Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Really easy to walk everywhere from the hostel. Bathrooms were decent. Good sized lockers and a good breakfast. The guy running breakfast was lots of fun and great at getting people chatting. There was a wide range of ages staying at the hostel which gave it a different vibe from most hostels I've stayed in. No alcohol allowed as well. Only small problem was the squeaky beds in our room were quite noisy whenever anyone moved in the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

A good Hostel, not the best of the HI hostels I've stayed at as the facilities are dated and the bathrooms look old. Staff were lovely and welcoming, especially those in charge of breakfast!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.0

Not too far from the mall area (if you don't mind walking) and few blocks from the metro station, a few restaurants nearby. Staff are generally friendly, and many free events like tours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
7.1

I stayed for 2 nights and wasn't very excited about the hostel. The location and facilities are fine, there is a great kitchen (very nice thing to have in a hostel) and proper breakfast. Unfortunately, there there was absolutely no atmosphere in the hostel. During my stay, there was a bunch of school kinds on their school trip, some boring people who would stay all day long at the room and some older people. Haven't met any solo-travelers looking for a buddy to hang out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest feedback! I am sorry that you had a bad experience with the school groups staying here. We do offer tours that mostly our single travelers sign up for. Hopefully this won't stop you from staying with us again sometime. Safe travels!

  • allisonhartnett1450
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much! We hope to see you again! Safe travels!

  • vla006201
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.9

grat hostel!! amazing breakfast. good location . very kind staff. pretty place. the only bad thing i could think about was that the matress was not so confortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
10.0

Great - only problem the shower took long time to get warm water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.0

The major issue that occurred this time is the noisy heater. It turned on and off with tremendous noise that really bothered me when sleeping. It's hard to fall asleep with that noise. I'm not sure if this is a problem with the room I stayed or it's a general issue. This is my second or third time staying at HI Washington. The location is great and the place is clean. I love the open space on the second floor. I like the place in general except for the heater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.1

I would say it's not really good for solo travelers as a lot of the people in my room and around in the other rooms were over 50 and went to bed at 8pm. Also, there were lots of children just running around... So not a place for a 20 something traveler looking for a chat. Good place to lay your bed, the bed was extremely comfy! The bathroom was clean, the kitchen area was kept nice. I only had an issue with the wifi one time but overall a good connection!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.7

Amazing kitchen, breakfast was free and plentiful. Very friendly staff, and lots to do close by

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.