X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Han Tang Inn Hostel Reviews

NO.7 Nan Chang Xiang, South of Xincheng Square, Xi'an, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2578 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel. The team were all very friendly and helpful. Good array of activities and tours to chose from.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate you enjoy our team, as well as the our hostel who leaves you all good memory. Our intentions are to serve each customer to feel the warmth and charm of hantanginn and our beautiful garden. And we are so honored you give us such a high rating, which will strive us to do better.Thank you.

100%

This is hands down a brilliant hostel. Excellent staff, tours, food, rooms, wifi, location. Definitely recommend this place :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for recommend our hostel and speak highly of us. After reading your comment, we felt honored, but much of happy, which belongs to your effort and our responsibility, so thank you so much, and all the staff will miss you and hope you have a nice trip.

91%

I actually stayed at the hostel instead because of a room change. It has a bar/cafe with good food and a nice staff. Dorms are spacious and like hotel rooms w private bathrooms. Key card for all entry into building. Very nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for liking our hostel, and speak highly of the bar, the food, the staff and the rooms, we are so happy. Relatively, your support and trust is the momentum to encourages us to move forward, and we will continue to work, and strive to the best hostel in Asia and the world. We are looking forward to seeing you next time.

100%

This is what hostels should be like! Great location, local street, safe at night. Very clean hostel, helpful and caring staff. Lots of interesting stuff happening, and plenty of chilled out communal areas. Thank you, you're setting the standard!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the so good evaluation. We do not know how to express our gratitude, but our happiness is beyond description , thank you so much. It is necessary to say that you are our best friends, all of us look forward to having warm home feeling. See you next time. Best wishes.

100%

Thanks for your help,all of your staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speaking highly of our hostel, we are so happy to meet and be friends with you- the smiling and warmhearted girl, all of us hope you have a great trip and come back to Xi'an again. Great greeting and best wishes.

100%

Two days in Xian and Han tang had everything we needed. The tour out to the terracotta warriors was good with a great guide. The hostel is within good proximity to the Muslim quarter which is where I would recommend for eating while in Xian.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are very happy for reading your warm reply and hearing from you that you had a great time here, which all belongs to yourself who trusts us and likes our hostel, thank you. All the staff are looking forward to meeting you next time. Hantanginn is always welcoming you.

89%

Staff are v helpful and provides great help for transport advice and tourist spots in Xi'an Room may be smaller than expected but everything else is much better than expected

Owner Comment (Hide)
Seeing your comment, we can still imagine the scene you left in our hostel, and feel grateful that you give us a so warm review. Thank you so much. As you said, some of our rooms are not very big, but as you believe that Han Tang Inn is a warm home, where you can put down the trouble, and return to freedom and comfortable life, especially for the smiling staff and amazing roof garden. Hope you have nice days. Great greetings and best wishes.

80%

Nice place. Staff are very helpful. Location is good. Only catch being the fact that guests often get mistaken between its sister hotel and this one and land up in the wrong place. I did too. Also I think they need to inform that the underpass that connects it to the Bell Tower is locked after certain time of the night. Food is good. Just a bit expensive. Overall, definitely a place to stay. It is conveniently located. There are lot of activities to enjoy. Dorms are nice and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for mailing us that you had a great time in our hostel and commend us, but we are so sorry for the dumplings you disliked.To be honest, this is the first time who complaints the dumplings, because all along the dumplings and performances are known for inexpensive, and very famous and popular in Xi'an. Next time, we will work more detailed and timely to ask whether guests like the food or not , in order to maximize your requirements, allowing you to like it and our more. Have a nice trip

86%

Excellent location, great tours provided. We however would not advise the Tang Dynasty dumplings, it was the worse food and service from our trip and a shame as the show was brilliant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for mailing us that you had a great time in our hostel and commend us, but we are so sorry for the dumplings you disliked.To be honest, this is the first time who complaints the dumplings, because all along the dumplings and performances are known for inexpensive, and very famous and popular in Xi'an. Next time, we will work more detailed and timely to ask whether guests like the food or not , in order to maximize your requirements, allowing you to like it and our more. Have a nice trip

97%

Great hostel. Excellent bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speak highly of our hostel, we will do our best to provide better and comfortable service for you-all the guests. Have a nice trip.

83%

Love the roof top gardens with plants and bird cages. Great place for sharing beer and travel experiences with fellow hostelers. Good restaurant with daily specials. Their breakfasts were a great start to our days. Very friendly, helpful staff. Only complaint is their bathroom. We were in a room for 4. Our ensuite had bad smell (combination of mold, sewer and bad drainage from shower. Water covers entire floor when showering as not a separate area from toilet and sink, floor is all same level.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly, all the staff welcomed the Marie family, and thanked for your praise of our hostel. Truthfully speaking, you almost found the mystique of Hantanginn -amazing roof garden, good breakfast, daily specials, great guests and smiling staff, which was so appreciated and honored to us. For the problem you mentioned, we felt sorry to give you the inconvenience, but we will promptly repair, ensure that you feel more attractive. Have a nice trip and best wishes.

89%

So friendly & helpfully staff. Thank you so much for their arrangement. we have a good time in xian.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, Thank you for trust and support us. We are so proud that you enjoy yourselves and like the staff here. As you said, providing the best service and making you feel appreciated of our hostel is our responsibility. All the staffs are looking forward to seeing you next time and hope that you can have time to join the free dumpling, our free sauna night and have good days in the roof top garden. We will miss you and best wishes.

97%

We had an excellent time here. Three of us shared the room on top of the hostel, next to the beautiful beer garden. The only issue was the toilet and shower room on the roof smells awful. Absolutely everything else was wonderful. The tour to the Terracotta Army was excellent with a fantastic guide also!


89%

Over priced hostel. They want crazy commision of 40 yuan to buy a train ticket so I just bought it myself. They charge 4 yuan for using the computer (most hostels is free and in internet cafe it's 2-3 yuan), they charge crazy 10 yuan for 1 kilo of laundry and 28 yuan for bad small breakfast not even including drinks. In other words - way over priced - But the staff is very helpful and nice. I loved my stay - but I tried not to use their services as possible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your booking.we are so pleased that you gave us these suggestions, we will try our best to be better. but truthfully speaking, because of provided coins, you can use the computer for free, not paying for. Thank you for your understanding and welcome to come here next time. And additionally, thank you for speaking highly of our staff. Great greetings.

100%

This hostel was really great, the staff are fantastic and very friendly and welcoming. They are very helpful with everything! It's in a fab location within walking distance of a lot of the cities attractions. They provided an excellent tour to the terracotta warriors also! A fab place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't know how to express our gratitude, but seeing that you are so fond of our staff, the location and everything in hantanginn, we are so appreciated. With your support, we will continue to be better. Thank you so much. All the staff hope you have a nice trip.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Fantastic hostel. Lots of fun stuff: billards, ping pong, games, drinking games, etc. Staff is friendly and speaks good english. Guests include people from all over, lots of both foreigners and Chinese, and if you take initiative you can meet lots of people. However, the wifi did not work in my room, which is annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for loving "this dreamy hostel". It is so encourage meaning for us to read your evaluation, thank you very much. We will take your comments and suggestions timely ,and manner to improve, as well as the WIFI. We sincerely look forward to seeing you next time. Best wishes.

94%

Brilliant location. Very helpful staff. Many tours are available and assistance given to find your way around. We were really impressed and highly recommend Han Tang Inn. Beds were very firm but this is usual in China; I found it hard to sleep well.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to receive your evaluation, and thank you to give us such high praise, thank you. See your description that you spent a great time in the Hantanginn, we were very proud and happy. Hope you have wonderful moments on your next journey. On the other side, we felt so sorry for the Chinese bed you had, but because of your understanding and opinion, we will redouble our efforts and look forward to be better. Thank you again.

80%

Nice atmosphere, and very helpful staff who can you get you on well-organised tours and give you tips on where to go in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us a timely evaluation. Your comments and encouragement have been the driving force of our ongoing efforts, And we will redouble our efforts to do better. We are sincerely looking forwarding to giving you the best wishes.

100%

Took a bit of time to find

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for expressing your affection of our hostel, we are very honored. As you said, it was difficult for you to find it at the first time, but I believe that you will find everything mysterious and unforgettable, which was left by hantanginn.We look forward to meeting you next time, to find the hostel,to find us.

100%

Wow, this wss by far the best hostel we ever stayed at in China. Especially the staff here they really trest you like family. Lai Lai , the bsr tender even helped us order a special item from the internet. Next time we are in China we will stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for speaking highly of our hostel and the staff , we are so appreciated that you enjoyed your stay in hantanginn, and we will try our best to improve. All the staff hope hope you have a nice trip.

(1891 results)


View all Xi'an Hostels

Please give us your feedback