X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4703 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

I thought the hostel was kind of cool, but it was pretty dirty.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Rooms are really cold and you could compare bathrooms to a hole... For what I payed I got a lot better in the same category of hostels. Besides they say Amsterdam is expensive...


74%

A little bit dirty and a little bit noisy. But they've embraced that and made it part of their marketing. It's definitely a "budget" option, but it's not all bad. Location is decent and security is fairly good (lockers provided, you have to show your key to be buzzed in). You could do worse for you money.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was okay. Clean, big hostel. Good breakfast with hardboiled eggs, toasts, cereals, tomatoes, canned fruits, teas, coffees...


83%

Cold water during showering

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Very unhelpful staff.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was fine for what was paid and for the one night we stayed. Somehow, a person managed to open the door of our room one morning at around 8:30, which was a bit unsettling. Apart from that, showers were in good working order, left luggage room was very useful, lockers were handy and the staff at check in and check out were very friendly.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Locker security wasn't great and could easily be opened without a key, queuing for over half an hour to check Out, friendly staff and good prices on drinks and open late!


63%

It was grand, because we were only there for short periods of time. Found a full unopened bottle of Jager outside the window so if it was a present from the Amsterdam fairy, cheers, if not, then maybe check security again.


83%

Great hostel not too far from the centre, great atmosphere. You get what you pay for in the rooms. So if you're after just somewhere to sleep its perfect

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You know what’s perfect? Your review! Thanks so much!

83%

Low price among the humongous prices for beds in amsterdam. Got bedsheets, breakfast and a bathroom on the room. What more do you want?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ehm, nothing? That’s the answer right? Nothing? Did we win something now? :)

57%

No sound proof doors so you can hear everything and everybody in the hallway and also the club downstairs so not great if your trying to sleep

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are very right about not having soundproof doors. True! We do have soundproof earplugs though, you can get them at reception!

86%

Very friendly staff and great location, cleaners though everyday so the rooms were always clean. 2 for 1 Heineken at happy hour always goes down well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Agreed! And happy with your review! Thanks so much! Hope to see you back one day.

46%

The hostel is what you pay for. The room and bathroom seemed dirty, and it is really noisy if you stay on the ground floor. Do not expect any service from the staff, you are gonna find only the matress in the bed and gonna have to tidy it by yourself. Wouldn't recommend at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! It’s true we don’t make your bed. So you’re right about that! The only one who makes your bed without charge is your mother, and since we’re not her we don’t. The rooms and bathrooms are being cleaned every day though, so it’s a shame you didn’t find it clean. But if you think it’s really bad, you can always go to reception and ask if the cleaners can check it. We hope you still enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

74%

nice place to stay overnight and marketing is unique. Some cleanliness issues - dirty towels

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! But sorry for the dirty towel. They are always cleaned very well, but if you don’t find them clean, you can always ask at reception if it could be changed.

83%

Didn't really expect much due to their publicity stint but it's a really okay hostel. The reverse psychology strategy is smartass! Haha. But seriously, it wasn't that bad! I expected worse because before I went there, I dropped by my friend's hostel in Amsterdam (that was way worse). Rooms are sleep-able and toilets are clean!

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re always happy to surprise in a pleasant way! And good to hear there’s still worse hostels out there… We didn’t expect that.

83%

All you need if you travel with group of friend or just alone. 5 minutes by walk to the party place (LEIDSEPLEIN), 15 minutes by walk to the centre (DAMN SQUARE) and very nice and helpfull reception. Rooms are clean and shower works well :). Also the wifi worked without problems. Breakfast included - great! Hans Brinker has all you need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
And you’re a guest that all hotels need! Thanks for all the love. And for the new square; “where the hell is the DAMN square!!” (We know you mean Dam square, we’re just fooling around) Thank you and lots of love for you!

46%

Only location is good, another have to do improvement, otherwise customer will not come back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We’re happy you at least liked our location… Too bad you thought we needed improvement… We kinda like our run down careless style. But it’s true that it’s not for everyone… Our bar is brand new though, so we hope you hung out a lot there. Thank you for the review!

77%

Great hostel - cheap and secure!


69%

The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is definitely an experience. What Hostelsorld doesn't tell you is that it is supposed to be the worst hotel in the world. However this is not true. It is kind of gross, but you are not staying Ina 5 star hotel. Overall, the location is unbeatable and the beds are comfortable. Would stay there again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(110 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback