Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Washington DC

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3,622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3,622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
HI Washington DC Located at 1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC.
HI Washington DC
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20001 1009 11th Street, NW Washington
88% 3622
38.9028898 -77.0272493
HI Washington DC
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
8.9

Receptionist has very welcoming. Room was clean. Bathroom was clean. Reception immediately helpful when I locked myself out of my room...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
7.1

This is an alcohol free hostel. I would have not stayed there had I known that. I read many reviews and none of them mentioned that, and it was also not clearly stated in the website for the hostel either. The social events, breakfast, security, and cleanliness were good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

We had a fantastic time! The location was perfect - we were within a one mile walk of everything we wanted to see. Staff was super helpful and the common areas were relaxing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.6

This is a very nice hostel. It's close to the White House in an atmospheric location downtown. There are always good organised activities - such as pizza/games nights or tours, so it's a good place to socialise. It's big, but not crowded, and there's an eclectic mix of people. The common space is also good for this, and relaxing. Breakfast is okay - but as a buffet you can get your money's worth. Friendly staff. Good beds with efficient layout made for a good night's sleep. Great bathrooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

I was so pleased with my experience! It was my first time at a hostel and I was so surprised with the quality of everything. I will definitely be coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.1

It was good, the matresses are very unconfortable and noisy..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.0

The location of this hostel is great and, for DC, the value is good. Compared to other hostels I've stayed at, though, there are a few areas for improvement: - The lockers were too expensive; provide an option to use your own lock please! - There was always hair in the showers and the sinks clogged during "rush hour"; 3 showers for 25+ people is also not great - The beds were VERY squishy and VERY squeaky - Only one slow elevator Overall, I'd recommend it - but just know it's not

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
7.7

Great hostel. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
8.9

Larger hostel with many rooms. Huge lockers (which is a plus) and in a pretty good location. Staff was helpful and the free breakfast was a nice touch. I didn't participate in any of the daily activities, but it seemed as if there was a pretty good amount.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the note! We may have a large hostel, but we think that it's still inviting. :-) Glad you liked the location, breakfast, and especially the resplendent HI DC Team! Too bad you missed the free activities. They're all run by our amazing Volunteers. Maybe next time... ~ Mark

  • realwilloman
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.9

HI DC was my second HI hostel of the week and whilst vastly different from Boston there are certainly similarities. Good common areas, good kitchen with breakfast provided, an excellent host at breakfast to explain what to do. I met some good people who i will keep in touch with. The rooms are oldish looking but they do the job and the air con was badly needed as DC was 100 degrees all week. It's nice and close to two subway stations so you are close to hitting all the sites within minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.