Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 5,064 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 5,064 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Located at Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam.
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1017 GR Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam
76% 5064
52.3635852 4.8880362
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.7

Staff really nice, very basic hostel really really warm in the rooms :o the bar is nice and the breakfast grand. For the price its ok :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
6.9

This Hostel is really good value for money, the free breakfast included was great. The hotel bar and club were really fun and drinks weren't too expensive. It's a shame they weren't busier but we still managed to have a good time. Despite booking well in advance me and my friend were split up and they put me in a room with no other females. On the second night the men were much older and it made me feel uncomfortable. I think they should try to keep pairs together and split larger groups.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! And sorry you had to split up... we of course Always try to keep friends together. But sometimes it's just not possible..with so many beds and different groups, we do have to split up some of them. Sorry! But despite that it sounds like you had a good time...happy to hear that!

  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

No air conditioning in the rooms. It was extremely hot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh well yes it could have been hot..but we don't have a lot of hot days down here in Amsterdam. So no reason to have airconditioning the whole year while you just need it some days...

15th Jul 2016
7.7

Not bad. Could get more for your money though. Free breakfast is awesome, and much larger than usual. Not the cleanest or best facilities, but it worked for a night or two. Not the best atmosphere, found it hard to meet people. Everything was just okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ok ok...well just ok...not too great, not too bad! Hopefully it was more great than bad :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.4

A great value for money hostel! The staff are friendly and very approachable - the common area is also atmospheric and vibrant, happy hour from 5-6pm is a must! Breakfast was also a welcome addition and the evening meals the hostel served were tasty and good value for money. Briefly looked at the underground nightclub which was a nice addition, but nothing spectacular. We shared a six bedroom mixed with ensuite which was fairly cramped but not completely unpleasant. Fantastic location too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woooow thank you...you've described every little part of our big place! But perfectly...cool :) Hope to see you again!

14th Jul 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed this hostel! The beds were really comfortable and the breakfast was so yummy (free crêpes, toast, fruit, meat, cheese, juices, cereal, milk...). Amsterdam is a very walkable town, so the location was pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cool, thanks for your review! You make me want to have the breakfast... :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
5.7

Smelly, cramped, window opened about two inches. Location was great we walked everywhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hopefully with just enough air? I guess it was!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
5.7

I did not enjoy my stay at this hostel. It was huge!! Way to many guests for the number of staff (who were grumpy) and the facilities (especially the baggage storage room which had absolutely no security measures at all). My Impression of the hostel was a cheap (ish) place to stay with your friends and smoke ( I have nothing against that). Breakfast was good. No culture. No common room. My impression was that all they want is money. Would not recommend to my friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay.... Too bad! It is a cheap place yes, to stay with your friends yes, to smoke..well not necessary, and yes it's a business, but not just about money. But of course we do need to make some money!

  • tamekabowman
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.6

We stayed here for four nights. Close to many coffee shops and the main tram line too which is great. Everyone spoke English and it was mainly older teenagers staying so the atmosphere was friendly and bubbly. Nice outdoor area in the back where you can chill with everyone, guitars and a mini drum kit are available to borrow from the hostel! The club was a decent size and we had to show our key to get inside and we all had individual lockers and keys so the security is quite good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! And sounds like you enjoyed it....cool :) so please come back some day!

  • taram473
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent hostel, you pay for what you get. Basic bed and bathroom, big lockers with individual key. Luggage storage before and after check in/check out and breakfast is included!! Lively social room where there's a bar, smoking area etc. Staff very helpful, location couldn't be any better! Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great review, thank you!!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.