Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Halifax Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.6

We had an ok stay. My friend saw a mouse running down the stairs the first night, which set a not so great impression. We could barely sleep because it was so darn hot every night, the place could invest in some air conditioning. On top of that we were woken up almost every night with people from the bar downstairs yelling. Otherwise, an ok place to lay your head for a couple night, and overall we met some nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

This is a great hostel that doubles (quadruples?) as a café/pub/community space -- the mix of hostel guests and locals coming in and out makes for a fun and pretty unique atmosphere. And the staff are all super friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel! Very friendly staff and very friendly vibe. The location is an easy walk to downtown and the waterfront. The cafe serves excellent coffee. I will be back! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel! A little out of downtown, wouldn't walk alone too late at night but otherwise great staff and amazing people that stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Jun 2017
4.6

I felt unsafe walking around in the surrounding area.. My bed linen was unclean upon my arrival (with hairs through the bed). The place generally seemed unclean and in dire need of updating/renovation. The front coffee shop serves good food but you aren't welcome to sit there unless you purchase something and the only common area is a very small dining table and couch next to the kitchen upstairs. People seem to live here for months at a time and it was very noisy at night. Would not recommend!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It is not necessary to purchase food or drink in the cafe to use the space, we encourage guests to use the cafe space as well as the common room and outdoor patios. Any issues with rooms, noise etc, we encourage guests to let us know and we will assist you in any way we can

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.4

What an unreal place to stay in Halifax! Let's start with the beautiful building it's located in. An amazing building with everything you may need during your stay. Large kitchen, nice showers, unbelievably comfortable beds. For a place with no a/c they do a fantastic job at cooling you down with fans in almost every room. Location is walking distance to downtown & lots of pubs & bars. The hostel serves delicious food, coffees, smoothies & liquor! The price is right, the staff is super friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, great location and it was great to have the cafe downstairs with discount beer for residents!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
7.1

On the weekends the cafe/bar below can get pretty loud, so if you just want to sleep it can be tough. Older building, but in a nice location away from downtown, and reasonable prices with a nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
6.9

Only stayed here one night before I started a road trip. Decided I did not love it so when I returned to Halifax I stayed at the backpackers. It's a typical hostel. Not the cleanest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ruthkbinns
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jun 2017
7.4

We were in a room off the cafe, it smelled when we arrived. It cleared when I opened a window, but felt a dirty/grimy and cramped because the room was dark - it needs repainted/the floor sanded. My bed was in a corner, if you are taller than 5ft your feet touch the wall. Couldn't get reliable wifi signal from my bed. Bathroom was strange (1 room split in 2 with 2 showers behind thin doors). The kitchen upstairs seemed nice and probably those rooms are nicer. Checkout staff was v.nice & helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.