Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Habitat HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
8.3

I stayed in a private room at Habitat HQ and I really enjoyed my stay. I appreciated the free wifi & kettle in the room. The room itself was nice & clean with a modern bathroom. The hostel is located not too far from the beach and it is an easy walk. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I did one of the day tours offered by the hostel and absolutely loved it. The bus to the airport is located just outside the hostel & for $19 is excellent value. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you back here again! Enjoy the rest of your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.1

Very clean rooms and bathrooms and great location, we would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms and bathrooms clean, so it's nice to see it's appreciated! Good luck with your future travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • tobyfuxiaozhe4412
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.6

Very convenient location. Next to the night life area and easy to catch tram. Airport shuttle bus is just in front of the door. Staff is super nice and helpful, 24/7 available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and happy to hear you found our staff super nice and helpful! Good luck with the rest of your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
10.0

By far the cleanest and best hostel I have ever stayed in! •Fantastic facilities (pool, showers, gym, restaurant, beds) everything is of an excellent standard and clean! •Excellent manager/owner! The owner is a really nice guy and really helpful with information about the island. •Great food and drink options, with in house bar, kitchen and chefs! •Great location! 5 minute walk from the main beach, bars and restaurants. •Very clean and tidy. Bedrooms and shower facilities are immaculate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rumz_ruaidhri5687
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
7.7

Overall a very good hostel and would recommend staying there. A good atmosphere in the evenings however much to my frustration most of the other people staying there, lived there and had jobs so not a great place for meeting travel companions in my experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
8.0

Decent hostel but harder to meet people as a solo backpacker with lots of the residents living there full time. Lots of planned activities in the evenings which is nice though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate it! We agree that it can be hard to meet people when travelling solo, and we run our nightly events to help break the ice and get people mixing, which we're glad to hear you enjoyed. We hope to see you back here again and wish you safe and happy travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th May 2017
8.3

Mixed review. Common room, kitchen & outside area - all good. Nice & spacious. People were friendly in the hostel. Breakfast is a bit early (7am - 9am) if your fancying a lie in. Dorms really let this place down, bit like Tetris...how many beds can you fit in one room! And couldn't sit up in the bottom bunk. Got let down at the end of my stay too when I was told they couldn't hold my bags due to too many bookings & wasn't aloud to keep my bags in the common room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate hearing about your time with us. Great to hear you liked the common facilities, we're sorry you felt your dorm room was small though. We have a number of different room types, all of them sized specifically by the council for the number of beds allowed. For more space, we recommend the larger dorms - more people to make friends with too! I'm sorry you felt let down about not being able to use our luggage room, we have this storage for all our early arrivals but we do have really cheap lockers to use that only cost $3 for the entire day, the best value around! Thanks again for your review, and good luck with the rest of your travels in Australia. The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.1

Kenny on reception was a babe, showers in 6 bed female dorms were soooo clean and nice. Didn't really use the kitchen but the free breakfast was standard but good 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, excellent to hear you enjoyed your stay - I'm sure Kenny will be pleased to hear he made an impression! Hopefully we'll see you back here again! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st May 2017
8.3

This hostel has great facilities and the cleaners do a great job but it just takes a handful of backpackers to ruin their work! Lots of security with card keys, lockers in the rooms and downstairs that also have charging ports. Plenty of common room areas and a good kitchen but it does tend to get busy from 6ish onwards and you can be fighting for a hob. Nice and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you back here again! Good luck with the rest of your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Staff were all fab! So welcoming and friendly, 24hour reception which is great. Had the free BBQ on Wednesday which was top notch and enjoyed free breakfasts plus tea & coffee throughout the day. 20mins on the tram from city and 20min walk to the beach :) only teeny thing I can fault is that I had booked into a 6bed dorm which turned out to be just 3, I understand some ppl would prefer this but as a solo traveller I like bigger rooms to meet more ppl!! But didn't ruin my stay, lovely hostel! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of the free food on offer. We can certainly understand wanting to be in a particular room type and to meet other travellers, next time just mention it to our friendly reception staff and we'd be happy to help you out! Good luck with the rest of your travels! The Habitat HQ Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.