X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Habitat HQ Reviews

333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1098 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The only negatives are that the showers aren't the greatest (although they are very clean), the mattresses have springs that you often have to adjust your position to be comfortable, and you have to pay for internet which runs out at the end of each day. Great atmosphere with something to do each night. The comedy night on Sunday was a lot of fun! They have safe free parking in a large parking lot, and the location is great being right next to the trams and walking distance from the esplanade.


94%

Very good hostel with friendly staff and very good atmosphere. I highly recommand this hostel !

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your excellent feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your time at Habitat HQ!

89%

Very friendly staff. Fun atmosphere. Thought I would be parked on the street but was pleasantly surprised with the secure car park. Lots of people living long term though.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed Habitat HQ. Our staff work hard to create a fun and friendly atmosphere for our guests, so it's good to see it's working! Our free & secure off street parking is a definite plus, and we're happy you took advantage of this service. Wishing you safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

97%

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Very clean, spacious kitchen, big lounge area with daily events like comedy , live music or trivia. You get free wifi is very rare in Australia . 10 minutes walk to the beach and Acland street with shops and restaurants and situated right next to the tram going into the CBD. The only thing I can criticise is that the free breakfast ends too early , at 9 o'clock .

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, we loved having you stay with us and hope we see you back here again soon!

86%

The hostel is well furnished with nice wall paintings. The staff are nice and friendly. Although it is a distance from Melbourne, but it's very close to the tram station, and walking distance to other st kilda's attractions. Free wifi is limited though, didn't knoe abt that before hand. It will also help if there are more power points near the bed in the room.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, all feedback is welcome! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and the rooms nicely decorated! The wifi is capped at 275mb per day, which is usually more than enough, and you can buy extra time really cheaply if needed. I'll pass on your feedback about powerpoints, thanks for letting us know! Happy and safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

91%

I really really liked staying here. It's one of those hostels where everyone planned on staying for a few days and are still here months later. Very social hostel, big communal area. Different activities every night - comedy night, open mic nught etc. Wish the pool table was free. Only other issue is my card would demagnitize sometimes a few times in a day. Other than that, it's very close to St. Kilda beach, nice restaurants & bars nearby, tram is right there, grocery is a block away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's great to get feeback. It's so nice to hear you are enjoying the hostel, we work hard at all our inhouse events and it's great to hear they're appreciated. We offer free pool during our games night, and have a free pool comp on Fridays - so keep an eye out for those so you can get your pool fix! Yes, the key cards can sometimes demagnetize, however we have 24hr reception always available to help :)

97%

Love this hostel, best I've ever stayed in. Don't wanna leave! :D Amazing people amazing place!


86%

This hostel has great staff, they're very helpful and there are plenty of free events put on by the hostel. Some reviewers say it's too far from central but it's only a 20 minute tram ride away. St. Kilda itself has lots to offer - definitely check out the local area. The hostel is a mix of people staying long term and travellers. The facilities are pretty for a hostel and housekeeping is good. Could do with a bit more fridge space, but it's manageable. I definitely recommend this hostel


100%

Hotel very cosy and confortable. The night team is very nice, and always here to help you.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, it's so good to hear you are enjoying Habitat HQ! I'll pass on your comments to our night staff, they work tirelessly overnight to keep the hostel running and it's great they are appreciated! Thanks again for your feedback!

91%

Well, seriously, this hostel is amazing. The room was the best I've ever seen in a hostel, they have all the facilities you can ask for, and the atmosphere is so good. You'll never be disappointed here. The only downside is that it's not in the city centre (5 km from it)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you back here again! Safe travels, The Habitat HQ Team

100%

Todo fue perfecto!!! En la habitación éramos seis y muy simpáticas todas, limpiaban la habitación, el baño, zonas comunes a diario, el personal de recepción encantadores y la zona está muy cerquita de la playa. Recomendable 100%

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Mostly, long term guests are staying there. No activities etc. arranged for guests. Almost no way to get to know each other. Facilities are good. Location is not central at all. Takes a while to get to downtown.


89%

Nice hostel, nice atmosphere, breakfast, staff and rooms, only short walk to shops and beach!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and would love to see you again in the future! Happy and safe travels, Habitat HQ Team

83%

I didn't really like the location but other than that it's one of the better hostels out there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the feedback! I'm sorry the location didn't suit you, we're within walking distance to bars, restaurants,supermarkets,shops and the beach, however the city is a 20min tram ride (alhough we love the fact we're in a quieter part of town!). Good luck with the rest of your travels, Habitat HQ Team

83%

great hostel close to the beach and a 20 min tram ride to the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Happy and safe travels, The Habitat HQ Team

80%

It's a clean hostel with lockers in your room (kind of small for the entire backpack). The staff was good and can answer your questions about Melbourne, although they feel very bothered. It's a 5 minute walk from bars and cafés. If you're traveling alone, the majority staying here are long term residents so it's really hard to get into their "group". Over all it's a good hostel with high security and clean facilities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we love to hear feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed the hostel, and appreciated the cleanliness - our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the facilities clean for our guests! We do have a lot of long term guests during the winter months, and we run lot's of evening events to ensure everyone is making friends! Thanks again, and safe travels for your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

86%

We had a great time at HQ ! Good big kitchen, clean beds and facilities, very comfy sofas and a nice going fire! Awesome vibe and very friendly staff. Great place to stay easy to get to the cbd and within a pleasant strike from St. Kilda centre ! Definitely one of the better hostels in Melb's! Good job guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, it's awesome to hear you loved staying with us - we hope you come back again! Enjoy your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

57%

It's a nice backpacker hostel, but quite a number of people are staying here and finding jobs. They have been staying for maybe 2 week or 1 month, treating the mixed dorm as their home and this cause the room become really messy and full of alcohol smell. The hostel should maintain the cleanness of every room or limit the period of staying. The hostel ground floor is exactly a pub and this is sometimes too noisy.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all feedback. We have lots of people staying with, both working and travelling, and we understand that the rooms can become a little messy. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms tidy, and we will make sure they continue to do this. We do sell limited alcohol from reception, and our staff try hard to ensure the noise is kept to a minimum - I'm sorry that you found the hostel too noisy. Thanks again & safe travels. Habitat HQ

77%

Security: Fortunately, no security event occurred. Location: Accessible from Tramway, There is Aldi for shopping cheap groceries but quite far from CBD (along the way there are more than 10 stops from Flinders St Station). But, it is close to Lunapark and St. Kilda Beach which is awesome. Staff: Staffs were helpful Atmosphere: Quite nice and friendly. They have a large lounge and large kitchen if you want to cook or even bake a cake. (I saw people do this) Cleanliness: It is maintained well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to see you again in the future! Safe and happy travels, The Habitat HQ Team

83%

All good but one of things was not comfortable for us. The thing that is hair drayer didn't work. But it was fine coz we have own drayer. Plz check it before do hosting.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We're sorry that the hairdryer in your room didn't work, our maintenance staff have now fixed this problem. We hope to see you again in the future, wishing you safe travels, Habitat HQ Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback