X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
2364 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel. Excellent bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speak highly of our hostel, we will do our best to provide better and comfortable service for you-all the guests. Have a nice trip.

83%

Love the roof top gardens with plants and bird cages. Great place for sharing beer and travel experiences with fellow hostelers. Good restaurant with daily specials. Their breakfasts were a great start to our days. Very friendly, helpful staff. Only complaint is their bathroom. We were in a room for 4. Our ensuite had bad smell (combination of mold, sewer and bad drainage from shower. Water covers entire floor when showering as not a separate area from toilet and sink, floor is all same level.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

So friendly & helpfully staff. Thank you so much for their arrangement. we have a good time in xian.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, Thank you for trust and support us. We are so proud that you enjoy yourselves and like the staff here. As you said, providing the best service and making you feel appreciated of our hostel is our responsibility. All the staffs are looking forward to seeing you next time and hope that you can have time to join the free dumpling, our free sauna night and have good days in the roof top garden. We will miss you and best wishes.

89%

Over priced hostel. They want crazy commision of 40 yuan to buy a train ticket so I just bought it myself. They charge 4 yuan for using the computer (most hostels is free and in internet cafe it's 2-3 yuan), they charge crazy 10 yuan for 1 kilo of laundry and 28 yuan for bad small breakfast not even including drinks. In other words - way over priced - But the staff is very helpful and nice. I loved my stay - but I tried not to use their services as possible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking.we are so pleased that you gave us these suggestions, we will try our best to be better. but truthfully speaking, because of provided coins, you can use the computer for free, not paying for. Thank you for your understanding and welcome to come here next time. And additionally, thank you for speaking highly of our staff. Great greetings.

100%

This hostel was really great, the staff are fantastic and very friendly and welcoming. They are very helpful with everything! It's in a fab location within walking distance of a lot of the cities attractions. They provided an excellent tour to the terracotta warriors also! A fab place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't know how to express our gratitude, but seeing that you are so fond of our staff, the location and everything in hantanginn, we are so appreciated. With your support, we will continue to be better. Thank you so much. All the staff hope you have a nice trip.

97%

Fantastic hostel. Lots of fun stuff: billards, ping pong, games, drinking games, etc. Staff is friendly and speaks good english. Guests include people from all over, lots of both foreigners and Chinese, and if you take initiative you can meet lots of people. However, the wifi did not work in my room, which is annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for loving "this dreamy hostel". It is so encourage meaning for us to read your evaluation, thank you very much. We will take your comments and suggestions timely ,and manner to improve, as well as the WIFI. We sincerely look forward to seeing you next time. Best wishes.

94%

Brilliant location. Very helpful staff. Many tours are available and assistance given to find your way around. We were really impressed and highly recommend Han Tang Inn. Beds were very firm but this is usual in China; I found it hard to sleep well.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to receive your evaluation, and thank you to give us such high praise, thank you. See your description that you spent a great time in the Hantanginn, we were very proud and happy. Hope you have wonderful moments on your next journey. On the other side, we felt so sorry for the Chinese bed you had, but because of your understanding and opinion, we will redouble our efforts and look forward to be better. Thank you again.

80%

Nice atmosphere, and very helpful staff who can you get you on well-organised tours and give you tips on where to go in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us a timely evaluation. Your comments and encouragement have been the driving force of our ongoing efforts, And we will redouble our efforts to do better. We are sincerely looking forwarding to giving you the best wishes.

100%

Took a bit of time to find

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for expressing your affection of our hostel, we are very honored. As you said, it was difficult for you to find it at the first time, but I believe that you will find everything mysterious and unforgettable, which was left by hantanginn.We look forward to meeting you next time, to find the hostel,to find us.

100%

Wow, this wss by far the best hostel we ever stayed at in China. Especially the staff here they really trest you like family. Lai Lai , the bsr tender even helped us order a special item from the internet. Next time we are in China we will stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speaking highly of our hostel and the staff , we are so appreciated that you enjoyed your stay in hantanginn, and we will try our best to improve. All the staff hope hope you have a nice trip.

97%

I had a great experience in this hostel! The people are what make this hostel amazing. Would absolutely recommend staying here to many family and friends. Thank you safe travels

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for your praise of the hostel, the staff, the atmosphere and the friends you make here. Sincerely speaking, we were very appreciated and proud that you chose our hostel and had good time here. we are looking forward to meeting you next time. Great greetings and best wishes for your trip.

89%

This is a great hostel, right near the bell tower and close to the Muslim Quarter. The beds are comfortable, the staff very kind and friendly, and it's easy to meet other travelers. They have tours to all the sites, and although I didn't go on them myself, other travelers I met did and they had good things to say about them. My only suggestion to the hostel is to do something about the showers in the bathrooms. The whole rooms gets soaked when you use it. Otherwise, this a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for all aspects of the location, staff and service in our hostel. because of your recognition and support, we will continue to work to be a completely different and amazing, but comfortable Hostel. For the problem you mentioned, we will be renovated, thank you for your timely feedback to us. Here we wish you a pleasant journey. See you next time.

97%

Awesome place, full of international tourists. Greats staff with good English. Totally the place to stay in Xian.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your commendation, all the staff in our hostel hope that we can help you all the time, it is our pleasure and appreciation. But truthfully speaking, what we did is belongs to your support and trust. Next time, we hope you can have time to join the FREE dumpling party , Free sauna night, the ping-pong and the FREE bird market. Best wishes.

94%

the dorm room is spacious, clean and well-equipped (with bed lamp, locker, and socket); only complaint is that the water doesn't drain away well in the bath room. location is okay; 5min walk to bus stop nearby, 5min walk to Bell Tower, and 10-15min walk to Muslim street the staff are very friendly & helpful; offer travel tips even not joining tours that they could help arranging. plenty fun over the common area; enjoyable stay overall!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we do not know how to express the joy of seeing your evaluation, but thank you very much, thank you for liking our hostel and speak highly of it. For sewer plugging problems, according to your suggestions, we have improved, thank you for your timely feedback. I do not know what time you come to Xi'an next time , but the staff sincerely welcome you to come again. Best wishes.

100%

I felt completely at ease as soon as I arrived. It is tucked away enough to feel secure but very close to everything that you could need access to in Xi'an and then staff were extremely helpful! Especially when I was having problems booking my flights online! Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for trusting hangatnginn and speaking highly of us, we are very honored. As you said , the location and the staff are our specialty. one one side, it is easy for you to get everywhere, only 5-15minutes to walk.On the other side, giving you such a timely help and make you feel like home is our our responsibility and obligation.All the staff hope you have a nice time and have a good memory here. Great greeting and best wishes.

86%

Hostel is a good stay when seeing the warriors. Food is good which was a real bonus, and the private rooms are good value for money. Would choose these over communal rooms. The staff were very helpful when we had to change our booking last minute. The hostel is a welcome stay away from the hustle of xiian. On first arrival the hostel from the outside doesn't look like much but you will be please fly suprised. Good stay here would reccomend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your commendation.On one side, we are so appreciated that you have a nice stay in our hostel. On the other side, giving you a favor for what you need is our honor, we will try to be better and make you feel more confortable. Hope you come to our hostel again to have a different experience. Best wishes.

100%

It would be difficult for me to find a single negative comment for this hostel. They exceeded every expectation we could have had. The staff was superb going above and beyond for anything you needed and even for what you didn't ask for they offered before you could. We met great people here, locals and staff alike, and not only did we extend our stay because we were having such a great time we found we spend 85% of our time in the hostel because it was so great. Couldn't recommend a better spot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Similarly, I don't know how to express our gratitude to you, thank you for staying Han Tang Inn, trusting and speaking highly of us. In fact, all of our giving are inseparable from you and belongs to you. the time you stayed here, we felt so happy because the smile and joy you left ,we sincerely thank you. Al the satff look forward to meeting you next time, getting a new experience in HANTANGINN. Great greeting and best wishes.

97%

Brilliant hostel and very helpful and friendly staff. The only downside was that there wasn't much of a social vibe in this hostel and you had to walk 100 metres down the street to the sister hostel for a much more sociable atmostphere. I was a little annoyed that there were some construction works in my floor from 9AM in the morning and this stopped me from having a lie in. That said, this was a very good hostel. Nice and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for choosing our hostel, and giving such a high rating. In your evaluation, we get so much suggestion . About the atmosphere, we organized different activities every night, but we will try our best to be more sociable and easy for you to enjoy.On the other side, because of the facilities renew and maintain, we felt so sorry to bother and wake you up in the morning, but you might see a new hantanginn next time, which is your HOME in xi'an. Best wishes.

80%

Good place to stay at ... The staff is mostly very nice and helpful. Excellent location near to the city center/train station/ good places to eat just in front of the hostel. They maybe just need to reniew sheets as they use white ones and it seems not so clean ( stains ) when you check in even if they do " apparently " a good cleaning job. I will probably go back there if I go to Xi'an ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you very much for your trust and love, we are so appreciated that you spend a pleasant time here. for the sheets, we felt so very sorry, and thank you for timely feedbacking with us, we have checked the room and renewed them, Next time, if you come back, hope you remind a new HANTANGINN in you mind. Thank you again for everything you left, hope you have a nice trip.

100%

Fantastic hostel! Good location in the city centre, dorm rooms are clean and extremely warm. The staff are amazing, especially LeiLei. I couldn't have asked for a better stay in Xi'an :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for leaving us joy and memories during your stay; Secondly, thank you for speaking highly of us; Finally, thank you for your trust Han Tang Inn, support and love us. For the thing you mentioned, have to say, that all comes from you-our lovely guests , so thank you. because of you, Han Tang Inn becomes more lovely, more attractive and more vibrant. Best wishes and hope you have a pleasant journey.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(94 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback