X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hamilton Heights Garden Apartment Reviews

W 145 St (between Convent and St Nicholas), New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
58 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The place wasn't ready at the check in time we assigned but it was alright. It also wasn't clean on arrival but they came back and cleaned and bought us new towels. It's in a great location- right next to the subway with trains taking you to all major places in nyc. There's THE CUTEST cafe on the lower floor with great food and coffee that I'm guessing choung owns or something. Overall good stay. I'd go again. The beds were super comfy too and you get your deposit back! The shower is amazing too

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Location is perfect, just a few steps from the subway station, host is very friendly, helpful and responsive, the apartment is equipped with everything you need for a short stay, the only downside is the cleanliness, it seems the apartment hasn't been cleaned for weeks or months even, so using bathroom or kitchennete is dreadful experience for dirt sensitive users.


74%

It is a good location and good value for money.

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall, this was a good, affordable option for my family. Mr. Lee is friendly and accommodating, and was happy to share info and suggestions on the area. I enjoyed staying in Harlem, and would stay here again. This apartment worked well for us because it's very close to the subway, just upstairs from Mr. Lee's coffee shop (great for morning coffee before hitting the town), and near a number of good places to eat. Mr. Lee's neighbors were also super friendly and helpful. Thanks again, Mr. Lee!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Mr Chung is extremely nice,responsive, & legitimate.The apartment has 2 bunk beds with comfortable mattresses and pillows. It was rather small, but served it's purpose. During my stay I noticed that the corners of the apartment were dirty, & there was trash &/or dust under one of the bunk beds. We encountered a few moths and insects that we had to kill. The rug also looked like it wasn't cleaned properly. The apartment has a great AC, TV & is close to 4 subways which was convenient!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good location just 1 minute to a subway station. Excellent facilities with kitchen and private bathroom. Mr. Chung is very nice.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a very good place to stay, it's in a walking distance of the metro, there are groceries stores and pharmacies near too. It's clean and cozy,Towels ans sheets were clean and there were lots of blankets available


83%

Super cozy apartment. We had everything we needed. The location is great, as it's less than a block from the subway and several express and local trains. There are also plenty of restaurants and stores within a few blocks. The owner was really nice and accommodating, no issues there. It was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely stay here again!


100%

It's exactly what you need if you want to visit NY and a comfy place to rest. Just one minute away from the subway station with frequent express trains that take you to the downtown in 20 approx! The apartment is well equipped to make your own breakfast or even to cook proper meals. Everything was very clean. The landlord was very kind and allowed us to overstay a few hours the last day. To sum up: highly recommended!!


83%

We really enjoyed our stay. Mr. Chong is very nice and very approachable.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

A bit far from everything, but located next to a subway station and convenience store. The owner was very nice and helpful. It was a good value for four people.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Chung lee alias king lui was a great beer bringer thank you


89%

Was a great experience, The apartment is well located, near the subway. Mr. Chung was very kind.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a great place to stay, clean, good beds, nice landlord, TV, own bathroom and soooo quiet! You have to use the subway to get to the touristic sites, but the subway station is right in front of the apartment (lines A, B, C and D, which is pretty much all you need). Only negative remark: it was quite cold, but maybe we were just unable to use the A/C correctly? We enjoyed our stay, especially for the low price!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The owner was very nice and made sure we were well settled in before he left. It's very clean, beds are comfortable and enough blankets to keep you warm. The area around for the most part is safe. Later in the night maybe past 9-10pm, it good to be cautious. Cab home works!


94%

We stayed as a group of 3 guys, Chung, the owner, was fantastic.. Really helpful and always there to sort any issues that you might have! Thanks Chung! The area is cool, it is quite far up Manhattan, bit it's right beside the Subway and you can catch the express train to Times Square in no time at all, plus, the area around Hamilton heights is really cool and it's real NewYork! Can't recommend enough! Would definitely stay here again


91%

Our experience at Hamilton Heights has been nothing short of fantastic. Chung made us feel welcome and well looked after during our stay. We highly recommend staying here, very close to rail system and soooo easy to get around. Perfect for a comfortable return point between long visits in the city. We WILL be returning in the future, look out Chung!

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I emailed the day before to let him know we were arriving 2.30-3pm, when we arrived we were told that the apartment wasn't ready as previous visitors left late. An hour later we were able to leave our bags in but it wasn't clean so we couldn't shower and had to go out. Overall the apartment wasn't completely ready till 9pm! We had to cancel plans we made that night so was dissapointed. Owner was easy to get hold off, was able to phone and email. Shower was cold and he sorted it after 2 emails.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The apartment is great, Chung also. We loved our stay until we find out we were not alone. There was a RAT in the apartment. We found out on the last day there was a touch of rats under the bunk. I was terrified! Everything was great until we discovered this little tidbit.


77%

Was expecting a place with some receptionist. So do not believe it was true when we encounter the local residents in the building. The owner did not answer me, but housed were attentive and gave us the necessary information. Very nice place, well located, with hot water and inside the apartment is clean. The building itself is old and dirty. Worth the stay.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • lucasmatriz
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all New York Apartments

Please give us your feedback