Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Haka Lodge Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Mar 2017
8.9

This very comfortable hostel felt more like a B&B. The private room #5 included a skylight over the bed for viewing stars as you sleep. There was also a tv and DVDs collection. The staff was very friendly. My only complaint is How far it is from town. A bus runs every 1/2 hour, but costs $4 in each direction. The $8 per day quickly adds up, making this affordable hostel expensive. They should provide more than 1 bike for hire and bikes should be free to make up for the poor location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel - more like staying in a house. Great facilities and friendly atmosphere. Not very central but close to bus route straight into the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

Haka Lodge was fantastic! Made you feel at home. You notice whenever a hostel is not just after your money but wants to provide a home away from home. Haka Lodge did that. Can't recommend it enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • victorialvernon452
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Love Haka lodge's and this one feels more like a family home then a hostel. The staff are awesome and really felt at home. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved the place! Nice tucked away setting. Clean and nice rooms and shared area. Would definitely stay there again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.7

This was the first Hostel that I have stayed in and I can't express enough how fantastic it was. The staff were warm and welcoming on arrival and gave a tour of the place straight away explaining how everything works. The room I stayed in was brilliant, a comfortable single bed (no bunks)with a spacious room which gave it a hotel feel, and it was the cheapest option! A good location, clean and easy to use facilities, friendly staff and an overall amazing place to stay. Reccomend for anybody! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

Awesome place, so chill. Definitely be back. A bit far out of the city but buses can get you in easily

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi I am so glad you enjoyed the chill vibes, I think it is one thing that makes a stay at our hostel so special. Enjoy your travels in New Zealand and happy New Year:)

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, friendly staff, good atmosphere. Reasonably close to Christchurch city centre, good spot for exploring the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
10.0

I loooooooved this hostel!! Had a great family feel and was very cozy and basically just felt like home. Staff is amazing. Stayed here during the earthquake and they were extremely helpful and knowledgeable throughout the ordeal. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.9

We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.