Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
88% 3477
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

Group of French school kids very loud and ruined the experience somewhat, not the hostels fault though and the staff said they'd never be taking a group like that again. Great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
8.9

Well placed for tourist attractions. Safe and clean neighbourhood. Spacious common areas. Good breakfast, free banana all day. Kitchen well equipped and kept clean. A couple of negative sides are that key often failed to work and had to re-issued. I knew two other people with the same problem during my stay. Only two out of three toilets were working. Even three would be too few for the whole floor?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

My daughter and I completed a 335 + mile bike trip from Pittsburgh to DC on July 10th. We stayed the night at the HI Hostel in DC and it was absolutely wonderful! We were glad to lock our bikes up in the storage shed at the hostel and found our room to be very comfortable. We enjoyed the shared space areas. It was fun to tell our story and hear stories from other guests. The staff was exceptional. They were extremely welcoming and helpful. We will visit HI Hostel again soon. Thank you!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Pretty good hostel, nice location close to the Mall. Great map will all the interesting museums to visit. Nice tours around the city. To improve: -Showers were all in the same room only having a curtain to separate them. No space to put other clothes inside them. -During breakfast, a staff member instructed one by one on how the kitchen worked, speaking quite loudly. Not nice if you wake up like a zombie in the morning. Instead, I prefer to ask if I need help. Very cool guy though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.3

Location was not central but it was okay, and the hostel was big, clean, and with nice installations. However, it would have been nice if they organized more social events. I stayed for the weekend of the 4th of July and was surprised to see there was nothing going on. Could have been a great chance to meet more people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

John one of the staff are really really friendly and helpfull to all the vistors . All thenstaff specially abnan are so friendly and they help all the visitors from what tey need .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
2.0

Booked a 4 bed dorm months prior to our stay when we arrived they informed us that they had to put someone in that dorm due to medical conditions so we would have to split across the 2 seperate 4 bed dorms now as there was already 2 people in the other room, or move to an 8 bed dorm if we wanted to stay together, paying $360 usd for 2 nights we couldnt see the point and ended up paying an additional $150usd and getting a last minute room at the Hilton, wouldnt bother with HI hostel again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.0

Good Hostel, quite close to the subway station and the National Mall with all the sights. Safe place with nice staff and a very good breakfast. Unfortunately was the aircon a bit loud and went on and off without control. Moreover, my room was a bit dark. Nevertheless, I would definetly book it again since there are clearly more pros and cons.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Clean and in a central location. My daughter and I stayed in a mixed 4 bed. Plan your time accordingly away from the hostel. Relaxed atmosohere and good friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.3

The front desk guys could have been friendlier rather than sitting with a grumpy face. Good location and breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry you had an unfortunate experience with our front desk staff, we hope you come back and give us a second chance to impress! Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.