Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
87% 3804
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
7.4

Of the 5 people I interacted with at the front desk, only 1 was actually nice, helpful, and attentive. The others were pretty mediocre service workers, and one in particular was terrible. Half of the common space smelled of terrible body odor and thus was very unpleasant, but the decor overall was nice and they had many outlets available to charge your phone. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed room and everything was clean, however the beds were VERY noisy. Bathrooms were also clean. Location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
6.6

Clean hostel, centrally located, the complimentary breakfast is better than most hostels. There was a major problem, though: the rooms are in no way insulated to withstand sub-zero (Celsius, so sub-32°F) temperatures. We had to make a pile of pillows on the windowsills of our dorm to stop the cold draft from entering, all while the antiquated heating system was blowing cold air even if we set the thermostat to tropical heat. If you can't keep people warm in the winter, just close for the season.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
10.0

This was truly a great place to stay and I met alot of good people there. The kitchen facilities were above and beyond, 24hrs it was open. The rooms were clean, towels changed everyday, hot water and the most caring staff I have met in a while. Free breakfast to, come on its a steal of a deal. Oh the absolute best was that they had "free ear plugs", these people are on top of their stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
9.4

My first time staying in a hostel and I couldn't be happier with how it went. Staff were lovely and I loved all the activities on offer even though I didn't utilize them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

I was particularly impressed by the quality of breakfast foods - fabulous bagels, good selection and surprisingly good orange juice (I'm from Florida, so am picky) Would like to have a blender available for breakfast - but overall impressed by the facility.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.6

Having stayed at a couple of other HI's (NYC and Boston) this one was a little bit of a let down. Maybe it's a bit older than the others but it just felt a bit run down and in need of some tlc. It probably didn't help that while we were there they had a big leak which meant the first floor ceiling falling in and the water being shut off. Also there seemed to be a problem with the ordering process for the free breakfasts - both mornings we were there the food was running low.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

The place is great overall. The place is clean and secure and in a great neighbourhood! Most of the staff are simply great.. but some are too eager to discipline people during breakfast... and therefore sometime offensive!...the room are clean and nice... the facilities are good. I would like to stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome place to stay during a visit. Good money value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

Fabulous hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, just watch out if you're in the room with the heating. It goes off and on all night waking you up

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.