Hostelworld.com

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great location staff very helpfully showers good beds good.great kitchens yes two kitchenseparate well equipped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed at the Haka Lodge in Queenstown for a week and was very pleased with my choice of lodging. The staff is outstanding and went out-of-their way to make my stay comfortable and pleasant. I found Queenstown not a place for a 70-year-old non-hiker to spend an entire week and would have been happy with 3-days tops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Two minutes walk to downtown as well as a grocery store. The two kitchens meant that we never had to wait to cook food. Our dorm room was a bit narrow but that's Queenstown I think. Not a whole lot of room for urban sprawl. Bunks are comfortable with curtains for privacy and lockers underneath with plenty of space for all your stuff. Would definitely recommend the Haka Lodge in Queenstown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.9

Good location, modern, clean, comfortable beds. Staff is nice, I really appreciated their green policy! Definitely recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
9.4

Easily the best hostel I've stayed in in New Zealand so far. The facilities were fantastic: beds had curtains (a simple but really cherished addition), huge lockers under your beds, everywhere was clean, and the kitchen well stocked. The staff were fantastic; super helpful and very friendly. It's also located 5 mins walk from town! The only downsides were a lack of atmosphere - there generally seemed to be no one around in the kitchen or lounge, except for a small buzz around dinner time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Clean and tidy hostel. Worked for what we needed. Nothing really wowed us or was terrible. Met the need for a place to sleep for the night. Bathrooms were a bit far from our room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

I had one of the best Backpackers stay her. Lovely team of staff with responsible manager. Clean and tidy with good facilities. Can't ask for more... Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - please come back if you return to Queenstown :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
8.9

Would be great if there were more bathrooms. Also some of the personal lights for the beds were at the opposite end of the bed. It would be great if they could be at the head of the bed. Would also be great if there was Netflix or a harddrive with more movie options.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for reviewing us - we appreciate all valuable feedback :) We have taken your comments on board - there is a DVD player in the lounge with lots of DVDs to choose from, & we hope we provide extra value with free unlimited wifi, tea & coffee, free evening activities & use of hairdryers, frisbees etc. Thank you for staying with us - safe onward travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.9

Location of the hotel just 5 minute walk to the centre of quenstown. It's has small parking facility for about 4 car, but you can get more park area infront of the Hotel and free for night parking. The bed room a bit small with narrow walk space, they provide small cabinet below the bed for backpack. Bed quality is good with thick and firm bed. We got sound asleep for 3 night there. The Kitchen not big but ok, no many stove but we never queue up. Toilet and bath room were clean with hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
9.4

This is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at. So cozy and clean and the beds were the best I've slept on in months. I will always try to find Haka lodge in my next travel city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.