Hostelworld.com

HI Washington DC

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.3

Stayed at 4th floor. Not good for shower. That is a big part of this comments.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the better hostels I've stayed at. Great location, all major metro lines are within 3-4 blocks in foot, right in the heart of dc...nothing feels very far away. Comfy beds, top bunks can be a little noisy at times, but not bad. Free breakfast is a nice touch...simple, but does the job. Nice common areas with places to hang out, watch tv, use computers, or meet people. Overall a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.7

It is very near the Walter Washington Convention Ctr [2 blocks], a plus. It is also near Metro Station [3 blocks]. The Staff are friendly and helpful. It is better that it has kitchen director during breakfast, bc not all guests know what to do with the food offerings. Guests can cook their own foods. the fridge and freezer are organized with bin and label provisions = makes so much sense. It has laundry and ironing facility. TV room, pool and lounges. Lockers with enough space for luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.9

The location, cleanliness and staff are top notch. Included continental breakfast makes it a great value. Within a 10 minute walk of the White House and the national mall with the Smithsonian museums and national monuments. Chinatown and the Verizon Center aren't much further away. Just be aware that odds are not everyone will share your political views and there are plenty of international travelers so you may find yourself in plenty of heated conversations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and many of our features, our location is probably our best feature next to our great staff! We love that our guests feel comfortable with sharing their views and respecting each others' opinions. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall really enjoyed our stay. Location was perfect. Staff was overall very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was a great perk. Wifi seemed reliable. Place was clean w/ fun decor in common areas. However, the last night of our stay our room became very cold. We mentioned this to the front desk, who told us the room was set to 55 degrees. We were told it was turned up, but the room stayed very cold, making it hard to sleep. Would have preferred more honest and open customer service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are happy that you seemed to enjoy most of your stay. I am sorry that there was discomfort on your last day. We do adjust the temperature in the room when requested by guests. It is possible that there was something wrong with the unit, we have had a few that needed to be fixed recently. We hope you'll stay with us again. Safe travels!

8th Feb 2017
8.9

The bathroom on 8th floor not working. couple of the staff can be rude, overall they are good people. Floors under bed need clean. Please replace some of the carpet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very honest feedback, they help to make everyone's stay better. I am sorry that there were difficulties during your stay. I hope you give us another try, and let us know of any issues so that we can hopefully make your stay better. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.7

Good hostel, easy to meet people. Was a bit crowded with some schools staying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the school groups, we all do have to share our facilities but we try our best to make sure that everyone minds their manners. We hope you'll come and stay with us again sometime and let us know if there is any way we could make your stay better! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

I was so impressed with the overall feeling of this place. Super clean, hot shower, good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! What a great review and feedback! Thank you so much, we really appreciate your kind words and great feedback. We hope you'll come stay with us again sometime. Safe travels!

15th Jan 2017
10.0

I have stayed here on multiple occasions. I have never been disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! We love to have our guests come back! I'm happy you've enjoyed yourself each and every time! We will see you on your next visit! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
7.4

Of the 5 people I interacted with at the front desk, only 1 was actually nice, helpful, and attentive. The others were pretty mediocre service workers, and one in particular was terrible. Half of the common space smelled of terrible body odor and thus was very unpleasant, but the decor overall was nice and they had many outlets available to charge your phone. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed room and everything was clean, however the beds were VERY noisy. Bathrooms were also clean. Location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very honest feedback. I am so sorry that you had so many issues during your stay. I am happy that our location was beneficial. My apologies for the issues you had with our staff. If you would like to elaborate on those issues, please do not hesitate to contact us and let us know what the exact issues were, and with which staff members. We hope you would stay with us again sometime. Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.