X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3745 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really great hostel! Spacious, moderately clean rooms with ensuite facilities. The bar and breakfast are awesome, and cheap happy hour drinks! Luggage storage and elevator were a bonus. The street is very close to everything and easy to find your way back because of the huge light-up "HOTEL" sign on the building that we called our "beacon of hope" :) The constant intercom announcements are mildly annoying throughout the day but you likely won't be hanging out in the room enough to care.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon at the 'beacon of hope'! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

the reception could be a bit more nicer or attentive. the fact they make you like their fb page to get wi fi is boerderline criminal. bathrooms are really tiny and no hooks to hang nothing. its ok for a hostel but with a bit more it could have been a great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, What's not to like about our Facebook page? ;) Hans Brinker

91%

I enjoyed staying there. I stayed in a dormitory. I felt the lockers in the dormitory could have been better, I found it a bit strange that there were lockers beside the beds, but the lockers beside my bed did not correspond with the number of my bed!

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Great you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time! Hans Brinker

34%

The room is very smelly and the air circulation is very bad.. The bed is dirty and quiet dangerous if u sleep on the top bed and most of the locker is spoil... Toilet and room is disgusting..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are located in a very old building, so sometimes the sewerage may smell something during rainy days. We can assure you though all our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day and we definately provide clean bed linen and towels! Hans Brinker

89%

Price:Value

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hans Brinker Hotel: Fun

97%

The room was clean and freshly painted, the whole place was more like a well run hostel than a budget hotel. The main attraction must be the staff who are unfailingly helpful and cheerfull. Somewhat suprised to find two seventy year old backpackers asking for a key , we were rewarded with a big smile and all of the info we needed. A clear case of old meets young and both benefited. Cannot recomend this hotel enough!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Well, looking forward seeing you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

The location was great, we weren't early birds to get better hostel accommodation for our budget and was thankful to have found hans brinker. Linen was clean. Staff at reception very helpful. On the downside, the 6-bed dorm we were in was really stuffy, and very hot. The bathroom/toilet drains emitted a foul smell the entire time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We hope to see you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

well the hotel is really central. you can walk 5min and you are in the middle of Amsterdam though the hostel walls are really thin and there are a lot of loud people in the hostel. also the hotel makes a raunchy impression an the toilet stank.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Indeed we are a youth / party hotel, so we cannot guarantee quiet nights. We can assure you we are a clean hotel as we clean the rooms and bathrooms every day! Hans Brinker

100%

Such an awesome hotel/hostel! Good location and the bar has a great atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Great club, best breakfast and coolest guests :)! Hans Brinker

40%

here's just terrific. the room is so disgusting smell.... I never go there again....

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The rooms may be a bit old, but we clean them every day (including the bathrooms). Hans Brinker

86%

Nice Staff, nice Location.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice bar, nice club, nice restaurant, nice breakfast, nice rooms, nice guests

51%

Extremely basic facilities. Ultra cramped bathroom with lingering pee smell. Prison style bunk with damp sweat smell due to lack of ventilation. Expect mosquitoes attacking you throughout the night, with dead bodies squashed on walls and floors. Only good thing is the free breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are basic, but we advertise being basic! We do provide everything you need for a great stay in Amsterdam, including CLEAN bedrooms and bathrooms! Hans Brinker

94%

Great stay in a perfect location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for being the perfect guest!

77%

We stayed here for four nights and the first two nights were great! Beer vending machine downstairs a nightclub a bar and a restaurant, so that was pretty cool. On the third night we realized we didn't want to stay up until 2 am and that we needed real sleep...that's where this place gets bad. If you want a great night of rest look elsewhere this place is seriously loud.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we are a youth / party hotel we cannot guarantee a quiet night...But why not going downstairs then for a fun beer :)? Hans Brinker

89%

The Hans Brinker is, despite it's advertising, NOT the worst hotel in the world. It's actually pretty great. It's not the cleanest, the staff aren't the friendliest, and the lack of kitchen means it's a hotel experience as opposed to a hostel one. But the breakfast is fantastic, the beds are comfy, and the bar is a great place to meet other travellers. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep properly! The walls are VERY thin!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Although we aren't the worst in the world, we are a true experience, right?! Hans Brinker

91%

Great hostel, the only bad thing about it, is the fact they are serving Heineken instead of any good beers :D


60%

The hostel was mainly used to host big groups for school trips. The average was very young and not very open to meet other people than the ones they went on the trip with. In the bathroom it was not easy to keep the clothes dry for putting then on after showering as there where no hooks or anything else like a toilet seat to place it on. On the other hand, it was perfectly located in Amsterdam. Shops and bars very close as well as public transport.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Breakfast was amazing for a hostel - especially given it was free. The dorm and bathroom clearly had been cleaned for at least a couple of days and was disgusting. The towel had a stain on it. Bar and restaurant area was nice. Very good location - within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We can assure you our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day (even during your stay)! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Great location for a hostel. Minutes away from everything you would want to do in Amsterdam. Only letdown was that we were asked what time we would like to check in, so we put 10am, but once we arrived we were told we couldn't check in until 2pm, so we had to completely re-arrange our day. But apart from that the place is great, there is a nice bar and even a nightclub downstairs. The room was small, but did the job just fine for the price. Afterall, when in Amsterdam, the room is only for sleep

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect location, security is great! Rooms are nothing special but nice big lockers, and a bathroom in every room. Mould on the ceiling in our room and bathroom was pretty gross but nothing you can't deal with. Breakfast was basic but did the trick. Happy hour is great! Also love all their "anti-advertising" pieces. Brilliant! !!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We are aware of the mould in some bathrooms and currently we are renovating that parts. See you again soon at our Happy Hour again? Hans Brinker

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(184 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback