X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Habitat HQ Reviews

333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
938 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Decent hostel with good location in St Kilda but too many long termers which made it feel petty cliquey. I wouldn't stay here if I was travelling on my own.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hamish - Thanks for you review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our location in St. Kilda, we love the area and are glad you did too! We have both long term guests and guests travelling on their own, and we run nightly events in the hostel to help make it easier to meet people and have fun - if you stay with us again, we'd recommend coming to our Karoake or Trivia Nights, they're both great nights! Safe travels, Kathryn & The Habitat Team

71%

Decent hostel. Nice vibe in the evening although can be very loud not good for someone who works. Long stayers as well, kitchen often messy but open all day which is great. 24hr desk is good. We extended our stay a few times having to move rooms everytime is a bit of a pain... Much better value for money and everything compared to Base (stayed there too).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sian - Thanks for leaving us a review, we value all feedback! Our apologies for you having to move rooms a few times during your stay, we do try to limit this however over extremely busy periods this sometimes can't be avoided. We're glad you enjoyed the hostel vibe though, the nightly events are important to us and our staff love interacting with guests! Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you again at HabitatHQ! Kathryn and Habitat HQ Team

86%

Good location ,,,Beautiful Stt Kilda beach front....Love it.... Very friendly and helpful staffs...Come back again in future...::))

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dung - Thanks for leaving us a review, we appreciate the feedback! St. Kilda is a beautiful part of Melbourne, and we're glad you enjoyed our location and took the time to explore the area! Hope to see you again in the future! Kathryn & The HabitatHQ crew

91%

This was a pretty great hostel - very close to St Kilda beach and has an easy tram service to the centre. Kept very clean, fun games in the evening and a free breakfast if you can drag yourself out of bed before 9. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our events and the free breakfast, and hopefully we'll see you back for another visit in the future! Happy travels The HabitatHQ crew

97%

the staff at habitat hq are all lovely and very helpful. For example myself and 5 friends wanted to be in the same room and Spencer (a members of staff) managed to sort it all out for us which is great!! The cleanliness of the hostel is immense, they are cleaned around the clock and are always spotless. The rooms are very reasonably priced and spacious. There is entertainment every night including karaoke, games night, and live music. all in all the habitat hq is well worth the visit! 5 stars!!!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in Habitat for 4 weeks and had the best time ever! Best hostel I have been in so far with such friendly staff members such as Spencer!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Home in Melbourne! Absolutely no bad things to say about Habitat HQ- the location is great, the staff amazing, and the atmosphere so fun! I had originally planned to stay two days in Melbourne but I loved habitat and all the people so much that I stayed three weeks. Definitely the place to be in St. Kilda!

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Kitchen could have been labelled better. Hostel seems to do a lot of activities with the guests. But I did get the feel that there were a lot of long-term guests there.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • eveliendb
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great time at Habitat! Karaoke was great fun, met some great people. Staff were really knowledgeable and helpful. I booked a 10 bed dorm but got upgraded to a 6 bed with ensuite and it was rally clean and spacious. will be back, thanks habitat

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

-pretty new rooms and bathrooms -really nice lounge area to sit down and relax

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you review! It's great hearing positive feedback and we're happy to see that you have extended your stay with us here at Habitat! Thanks again, Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

100%

Best hostel I've stayed in in australia easily. Staff are really good and the hostel is a quality vibe!

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback and love that you are still enjoying Habitat HQ! Kathryn & The Habitat HQ Team

77%

Nice hostel, clean with good facilities; short walk to St Kilda, tram stop right outside. I wasn't around much as I went to the F1 however not a massive fan; firstly I don't like hostels that don't allow you to bring your own alcohol in, it just makes people stay in the rooms to drink which is massively antisocial. They are also very strict about food in rooms, I bought some bread & crisps to take with me to the F1 and left them in the room to take only for the cleaner to confiscate it!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave review, we appreciate all feedback! Due to restrictions on our liquor licence, outside alcohol can't be bought in to the hostel, and we run nightly events and have great drink specials to ensure a fun night for our guests. We're sorry to hear your food was taken by our housekeeping staff - we keep the rooms hygienic and clean for all guests, and the food taken is kept for you collect at reception anytime. Safe travels - Kathryn & The Habitat Team

57%

For the amount they charge a locker in room is not to much to ask. Dispite my not liking it. If you are 18 to 21 and you just wanna get wasted every day and annoy people this is the place for you.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review, we appreciate all feedback and take it seriously. All of our dorm rooms have lockers inside for you to use free of charge during your stay, and we have paid lockers on the ground floor at reception if needed as well. Our liquor licence only specifies that we can sell alcohol between midday and 1am, and our staff are vigilant with keeping everyone respectful - we're sorry you felt that Habitat HQ wasn't the place for you. Safe travels - The Habitat Team

94%

I love this place! I made myself way too comfortable and extended my stay beyond what I had originally planned. I met great people, the staff are so friendly and it offers loads more things for free than any other hostel I stayed at in Australia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's great to hear that you loved staying here at Habitat - we loved having you stay with us too!! We hope to see you again in the future, safe travels for the rest of your time in Australia Kathryn @ The Habitat HQ Team

94%

we loved our stayed here. so clean and organized and all the staff are so friendly and helpful it was a nice atmosphere. best hostel ive stayed in yet!! smiles all round

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jody, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We loved having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon Simone and the Habitat team

1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback