X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3986 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I was placed in a 4 bed room but in the end i was in the room alone. Did not really feel the interaction with other visitor but overall the stay was nice. Breakfast was very good indeed.


69%

Took 23 of us down (men and women aged 17-22) decent location, we were concerned after the advertising but at £20 a night it's a treat. Perhaps the girl on reception could of smiled though.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Solid Hostel.


69%

hostel was ok, probably will be fan for a big group of friends in their twenties. nevertheless, the rooms are so basic and simple, it brings to mind an army camp. a bit of colour in the rooms and a stopper for the shower water would improve the rooms immensely.


94%

Great location and very cheap! The breakfast was not that great, but it was free so it was to be expected. Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone heading to Amsterdam.


71%

Not a bad hostel, not the friendlyiest staff but not bad. No lockers is a bit of a pain


83%

i had a great experience , staff was helpful and friendly loved it will stay there again an dagain

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It is pretty honest in what it is and what it isn't. It is a budget hotel. There wasn't a lot of choices for the breakfast, but there was a breakfast and it was ok. The room was ok. The bathroom was ok. The hotel provides the basics. I am sure that if you are young and don't expect a high-quality hotel, you can definitely stay there. Only the old lockers looked a bit unsafe. Some of them could be replaced.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good place to stay, with good facilities. Free lockers in the room, and no problems with cleanliness and very helpful staff.


77%

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm. The room was pretty clean. But it was very small. The toilet was also small. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just average, nothing too great. Overall, it was pretty good.


94%

Absolutely great, bustling place with a brill vibe. A great place to meet people and get the Amsterdam experience. Just what you want from a youth hostel, can't complain!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Toilet is dirty and bed is a little uncomfortable. BUt location is superb. Right in the city and quite close to Leidseplein


100%

Exactly what we expected. Clean, close to the center and just a few minutes walk from Leidseplein. Nothing luxurious but we didn't ask for it ;)-

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you liked your stay with us, thanks for your review!

89%

After using the shower complete bathroomfloor flooded, a sill between shower and bathroom will avoid this small problem.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your suggestion for improvement. Happy to see from your rating that you did enjoy your stay!

60%

The wifi was awful and trying to get on the top bunk is a bit tragic, but otherwise, it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, your comments help us to improve our property!

80%

The hostel was very good, but I think there are better ones for the same price. We actually ended up choosing it because it was the best one that accepted one night reservations. The only huge downside I see is that they dont have a kitchen, but it was a nice stay..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, glad you liked your stay with us! True that we don’t have a kitchen, but we do offer cheap food (around €6,-) at our restaurant, that’s open daily!

71%

Overall, not a terrible hostel. if you're a neat or clean freak, best stay away. However, the beds and pillows were amazing! Also were great about letting me leave my luggage there during the day after I checked out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and that our comfortable beds didn’t keep you away from the city too much ;) Hope to see you again sometime!

57%

Was an alright stay, however the payphone stole money off me and made me waste about 20 euros, it accepted 2 euro coins as 50 cents, not a brilliant location but not bad,

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that the phone took your mone; phones can be unpredictable. Therefore, normally when you go to reception, we do refund you the money the phone ate (in case you weren’t able to call). Hope you did enjoy the your stay in Amsterdam!

77%

Good hostel in an ideal location which was perfect for a weekend stay! Facilities are good and you cv can't complain for the price! Only problem was we had to pay the full amount on arrival despite paying a deposit through hostel world. I was told hostel world has nothing to do with them and we would have to still pay the full amount! I've stayed in a lot of hostels and never had this problem before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words! Our room rates are 22,50 for a dorm bed. If you book through Hostelworld, you have to pay a bookings fee of €2,50. Room rates stay the same though! Sorry if that wasn’t clear. Glad to hear you’ve had a good time at with us, hope to see you again sometime!

86%

Exactly what we wanted for a 21st birthday weekend in Amsterdam. Very basic dorm rooms but clean and tidy - nothing to complain about. En suite in our 6 bed dorm was a luxury! Best part about the hostel was the bar downstairs - good for a few cheap drinks before going out and helps create a lively atmosphere. The underground club seemed quite quiet so we didn't use that but went to the red light district instead (not too far to walk to). Decent breakfast included as well which is a bonus. 8/10

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your positive words, we’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! And we hope you've had an unforgettable birthday ;) See you again soon?

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback