X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hanmer Backpackers Reviews

41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
198 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Wonderful little hostel with very friendly and helpful manager. Free plunger coffee and spices for the cooking supplied! A hostel guest (French) cooked and shared a wild blackberry tart with all the guests. All at a reasonable price. Superb!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

My favorite backpackers yet, Tristan and Yoko the owners were lovely from the first call to book, to checking out.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you folks for making us feel so at home. We loved staying at your hostel. Tia Ora and Aloha, Trevor and Laurel from Hawaii

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice couple running the hostel. Was in a room not attached to the main house, so had to go outdoors and into the main house to use any facilities (including bathroom). Very cosy lounge and nicely laid out kitchen/dining area


100%

We had a fantastic stay at your hostel, everything was clean and tidy, bedding was crisp and clean and you had great common areas for relaxed socialising and cooking. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and up for a chat and the location is perfect nice and close to the town centre.


97%

Full house when we were there meant bathrooms were well used. Having toilet in bathrooms meant that there could be a wait to use toilet as others were showering. A seperate toilet only would have been helpful.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant accommodation, brilliant lady that checked us in, so kind and helpful. price is phenomenal for the standard of accommodation.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Christian was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The hot pools are only two minutes away so all in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely little hostel close to Hanmer Springs Thermal pools. Yoko one of the owners is lovely and rather quirky :) We had a double room downstairs which was small but more than adequate for us as we had a car so didn't need to bring our backpacks in. The double room upstairs with the sky light looked lovely but I'm not sure how you'd book that other than directly with the hostel (we didn't get an option on hostelworld) Nice clean communal areas and a BBQ and eating area outside. Good option!


94%

Highly recommend this hostel, our first YHA. Very friendly and helpful host, comfortable room, handy location and very good atmosphere.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words, it' speople like you who make the great atmosphere. Just to make this clear, we are not a YHA nor an BBH hostel, we are a 100% independent hostel! Tristan and Yoko

100%

Excellent, couldn't fault anything. Very very friendly and helpful people. Would recommend it to everyone! Very centrel for everything. Thank you.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review. Tristan and Yoko

97%

Awesome place! Tristan and Yoko are Backpackers themselves and great hosts. The hostel is small and cosy and Tristan and Yoko are there all day long to make sure everything is clean and alright. I wish there would be a hostel like this in every town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review, we're glad you enjoyed our litle backpackers. Cheers, Tristan and Yoko

97%

Two words - Massage Chair! They have one. Which you can use! Dorm was spacious and comfortable. Hostel is close to the main town center. Well stocked with board games so you can fall out with your travelling companions over a game of Monopoly. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Really homely vibe to the place but in a good way! Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed our "home away from home", thank you for your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Regards, Tristan and Yoko

86%

We stayed here as a family and it suited our needs perfectly. Will consider staying for longer next time!

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy we catered for your needs. See you next time.

100%

This is a great hostel with nice rooms, kitchen and lounge area. Our host Tristan was always keen for a yarn and very helpful, I would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone else. Thanks.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comment, always good to chat with you!

100%

I had a great time. I have never stayed at backpackers before, so I was a bit nervous. But not anymore because I had a great experience! Thank you so much, Yoko and Tristat, you are wonderful! Cheers, Roxy!

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a good 1st experience, backpacking is great!

94%

Such a lovely place with very friendly and helpful staff


97%

Just stayed one night and was great, close to everything and staff where very nice. will be back!

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the nice feecback. See you next time.

91%

Great stay! Helpful, friendly owner definitely recommend this place!


94%

I was pretty satified with this backpackers. It's cozy, clean and friendly atmosphere and has good location. Staffs were very kind as well.

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment, enjoy your travels.

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Hanmer Springs Hostels

Please give us your feedback