X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI Washington DC Reviews

1009 11th Street, NW Washington, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3334 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The location is great. Also thank you for the wonderful friendly staff. Especially John was great. (He was in the cafeteria) I wish I could have more time to stay in there. Thank you Hostelworld!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

80%

The pool table needs a refurbishment. It is old for people to play on properly.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We'll have to look into getting our pool table improved. We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

86%

The location was really great and the staff was super friendly. I would definitely visit again, and I'll recommend this place to anyone interested in .

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington! Thanks so much for the recommendation!

100%

Loved the extra touches such as generous breakfast, daily tours and free bananas. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

94%

Wow! I won't stay anywhere else.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! Wow what a great review! We really appreciate it and love repeat guests! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

97%

Great location within walking distance to most of what you want to see in DC. Security is great, breakfast is a good range of choice and is included in the price. My only criticism is that the room has that 'lots of people in a room' smell and could do with a good air out every now and then, but this was not overpowering so was bearable.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We our working on getting the smell better in all of the rooms. We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

100%

Love the hostel and everything about the hostel. The staff was helpful, it was a comfortable, wonderful 5 nights stay in the hostel. Free continental breakfast with and full kitchen were just perfect. Will definitely recommend this hostel. The location is just right, accesible to all tourist attractions. Will be staying here again should I visit DC in the future.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome location. Great staff. Super free breakfast. Cool dorms with little boxyw nooks so we can have a semblant of privacy. Only downside: the internet is atrociously slow and shady. It comes and goes as it please! Also, the housekeeping staff, as great as they are, mostly speaks Spanish which sometimes make it hard to communicate with them.


80%

It would be great to have more information available at the desk and check in about public transport and how to get around DC.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The people who run this hostel clearly understand the needs of hostel travellers. There are facilities for everything you might need including laundry, free tours, free breakfast, wifi, full kitchen. The locations was great. We could walk to all of the monuments and museums. Even better there was a city bike rental stop just around the corner so you could bike around this amazing city.


94%

The brekfast man is the best.


80%

More information about local activities.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I really loved the place that's why I prolonged my stay there for 2 more nights. Awesome people, clean and quite well equiped kitchen, good organized fridge storage system, free tours,... Absolutely recommend this place!


97%

all in all just great! clean rooms and washrooms and wonderful breakfast!


91%

Michelle on the front counter was amazing! She gave us some of her homemade pie after thanksgiving, and really made a couple of Australian girls day. Would recommend this place again just for her!

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

not that most sociable hostel i've stayed in but great location, 15 min straight walk to the white house for a very good price $30 a night on the week of thanksgiving. we only stayed for 2 nights and spent so much time out and around DC that we really only used the hostel as a place to shower and sleep, so for that reason i would say it is pretty good value for money but if travelling alone and looking to meet people you're probably better off staying somewhere else


71%

Great convenient and secure location with friendly staff, but dirty environment and bathrooms. 4th floor mens bathrooms smelled like urine the entire time and the showers broke my last night. Great free breakfast.


37%

Staff were really rude upon arrival, barely greeted you and told you about the hostel & where your room was etc. room was really dirty and so were the bathrooms Would not recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in DC


97%

Unlike any otherr hostel I've been to in regards to crowd (mostly business professionals). A very different vibe but loved staying there. Lockers are huge, free bananas everywhere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

100%

This place was great. Very friendly friendly and out-gowing staff. Fun: pool table, games, guitars. Very social breakfast setting, made it easy to meet new people. Great, free breakfast. Location is terrific. Cost is cheap. Beds were new, clean, comfortable. Great overall experience.

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and great feedback! It's really important to us to try and make everyone's stay better! Seems like you had a very good stay! We hope you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Washington!

(116 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback