X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hanmer Backpackers Reviews

41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
214 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really cosy backpacker with really warm people to welcome us

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! It was such a welcoming home-like atmosphere with a cabin feel, warm fire, and friendly owner. The facilities were exceptionally clean and the location was perfect.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We realy appreciate that you think we're the best hostel you've ever been! Kind Regards, Tristan and Yoko

97%

best hostel we have stayed in for a long time, we have visited twice now, and are sure to return.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the good feedback. We're looking forward to the 3rd time!

100%

Absolutely awesome! The best backpackers I've ever seen! Very comfortable, very friendly staff, very clean ... I would give 6 Stars if I could! Stayed there for just two nights but felt home from the first minute :) A small hut just 2 minutes from Hanmer and from the pools. Relaxing at this warm place after long walks and visiting the Pools is the best you can do in Hanmer!

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comment, we're happy you enjoyed your stay at our little backpackers!

100%

I loved this hostel!!! I really have to come back :)

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we loved having you here, come back!

94%

I always enjoy my stays at Hanmer Backpackers. Prehaps the ensuite bathroom could do with some heating.


97%

This small hostel was cozy. Loved the massage chair. Dislike they didn't provide hand wash at toilets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind feedback. Usually we do provide hand soap in our bathrooms. Unfortunately (due to poor logistics on my side) we did run out for a couple of days. Right now it is back in place. Hope to see you next time.

100%

Excellent accommodation and very relaxed. The owner is so friendly and he actually dried and folded our wet washing when we went out!! On arrival a guest provided us with blackberry tarts for afternoon tea and for our evening sweets a blackberry (picked locally). Kitchen has everything that you could possibly need. Great location and we could have stayed longer. The best packpackers accommodation we have stayed in in New Zealand! Excellent value too.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your great review, we're happy you rated us as the best backpackers in NZ. Kind Regards Tristan, Yoko and Aymeric (French blackberry guy!)

97%

Wonderful little hostel with very friendly and helpful manager. Free plunger coffee and spices for the cooking supplied! A hostel guest (French) cooked and shared a wild blackberry tart with all the guests. All at a reasonable price. Superb!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My favorite backpackers yet, Tristan and Yoko the owners were lovely from the first call to book, to checking out.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you folks for making us feel so at home. We loved staying at your hostel. Tia Ora and Aloha, Trevor and Laurel from Hawaii

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice couple running the hostel. Was in a room not attached to the main house, so had to go outdoors and into the main house to use any facilities (including bathroom). Very cosy lounge and nicely laid out kitchen/dining area


100%

We had a fantastic stay at your hostel, everything was clean and tidy, bedding was crisp and clean and you had great common areas for relaxed socialising and cooking. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and up for a chat and the location is perfect nice and close to the town centre.


97%

Full house when we were there meant bathrooms were well used. Having toilet in bathrooms meant that there could be a wait to use toilet as others were showering. A seperate toilet only would have been helpful.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant accommodation, brilliant lady that checked us in, so kind and helpful. price is phenomenal for the standard of accommodation.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Christian was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The hot pools are only two minutes away so all in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely little hostel close to Hanmer Springs Thermal pools. Yoko one of the owners is lovely and rather quirky :) We had a double room downstairs which was small but more than adequate for us as we had a car so didn't need to bring our backpacks in. The double room upstairs with the sky light looked lovely but I'm not sure how you'd book that other than directly with the hostel (we didn't get an option on hostelworld) Nice clean communal areas and a BBQ and eating area outside. Good option!


94%

Highly recommend this hostel, our first YHA. Very friendly and helpful host, comfortable room, handy location and very good atmosphere.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words, it' speople like you who make the great atmosphere. Just to make this clear, we are not a YHA nor an BBH hostel, we are a 100% independent hostel! Tristan and Yoko

100%

Excellent, couldn't fault anything. Very very friendly and helpful people. Would recommend it to everyone! Very centrel for everything. Thank you.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. Tristan and Yoko

97%

Awesome place! Tristan and Yoko are Backpackers themselves and great hosts. The hostel is small and cosy and Tristan and Yoko are there all day long to make sure everything is clean and alright. I wish there would be a hostel like this in every town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review, we're glad you enjoyed our litle backpackers. Cheers, Tristan and Yoko



View all Hanmer Springs Hostels

Please give us your feedback