X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3508 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

good location, cmax 10 min to Red Light (depends on what you are on). Friendly staff, happy hour between 5 and 6 PM. If you are just looking for a place to sleep, this is it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your summary of our hotel :)! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

i'm coming back for shure! great location and we had everything we needed for the stay! sometimes a bit noisy at night! a shelf in the room and in the bathroom would be great!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Looking forward seeing you at the bar during happy hour again! Hans Brinker

54%

Definitely payed for a bed I didn't sleep in...

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We hope you didn't sleep, because you partied all night in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

83%

This is the second time I've stayed here It's basic rooms but efficient and functional The breakfast is great as are all the offerings from the canteen Highly recommend this place if you are after basic accommodation at good price

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Looking forward seeing you the third time in our hotel! Hans Brinker

80%

I love this hostel. Location is amazing, room was very clean and everything was very organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

77%

Great location and cool bar although it is the only place in the entire building with wifi access. Great because it brings people out of their rooms but if youre trying to keep in contact or do anything online past 6 youre out of luck unless you want to be surrounded by loud drunks. Staff wasnt extraordinary nor were they bad, they definitely don´t go out of their way to help you. Having to stand by the door and wait for them to open it no matter the time is also a nuissance.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Great news: currently we are working on wifi on the rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

If you are go for be hangover , hostel is good but if you are couple not a good choice for you its very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Indeed we are a youth / party hostel so we can't guarantee quiet nights….We are the best location though for a crazy time in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

60%

The location and the atmosphere are great but the mixed dorms are not good value for money (too expensive for a tiny upper bunk bed in a sticky room). Too many people in the tiny reception area, impossible to get to the locker. Three members of staff failed to help me figure out how the safe locker works, a bit unprofessional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Although you've experienced some difficulties during your stay, we hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

The hotel is very clean and with great atmosphere. If there is wifi installed in rooms, it will be even better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great news: currently we are working on free wifi in the rooms! Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Nice room, clean and al that. Not the best location but good athmosfer and very safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your review! One thing: we are located on the best spots of Amsterdam: in a quite street, but within a 2 min walk to entertainment area Leidseplein, Museumplein and between the famous canals! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Despite being self named the worlds worst hotel/hostel... It was surprisingly good! It is big and busy. The rooms are standard. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite. Had a shower, toilet, sink and mirror. The linen was clean and beds were comfy. We had issues with loud guests coming home in the early hours and banging on doors etc. Downstairs has a big bar

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, You're totally right, we are basic / standard, but we provide everything you need for a stay in Amsterdam (even a bit more: our own underground club!). See you again soon? Hans Brinker

86%

Real nice, central hostel. Room was spacious, clean, with a private big locker with a key and ensuite bathroom,really good!It's a big and crowded hostel, so there are always people around; there's an inside bar that serves free breakfast in the morning (good) and where you can get cheap food and drinks all day. There's quite the party atmosphere but you'll enjoy it even if you're not really in the mood. I think the best hostel I've been in Amsterdam, very good value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you again soon at out bar during happy hour :)! Indeed we are the best hostel :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

Pros - Lots of choice for breakfast, cheap bar, the food served for lunch and dinner is cheap and tasty, helpful staff, secure building, good wifi in communal areas, very good location! Cons - Bedrooms too hot, beds have no ladders, 'en suite' is always humid and wet and is too small, there are no places in the bathroom to hang your clothes, no wifi in bedrooms, lockers did not lock, no kitchen, noisy, very dirty, I left this hostel with many bites from using the dirty bedding!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. First of all we are currently working on wifi in the rooms. And we clean our rooms every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Hans Brinker

63%

Only having wifi in the bar was really annoying especially at night, other than that honestly the place was fine just not great value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Good news: currently we are working on wifi at our rooms! Hans Brinker

89%

Really awesome place to stay. Night club downstairs which opens at 10pm is pretty meh but we mostly used it as a smoking area as you could smoke down there. There was also an outdoor smoking area that closed at 10pm. The bar offered 10€ pitchers of Heineken, which is pretty good. Breakfast is from 7.30-10am and it's free! You can make your own toast, ham and cheese is there, jam, butter, chocolate spread and peanut butter. Fruit, granola, tea, coffee and PANCAKES IF YOURE QUICK ENOUGH!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you liked our pancakes :)! See you again soon for a pitcher of Heineken and a pancake? Hans Brinker

86%

Good location, bathroom in dorm rooms, free breakfast, cheap price. Everything you need in a hostel and its a good price, stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your short but adequate summary of our hotel :)! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Good hostel in general. Or should I say the worst...


60%

Me and my friend were very lucky to stay in a room with nice people. The hostel is a mess, the bathroom was awful, no internet on the rooms and the staff wasn't exactly nice. Good points: location is very good and you get free breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Good to read you had nice roommates. We have free wifi at our bar, restaurant and club and currently we are installing wifi at our rooms too! Hans Brinker

83%

Me and my mates had a great time perfect for wot we needed somewhere to wash and sleep wot more do u need in amsterdam will b using the hans brinker kept tripping over the girl dribbling on the stairs ... Thanks

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oi, Thanks for your review, mate! See u next time at our bar, killing some Jager Bombs! Hans Brinker

94%

Great place to stay, very close to tourist attractions in Amsterdam. Awesome happy hour, cheap beer and great atmosphere. Easy to meet people if travelling alone

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! Amazing to read you've enjoyed your stay! See you again soon? Hans Brinker

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(121 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback