stay with us! Safe travels, Christina

94%

This was a great place to stay. Lots of school groups. Very clean


94%

Everything was perfect for me there. Unfortunately, a guy that was staying in the hostel one of those days had his ipad stolen by someone not from the hostel in the main lobby ( which is somehow "open" to general public). I think the guys on the hostel could warn people about these issues. Besides this unfortunate incident, I can only say good things about the hostel: clean, helpful staff, good breakfast, nice people staying there, huge lockers on the bedrooms, good facilities etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback and comments. We really appreciate it. Unfortunately, bad things happen, not just in cities but everywhere. Our hostel is not "open", we stop people at the front door, lock the door after 11pm, and regularly check access receipts for anyone that we don't know to be a guest. It is always best when traveling or in general, to not leave things unattended. We do our best to keep our building safe for all. ~Christina

94%

Great location, comfortable sitting rooms. Front desk staff never struck me as overly friendly but the kitchen and cleaning staff were all great. This is the best value for your money in the whole District.


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(75 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback