X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hanoi Backpackers Hostel - Downtown Reviews

9 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1145 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Brilliant hostel, went on the castaway trip and a home stay organized through the hostel and it was defiantly one of the highlights of my trip! Staff are incredible and super helpful! Definitely coming back to stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your great review with some amazing feedback. We as a team are very happy to see that you had an amazing stay with us, as well as on our Castaway tour. We hope the rest of your travels went well and that we will see you again in the future. Cheers Downtown Manager

100%

Great time great party. Very clean very fun for a single traveler. Props to Joel, Janek, Josh and Paul

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very happy to see you had an amazing time at our hostel. Thank you on the feedback about our hostel. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

63%

Worst place I have stayed. One guy peed in the dorm room. Asked security to sort it out. They cleaned it up and let him stay another night! On a different evening people copulating etc. Gave feedback but staff uninterested just said to fill out a feedback form. Breakfast alright though and staff generally very nice. Social place but don't stay if you have a minimum standard of self respect.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, I am saddened to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hostel. We do appreciate you taking your time to give us feedback, as we always want to act on any dissatisfaction, and to provide a better service for everyone. Since this review we have had a lot of training in regards to dealing with problems like these. We hope the rest of your travels went well. Downtown Manager

100%

The only hostel I've ever given 100% across! Ive traveled a lot, this is the best hostel! I was there 4 years ago (just opened) and had an amazing time (halong tour, snake eating, beer pong etc). To the owners Mark&Johannes: compared with 4y ago, this time it was in slightly worse condition (bed lights creaky etc). Mark&Johannes are extremely useful, friendly and knowledgeable, but the Vietnamese staff is useless and the breakfast counter ladies are very rude. Viet. staff was much better 4y ago.


83%

Loud at night through party people in front of the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. Our Original hostel in Hanoi is a lot quieter location that would have maybe been a better choice for you, if your are looking for something quieter in the future. Thank you for giving us some feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown Manager

83%

This was my first time at this kind of backpackers hostel and it wasn't really my scene. As a lone backpacker I found it a little overwhelming and it was definitely not the greatest choice for my first night in Hanoi being super jetlagged. If I had been with friends I think this would have been way more fun, but alone I felt pretty awkward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review and feedback. It saddens me to see that you did not have the best stay with us. Maybe our Original location would have suited you more, being a more chilled out and more intimate vibe. It is an excellent location to meet people, especially as a solo traveler. We hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

This hostel is so great and vibrant ! Great location and great staff and people! You should definitly go there if u r looking for a place to stay in hanoi , i really loved it , just take care that there are other "backpacker" hostels as well in hanoi as the "original" backpacker which is another branch of this hostel so if u r booking with someone make sure u book the same hostel as they have the same names :D enjoy ur stay in that great place !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review about the hostel. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Thank you for the excellent feedback in regards to our staff and atmosphere. We would love to see you again in the future and hope the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

71%

The lock box was broken so I used my mates as the key didn't work. They staff member who was from Canada was a bit drunk when I check in. Didn't really give a tour or explain much. Just took us up to the room and left. The sheets were not clean either having stains. It a party hostel for sure but was really loud when trying to check in.The bar area is pretty cool and you can meet other backpackers easily to socialize with. The breakfast included is really good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time out and leaving a review of our hostel. I appreciate the feedback you have given about being taken up to your room. We have since then done a lot of training in regards to check in procedures and also giving information to customers when they first arrive. I am glad to see you enjoyed our free breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future, and that the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Awesome hostel, something going on every night and plenty of people to go out with. Also, the walking tour hits some of the tourist highlights. The castaways trip to Halong Bay is a bunch of fun.... but basically just an excuse to drink on a small island. Book your tour through another agency if you're looking for the picture perfect version.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us some feedback. I am glad to see you had a great stay in our hostel, and that you enjoyed our walking tour that we offer. I am also happy to see you had a good time on our Halong bay Castaway tour. We hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of the travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

69%

I didn't like this hostel. Looks like a fabric so big. And very noisy. It is full of drunk party people. Rooms are small(stayed in a 6 beddorm)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, It is a shame you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. We do have however a more chilled out hostel in Hanoi, called the Original. Maybe this would have been a better location for you to stay at. However, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

86%

Nice hostel but definitely geared towards partying! Staff are helpful and help with tours and coach booking. Lockers in rooms big enough to fit backpack and smaller locker boxes by your bed. Only issue was there was sick in the showers almost every morning from the party goers the night before. They have a luggage storage room which I used to keep my backpack in when I went up to Sapa

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and leave us some feedback. I am glad that you had a good time staying with us. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the facilities that we provide and I am very happy to see that our staff were able to help with booking tours as well as your onward travel. Hope to see you again in the future and that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

100%

Best stay at the Hanoi Downtown Backpackers! Spent Christmas Day there and had the best Christmas Day to date! Staff are helpful and outgoing!

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am ecstatic to hear that you had a great stay and that we could provide you with the best Christmas you have ever had. Thank you for the feedback on our staff too. We as a team hope you had safe and great travels after too. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

One of The Best Backpackers I have ever stayed In! Great Location, Regular social events, have decent food and drinks, Good shared bathrooms and door rooms. Book the Cast away tour to Ha Long Bay through the backpackers you will not regret it !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and some feedback. I am very glad to see that you had a great stay in our hostel. Thank you for the feedback of the hostel also. I am also glad to see you had an awesome time on our Ha Long bay Castaway tour. Hope to see you again in the future, and that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

97%

It's a party hostel for backpackers. If you want a calm hostel, go somewhere else. But if you wanna party or find trips for young people, this is the perfect place. What's more, the hotel is very clean and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us some feedback. Thank you for the useful feedback in regards to the tours and the hostel. We do have a quieter more chilled out location in Hanoi also. That is the Original Hanoi backpackers, which has a nice chilled out atmosphere as well as a cool rooftop bar that shuts at 9:30pm. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Downtown Manager

83%

Great party hostel, dorm price is reasonable but tours are overpriced. Staff is not very careful but it should be very difficult to work when it is very loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and give us some feedback. I will look into training the staff that procedures are followed through correctly. I hope to see you again in the future, and that the rest of your travels went well. Cheers, Downtown Manager

94%

Such a great hostel, very social and clean with really comfy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hostel. I am glad to see you had a great stay with us. Thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Downtown manager

100%

Amazing hostel. Great facilities. Great Location. Good chill out room. Lots of social people and a decent free breakfast. Custom made beds with lockers and security boxes which you can charge your stuff in. Literally has everything you need. Did free walking tour from here and it was good. It is a party hostel so it gets loud at night but it's fun and gets people involved but don't expect to sleep before 11 as he music is loud. Only one negative is the majority of the computers don't work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Emily, Thank you for your review and feedback. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also delighted to see that you enjoyed our services such as the free walking tour. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Johann Downtown Manager

94%

Amazing hostel! Super friendly staff, great atmosphere and it's relatively clean. Close to good street food and markets, haylong bay castaway was wicked. I was travelling alone and the staff were so helpful. It's a great place to meet people! Would deffo stay here again!!


94%

Would highly recommend. Great atmosphere.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Staff are impatient and unhelpful. The guests are loud and drunk. The room doors slam as soon as you let go of them, making it impossible to sleep, especially with all the guests being so inconsiderate


(92 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback