Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Habitat HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th May 2017
8.0

Decent hostel but harder to meet people as a solo backpacker with lots of the residents living there full time. Lots of planned activities in the evenings which is nice though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th May 2017
8.3

Mixed review. Common room, kitchen & outside area - all good. Nice & spacious. People were friendly in the hostel. Breakfast is a bit early (7am - 9am) if your fancying a lie in. Dorms really let this place down, bit like Tetris...how many beds can you fit in one room! And couldn't sit up in the bottom bunk. Got let down at the end of my stay too when I was told they couldn't hold my bags due to too many bookings & wasn't aloud to keep my bags in the common room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.1

Kenny on reception was a babe, showers in 6 bed female dorms were soooo clean and nice. Didn't really use the kitchen but the free breakfast was standard but good 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, excellent to hear you enjoyed your stay - I'm sure Kenny will be pleased to hear he made an impression! Hopefully we'll see you back here again! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st May 2017
8.3

This hostel has great facilities and the cleaners do a great job but it just takes a handful of backpackers to ruin their work! Lots of security with card keys, lockers in the rooms and downstairs that also have charging ports. Plenty of common room areas and a good kitchen but it does tend to get busy from 6ish onwards and you can be fighting for a hob. Nice and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Staff were all fab! So welcoming and friendly, 24hour reception which is great. Had the free BBQ on Wednesday which was top notch and enjoyed free breakfasts plus tea & coffee throughout the day. 20mins on the tram from city and 20min walk to the beach :) only teeny thing I can fault is that I had booked into a 6bed dorm which turned out to be just 3, I understand some ppl would prefer this but as a solo traveller I like bigger rooms to meet more ppl!! But didn't ruin my stay, lovely hostel! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of the free food on offer. We can certainly understand wanting to be in a particular room type and to meet other travellers, next time just mention it to our friendly reception staff and we'd be happy to help you out! Good luck with the rest of your travels! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.7

Super friendly and helpful staff. Very affordable considering how close it is to the waterfront, Chapel and with tram stops literally outside. Great vibe and the rooms are well kept. One of the better Hostels I have had the pleasure of staying at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a great review, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! It's always lovely to hear we're doing a good job! Good luck with the rest of your travels and time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel, kitchen facilities are very good although there is a shortage of cups. Hostel is kept very clean and has a good atmosphere easy to meet people. Hostel is situated on the main road beside the team so easy to get about and 10 minute walk to St Kilda beach. Staff were lovely apart from Spencer seemed to take a disliking to certain guest and made that perfectly clear.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate it! I'm very sorry to hear of your issue with a certain staff member and would like to know more about what occurred. Please feel free to email directly on manager@habitathq.com for any further discussion. I am pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay, you'll be happy to know we have restocked the cups (we have a stash out the back so just let reception know!). Good luck with your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

10th Apr 2017
7.1

Good facilities and plenty of activities on offer if you're that way inclined. Location is really handy for trams into the city, and about a 10-minute walk to the shops and beach at St Kilda. Quiet rooms and comfortable beds. The rest of the hostel is pretty lively, quite a young crowd. Could be a decent atmosphere, but a lot of the people staying there also work there, and as a result it's a bit cliquey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities and location. We do offer work for accommodation to some of our guests, but I'm certainly disappointed to hear you felt there was a cliquey vibe. Of course this is not the sort of vibe we want here at Habitat HQ, so thank you for letting us know. Safe travels, Kelly.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.6

From check in to check out, the staff was very friendly. People were also very friendly, but my room was overlooking the courtyard and people were out there talking loudly until around 4 or 5 in the morning on weekends. There were also people running through the halls yelling at the wee hours of the morning. Only real complaint was that, although right across from a tram stop, we were about a 45 minute ride into the CBD, which was pretty inconvenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review! I'm sorry that you found the hostel a bit noisy, we do have staff members working around the clock who can definitely help keep the noise down overnight - next time just let us know! The tram line out the front of the hostel goes directly into the CBD and is actually only a 25min trip even during peak hour. You stayed over a weekend where there was a big running event (Run for the Kids) which involved some road closures, perhaps this was why the tram trip took longer than normal! Thanks again for your feedback, we would love to see you back here at Habitat HQ again! The HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.0

Really easy to meet people. Free breakfast is always good. Rooms very small and no lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time for leaving a review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast! The room sizes do vary depending on the number of people you share with, so the bigger dorms tend to have more people, which equals more new friends! We have free lockers for guests under each bunk, you just need your own padlock to secure them. Our reception staff are always happy to help and we're here 24hrs! Safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.