X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2606 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Personally feel that the Han Tang House was a better set of facilities but more westerners stay at this hostel from my experiences so I would say the atmosphere here for me was better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, to be honest, you found the advantages of our hostel and the sister hostel, the better facilities and the better atmosphere, which is a good summary and urge us to learn by each other and be the hostel you expect. We are looking forward to seeing you next time and hoping for your good suggestions. Great greetings and best wishes form all the staff.

94%

Wonderful hostel right near the center of historic Xian. The hostel seemed extremely well-run, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the common-areas had a great vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, the word "historic“ not only shows the culture of Xi'an, but the distinguishing feature of hantanginn-sense of history, contemporary and home, which makes us be proud, thank you. For you review, we know more about our room , atmosphere and security, and we will insist on the advantages and improve the inadequate, only hope you have a home feeling and a great time in Hantanginn.

100%

Highly recommended! Good location and great vibe! Free dumpling making classes and really helpful staff! Would stay there again for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so appreciated that you highly recommend our hostel and have a nice time here, and we will keep the happiness in mind and try to be better and better. For the things you mentioned, you have found the great location, experience the good vibe, join the free dumpling party and get the warm and friendly service form the staff, which are the spirits of our hostel, we will insist them on and learn more you need, that give you a better and better home hostel-Hantanginn.

97%

Get the free pick-up from the train station. Someone was waiting for me with my name on a piece of paper stuck on an umbrella. Worry-free way to reach the hostel. Staff very nice and helpful with travel planning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy that you appreciate the free pick-up from the train station, we'll continue to do, and also thank you for giving us a high praise. For the staff, we would like to share all the tour information we know and help you to make everything easier but valuable, that is what we ought to do and are glad to do. All of us give you the best wishes and hope you have a great time no matter where you are. Great greetings.

100%

Great place to stay, so close to everything and fantastic tours to join, they also provide a lot of info about what you can do when your there!!!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We got moved by the warm and kind sentences you wrote on the review, even though we don't know how to express our appreciation and gratitude, we will use used-up morale, perseverance and hard work to show you a growing and constantly improving hantanginn. We always welcome your supervision and re-visit. Thanks a lot and best wishes.

97%

Without a doubt, the place to stay in Xi'an

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
what simple but powerful words of your review, which makes us be full of energy and be proud of the work we do, thank you, No matter when, we commit that we will do our best to be better and provide you a more satisfied room and service. We are looking forward to your next stay.

100%

Han Tang was a great stay for 2 days in Xi'An. They are helpful in finding you transportation, organizing 'get togethers,' and providing tours to local attractions. Dorm was very clean and kept up, and the social areas were cozy and fun. The attached cafe was great for early mornings. Highly recommend, esp. if you're a solo traveler wanting to meet other interesting people.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to receive your evaluation, and thank you to give us such high praise, thank you. See your description that you spent a great time in the Hantanginn, we were very proud and happy. Hope you have wonderful moments on your next journey and come here again.

83%

Nice atmosphere, the 6 bed dorms are a bit small and the shower / toilet being a wet room is weird. Staff are friendly and speak very good english, definitely do the free dumpling tutorial!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, you joined the dumpling party at Friday night, which is a good activity to meet new friends and share your experience, congratulations. And we felt so honored that you speak highly of all the things here expect for the water problem which has been improved, thank you. Best wishes from hantanginn youth hostel. And best wishes.

97%

this is a great hostel! free dumpling parties & loads of other free snacks! staff were great, gave us lots of help and taught us some Chinese writing. bathrooms not the best, but not bad. greatly nice atmosphere here! good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are incredibly happy that you speak highly of our hostel and recommend us, thank you a lot. And we always arrange different kinds of activities every night, such as free dumpling party, teaching Chinese writing , ping-pong teaching, drinking night and so on, you can join anyone you like and make new friends. As you said, you experienced and had a great time. For the bath room, we have checked and repaired. We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

89%

The staff were incredibly helpful and kind, even in the face of some unfortunate dramas (i.e. a stolen passport).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speaking highly of our hostel and the staff , we are so appreciated that you enjoyed your stay in hantanginn, and we will try our best to improve.And next time, no matter you stay here or not, if you need our help, come to hantanginn directly, we would like to do you a favor. Best wishes.

77%

Terrible wifi, but the hostel is clean, beds are comfortable and the staff are helpful. Free pick up from the train station is a great service!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for feeding back timely and making us have a better understanding of our service , activities, cleanliness, and beds. Because of your suggestions, we will actively strive to keep living the good side, get rid of bad, and strive to become a more warm and comfortable home. All the staff are waiting for your next coming. Have a great trip.

91%

We had such a lovely stay at this hostel! Such great fun, great cocktails at the bar and lovely helpful staff. We also did a tour of the terracotta warriors through the hostel which was well worth it! Would recommend highly!

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your evaluation which is full of encouragement and support, we see a lot of advantages that we can continue to keep, such as seductive cocktails, warm staff, inexpensive tour and so on. thank you again and all the staff will keep your words in mind and try our best to give you the best service and make you relaxed. Best wishes.

91%

Rooms were fine, lobby area had a nice vibe. The roof garden was pretty cool and it was nice that they had pool and ping pong. The staff put on activities every day/night which helped to create a good atmosphere. Can't really complain!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Reading your warm and powerful comment, we can still feel the happiness you left here, and are grateful that you give us a so good review. Thank you so much. As you said, our hostel looks like a home that you can put down the trouble, and return to freedom and comfortable life on the roof top garden and join the activities in the lobby.. Great greetings and best wishes from all the staff.

94%

Great hostel with wonderful environment, super-clean and a great tour to see the Terracota army!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a meaningful and energetic encouragement it is, which will make us to be prouder and honorer for the job we have , thank you so much. No matter what, we will try our best to make you have a more convenient stay and better memory here. Great greetings and best wishes from hantanginn hostel.

91%

Awesome staff, they were so accommodating when I wanted to stay an extra night and change the terracotta tour date that I had already booked. Great hostel atmosphere as well met some great people there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a powerful review we received which shows us the advantages and responsibility we have or we ought to do, thank you. On one hand, thank you for trusting us and choosing here as your home in Xi'an. On the other hand, thank you for speaking highly of our hostel, that might encourage all the staff enjoy the job and be more patient. All in all, we hope you have a great time no matter where you are and give you the best wishes.

97%

This hostel is really a good choice for exploring Xi'an. The location is centrally located easily in walking distance to Old City attractions. The staff are great as is the atmosphere it's very easy to meet fellow travellers. The place is very clean but I have one complaint. The shower curtain in the dorm bathroom is growing mould so there is a bad smell in bathroom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, we felt so honored and appreciated to receive the warm letter, thank you. The same as you said, firstly, you are still the good friend for us, we would like to keep you in mind forever. Secondly, different activities make you meet different friends here that you can share your experience and drink local beer. And for the shower problem, we are so sorry, and will solve it as soon as possible. All of us are looking forward to seeing you next time.

89%

A very fun and friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay here and have recommended this hostel to other travelers heading to Xi'an.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for recommending hantanginn after your stay, and telling us that you have a great time and enjoying everything here, we felt appreciated and promise to give you the better and more comfortable home hostel. Best wishes and sincerely hope your next stay.

89%

The location is not super central but it the hostel is located in walking distance to the city center. Therefore it is close to cheap, small restaurants with delicious food (try the self-made noodles in the small restaurant exactly on the other side of the street!). The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for feeding back us on time, and we have gotten many good suggestions about the delicious food here that we definitely agree with you.On the other hand, thank you for speaking highly of our staff, the room and easy -to -get address, we will remember the words you said and continue to keep the spirits of hantanginn, to give you a home-hostel. We are looking forward to meeting you as soon as possible.

86%

Average - good accommodation, good staff, but nothing spectacular. It's clean, has everything you might need, and apart from the food that's overpriced and the wifi that was practically useless, there's not much to complain about. However, it's not one of those hostels you'd just love to come back again. I could stay there again, but would most probably try out a different place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly, thank you for feeding back so quickly, we have read your review for several times and gotten more useful suggestions about the hostel. Because of them, We will continue to insist on good terms, in a timely manner to improve the poor, fighting for your homey warmth and comfort. Have a nice trip.

94%

SPOILT at this hotel with all the facilities / cosy atmosphere. One of the nicest ones I've stayed at, definitely in China. High recommendation to go here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Definitely, we will be spoilted at your warm and encouraging words, which gives us much power and energy to work and feel honored our job and enhance all the staff be optimistic. Thank you , and we will remember all you said and make the hostel like a dwelling. Welcome back home soon. We are always waiting you.

(133 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback