Hostelworld.com

HI Washington DC

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
87% 3429
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
8.6

Breakfast could improve a little, as well as service of some people over there. Arrived late and did not had any problem to check in. Beds are good and bathrooms clean. It is very well located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.7

We have stayed in Private Twin room which was great!! We have really enjoyed, little things as complimentary toiletries, multi charger (Superb!) in nicely spacious room added to comfort. Also whole day available acccess to coffee, hot water made nice difference. Breakfast attendant John was excellent, he is great communicator, enlightening atmosphere, making people to chat and get community feel, along hid friendly service to assist serving breakfast , we would like to come back :-) aga

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.9

The rooms and bathroom were clean and the staff helpful. Location is also very good! I just had two problems: 1) none of the power outlets in the room worked! Including the lights on the beds that is advertised in the pictures. So everyone in the room had to go downstairs to the lobby to charge their gadgets, that was painful 2) in the early morning on a Sunday, a member of the staff got in the room to talk to one of the guests and it woke everyone up (including me)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
7.1

Kind of expensive. There are no shared rooms here. Really big hostel, 8 floors !! Staff was friendly. Awesome location close to the mall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th May 2016
8.0

Hostel is in a great and safe location in the city so as a solo traveller I felt very comfortable walking around the area at all times of the day. Kitchen and facilities are all great, clean and fully-equipped with everything you could need. Staff were good for giving info on directions and buses etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.3

The lockers have the perfect size to hold all your things. If you choose this hostel because of its breakfast included, bear in mind it consists of bread, muffins, cereal, milk and juice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.1

Good hostel in a central location. But it is very big meaning it has like 9 floors. If you get a room on the 7th floor you are left waiting for ages to use the 1 available lift. Not t ideal. On a positive note they have a great breakfast and free fruit at reception

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
7.7

Have problems with Ac ... Very noise Ac ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay here. Able to check in early and the bathrooms were clean too. Brilliant wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, very easy to get to from Union Station and the hostel is close to all the monuments and memorials. Comfy beds and it was all clean but the showers are rubbish! The staff on the reception desk were unfriendly and unhelpful. I arrived at 2:20pm and they said I couldn't check in until 3pm so I had to sit and wait in the lobby. I know this is a rule they have but when I stayed at HI NYC I was early to check in and they did not mind and let me go to my room and locker early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and honest feedback. We're glad you liked most of your stay. The bathrooms are are next step in building improvements in the coming year so hopefully if you return and stay with us they will be much better next time around. I'm sorry you had an unfortunate staff experience, this is a rule that we have and if we are able to send guests to their rooms early we do, it just isn't available sometimes depending on the number of check outs and if your bed has been cleaned. Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.