X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
2364 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The location is good. The hostel is safe. The room is clean. However, I am just not satisfied with the room size. Although I booked a two-single-bed room, there was not enough space for us to open our luggage easily. But luckily, the bed is quite big and soft.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for your stay. Although our facilities may not be so new and was not able to meet your needs hundred percent, but we will do our best to help you solve problems and make you feel the unique charm of the ancient city and Han Tang Inn。 For your comments, we will promptly correct and adjust, look forward to your next stay.

97%

Great hostel! Pretty centrally located in the old city, with a nice atmosphere. The staff was very nice and gave me a refund when a couple friends ended up staying somewhere else.


100%

Definately my favourite hostel in Xi'an! This is perhaps the only hostel that has a lift for travellers with heavy luggages to get to the upper levels of the hostel. Staff members are also very nice too, in particular Daisy(Hou Yu Jie). They are very helpful and generous. Thank You Han Tang Inn!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for enjoying your staying here. All the staff like to chat with you and share the travlling experience. Hope you have a nice trip and come here next time,we will appreciate it all the time.

94%

Nice atmosphere in a true hutong, staff very nice and clean room. Temperature in the common room was a bit cold. We definitely recommend the Great Wall tour: good breakfast, perfect organization and great meal at the Wall. Back to the hostel in the afternoon so we had time to visit other places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy you like the hostel. we are looking froward to see you soon. For your suggestion, we try to improve and be better.

77%

I didn t really like this hostel. I expected more. I found this place in my Lonely Planet guide and so i decided to book here a six bed dorm for 3 nights.The room was really small for six people and not really clean. i wanted a locker, so i had to pay a deposit of 10 yuan. Then my last day i needed a taxi to go to xian railway station. so i asked them to call it for me. the answer: 'we can not call a taxi for you because the service it s available only for people who are going to the airport'.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In response to your comments, we understand problems you have brought and will improve to cater adequately to guests needs. 1we will ensure that rooms are inspected regularly for cleaning. Although it 's a public area we will ensure it in a comfortable environment.2lock, it's free but 10rmb deposit that will be refunded on checkout. We apologwill for incovenience .3We are sorry for not being able to help you and will in future help guests find a taxi to the train station.

94%

Very friendly and helpful reception staff, nice comfy bed and warm room (it was quite cold in Xi'an that weekend) The bathroom was also very clean and looked fairly new, the only negative thing to say about it is that the entire bathroom basically is the shower (no tub, door or curtain), but thanks to the ventilation it all dries quickly

Owner Comment (Hide)
So appreciated that you like the "smiling" hostel -hantanginn who serves the cormatable and friendly room, facilities and atmosphere.for your advises of the bathroom, we will improve as soon as possible. Thank you for everything.

100%

Thanks for all your help!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Doing our best to help you is the honor,and we also need to improve. Appreciate seeing you soon.

100%

Very good hostel. Really nice staff, very clean and many many facilities. You can easy meet people here. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for trusting us and enjoying your staying in hantanginn youth hostel whose aim is to privide the best and the most comfortable atmophere--"like a hom". We are looking forward to meeting you next time and being happy everyday. Have a nice trip.

100%

Our favourite hostel In Asia so far. Very clean, hot shower, great service and the first hostel we've found in China with an English movie channel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for booking our hostel. we appreciate you can enjoy all your staying at hantanginn, and we will do our best to be better. Hope you have a nice trip.

83%

The Staff is the best thing of this nice hostel. They had the tour for the Terracotta Warriors fully booked but they managed to get a place for me. They got 2 other persons interested in doing the tour and they added a car for us to go along with the van of the tour.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for you enjoying staying in our hostel. we will do our best to get better and better. hope to see you next time,also a new and better service for you. have a good trip

89%

Try the excellent spinach noodle soup in the little restaurant right across the hostel. One of our food highlights so far. They also sell dumplings for breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for booking, our hostel is in the centre of XIAN, so it is aesy for you to get delicous food and some places of interest. and we are so happy you have a nice trip here, hope you staying next time.

100%

Everything was perfect, friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Malini, Thank you for enjoying you staying here,we will do our best to improve day by day. if you have some suggestions, you can mail us, we are looking forward to hearing about you and welcoming to staying next time.

94%

Had a lovely stay in the hostel. Good activities on every day. Would highly recommend the Terracotta Army tour with Jaja. She was brilliant. Wifi was a bit dodgy. Breakfast was nice and staff were lovely. Good atmosphere for backpackers and couples.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so appreciated that you like staying here. we treat you as our friends and are happy to talk, give advice and share the experience with you.for the activites, we arrange for everyday, so next time , if you come here, you can do it again. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

100%

Great location and great accommodation

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. Hearing for your amazing staying, we are appreciated. Looking forward to meeting you, your friends and your parents next time.

97%

Good place to stay and meet other backpackers. Really close to the Bell and Drum Tower and also Muslim Street. Easy to get to the train station from here as the bus stop to get there is only a five to ten minute walk from the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In the beginning of this year, we felt very happy to receive your assessment of the Hantangyi. Of course, all the staff were quite proud that you can enjoy our houstel, like our staff, atmosphere, and We will always remember your recognization and love, and strive to provide more better service. Thank you again and all the grest greeting to you.

91%

The hostel was located in a cosy street where they have great hotpot! As a single traveler it's always nice to meet people and because of all the nights they organize its great to meet people. Very central located. I had a single room which was clean. Only problem was the bed. It was hard as a rock!! Also my room was located next to the cleaning ladies room who start shouting (talking) at 7am. I heard the sister hostel has nice soft beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for coming. Since our hostel opened, we always uphold the "HOME" feeling and provide the activities to make you relax and happy. For the problem of the bed, we have done to improve. I hope the next time you have a chance to come back, continue your journey ,continue to feel Xi'an, and to feel the difference of hantanginn.

97%

Great hostel, clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff that speaks English well, good location, safe free luggage storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for your stay and review, we will, as always, adhere to the hantanginn style and character to be best.

94%

Waited for a good 30+ after getting picked up at train station for another group that didnt even end up showing. The hostel was only


97%

Very good hostel with great staff (who remember your name which is always very nice). Can't really fault anything apart from the street outside is rather scruffy and some would feel uncomfortable walking back here late at night. That's a small issue and I'd have no hesitation staying here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you said, the location is a very important factor, but believe that, although we are in on a Street, but the security is very good, so please do not worry if you have any problems, please contact us timely, we will try to help you. Thank you for your continued love and support.

97%

Great hostel!! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They also put a lot of effort into getting people together and having fun with different nights such as beer pong night and with beer pong. We stayed for the Halloween party which offered free beer if they painted your face. Its a great place to meet other people. Very good location.


(88 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback