Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Halifax Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
Halifax Backpackers Located at 2193 Gottingen Street, , Halifax.
Halifax Backpackers
Canada
Halifax NS B3K 3B5 2193 Gottingen Street
82% 323
44.6531594 -63.5848902
Halifax Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
6.3

Could be very nice if cleaned thoroughly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
8.3

The hostel was great value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.1

Great staff, incredibly friendly all around. Cafe attached which is great for breakfast and relaxing (and beer). Good location, but a little walk to get downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
4.6

I paid the cancellation fee and left immediately because.... the lock on the locker was old and didn't work, the bathrooms were dirty and smelled from the hallway, there was a blood stain on the floor in the dorm which was questionable already, and the neighbourhood is a bit shady. If all you want to do is party hard with a group and you don't care how dirty or questionable the place is, then this is probably the hostel for you! The staff are very hospitable and informative.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Our staff are always happy to help with any issues which may arise during your stay, however you told our staff you had to leave because of a family emergency. The issues you mentioned in the review could've been solved in 2 minutes.The blood stain is paint from when the room was last painted. We are very sorry you left, we would've loved to make your stay wonderful

3rd Aug 2016
8.9

Very friendly staff. Great place for staying if you are traveling alone as it is very communal. They have BBQ's most Saturday nights. It is only a short 5 minute walk from city centre and the main main bay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.9

Staff were really friendly. Secure, lockers and hostel keys provided (with fully refunded deposit). Kitchen was adequate although oven didn't work. Was not any suitable communal areas, you either use the cafe, the outside smoking patio (which is accessed by non residents), or the kitchen sofa areas (which tended to be used more by staff). Neighborhood is a little bit rough. Hostel could have been cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

A very nice and welcoming hostel close to downtown. The attached Cafe is nice and the staff are very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
7.7

Good location, friendly staff and clean. The only thing which lets it down (but only slightly) is the lack of air con - the room got pretty hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.7

I really loved this hostel. The staff are all SUPER friendly and helpful, and on the weekends they have all kinds of events like parties, BBQs, and when I was there even a poetry jam. The downstairs has a cafe which is clearly a fixture in the local community, so during the day and especially at their events you have the chance to meet some locals which was heaps of fun. I loved being adopted into the community while staying at this quirky place and I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Great spot! Traveling as a single. Stayed 2 nights. Located in the old heart of Halifax. Locals frequent the Cafe so you really get the local vibe & sense of community. Staff encourage Socal events. BBQ one night, reagga DJ another. Had so much fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.