Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hanmer Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
Hanmer Backpackers Located at 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs.
Hanmer Backpackers
New Zealand
Hanmer Springs Canterbury 7334 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs
96% 301
-42.5189440 172.8295326
Hanmer Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
10.0

We had a lovely stay at this place, Yoko and Tristan were awesome hosts. Tristan was kind enough to give us a lift after our stay. The hostel is warm and cosy and we loved all the little touches like the hot water bottles and massage chair. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.7

This hostel was so small that it could have easily been someone's house, and it was so comfortable that it could quite easily become like your home. The place could hardly have been any better, the facilities were good, the hostel was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Security was my only slight mark down, as the dorm room was unlocked most the day and the hostel was not locked either, Hanmer however is so safe it does not require much security, so this wasn't much of an issue

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our time here as we were in Hanmer Springs for 1 night for my husband's birthday Hostel is clean, cozy, has a real 'home away from home' feel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for your money, would recommend this stay to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Lovely place. Yoko and Tristan are very friendly and helpful. Nice and toasty with a fire kept burning that adds to the homey atmosphere. Would definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jul 2016
9.7

Had a wonderful stay at Hanmer Backpackers, stayed in the 5 bed dorm with single beds!! No bunkbeds!! Its a small hostel that gives you a homely feeling. There is some great hikes in the area that the owner can tell you about, its close to everything in Hanmer and if the rain is pouring down outside the lounge is perfect for a good book and a cup of tea

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.0

Good place to stay:)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Really welcoming hosted, very close to the pools. It was warm, inviting and the owners helpful with advice. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Close to hot pools and shops. Nice kitchen and massage chair. Only 2 bathrooms which included the showers inside so not that convenient timewise as we were 6 travelling together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.1

Cozy hostel that attracts many Kiwis as well as backpackers. They provided hand soap and had good toilet paper dispensers and had milk in the fridge to use with coffee. The cons: it got really cold and they don't have heating. Also, they didn't have oil for cooking. Overall, great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
10.0

Loved this place! We stayed in one of the private rooms and it was so nice, private shower and toilet, nice kitchen. The owners are very kind too. Sometimes hostel owners can be very cheap- last hostel I stayed in you only had 2 minutes to shower and all they gave you was a sheet and one pillow on your bed. This hostel was way better, felt nice enough to be a hotel. Within walking distance to the springs or any restaurant in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.