Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3,704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3,704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
88% 3704
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Nov 2016
5.1

The rooms are clean and comfortables. But the rest of the hostel has problems with the access to the different services they offer. For instance, the lockers for the luggage are 4 dolars everytime you want to open them, the machine does not work so well. They only have one elevator, but they should have more, is a building with a lot of guests, so it is always busy and hard to catch. The worst thing is the shared bathroom, it is unclean and not comfortable to take a shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Large kitchen facilities, walkable distance to attractions. Have to pay to store luggage before check in. Quite dull atmosphere in the communal areas. Dorms very cramped and I had to hold my charger into the socket with a hair bobble because the sockets don't seem to hold the plug properly. Only three showers and one was only running cold water. Not awful for a hostel but could do with some serious modernisation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect location, nice breakfast, nice people, no alcohol so no drunk people everywhere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
6.9

Decent location near the House. Good breakfast and rooms did a job. No atmosphere though over a Friday and Saturday night. Could do with organising social events for the young people like most hostels do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.7

Generally a good hostel however was not thrilled that my "mixed room" included 9 guys and me as the mix. Not impressed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in. The location is ideal (a twenty minute walk from Union Station and just a five minute walk from the centre of town and the White House), the rooms are clean and secure, and the staff are all really friendly. The atmosphere is great, and they put on lots of activities for hostel guests to do (nights out, monument tours, etc). It's also very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
10.0

It was Awesome, room was clean, and atmosphere and staff was great. You pay for what you get, and it was just enough. Only complain is the beds, every time roommates moved it will squeak.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your review was as awesome as your stay! Thank you so much for great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The squeaky beds have been a concern and we are working on fixing the problem and getting new beds. We hope your sleep will be a bit better next time and you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Washington. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.7

This hostel was great. Centrally located, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was great, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms and showers were also in great condition. The tours the hostel organised were great for a solo traveller like me, so it was wonderful to meet others in the hostel and have some fun. I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
7.7

Good location, just a couple of blocks from the White House and the monuments.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
10.0

Great staff, some older peeps as guests but nice. Bagels, cereal and fruit for breakfast. Clean and bathrooms were always clear.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

A perfect score! Wow! Thank you so much for a great review! We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Washington and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.