X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hamilton Heights Garden Apartment Reviews

W 145 St (between Convent and St Nicholas), New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
42 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Was a great experience, The apartment is well located, near the subway. Mr. Chung was very kind.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a great place to stay, clean, good beds, nice landlord, TV, own bathroom and soooo quiet! You have to use the subway to get to the touristic sites, but the subway station is right in front of the apartment (lines A, B, C and D, which is pretty much all you need). Only negative remark: it was quite cold, but maybe we were just unable to use the A/C correctly? We enjoyed our stay, especially for the low price!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The owner was very nice and made sure we were well settled in before he left. It's very clean, beds are comfortable and enough blankets to keep you warm. The area around for the most part is safe. Later in the night maybe past 9-10pm, it good to be cautious. Cab home works!


94%

We stayed as a group of 3 guys, Chung, the owner, was fantastic.. Really helpful and always there to sort any issues that you might have! Thanks Chung! The area is cool, it is quite far up Manhattan, bit it's right beside the Subway and you can catch the express train to Times Square in no time at all, plus, the area around Hamilton heights is really cool and it's real NewYork! Can't recommend enough! Would definitely stay here again


91%

Our experience at Hamilton Heights has been nothing short of fantastic. Chung made us feel welcome and well looked after during our stay. We highly recommend staying here, very close to rail system and soooo easy to get around. Perfect for a comfortable return point between long visits in the city. We WILL be returning in the future, look out Chung!

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

I emailed the day before to let him know we were arriving 2.30-3pm, when we arrived we were told that the apartment wasn't ready as previous visitors left late. An hour later we were able to leave our bags in but it wasn't clean so we couldn't shower and had to go out. Overall the apartment wasn't completely ready till 9pm! We had to cancel plans we made that night so was dissapointed. Owner was easy to get hold off, was able to phone and email. Shower was cold and he sorted it after 2 emails.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The apartment is great, Chung also. We loved our stay until we find out we were not alone. There was a RAT in the apartment. We found out on the last day there was a touch of rats under the bunk. I was terrified! Everything was great until we discovered this little tidbit.


77%

Was expecting a place with some receptionist. So do not believe it was true when we encounter the local residents in the building. The owner did not answer me, but housed were attentive and gave us the necessary information. Very nice place, well located, with hot water and inside the apartment is clean. The building itself is old and dirty. Worth the stay.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • lucasmatriz
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

- PROS: The appartment ( and the kitchen) has good facilities. Many thanks to Chung Lee as he agreed the request of keep our baggage for a week. Besides we requested to check out later and he agreed. - CONS: You need to contact him by phone before your arrival.


100%

The place is very good, so close to the subway. the owner is always available. on the studio, You have everything to feel home, for cooking, for sleep etc... we spend a very good moments too on the terrasse, nice space for smokers or for have a nice breakfast.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a nice stay, a few minor problems but nothing we couldn't survive. We were worried how (and if) we would get access to the apt since Chung had not responded to our emails but it worked out fine when we came. Apart from that Chung is nice, even helped us print a ticket when we needed one. I recommend *Sundays, the church service just around the corner (we're not religious but it was an experience) *The Chinese take away almost next door *A and D express trains to downtown

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect apartment in Harlem, very well equipped and located at 1 min from the tube station! The owner is very nice and helpful.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The place was perfect for us, the location was very good because it is VERY close to the metro station (literally half a minute walking). The apartment was clean and really comfortable, with all the necessary facilities. The owner really cared about us and provided us with what we needed. I will definitely recommend this place!!


94%

Me and my two friends stayed here for 3 nights. We used the kitchen area to cook breakfast to save some money on food. The place is right next to the subway so it was easy to get down Manhattan. Also close to Charles' Country Pan Fried Chicken which is a buffet for 13$ lunch and 16$ dinner. The beds were comfy, is equipped with directTV, fast wi-fi. Shower curtain needs to be changed and a rug put into the bathroom area but overall we had a good stay.


46%

Apartment was not clean, no bed sheet and no pillow case, try to get hold of the landlord but no answer. We had to buy bed sheet and pillow case as just in case we cannot get hold of him. In the end, he did tidy up the department. Close to Metro and supermarket

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Completely unfair review!!! I had allowed the earlier party to check out later (which I normally do if schedule permits) because this party was not supposed to arrive until later; however, they showed up earlier than the time they said they would arrive. The sheets and towels were being laundered and were provided promptly and the apartment was cleaned within 1 hour of them arriving. They are the only guest in over 2 years to buy bed sheets because they are ALWAYS provided!

77%

We've wrote we was going to arrive at 3pm but there was no one. To find the owner we had to ask someone who was entering into the building and he kindly called the owner. The apartment wasn't ready and it was a mess, but in 30 minutes the owner cleaned it up and the place was excellent. There were 2 bulbs the owner told he was going to replace, specially in the kitchen, but he didn't. Metro is just around the corner. The neighbour is safe with a supermarket at two blocks and many delis around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Pablo and his family were great guest! Courteous and polite. In terms of the kitchen lighting, I replaced the light bulbs with new ones, but it was the electric wires that needed to be repaired. The electrician came this week and everything is operational now.

91%

We had a good stay at this place. We had everything we needed in the kitchen for when we wanted to cook & towels were provided. The bathroom was clean,it could've been better to have an exhaust for when it's too cold to open the window. The couch wasn't the best but we slept just fine. Mr.Chung wanted to replace it with new bunk beds on our 5th day but we told him to do it when we're gone. It has the best location, very close to the subway&grocery. You get your money's worth. I'd stay here again

  • 3rd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Mr. Chung was helpfull and flexible. I think the apartment is better for 2/3 people at the most, since for 4 it's a little bit small. We couldn't moove around freely since the couch matress occupied the whole place. The location is good with the subway at the building corner and in 10 minutes we were at times square. For the price, it's good. It could be a little bit cleaner, but as Chung said, the people want to leave later and he has no time to clean everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I really enjoyed having these 4 beautiful women in the apt. In response to your comment about the space being small, I have replaced the pullout couch with another brand new bunk bed. I am certain people will find this makes the flat more spacious.

89%

very good place! good ambience! You'll feel like home, but in New York!!!

  • 12th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

just what you need in new york, excellent location.

  • 19th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all New York Apartments

Please give us your feedback