X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
3102 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

not a bad hostel :) only things to note, I dont recommend the teracotta warriors tour -- its a rip off - they dont take you to one of the places advertised (they claim theres 'toxic heavy metals' in the soil, so you cant visit), and there is 'shopping' - they try to sell you things, and they force you into a rather overpriced (but nevertheless tasty) lunch...


91%

Very helpful staff and great additional services offer i.e. airport pick-up, in house day tour.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy to see your good impression of our hostel. Thank you for your highly speaking of our staff. As staff, that's our responsibility to be ready for any question from anyone staying with us. What we need to do is to work harder and offer much more service to all the guests here. Thanks for your words again. Best wishes, Hantanginn

91%

Great hostel, Great location, Great People

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the three times high prise about our hostel, thank you. You might not know that your words not only show other guests the most important part (treat all of you guys as a family) we are insisting on for a long time as a hostel, but give our staffs a strong power and energy to work harder and be more friendly, all is because of you, thank you again and wish you have a nice time no matter where you are and what you are doing. Kind regards.

89%

very nice cosy hostel, great staff, that was really helpfull with any kind of questions you asked them, a great atmosphere, exchanging travel trips with other guest at the bar was perfect,


100%

I really liked it here. V friendly, helpful and professional staff. Everything I expect from a hostel and more. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Reading your brief but warm review immediately reminded us of that elegant and full of positive energy lady. Thank you, on one hand, telling us what is the spirit of optimism in the road with your practical action, on the other hand, giving us the greatest confidence. We will continue to bring your positive energy to advance, and to create hantanginn a more warm and comfortable place to stay, to relax.Best wishes and great greetings from all the staff.

100%

Really awesome hostel. Super clean, nice beds and a cosy bar! And staff was super helpfull with helping us! Thanks Frances:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How are you these days? we missed you so much after you left Xi'an. Even you are still on travel, don't forget what the doctor said and taking care of you. And we all indeed to show our gratitude about the high praise you said for our hostel and the staff. but what we did is what we should and need to do, just hope you stay our hostel like your home- no worries, no ill and no trouble, all is with happiness. Good wishes from Frances. See you in Netherlands.

100%

Our room was exceptionally clean with very clean, comfortable sheets and a spotlessly cleaned floor and bathroom. The hostel lobby and atmosphere were very friendly and welcoming. The staff were nice and helpful and spoke very good English, and the amenities were great.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your 100% review and support ,we are so appreciated and honored to read what you have written down. As a hostel, a home for all of our friends, it’s our responsibility to provide convenience for you as much as possible , and it is s our honor to achieve your support and approval(the best payback we think is that ), so we will continue to supply much more to you guys in the following days.Hope to see you six next time. Best wishes from hantanginn.

89%

This hostel was very clean and had a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your timely feed back that shows us you enjoy your stay here, we will keep your spirit of travel all the time.Sincerely hope you have a nice trip and will come back as soon as you can. See you next time.

100%

Such a fabulous hostel.Well located!Great staff!!And I loved Leilei.They guy with Harry Potter glasses.He is the star of the hostel.Make sure that you say hi when you get there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you to speak highly of our hostel-hantanginn, the words and things you said gives us much power to be better, thank you. And we are also appreciated to make friends with you ,especially for leilei, he is looking forward to meeting you in USA as soon as he can. Best wishes from all of our staff.

91%

Nice hostel, only spent one night but good atmosphere and clean. Hard to find, google maps sent us to wrong place. Would recommend it.


100%

Staff were very friendly, helpful and patient. (LeiLei is a super nice guy). Lounge/bar area is cool, it has a calm and quiet atmosphere, food and drinks were also pretty good. Another good thing about this hostel is that it has a cooler "sister" hostel literally 20 second walk up the lane that you can also go hang in which has more of a "party/socializing" atmosphere by comparison if you wanna met more people... you can bar hop between the two hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for giving us such a high comment that not only shows us the great staff, atmosphere, and cool food, but also shares us your true and kind experience in ours and our sister hostel( in the same street, one has an amazing roof garden, the other is good with a cool bar), both of us will remember what you said to continue our efforts to uphold the good aspects and correct deficiencies, and strive to give you a more intimate home in xi'an.Welcome back, we are waiting for you.

80%

Hostel was in a great location, 10 minutes walk to the main quarter, right in the centre of the city wall. Rooms are small for 6 bedroom but enough, lockers are just big enough for bag but not for massive backpack (as the case for most of China). Nice hostel. Good breakfast stalls on the road.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In the first place, we feel so honored and pleased to receive your review and we have gotten some good aspects and something needs to improve as what you said, which is very important and required for us, so thank you so much. All in all, all of our staff woudl like to show our gratitude and best wishes for you. Have a nice trip.

77%

The dorm beds were fairly comfortable, though the 6 person dorm was a bit crowded. The bathroom had a shower and toilet and the shower flooded the whole bathroom. The bar area downstairs played very loud music and did not seem to be heated. The bathroom in the bar area downstairs was very very dirty and it someone had been using it to smoke inside. The hostel is very walkable and easy to get to the drum and bell tower and the muslim quarter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad to see your in our hostel and receive your fair-minded review, thank you. But we still feel sorry, it' s our duty to assist with asny problem or difficulty during your stay here. And what a coincidence, we have change the music to be light and the heater has been used , it is so warmer now. Anyway, thank you for your good advice and support of our work. We do hope to see you again. Best wishes.

91%

Great atmosphere, very friendly. Enjoyed the dumpling making evening put on by the hostel. Great location, everything you need within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a fabulous comments. We are really appreciated about your highly praise and recommendation to those tourists coming to Xi’an later. In fact, we don't only provide a comfortable accomodation , but also create a good platform to approach Chinese culture for our guests,especially the free dumpling party and calligraphy. That’s why we arrange some daily activities and tours. All we hope is that you feel at ease and have a fufilling time here.Thanks again. Kind greetings from Hantanginn.

100%

Hang tang inn l is great! Staff was super friendly and helpful especially Leilei, absolute legend and made my stay here so much more meaning full. Had a great time playing cards and eating with other travelers in the hostel bar. conveniently near to bell tower and other city attractions, Awesome tours on offer also! Great dorms, comfy bed and shower facilities. Will definitely stay again if my travels bring me to the city again. 100% hostel!

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow ,brilliant Feed back !We are very thankful.As a staff of the hostel offer more helps is our duty ,and also it's our pleasure .Thank you for your surport , we will do it much better than before .Playing cards and sharing your experiences are normal but important activities in our hostel, we would like to make you relax and have a nice time here, Thank you again ! See you again! Best friends.

97%

One of the best hostels we ever stayed at staff were extremely helpful and even showed us places to eat... Lei lei was so nice and helpful gave us loads of tips.. His dumpling night is a great way to get to know people.. Recommended chatting to lei lei if ur at the start of ur travels.. He's 5 star on his own... Thank u lei lei

Owner Comment (Hide)
Reading your comment, we can still think of those two girls who like to drink Hans -passion and humor. Thank you, thank you for the best memories you left us, and give us a good evaluation, we will continue and strive to do better.In addition, Leilei lets us convey his gratitude, he misses you as well, oh, we, too, wish you a pleasant journey. Best wishes from hantanginn, frances.

97%

V chill vibe right in the centre of xian - conveniently located in a quieter backstreet. Highly recommend.


86%

This hostel had a great location, being very close to the Muslim market and bell tower. The Terracotta Warriors tour that they offer was excellent. The bed was okay, but the pillows were quite lumpy. There is no divider between the shower and toilet so be prepared for a very wet bathroom after you shower. The girls who worked at the front desk were very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please let all of our staff show our gratitude to you, thank you for trusting and supporting us as well as giving us a timely and fair review which not only shows the good location , great staffs and excellent tour but also giving us some good and useful suggestions about the pillows and the bathroom, we have changed the pillowsand do our best to make the bathroom better, thank you again for your understading and we all sincerely hope you have a nice trip. great greetings. Frances.

94%

An amazing hostel! They are really friendly and helpful with any travel questions you may have. Also has a great lounge with an really comfortable and fun vibe. Best western breakfast in xian and really affordable. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
How amazing and bright the review is which shows us your great experience in our hostel, we are very honored and pleased, thank you, thank you for speaking highly of our hostel, for the great staff , fun vibe and delicious food in the kitchen, we will keep all the good memories and your kind words in mind, and try our best to be a best home-made hostel, welcome back , we will waiting for you all the time. Best regarding from hantanginn.

100%

The worst thing about this hostel was leaving! Would definitely recommend! 😊

Owner Comment (Hide)
You still leave the best words and memory to us even if your leaving is the worst thing for us as well. Your 100% trust and approval is definitely encouraging every staff here to work better. Thank you for your sincere comment again. Best regards from Han Tang Inn Youth Hostel Emily

(94 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback