X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Habitat HQ Reviews

333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
887 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This was a pretty great hostel - very close to St Kilda beach and has an easy tram service to the centre. Kept very clean, fun games in the evening and a free breakfast if you can drag yourself out of bed before 9. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Home in Melbourne! Absolutely no bad things to say about Habitat HQ- the location is great, the staff amazing, and the atmosphere so fun! I had originally planned to stay two days in Melbourne but I loved habitat and all the people so much that I stayed three weeks. Definitely the place to be in St. Kilda!

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Kitchen could have been labelled better. Hostel seems to do a lot of activities with the guests. But I did get the feel that there were a lot of long-term guests there.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • eveliendb
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great time at Habitat! Karaoke was great fun, met some great people. Staff were really knowledgeable and helpful. I booked a 10 bed dorm but got upgraded to a 6 bed with ensuite and it was rally clean and spacious. will be back, thanks habitat

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

-pretty new rooms and bathrooms -really nice lounge area to sit down and relax


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in in australia easily. Staff are really good and the hostel is a quality vibe!

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, clean with good facilities; short walk to St Kilda, tram stop right outside. I wasn't around much as I went to the F1 however not a massive fan; firstly I don't like hostels that don't allow you to bring your own alcohol in, it just makes people stay in the rooms to drink which is massively antisocial. They are also very strict about food in rooms, I bought some bread & crisps to take with me to the F1 and left them in the room to take only for the cleaner to confiscate it!!


57%

For the amount they charge a locker in room is not to much to ask. Dispite my not liking it. If you are 18 to 21 and you just wanna get wasted every day and annoy people this is the place for you.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I love this place! I made myself way too comfortable and extended my stay beyond what I had originally planned. I met great people, the staff are so friendly and it offers loads more things for free than any other hostel I stayed at in Australia.


94%

we loved our stayed here. so clean and organized and all the staff are so friendly and helpful it was a nice atmosphere. best hostel ive stayed in yet!! smiles all round

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jody, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We loved having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon Simone and the Habitat team

54%

- too many rules delivered and enforced by a very officious team sat behind the front desk (barricade) - a culture of them and us, in my opinion, coming out of point one above - no outside alcohol ???? Really ??? This is just so you can sell your stuff and make a quick buck. If you treat us like adults you will make more money in the long run - Tannoy announcements at 10:30 am when people haven't checked out. Some of us had just flown in late last night. Either show some flexibility or fine the

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we take all feedback seriously and appreciate your time in doing so. Our restricted Liquor Licence means we legally have to comply with Victorian Government Regulations, & this includes no outside alcohol being bought into the hostel. With our competitive pricing along with our many events, we believe this creates a great night out (or in!) Thanks again for your feedback, wishing you safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia. Kathryn & The Habitat Crew

100%

had an absolute ball, extended my stay. Great vibe, loads of live music in house! Loved it!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really friendly receptionist, great clean hostel, loves the location. Will be back

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachel Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to see you back here in the future! Safe and happy travels, Kathryn & The HabitatHQ Team

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in, heaps of free stuff, wifi,carpark,breakfast . Clean great bathrooms. Helpful staff

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Roger We appreciate you leaving us a review, it's always great to hear feedback! We love that you took advantage of all our free inclusions, we're one of the only hostels in Melbourne to offer so many things free! Safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia! Kathryn @ The HabitatHQ Team

100%

Great Stay, I even stayed longer than planned. Fantastic staff and good social scene to meet people

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jak Thanks for leaving us a review, we always like to feedback about a guest stay! It's lovely to hear that our staff were fantastic, we strive to give excellent customer service to each person. It's also great to hear that you met new people, our Karaoke & Trivia Nights are the perfect nights to get to know other travellers! Good luck with the rest of your time in Australia! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

100%

I loved StKilda this was my first time to stay here. Habitat is fantastic! Clean room Friendly staff and I could park my car for free. Great value and I will be back for longer stay next time.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Floyd Thanks for your review, it's great to hear such positive feedback about our hostel! We offer so many free inclusions, and we're happy to hear that you appreciated our free car park! Hopefully we will see you back here in St. Kilda again and staying with us at Habitat HQ! Safe and happy travelling! Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Team

69%

Clean quiet and safe hostel, but found the reception staff to be quite rude especially the blonde guy he seemed to have an attitude problem. Yet another hostel that takes it's customers for granted. Good internet though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sean Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry that you found the reception staff not up to your standard, we take pride in providing exceptional service to all guests and we will certainly address your issue with all of our reception team. We have recently installed a new updated wifi service, and we're happy to hear this was a positive during your stay. Happy travels for the rest of your time in Australia and beyond, Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Team

89%

Lovely staff, chilled out atmosphere but was easy to meet people as most were friendly. I would recommend this as a hostel for easy access to both st kilda and town centre. The hostel activities were a little forced as theres not really a proper bar but good prizes and all facilities were good, can't complain.


100%

Pretty much everything is perfect, the only big issue I had was my computer for some reason didn't work with the internet there, and it lead to not being able to listen to my podcasts on the plane ride home. Other then that, great hostel, great everything pretty much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew Thanks for taking the time to review us, we're glad you enjoyed staying with us at Habitat HQ. We apologise for the trouble you had with our internet, we have now upgraded our wifi network to a faster and more reliable service, so next time you visit us you'll be able to benefit from this new and improved service! Happy and safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia! Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Crew

77%

Very nice evening activities and good to get to know other people!

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback