Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
10.0

A great hostel in the center. Close to the main attractions. Bathrooms clean. Very pleasantly surprised with the guy responsible for breakfast - very friendly, lifted the mood of the entire breakfast room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.3

The staffs are very helpful, specially the one who welcome u for breakfast!!! He is really nice n friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Perfect!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MexThunder
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Very good hostel, very good location just 3 blocks from the metro central station and it's only a few minutes walk from the National Mall too! Staff were always helpful and though it could get crowded sometimes, it was peaceful a lot of the day. Very good stuff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel located perfectly in DC. Within walking distance to metro and Union Station as well as all the big attractions. The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. As soon as I arrived I was asked if I want to go to a local concert by a member of staff which made me feel very welcome especially as a lone traveller. The breakfast was amazing and they had a large variety. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope it was a good concert! Our staff are definitely savy when it comes to finding things to do in D.C. that are part of the usually circuit of things. In general we are happy to hear you enjoy your stay here and we do hope you stay with us again if you visit D.C. in the future. Safe Travels!

  • catherinewortley2065
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
8.9

Overall had a really great time at this hostel, location is good as long as you don't mind walking after a long day, but taxis are pretty cheap anyway so wasn't too much of an issue. Good atmosphere and really good free dinner night which was a great chance to meet new people and eat homely food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We do also have some close metro stations, but yeah we are position in a are where walking is the best. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it's great to here that people are connecting with one another during our dinner nights. That's the goal! Thank you for the review and for choosing HI. Safe Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
9.7

I stayed one night in a group room on a Sunday in mid August. The other guests presented a very interesting group of people from many countries. There was a group tour of a dozen or so who went to the Kennedy Center for an international piano championship for young artists. It was guided by a retired pediatrician. I found the staff to be very accommodating. They were helpful with both the functions of the hostel, but also with directions on how to get to various places in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Manny! yeah, he is great, he's a gem. We try to not only provide accommodations but also opportunities to explore the city and we are glad you got to! Thanks for leaving us a review and for choosing HI! Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Nothing to fault other than the room was not cool enough that I was sweaty while sleeping. The rest was excellent. The staff named Jaye, he really went the extra mile to explain all the rules and such. he was patient answering all of my questions. The location is convenient to go to National Mall on foot. The kitchen is open 24/7 to cook late supper. If I were to go back to DC, I will be staying at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thank you for the review. Jaye is great and we are glad he was was able to help you.We do hope you come back and stay with us if you come back to D.C. Safe Travels

8th Aug 2017
9.1

The reception didn't tell me anything about the utilities and service provided when I checked in, so that I missed all breakfast during the stay Q.Q

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You gave us great scores and we appreciate it and hope that your stay was a good one. Our apologies if you were not informed about breakfast. It is standard procedure for us to give a rundown of our services at check in but these can easily get lost in the mix as there is a lot of information at check in. We will keep your comments in mind. Thank you for your review! Safe Travels!

4th Aug 2017
8.0

Great location, nice common areas, and friendly staff. It's just minutes from the Mall and Chinatown. There were problems with the AC during our stay, and the facilities are somewhat run down (especially the elevator - sloooooooow) but, overall, an enjoyable place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.