X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
2886 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I stayed in three different hostels during my trip in China, and this hostel was by far the best. The staff was friendly and spoke perfect English. Also, the hostel had a free shuttle from the station to the hostel, they gave me a useful map of the city and recommended places I should visit. I would have been totally lost without them. The room was also super clean and very nice overall. I only stayed one night here, but I really enjoyed it.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, it's definitely our great honor to receive your 100% satisfaction and the high praise about our hostel, we are very very grateful and indebted, thank you very much. Secondly, We are happy you had a delightful and satisfied experience here. we all continue to do our best to give you the warm and kind home staying. In additionally, what we do for you is all belongs to your support and trust. We sincerely hope your next coming. Best regards from all the staff.

100%

Very friendly that helped us arrange tours, travel and more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% satisfaction which is the meaningful gift for all the staff and the hostel. And at the same time we sincerely expect everyone can have the most beautiful and warm smile among your stay in our hostel, being kept all the time.Kind regards and best wishes.

91%

We had a very clean room and the nice rooftop garden is just splendid. We did the terracotta army tour with the Hostel which was also very good and no shopping was involved!

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you very much that you could share with us your happy and enjoyable journey in Xi'an, we have gotten your joy and appreciation, and are also very proud to have made a contribution to your short stay here. Actually, no matter what we do, we just hope hantanginn can become a home to you- warm, comfortable, and no burden. Hope to see you next time. Best regards from hantanginn.

91%

Great hostel in excellent location. Really friendly staff who were always helpful.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
what simple but powerful words of your review, which makes us be full of energy and be proud of the work we do, thank you, No matter when, we commit that we will do our best to be better and provide you a more satisfied room and service. We are looking forward to your next stay. Best wishes from all the staff in hantanginn.

97%

Very cool hostel. The staff was super friendly and helpful, even at 2:00am! They have a nice rooftop garden that is great for relaxing. In the middle of the old town, it's about a 30-minute walk to the train station from where you can grab buses to visit the Terracotta Warriors and Hua Shan. However, we booked a 4-bed private room and were instead placed in a six-bed dorm when we arrived. Beds aren't as comfortable and we didn't get a refund for the price difference, so BEWARE!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your timely and great review which gives us enough power and support, thank you. As you said, on the one hand, we are always waiting for you until you come, even it is midnight.On the other hand,our hostel is well located and easliy get s to other places.As you said, we are sorry to change your room, but to be honest, the two rooms have the same size, but six is more expensive than four, but we are still sorry for the incoveince..Hope to see you at your home(hantanginn )next time.

91%

All was great, espetialy stuff! I've never met anyone so friendly and helpful! But, please, do something with Wi-Fi. It was awful: very slow and impossible to surf

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
wow, thank you so much for the high praise of the staff and sharing your happy experience with us, we are so proud and be appreciated about all you said, thank you again. And as you mentioned, we have make Wifi work better, so welcome to come back to try, we are waiting for you. Have a great time.

100%

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff are really helpful and answered all our questions. We did the Terra-cotta warrior tour through the hostel and it was great value for money. The hostel has plenty of activities and the wide food and drink selection. Would recommend this hostel to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
How fabulous comment it is. We are really appreciated about your highly praise and recommendation to those tourists coming to Xi’an later. Thank you so much. All we hope is that you feel at ease and have a fufilling time here. Kind greetings from Hantanginn.

83%

Good hostel, close to the subway and main attractions, with the great rooftop space to chill and hang out in the evening. There is a restaurant downstairs, which sadly does not have a lot of vegetarian options.My friend and I got a private twin room for us, which was spacious, sunny and clean. My only issue is that the water did not go down after the shower, so that it was impossible for both of us to take shower one after the other, or the second person had to stand in the pool of dirty water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
On the one hand, thank you all in all for your beautiful words which not only speaks highy of the best lacation, amazing roof garden , but also showing us your meaningful and happy hours in our hostel, we are so pleased what you feel. On the other hand, we are so sorry for not providing enough vegetarian food, but just remind the kitchen without meat, ok?haha. And also we should apologize for the sewer. In addition, no matter where you are, all of us would like to give you the best wishes.

91%

Really nice hostel, that looks more with a 3 stars hotel in infrastructure matter. Our double room was simple, but really well equipped, the staff is super cool and the food they offer at the restaurant is good, including western and Chinese options. They also have a nice area on the roof, perfect to chill and have a beer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your trust and support, we are so appreciated to receive your warm and kind review, which makes us be more proactive and proud of the life in hantanginn. All of us will sincerely waiting for your next stay, especially in summer, you can try the summer poor on the top of the garde.Kind greetings and best wishes.

100%

Well-located and friendly, English-speaking front desk staff. They have a pool table, a roofdeck. and pingpong table, a guitar, amongst many other amenities. As long as you don't mind constant Taylor Swift in the stereo, you will likely enjoy your time here. ;-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
wow, all of our staff are so proud and pleased to get the high praise from all you guys, so thank you for your warm words about our location, staff, facilities and good things to enjoy, we will keep all in mind forever that can give us the power and encourage to be better. Hope to see you as soon as we can, to try the swimming poor on the roof and different activities in the summer.

94%

The location is very good, walking distance from the Bell and Drum towers, and the Muslim quarter. Great atmosphere, would definitely return here on my next trip to Xi'an.

Owner Comment (Hide)
To be honest, we are so proud that you like our hostel and speak highly of good location close to the city center.we are aimed to be the most comfortable hostel and treat all the guests like you as the family member, so just enjoy your stay here and come back as you can. all of us are welcoming you .Best wishes from hantanginn.

86%

The front office girls change in shift but seems doesn't really communicate with each other. We put our request at the night shift lady, and in the morning the other person completely blank of what we requested the night before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your timely feed back and enjoying your stay here, and we are so sorry to give you some in convenience about the request.but don't worry, based on your feedback, we will do our best to train employees, providing better services to you guys. All of us sincerely hope you have a nice trip and will come back as soon as you can. See you next time.

74%

The hostel was all right. The room was clean but with a tiny high window. The staff was helpfull and the roof top and the location of the hostel is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your timely and kind review which shows us some advantages and disadvantages about our hostel, that is very grest, we will keep your suggestions in mind and do our best to improve. All of us hope you have a nice trip and great greetings.

91%

It's a good hostel.. Staffs are very kind , informative , helpful and good smile :) fluent in English. Location is good. near by belltower. but little dark and dirt for women..... (but don't worry it's really safe. ) I will stay again next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
정말 감사합니다!We are extremely appreciated and obliged for your review , showing the great location and recommending our hostel, especially for the super helpful and smiling staff, thanks a billion. And we are so sorry for the dark alley, but next time, you can call us that someone could pick you up. Additionally, we are willing to give you endless brand-new good wishes. Please accept them as a new remembrance of our lasting friendship. Kind regards from hantanginn.

100%

Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. Cozy, private room for me, dorm for my younger friends. Clean and comfortable. Great (and cheap) beer! Loved the roof-top deck. Met many interesting and warm travellers up there. Perfect location: Muslim Quarter, easy access to taxi, subway, bus. COFFEE in the morning and BACON with eggs. Books to read, chairs that you sink into. Wi-fi. My four friends, intrepid (teachers and) travellers with a long list of hostel stays said this was the best hostel in 3 years

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dearing, thank you for your thoughtful kindness and brief comment which gives us professional information as you are local here, as well as the high praise of everthing of our hostel, we really can't thank you enough for all you feed back and shall always cherish this lovely gift(happiness and good memory) from you. May the joy and happiness around you today and always. Best wishes from hantanginn.

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in in China! Leilei the barman is a good laugh as well :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, which not only shares the great timeyou had, but speaks highly our hostel and the staff leilei, We are appreciated your kindness and shall always cherish all the words from you.Thank you again, and all of us sincerely hope to see you soon. Best wishes.

91%

Excellent hostel. Staff friendly & helpful. Organised train tickets at short notice & no problems when booked an extra night. Provide good tour offers. Rooms small but clean & comfortable. Roof terrace good place to relax. Tour guide to terracotta warriors was excellent, made the tour better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We cannot tell you how delighted we were with the beautiful words and kind review you give to us,so many thanks for your coming and much appreciated for the good memory. As what you mentioned, we would like to help you book the train tickets and other problems you met here, just hope everything is much easier as your hometown and could make you relax. If you have any other good suggestions, mail us as soon as you can, it would be so kind. Great greetings and kind regards.

74%

hostel has a nice rooftop terrace. food and beer is a bit over priced for what you get

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for your timely conmment that shows what you appreciated and what you dislike, we will feed back and improve as soon as we can, hope you can have a great time next time. Best wishes.

100%

Very nice hostel with a small bar! Good location. Very helpful, friendly staff. Excellent food at the noodle stall right opposite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hostel, including the staff, bar, location and any convinience around us. As we all know, eveything seems not so easy abroad, so a good location and relaxing atmosphere is an indispensible part we have to think about. Your comfortable living in Han Tang Inn is the best reward for all that we did for you. Thanks again. Welcome to Xi’an next time. Best regards. In addition, the noodle is “菠菜面”.

86%

Would definitely recommend staying here. Small rooms, however the hostel has a good vibe and enjoyed hanging out the travelers that I met. Clean rooms, free towels and free locks (10Y deposit for a lock). Wifi worked well too. Best of all was the amazing roof terrace. Great place to hang out. Convenient location too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
wow, thank you so much for giving us a timely feed-back and recommending our hostel, we are much honored , happy and appreciated. As what you mentioned, we arrange different kinds of activities every night that is easier for you to meet new friends and be relax, additionally, towels, shapoo, toothbruth and locks are free to use, and the roof garden on the top are always funny and amazing, which will have a swimming pool in summer. Why not come back to experience, we are always waiting for you.

(110 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback