Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hanmer Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jenvoss_2067
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.7

It's a great hostel, a relaxed atmosphere, friendly owners, warm in winter, plunger coffee... I've stayed in the dorms and a double room, both were great. I'd really recommend this hotel. The owners were really friendly and recommended good walks and bike rides. It's a bit of a more grown up atmosphere which suited us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • frankenstein
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.7

Yoko was really lovely. Beds were comfy with good quality, warm duvets - huzzah! Whole place very clean. Good facilities. Close to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Coolest hostel and it was so nice and had a great atmosphere because it was so small, very welcoming reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.4

Only downside is wifi is not free and not great. The lodge is very chill and the clean. Has a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.7

Great, tidy place, close to town. Only there for a night, but would certainly return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JacobWattenbach
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.4

A small lovely hostel that had a homey feel to it. The place was also spotless with excellent welcoming hosts. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

We were in a private double bed room for one night. Very nice owner, kitchen had everything you need, diner area made it quite chatty, which was good. The room was clean and tidy, and were the toilets. The only thing was that our room was directly above the kitchen, so I woke up early. Other than that it was a very nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Tristan was such a great host. So down to earth and genuinely passionate about helping people. Didn't meet Yoko until the end but she was sweet too. The beds were creaky being metal and pretty much woke up every time someone moved around in their bed at night. Maybe they could invest in wooden frames. Anyway, I got over it as I only stayed one night. Also the place was great and had a good homey feel. Tristan was nice and the price was alright too. Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.7

The Backpackers is amazing. Lovely cozy reading area and comfortable eating area that brings everyone together. Staff will make you feel welcome, answer any questions and will have a great conversation with you. It's so close to everything! This place was especially great for me as I'm travelling alone and it allowed me to meet new people and other travellers. Can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2017
10.0

This was one of my favorite places to stay in NZ Just like a home cozy and friendly The only thing that was disappointing was I could hear people talking in the next room as walls are not sound proof just single pannel otherwise very happy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.