X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3098 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Our room was exceptionally clean with very clean, comfortable sheets and a spotlessly cleaned floor and bathroom. The hostel lobby and atmosphere were very friendly and welcoming. The staff were nice and helpful and spoke very good English, and the amenities were great.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% review and support ,we are so appreciated and honored to read what you have written down. As a hostel, a home for all of our friends, it’s our responsibility to provide convenience for you as much as possible , and it is s our honor to achieve your support and approval(the best payback we think is that ), so we will continue to supply much more to you guys in the following days.Hope to see you six next time. Best wishes from hantanginn.

89%

This hostel was very clean and had a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your timely feed back that shows us you enjoy your stay here, we will keep your spirit of travel all the time.Sincerely hope you have a nice trip and will come back as soon as you can. See you next time.

100%

Such a fabulous hostel.Well located!Great staff!!And I loved Leilei.They guy with Harry Potter glasses.He is the star of the hostel.Make sure that you say hi when you get there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you to speak highly of our hostel-hantanginn, the words and things you said gives us much power to be better, thank you. And we are also appreciated to make friends with you ,especially for leilei, he is looking forward to meeting you in USA as soon as he can. Best wishes from all of our staff.

91%

Nice hostel, only spent one night but good atmosphere and clean. Hard to find, google maps sent us to wrong place. Would recommend it.


100%

Staff were very friendly, helpful and patient. (LeiLei is a super nice guy). Lounge/bar area is cool, it has a calm and quiet atmosphere, food and drinks were also pretty good. Another good thing about this hostel is that it has a cooler "sister" hostel literally 20 second walk up the lane that you can also go hang in which has more of a "party/socializing" atmosphere by comparison if you wanna met more people... you can bar hop between the two hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for giving us such a high comment that not only shows us the great staff, atmosphere, and cool food, but also shares us your true and kind experience in ours and our sister hostel( in the same street, one has an amazing roof garden, the other is good with a cool bar), both of us will remember what you said to continue our efforts to uphold the good aspects and correct deficiencies, and strive to give you a more intimate home in xi'an.Welcome back, we are waiting for you.

80%

Hostel was in a great location, 10 minutes walk to the main quarter, right in the centre of the city wall. Rooms are small for 6 bedroom but enough, lockers are just big enough for bag but not for massive backpack (as the case for most of China). Nice hostel. Good breakfast stalls on the road.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In the first place, we feel so honored and pleased to receive your review and we have gotten some good aspects and something needs to improve as what you said, which is very important and required for us, so thank you so much. All in all, all of our staff woudl like to show our gratitude and best wishes for you. Have a nice trip.

77%

The dorm beds were fairly comfortable, though the 6 person dorm was a bit crowded. The bathroom had a shower and toilet and the shower flooded the whole bathroom. The bar area downstairs played very loud music and did not seem to be heated. The bathroom in the bar area downstairs was very very dirty and it someone had been using it to smoke inside. The hostel is very walkable and easy to get to the drum and bell tower and the muslim quarter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad to see your in our hostel and receive your fair-minded review, thank you. But we still feel sorry, it' s our duty to assist with asny problem or difficulty during your stay here. And what a coincidence, we have change the music to be light and the heater has been used , it is so warmer now. Anyway, thank you for your good advice and support of our work. We do hope to see you again. Best wishes.

91%

Great atmosphere, very friendly. Enjoyed the dumpling making evening put on by the hostel. Great location, everything you need within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a fabulous comments. We are really appreciated about your highly praise and recommendation to those tourists coming to Xi’an later. In fact, we don't only provide a comfortable accomodation , but also create a good platform to approach Chinese culture for our guests,especially the free dumpling party and calligraphy. That’s why we arrange some daily activities and tours. All we hope is that you feel at ease and have a fufilling time here.Thanks again. Kind greetings from Hantanginn.

100%

Hang tang inn l is great! Staff was super friendly and helpful especially Leilei, absolute legend and made my stay here so much more meaning full. Had a great time playing cards and eating with other travelers in the hostel bar. conveniently near to bell tower and other city attractions, Awesome tours on offer also! Great dorms, comfy bed and shower facilities. Will definitely stay again if my travels bring me to the city again. 100% hostel!

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow ,brilliant Feed back !We are very thankful.As a staff of the hostel offer more helps is our duty ,and also it's our pleasure .Thank you for your surport , we will do it much better than before .Playing cards and sharing your experiences are normal but important activities in our hostel, we would like to make you relax and have a nice time here, Thank you again ! See you again! Best friends.

97%

One of the best hostels we ever stayed at staff were extremely helpful and even showed us places to eat... Lei lei was so nice and helpful gave us loads of tips.. His dumpling night is a great way to get to know people.. Recommended chatting to lei lei if ur at the start of ur travels.. He's 5 star on his own... Thank u lei lei

Owner Comment (Hide)
Reading your comment, we can still think of those two girls who like to drink Hans -passion and humor. Thank you, thank you for the best memories you left us, and give us a good evaluation, we will continue and strive to do better.In addition, Leilei lets us convey his gratitude, he misses you as well, oh, we, too, wish you a pleasant journey. Best wishes from hantanginn, frances.

97%

V chill vibe right in the centre of xian - conveniently located in a quieter backstreet. Highly recommend.


86%

This hostel had a great location, being very close to the Muslim market and bell tower. The Terracotta Warriors tour that they offer was excellent. The bed was okay, but the pillows were quite lumpy. There is no divider between the shower and toilet so be prepared for a very wet bathroom after you shower. The girls who worked at the front desk were very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please let all of our staff show our gratitude to you, thank you for trusting and supporting us as well as giving us a timely and fair review which not only shows the good location , great staffs and excellent tour but also giving us some good and useful suggestions about the pillows and the bathroom, we have changed the pillowsand do our best to make the bathroom better, thank you again for your understading and we all sincerely hope you have a nice trip. great greetings. Frances.

94%

An amazing hostel! They are really friendly and helpful with any travel questions you may have. Also has a great lounge with an really comfortable and fun vibe. Best western breakfast in xian and really affordable. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
How amazing and bright the review is which shows us your great experience in our hostel, we are very honored and pleased, thank you, thank you for speaking highly of our hostel, for the great staff , fun vibe and delicious food in the kitchen, we will keep all the good memories and your kind words in mind, and try our best to be a best home-made hostel, welcome back , we will waiting for you all the time. Best regarding from hantanginn.

100%

The worst thing about this hostel was leaving! Would definitely recommend! 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
You still leave the best words and memory to us even if your leaving is the worst thing for us as well. Your 100% trust and approval is definitely encouraging every staff here to work better. Thank you for your sincere comment again. Best regards from Han Tang Inn Youth Hostel Emily

71%

The wifi here SUCKS. I woke up to misquitos biting me in the night. Other than that, it's fine. When people shower, the whole floor gets soaked. Other than that, the place is fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, all of staff want to show our gratitude for the review and the things you said, your opinion is very imortant for us and will male hantanginn be better and better, thank you. But to be honest, we have solved the WIFI which works very well now(about 5.0MB/s to download. then we feel so sorry about the inconvience you meet when you stay here, but thank you for yoru understanding, we will strive our best to give you the more comfortalbe space to stay and enjoy.Kind regards.

97%

The free dumpling party on Friday night was great fun, very social! Beds were comfortable and facilities were great, I loved the roof! Will be staying here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly, thank you for your timely and high-spoken review. as you said, free dumpling party is very famous in our hostel and most guests like that, our staff teach you how to make the dumplings and then all you guys can eat what you made, like tour family party-easy-going, fun, and home-feeling. We are all looking forward to hearing from you and meet you next time, have a nice trip. best wishes.

83%

It would be nice to get more consistent wifi. Other than that, no complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your sincere review, all of our staff are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and spoke highly of the consistent wifi, we will rey our best to be more comfortable and hope to hear from you for more good informations. best wishes from all the staff in hantanginn youth hostel.

86%

Stayed here in October. Although it was confusing at first for us to find the place, but it's actually easy and the hostel is near to Muslim Quarter and other attractions. The staff are all fluent in English and very accommodating to us. Just the room had small space but it was still okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you positive review even though it's a little difficult for you to find us on your first arrival. The reason why we are located in a small alley is that we wanna to ensure all of the guests here have a good rest with the convenience of public transportation as well. But as you said, it's quite easy to come to us if you stay here. It's our honor to be able to do something for your travel in Xi'an. Sincerely hope to see you again if you have any chance to come back. Best regards, Emily

91%

Great, friendly staff always ready to help you. Emily was very patience and taught me Chinese as well. Great, cheap noodles right across the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your highly speaking about all the staff here. We are delightful that you had a enjoyable and meaningful time with us. The calligraphy activity alway reminds me of the time we spent on Chinese together bescause you are very diligent and patient as well. Thank you for your feedback again. Best regards from Hantanginn Hostel Emily

86%

Good hostel, all right location. You can get most places by bus anyway. Dorms were really cramped and the showers always flooded the bathrooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to get your supporting and timely comment. Well, as for the limited space and the flooded bathroom, we will feedback to our maintenance and make it much better. For any inconvenience that brought to you, we do apologize. Anyway, thank you very much for your suggestion about the facilities here. That's every lovely guest's idea make Han Tang Inn a better home for the travellers all over the world. Best regards, Emily

(89 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback