X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3615 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Awesome atmosphere, couldn't ask for any more. Bar downstairs is the best idea ever, and free breakfast was delicious. Bathroom in room was pretty gross though, and a few guys who I shared a room with were super rude. But I'd stay again for sure

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Some part of the staff were rude. I had the impression that there was quite a lack of organisation. The furniture is old and oxidated. But it is an hostel not expensive and in a good location.


83%

Good beds, good breakfast, good price


63%

We were in twin beds room. Very basic beds (metal frame). No table. 1 chair. 2 vertical metal lockers. No decoration. No dark curtains. 4 small towels. Shower with static water output.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Indeed we have really basic rooms, but we are cheap and provide everything you need for a fun stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

83%

It advertises itself as being the worst hostel in the world, but when I went with my friends, we all had a great time... As long as you accept that it's going to be a budget place, you'll find it just fine. There was a good atmosphere too- loads of other people staying there and the bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This hotel is amazing! You get what you need for a cheap price! Next trip to Amsterdam will be a sure Hans Brinker stay!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, GREAT REVIEW :)! Well, see you soon again then! Hans Brinker

57%

Completly covered in bed bites which is disgusting. Left the hostel 3 days ago and my arms and legs are still red. Youbhave been told about this before yet nothin had been done!!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have mosquitos sometimes during high season, but we provide a spray at reception! Hans Brinker

83%

I really enjoyed my four day stay at the Hans Brinker. The location is amazing, I also really liked the pillows and duvets, the mattress was also better than my one at home. The breakfast was ok however there was not really much I could eat as most of the options were meaty or contained dairy apart from the fruit which tasted like it was canned in the early 1920s. Perhaps a dairy free margarine could be offered? But apart from that I had a good time and would stay again.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We wish we could use the kitchen, but the stay has been awesome anyway!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We don't have a kitchen for common use, but we offer cheap and tasty lunch and dinner at our restaurant and bar! Hope to see you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

Can't get better for the price and location

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! See you again soon I guess? Hans Brinker

74%

Really noisy in the room if you are on the 1st floor and awkward guy at the reception...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we are a youth hotel we cannot guarantee a totally quiet stay. Although we hope you did have a great stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

60%

Very dirty hostel, but it's not like that should come as a surprise.


86%

For that kind of location and atmosphere, it's really hard to beat. Everything is basic but fully functional. Pretty cool that you don't have to pay many extras upon arrival, unlike other cheap hostels. The lockers in the rooms are...soft, let's say. New locks would make it perfect. Would go again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Well, hope to see you again soon! About our lockers, currently we are working on a solution to fix that problem! Hans Brinker

66%

The staff was not the most friendly but they know it and people who go to Amsterdam usually don't care. The hostel is huge with a nice and big bar/restaurant/living room (good breakfast included). Nice garden. Free Wifi but not in the rooms. Small rooms and bathrooms. There is a club in the basement that should be cool (i didn't go but the idea sounds nice). It close to the city centre, you can easily walk there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, Thanks for your review! Actually we do have wifi at the rooms (the same network as in our bar)! We hope to se you and your friends next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

91%

Thx for all guys et very nice happy hour !!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank YOU for staying! See you next time! Hans Brinker

97%

Breakfast was good. The staffs wsa very kind.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Really friendly atmosphere and cheap drinks at the bar! It's within walking distance of everything too, I would definitely stay there again

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, That's exactly what we are :)! Cheap, central located and fun! Looking forward seeing you soon! Hans Brinker

86%

Une super auberge, une super équipe, et des prix vraimenr convenables. I will come back for sure.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Thanks for your review! Well, see you soon then at the bar during our Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

57%

Showing the keys to get inside is not really safe option. Open luggage storage as well as small locker in the room doesn't really help. When you pay extra for your own bathroom, you usually expect it to be clean. No kitchen nor even fridge is quite unplesant supprise for every backpacker. And finally, there is a leaflet at the reception: "Do NOT like us on Facebook". Quite ironic, if you require like on the Facebook to get logged into the wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, First of all, you can rent a safety deposit box at the reception to secure your personal belongings like your passport etcetera. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, so you don't pay extra for it. Besides that, our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Indeed, we don't have a kitchen for common use, but we serve cheap and tasteful meals at our restaurant. Hans Brinker

63%

Poor ventilation in the toilet. Rooms very stuffy as we were not able to open the window.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, You can open the windows in our room, but due to regulations you cannot open them very wide. Although we hope you did enjoy our stay at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(149 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback