Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Habitat HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
Habitat HQ Located at 333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne.
Habitat HQ
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3182 333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda
87% 1345
-37.8657742 144.9857139
Habitat HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

i really like this place! I was impressed with the rooms And the cleanness of this hostel! I would Definitely recommend! Excellent stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your fantastic review, we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love to see you back here again! Safe travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in in Australia! Perfect location in St Kilda and such a friendly/ welcoming vibe from everyone. Rooms are great size and security is spot on. Toilets are the nicest ones I've seen yet and everyone was so nice !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, what a fantastic review! It's excellent to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in St Kilda area, super friendly staff, really clean, lots going on, really sociable hostel. Would stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your fabulous review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that we see you back here again in the future! The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
6.9

Staff were lovely & very helpful. It could be a great hostel however lots of long term people in groups who weren't interested in meeting new people. Bit far from the CBD however there were regular trams & St Kilda has a great beach just a short walk away. Hostel was clean however people didn't do their washing up & the room I was staying in was messy but that's down to the people that were staying there. Security is also a bit lax as anyone can just wander in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we love hearing feedback! We have a mix of guests staying with us, and our nightly events are a great way to meet new people. We take our security very seriously and the hostel is staffed 24hrs & doors locked overnight, which deters anyone from just wandering in. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff lovely and helpful, we definitely pride ourselves on our excellent customer service! Good luck with the rest of your travels in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

2nd Nov 2016
8.0

Enjoyed my stay here, and would definitely recommend. The pricing is a bit high, but taking into consideration everything in Australia is expensive, it's not so bad.. Definitely able to get a good night's sleep, and socialize a bit. Next to the tram, and lots of food. Staff are pretty friendly. Kitchen is a bit small, but it's fine. I really wish they had more cups/dishes though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review, it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We think that with all our free inclusions (breakfast, wifi, tea/coffee, nightly events),our clean rooms and common areas and our amazingly friendly staff, that the price is totally worth it :) The cups & dishes do sometimes run low, however just let our reception staff know and we're happy to replenish any stock! Good luck with the rest of your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Sadly I only got to spend 1 night there (I was lucky because it was 24$, my budget does not allow me to spend 32+$ per night) but it is really a beautiful place. Clean, huge common area, free BBQ night when I was there plus the free breakfast! We had our own bathroom and shower in the room so you only share it with 5 other persons which is nice. Kitchen fully equipped, closed room to watch TV/movies. Nice location close to the beach! Would recommend if you can spend the money! ^^

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.9

Pretty chill place. The nightly events were great, and it's nice that they have a free dinner once a week. The common area is really nice, and the fireplace is a great touch. The kitchen was big, but shelf and fridge space was hard to come by. Good facilities for cooking, though. The rooms were pretty nice, and the lockers have plenty of space for anything you want to keep secure. Overall, I'd recommend it. No real complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Excellent review, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and hopefully we will see you back here again in the future! Good luck with your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

  • bthomson14
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.6

Great place for backpackers. Long term guests are friendly which is nice. We had issues with our first room and some of the occupants, but the front desk was more than happy to help us and we changed rooms. The hostel isn't super close to a lot of places, but close enough with a short 5-10 walk to many amenities. Kitchen was well looked after and was generally well stocked with dishes and clean. The common area and tv room are nice places to park a seat and relax any time of day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you if you're ever in St Kilda again! Safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
6.3

Positives: Generally clean, the kitchen had ovens, conveniently close to tram straight into city. Negatives: Unfortunately some of the staff on reception were rude, and gave poor customer service. Don't chose to work in a hostel of you can't be polite to the people staying there! Also if you buy extra Internet it expires after 24 hours which is annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we value all feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you felt some of our reception staff were rude, we pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and we will address this with all staff members. It's lovely to hear you found the hostel clean though, we work hard to keep the hostel this way and it's great to hear it's appreciated! Wishing you safe travels, The HQ Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.1

Pretty good hostel. Location wasn't as close to the shops and restaurants as we would've liked. Staff were pretty friendly. Very sweet that when we checked out, the staff had arranged a free muffin for my friend's birthday. 😊 One negative - our room was right next to the stairwell so we could hear thumping up and down the stairs at all hours which was a bit disruptive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we love hearing feedback from guests! It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the birthday muffin, we love to make our guests happy! I'm sorry to hear that your room was noisy, the front entrance doors usually do a good job of sound blocking- next time just let our reception staff know and we would be happy to move you away from the stairwell. Wishing you safe travels, The HQ Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.