Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 5,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 5,256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.1
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Located at Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam.
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1017 GR Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam
76% 5256
52.3635852 4.8880362
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chichto8282
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

Room look like in prison but well isolated from the noises. Good impressions even it's more a hotel for party going people. Staff was very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

This is my second time staying in this hostel and it won't be my last. They even let me do an impromptu show in their nightclub the day I arrived and the place was absolutely electric the whole night! Thank you from me! It made my stay in Amsterdam an unforgettable one! -Matthew J. Bentley [Theølogy]

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
7.7

Good location, hostel was clean. Bar was good to socialise- easy to make friends if you are willing to go up to people and chat to them. Shower was rubbish so used a water bottle to wash my hair, beds were very comfy. Heat of the room was a major problem, it was so hot it was making us feel lightheaded and was uncomfortable to sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
5.4

If you like sleeping in a pool of your own sweat, not being able to breathe cause there's NO fresh air in the room, climbing into a bunk bed with no ladder, using a bathroom that smells disgusting then this is the hostel for you :D !!! Literally the worst hostel room I've ever stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and sorry to hear it was such a bad experience. I guess you've stayed there during some really hot days we had here in Amsterdam? That's not normal to be honest.... Ladders will come real soon in all rooms. So hopefully the next, if there will be...experience will be way better, in winter time :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
6.3

Stayed 3 nights. Room was ok, lockers weren't big enough for any of our 35L backpacks. Breakfast was ok considering it was free, the maid offered extra towels every morning, although they were hand towel size. The shower & the toilet were in one room & the shower wasn't great. It also meant the bathroom floor was always soaked. Our bathroom smelt awfully of drains/sewage, so bad we had to brush our teeth in the toilet near reception on the last day. Ok location, just a cheap, noisy party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Aug 2016
6.3

Too hotter in the room. It was impossible to sleep. the window could not be opened. Beds were dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you couldn't sleep. I know we had some really hot days, normally we don't have many of them.... so rest of the year it is not that bad. Did you check if we could change the beds? Because a clean bed is what you as a guest expect and what we really want to offer.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2016
6.3

Too big for any atmosphere/for it to be good for solo travellers. Mostly tour/youth groups etc. Breakfast very average. Good location however.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We hear different things from solo travellers, when there are many big groups, might be a bit more difficult, but when we don't have groups it's perfect. It's something you can't plan unfortunately. Hopefully you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam!

26th Aug 2016
7.1

Not too clean or easy to fall asleep, but great location and friendly staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! We try to keep it clean, so we will keep an eye on this :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Great party hostel cheap to stay cheap beer and nightclub

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect, thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Aug 2016
6.9

Rude people who had rooms in the hallway screaming and partying until 6am. Couldn't sleep a wink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry there were people being rude and didn't think about the other guests. We expect everybody to be polite and think about this. Unfortunately this isn't always the case....

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.