Hostelworld.com

HI Washington DC

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3,392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3,392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
86% 3392
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, very easy to get to from Union Station and the hostel is close to all the monuments and memorials. Comfy beds and it was all clean but the showers are rubbish! The staff on the reception desk were unfriendly and unhelpful. I arrived at 2:20pm and they said I couldn't check in until 3pm so I had to sit and wait in the lobby. I know this is a rule they have but when I stayed at HI NYC I was early to check in and they did not mind and let me go to my room and locker early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Just a suggestion... Not sure if this was written somewhere but it should be a warning in the rooms saying to people leave their cellphones in silent. There was someone's phone ringing all night and morning , I didn't really sleep well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
10.0

I was impressed with the efficiency of the staff, the cleanliness of all of the facilities, and especially with the wonderful breakfast spread (and staff!)!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.1

It was an awesome place to meet people all around the Globe!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.7

Stayed for one night with a friend and met some great people in my room of 8. Didn't need to lock up my stuff. The location wasn't close to the Capitol where our meeting was but was extremely close to the White House and the Washington Monument. The room was extremely clean and the bed were comfortable. The heat would blast in the middle of the night when it was already hot outside but that was ok. Breakfast had a lot of options and was really good. Bathroom was clean too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.0

Although the price was alright, I can't believe how much they make for what they give you. 10 people crammed into a room and a bathroom down the hall for the whole floor. Not a nice bathroom. Staff were super friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.3

I stayed for a couple of nights at HI Washington and have no complaints. The room and facilities were clean and well maintained. Being a large hostel, I thought the vibe was very clinical and slightly souless, but for a clean room in a good location it's not the end of the world.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.7

Incomparable location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.0

Quiet hostel after 11pm was not enforced.. Needed ear plugs to sleep. Clean & good location but if looking for good nights sleep don't stay here. Need a lock for lockers in the room & $4 for luggage storage in the basement. Free walking tour was cancelled without any notice as only 2 signed up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Your comments help us make everyone's stay better. I'm sorry that you did not have a restful sleep, I know that is one of the most important parts of staying in a hostel. We do security walk throughs at night to enforce the quiet hours. If a guest comes with a noise complaint we take it very seriously. Also, I am very sorry that the tour was cancelled, that is most unfortunate. Best of luck with the rest of your travels! Hopefully you will give us a try on your next trip to Washington. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.4

Nice hostel and convenient for the sights - clean, friendly people and staff - especially John at breakfast. Don't forget to keep your access document (which is an A4 document) as it turnrd out I needed it to enter the hostel which I only found out late in the visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is usually very good about informing you about your access receipt because we know how necessary it is for entry into the building, I'm sorry you were not informed until later. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Washington DC! Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.