Hostelworld.com

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
Haka Lodge Queenstown Located at 6 Henry St, , Queenstown.
Haka Lodge Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown 9300 6 Henry St
95% 301
-45.0300745 168.6627101
Haka Lodge Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
8.0

Really awesome hostel. Great for down time and social time. Everyone cleans after themselves as it is so small. Staff were an interesting mix and the beds were surprisingly not overly comfortable but really nothing to complain about at all! I would stay again for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, super friendly staff, always clean. Free soup on Wednesday nights was a nice touch. Met some very friendly people here. Only complaint was our bunk in the 6 bed dorm was so squeaky. Couldn't move a mm without waking the room. Definitely bring ear plugs or buy them at the hostel. Less than 5 min walk to intercity bus and grocery store. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Very pleased you enjoyed the free soup on offer - a winter necessity, especially with all the rain :) Our dorm beds are super sturdy so we will check to see if anything needs fixing, thanks for bringing it to our attention.

15th May 2016
8.9

The beds and bathrooms(!) were very tidy and clean. As others have mentioned, having curtains for each bunk is a nice option for privacy. I would say the atmosphere is less friendly and more private - I was not seeking a party hostel, but it IS nice to connect with others as a solo traveler. Access to each dorm room is not as secure - using keys to lock/unlock each room is inconsistent with 6 people passing in-and-out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We receive great feedback about the dorm beds having the privacy curtains, hopefully you found the large kitchen & lounge area comfortable & a good place to meet other travellers. We also have the large drawers underneath the dorm beds so people can lock away any valuables. We wish you safe onward travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've been to in New Zealand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location. Close proximity to town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities modern and up to date.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Over the last two years I've stayed at almost every hostel in Queenstown and can say that Haka is hands down the best available. Always clean, great facilities, fast internet, excellent staff and comfortable, private beds. Thanks for everything guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Immaculate, great staff, great facilities. The kitchen even had spices, baking supplies and a recipe book! Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Whoop! Seems like our hard work has paid off, thanks for your glowing review! Please come & see us again :)

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
9.4

I have stayed 4 different backpackers in Queenstown and I have to say HAKA LODGE is the best one! The location is really good, it close to the bus stop and the fresh choice and just ten mins walking to the lake. It's clean, comfortable, relaxing. The kitchen and living room are really nice and the staff is so kindly. The only thing you need to notice is the doom room is a little small than others but it still doesn't matter cuz the bed is too comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Great wifi! Chill spot, nice common areas, fun events, super friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.7

In my opinion all of the Haka Lodge hostels are amazing. I don't really have anything bad to say I would stay at them over any other hostel :) it's a shame they don't have more of them !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your lovely feedback. Check out our other lodges in Paihia, Taupo, Auckland & Christchurch!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.