X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Haka Lodge Queenstown Reviews

6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
138 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very accommodating. The man at front desk (I believe the posted photo and info in the lobby called him the Red Bearded Bear???) was very helpful. He let us know everything we needed to know, and where to get some great grub and beer! I wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night.


100%

Had amazing time in Queenstown and Haka Lodge! Very friendly staff, very clean place, good bathrooms, good bedroom! I liked it very much!


100%

Great backpacker!! Each bunk has its own curtain, reading light, power plug and storage drawer under the bunk with padlocks on request. Free unlimited wifi. Awesome shower pressure. Free parking. I would definitely recommend this place.


94%

The hostel and staff were great, there didnt appear to be many bathroom facilities, but it didnt cause a problem.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location. One of their staff, GEORGE, is really funny and tends to forget everything but is incredibly helpful. We love him! The kitchen only opens at 7am and because we had to leave for the Milford Sound tour, we couldn't get to our breakfast in the fridge lol. Also take note that if staying in Dorm rooms, the ladders to top bunks are not attached! People have fallen backwards howling early in the morning and I got a shock while climbing too! Not safe if you are prone to falling haha


83%

Great policy of quiet or out after 10.30 pm - although the staff themselves didn't adhere to this on one of the nights they wanted to go out. Good place if you want a sociable time but also want to sleep well. Dimmer lights and bed curtains made it private and less disturbance.


83%

Great hostel with friendly staff and good facilities. Better than some other hostels in queenstown especially if you want a more chilled out place.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Haka is a great place. The staff are amazing, and the Queenstown Hill walk is right behind it. It was super clean, and the beds each had their own power outlet, lamp, and curtain. There was a storage/drying area for ski/snowboard gear, and an amazing common room. I would definitely stay there again.


100%

Haka Lodge Queenstown is truly excellent! Lots of space, amazing facilities in the kitchen, a great lounge, close to town and free wifi! The building layout is fun and quirky and has a very comforting 'homey' vibe. I was amazed with the cleanliness of the hostel- the bathrooms, kitchens, bedroom and shared areas were absolutely stunning. Best beds ever, a privacy curtain! The staff at Haka are what really made the difference. They were welcoming, professional, helpful and hilarious. Thanks guys!


91%

Very clean and warm. Really happy with the facilities.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is somewhat of a maze and the rooms are pretty small, but other than that it's an excellent hostel. Not too big and good for meeting people, exactly what I was looking for.


34%

Staff were not welcoming, didn't show us the facilities, we had to work out where things where ourselves. We stayed in a private room, the lights didn't work, staff didn't bother to apologise, or show us, just told us we had to fiddle with the switch & work it out ourselves, lamps didn't work in the room either & bedsheets where unchanged. The common area is tiny, each time we went in there, we had to sit on the uncomfortable beanbags & finally, walls are paper thin, and doors squeak

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'd like to offer our heart-felt apologies for your experience at the hostel which sounds like is fell far below our usual high standard.I was aware that the main light had caused some confusion but not of the other issues that you mention which we would've been more than happy to resolve if we'd been alerted to them. Be assured that our bedclothes are thoroughly laundered after EVERY stay, our staff are usually super friendly & we have 2 large common areas. Best wishes for your onward travels.

71%

Bad experience, we signed a condition before we moved in about the rules there, like be quite after 10:30pm, actually there was a big party at that night, which was really noisy and also a quarrel outside our room, (our room was near the toilet and kitchen, we can hear their words clearly). It haven't stop until 12:30. Really disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Shiying.Thanks for taking time to leave us some feedback & sincere apologies for your experience. I know exactly the evening you are refering to because we were alerted to some very badly behaved guests on that night. Our onsite staff member was only made aware of the situation at 12.30pm & the situation was then promptly dealt with. The guests were asked to leave first thing the next day. This is a very rare occurence, but we sincerely apologise for the disturbance. All the very best : )

66%

Limited space in the rooms (6 bed dorm). Hard to organize and pack/unpack stuff.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely fantastic! The beds were sturdy bunks in the dorms so no squeaking or wobbling! Clean showers, toilets and kitchen. The guy in charge was brilliant! Always nice to have someone on reception with personality. Wish I could have stayed longer!!




View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback