Hostelworld.com

Haka Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
Haka Lodge Located at 518 Linwood Ave, , Christchurch.
Haka Lodge
New Zealand
Christchurch 8062 518 Linwood Ave
92% 169
-43.5457175 172.6934909
Haka Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Samoa, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.4

Service and accomodation great. Location for our purpose of stay was perfect so we shall return. Constructive criticism? There is a rule that after 8:00pm nobody enters unless by prior arrangment with staff. I only hope that those who arrive late or in the early hours of the morning are advised to be extra quiet, especially when opening and closing doors. And me? Apologies for putting another log in the fire after 8:00pm, trying to do a favour for those 2 guys sleeping in the lounge. C.U-C.U.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th May 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel! A friend and I were upgraded to a twin room as there was only one dorm bed left. Everything was to a very high standard with clean, modern facilities and a great team of staff. One of the best hostels I've stayed in NZ!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.9

A little outside the city center but not far drive. Highway outside can be a little noisy at night. Very clean. Kitchen was very well kept. The staff was fantastic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.7

Nothing seemed to be a problem for the lovely staff, including our late arrival. Nice feel, cosy bedroom and clean shared facilities. Loved the A frame building and lovely garden. Highly recommend, will stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2016
9.7

Best hostel I stayed in so far! It was very clean and cozy. Especially the cozy living room was amazing! The large dorm had separte walls so there were 'private areas' for each four or three beds. Will prefere to stay in the Haka Lodges everywhere in NZ!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.4

What a great hostel! In geral I love Haka lodges and had a lovely stay here. The staff are so so helpful and the place is immaculately clean.. it's more like a b&b to be honest. Loved it here and would definitely recommend . Only thing is that it's quite far out but if you don't mind a few buses then it's well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2016
10.0

I really loved staying at the Haka Lodge. It was so comfortable & cozy. All the people I met (staff & the people working there) were wonderful, friendly & super helpful. I loved having a single bed in the door rather than a bunk bed and there are really big lockers to keep your stuff in (in the dorm). The bus into town is super easy & it's also close to the beach. I honestly couldn't fault it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Feb 2016
9.1

A really nice hostel. People don't tend to stay long though, seems a one night stopping off place for most. Bit difficult to find from the bus but really nice once you get there. Very chilled out atmosphere with very helpful and friendly staff. Lots of free food in the free food cupboard too which is always a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2016
8.9

Great little hostel! It is far away from the city centre (about 5km) but it makes up for it by being like a little home away from home! There aren't many rooms so it's got a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It's also nearer to the coast than other Christchurch hostels. Would definitely recommend, just not to people who want to be right in the centre of Christchurch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2016
8.9

The only issue we had was that whoever was staying in the room next to us had music blaring until midnight and after that was turned down they continued to shout and talk very loudly between each other until the early hours of the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review. Part of the charm of Haka Lodge Christchurch is it's homely feel and this is partly because it used to be a large family house. Unfortunately this also means that it's sound proofed like a regular house and, like most hostels that are not purpose built, sometimes noise will travel. We work to address this with a clear 'quiet after 10.30pm' policy and onsite staff who are happy to deal with any noise disruption. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you awesome onward travels : )

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.