X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Habitat HQ Reviews

333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
928 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff were superb! Best I have experience in Australia! Music most nights was exceptional and a joy to watch! Tea was awful but that's the same in all of Australia!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear that Habitat HQ left such an awesome impression with you! Good luck with your future travels, hopefully we'll see you back here again some time! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Crew

86%

Really good hostel! I would come back every time. It's just a bit far from the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! we appreciate the time you've taken to leave us feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us! We are about a 20min tram ride from the city, and we LOVE our location in St. Kilda - close to bars, restaurants, supermarkets and of course, the beach! Good luck with the rest of your travels, we hope to see you again here at Habitat HQ, Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

66%

Great for party animal.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Habitat has incredibly friendly staff, but the short-stay backpacker in Australia should know that its free parking offer means a big likelihood that 40-50% of the guests are young work&travel folks from mostly Europe, who hang around most day, party all evenings throughout the week and don't really leave you any opportunity to find a quiet spot to plan your travel or just read a book. There's a TV room with books. but it's constantly occupied. It would be great if you got a reading room, HQ!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we value all our feedback. It's great to hear that our staff made a positive impact on your stay, all our staff here at Habitat strive incredibly hard to make every guests stay a memorable one! I'll pass on your suggestion for a quiet room/reading room, it's a great idea & we appreciate that everyone has different needs when travelling. We hope to see you again here at Habitat HQ!

77%

Nice clean hostel, free breakfast and wifi for length of stay is a nice touch. Modern and clean with decent sized rooms and kitchen, even has an oven which was great! Would have stayed longer but found the hostel very clicky. Many people are long termers so it feels like being back at high school with groupings. Entertainment most nights but wouldn't recommend to lone travellers - hard to mingle.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's great to hear you appreciated the free wifi and breakfast, and the cleanliness of the hostel - our staff work hard to keep Habitat HQ at a hight standard. We have a mixture of travellers and Working Holiday makers staying with us, and we do try to make an effort to bring everyone together with events to encourage people to get to know each other, perhaps next time we'll see you up singing at our Karaoke night! Kathryn & Habitat HQ Team

91%

Great hostel! But as in other places in Australia, most of the guests are young people on working holiday who actually live in the hostel. So the atmosphere might not be the best if you are little bit older and just passing by. By the way, the hostel has the busiest but at the same time cleanest kitchen I've seen in a long time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for you feedback, it's great to hear that you enjoyed staying at Habitat HQ and appreciated the effort our housekeeping staff put in to keeping the hostel clean! Good luck and safe travels for you time in Australia! Kathryn & the Habitat HQ Team

86%

Super clean hostel and very organized! Only stayed here for a couple nights, good area outside to drink but no drinking in the rooms, I'd recommend this place, clean, secure, social what more could you ask for?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it's excellent to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for noticing how clean we are, all our staff work very hard to keep Habitat HQ at such a high standard and it's great to see it's paying off! Safe travels for you time in Australia, we hope to see you back at Habitat HQ in the future! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

91%

It was a great hostel but if you`re traveling alone it`s quite hard to know people beacause they are all in group. I woudn`t suggest the people traveling alone there to go there... But for the rest excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we value all our feedback! We do have a mixture of travellers and Working Holiday makers staying with us, & in an effort to bring everyone together we put on events which are there to encourage people to mingle and get to know each other. It may seem a bit daunting, but once you've been to a Karaoke or Trivia night with us, you'll have friends for life! Good luck with your future travels - Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

97%

That was the best hostel I have stayed! I had a double bed room with my boyfriend for only 35 a night with a great and clean bathroom! Felt like in a hotel! Thank you :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review, it's awesome to hear you enjoyed staying with us and we hope that you'll be back in the future! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

100%

Amazing hostel! Great atmosphere, very friendly and knowledgable staff. Bathrooms were clean, common spaces were awesome! Always a lot going on but was quiet enough to sleep through the whole night! I will definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it's great to hear such positive feedback! We so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard to keep the hostel clean, fun and enjoyable for all guests and we love that this was appreciated! Hopefully we will see you back with us again for a future stay! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

89%

Lovely hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Been staying here a few times And highly recommend it :)

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us at Habitat HQ, and love that you continue to return to stay and recommend us! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

86%

nice place!!! loved the free bf one day with pancakes! good atmosphere... drinks in the hostel are cheep they have nice activities as well... a lot of party in the evenings but there is also the outside area and the quite tv room if you dont feel like Party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the feedback! We're glad you took advantage of the free breakfast and pancakes, and that you enjoyed our nightly events. Hopefully we'll see you back here again in the future! Safe and happy travels for the rest of your time in Australia, Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

100%

Best hostel in Melbourne. By far. Atmosphere, staff and value for money all so great. The rooms are clean, never had problems with the facilities (free wifi in rooms!!!). Great entertainment in the evening, really can't fault this place. Love it :)))

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed (and are still enjoying :)) your time here at Habitat HQ! It's great to hear such positive feedback and again, thanks for taking the time to let us know! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

89%

Nah, nah it was good mate.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks for your review, we love hearing feedback and appreciate you taking the time! Glad to hear you liked Habitat HQ, we would love to have you come and stay in future. Safe and Happy travels for the rest of your time in Australia Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Team

74%

not bad ^_^

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • andrewgillam
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate the feedback! We're always looking for ways to improve and we'd love to hear more about your ratings - feel free to chat to our staff on reception, we've noticed you have extended your stay with us! Thanks again, Kathryn @ The HabitatHQ Team

100%

Amazing place! Best in Australia! Cheers!

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Iiro - Thanks for leaving us a review, we love hearing feedback! We're so happy you loved Habitat HQ, it's great to know you had a good time staying with us and we hope to see you back here again in the future! Safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia, Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Team

74%

Decent hostel with good location in St Kilda but too many long termers which made it feel petty cliquey. I wouldn't stay here if I was travelling on my own.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hamish - Thanks for you review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our location in St. Kilda, we love the area and are glad you did too! We have both long term guests and guests travelling on their own, and we run nightly events in the hostel to help make it easier to meet people and have fun - if you stay with us again, we'd recommend coming to our Karoake or Trivia Nights, they're both great nights! Safe travels, Kathryn & The Habitat Team

71%

Decent hostel. Nice vibe in the evening although can be very loud not good for someone who works. Long stayers as well, kitchen often messy but open all day which is great. 24hr desk is good. We extended our stay a few times having to move rooms everytime is a bit of a pain... Much better value for money and everything compared to Base (stayed there too).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sian - Thanks for leaving us a review, we value all feedback! Our apologies for you having to move rooms a few times during your stay, we do try to limit this however over extremely busy periods this sometimes can't be avoided. We're glad you enjoyed the hostel vibe though, the nightly events are important to us and our staff love interacting with guests! Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you again at HabitatHQ! Kathryn and Habitat HQ Team

86%

Good location ,,,Beautiful Stt Kilda beach front....Love it.... Very friendly and helpful staffs...Come back again in future...::))

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dung - Thanks for leaving us a review, we appreciate the feedback! St. Kilda is a beautiful part of Melbourne, and we're glad you enjoyed our location and took the time to explore the area! Hope to see you again in the future! Kathryn & The HabitatHQ crew

91%

This was a pretty great hostel - very close to St Kilda beach and has an easy tram service to the centre. Kept very clean, fun games in the evening and a free breakfast if you can drag yourself out of bed before 9. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our events and the free breakfast, and hopefully we'll see you back for another visit in the future! Happy travels The HabitatHQ crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback