Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hanmer Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

We were in a private double bed room for one night. Very nice owner, kitchen had everything you need, diner area made it quite chatty, which was good. The room was clean and tidy, and were the toilets. The only thing was that our room was directly above the kitchen, so I woke up early. Other than that it was a very nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Tristan was such a great host. So down to earth and genuinely passionate about helping people. Didn't meet Yoko until the end but she was sweet too. The beds were creaky being metal and pretty much woke up every time someone moved around in their bed at night. Maybe they could invest in wooden frames. Anyway, I got over it as I only stayed one night. Also the place was great and had a good homey feel. Tristan was nice and the price was alright too. Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.7

The Backpackers is amazing. Lovely cozy reading area and comfortable eating area that brings everyone together. Staff will make you feel welcome, answer any questions and will have a great conversation with you. It's so close to everything! This place was especially great for me as I'm travelling alone and it allowed me to meet new people and other travellers. Can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

This was one of my favorite places to stay in NZ Just like a home cozy and friendly The only thing that was disappointing was I could hear people talking in the next room as walls are not sound proof just single pannel otherwise very happy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • efrogs1643
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Great Hostel. I really enjoyed the nice clean facilities and helpful service. It made for a nice leisurely stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
8.6

A nice and easy stay. A good place to rest my head after a long day of traveling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.9

Hammer Backpackers was really great! Perfect location! Tristan was super friendly and was willing to tell us about heaps of things to do. Spacious rooms with nice touches like individual water bottles which was nice! The only downside was that the doors were never locked and there were no lockers. It seemed like a super safe area however this was a little unsettling. Overall it was cosy and perfect for our 2 night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
10.0

We had a lovely stay at this place, Yoko and Tristan were awesome hosts. Tristan was kind enough to give us a lift after our stay. The hostel is warm and cosy and we loved all the little touches like the hot water bottles and massage chair. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.7

This hostel was so small that it could have easily been someone's house, and it was so comfortable that it could quite easily become like your home. The place could hardly have been any better, the facilities were good, the hostel was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Security was my only slight mark down, as the dorm room was unlocked most the day and the hostel was not locked either, Hanmer however is so safe it does not require much security, so this wasn't much of an issue

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our time here as we were in Hanmer Springs for 1 night for my husband's birthday Hostel is clean, cozy, has a real 'home away from home' feel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for your money, would recommend this stay to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.