Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Habitat HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2017
6.9

Only stayed one night so didn't spend a lot of time here but room is very basic, bed was up there with the worst I've slept in. Shower/toilets were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • LadyBird301
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

I've had a rad time. So will you. And if you don't you're probably rubbish anyway because this place is top. Love Habitat HQ.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel! The facilities are really modern and is in a good part of St Kilda! I was staying in a private room but it honestly felt more like a hotel room which was great 😀 loved the mattresses, so comfortable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your wonderful feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we'll see you back here again in the future! Good luck with your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome stay for great value. Will be back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fantastic feedback! We loved having you stay too! Safe travels and looking forward to hopefully seeing you again! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.3

Great place to stay. They have different activities every day with free simple breakfast daily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We love having different events each night for our guests, and we're pleased you like them! Good luck with your travels in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
7.7

It's nice that the hostel is just about 10 minutes away from St Kilda's beach but you'll need a bit of time (and money) to get to the central. The staff were friendly and the place was generally clean; just don't look at the space on the floor between the bed and the wall. The free albeit limited (but sufficient) wifi was fast. Due to limited space, guests are not able to store their luggage at the hostel after checking out for free, but you can use the lockers for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review! We're happy to hear you found our staff friendly and the hostel generally clean, we've made a note of your comments about the room and will let our housekeeping team know to follow up. Good luck with the rest of your time in Australia! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Brilliant hostel with an absolute fantastic atmosphere, good facilities, clean, cheap! Although sometimes the receptionist can be grumpy and might make you feel unwelcome, "Not very pleasant having you here". Of course that doesn't reflect on all the other lovely staff members. I would still highly recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it! Sorry to hear you found one of our receptionists grumpy, that is definitely not the feedback we usually get about our staff and we'll ensure in future that that doesn't happen again. It's great that apart from that you found the hostel fantastic though, and we welcome you back anytime!

  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your fantastic review, we appreciate it! Good luck with the rest of your travels in Australia! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
9.7

Most impressed by the readiness to help with public transport and general friendliness of staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great feedback! Our staff are all local, super friendly and knowledgeable about all things Melbourne, and it's excellent to hear you found them so helpful! Good luck with your future travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.6

Good location, close to transport links, Free breakfast and 500mb of free wifi (sometimes not amazing). Beds were quite squeaky and if you were on the bottom you couldn't sit up and the kitchen could sometimes get messy quite quickly. But overall good value for money & if you're there on a Thursday there's a free BBQ which is pretty decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.