X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3872 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel is very well located, in walking distance of everything, even the central station (of course, if you have heavy bags, it's best to take the tram). The bathrooms are indeed old, but everything works and is cleaned everyday. The breakfast is quite good, especially comparing with other hostels I've been in. All in all, good value for money.


83%

Nice location to stay. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Rooms are good. Bathrooms can be improved a bit. Wifi strength is very good at the lobby but inside room, its poor. this has to be improved. Overall, a decent stay place.


40%

Compared to other hostels that I've been, this one is the worst one.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved to stay on the Hans brinker! Great location, friendly staff and breakfast included. Beds are really comfortable as well!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff at this hostel was not helpful one bit. Every time I would ask them a question they either did not know the answer or gave me such a vague answer that was no help at all. On top of that, they need to communicate more with the rest of the staff as they sent us to a dirty room that was not cleaned yet. As for location, I guess it was decent, a 20 minute walk from most things.


77%

hostel's bar is cheap and has a good atmosphere. but there is a problem: lockers are so narrow, they are not useful.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I was on the top bunk which had no guard rail and also no ladder to get up there. The lock on my locker was broken and the places was just old and run down and bad


80%

I enjoyed staying at hans brinker...the only thing is the rooms are quite small for 4 people. Good and positive after all. Sal

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Went to the Hans Brinker for my 25th birthday with 7 of my friends. we had An amazing time! The bar and club in the hostel was great fun after a night out. The beds were comfy and everything was nice and clean. The staff at reception were rude though that's the only negative! Overall a great time. Choose the HANS BRINKER!!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good atmosphere, relatively clean. Just a terrible smell in the bathroom.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Its a hostel , i dont think you should expect to much ,its cheap living but everything you need , and considering ive now stayed here twice for two seperate trips the fact im still happy with the place has to be good

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Dandy, did what it said on the tin.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The value for money is very good. A ladder for the beds in the dormitory would have been good. Maybe you can ask people to be quiet during the night in the corridor near the dormitory, because it was a bit noisy.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Our shower wasn't too good because, there was not enough water on one point, but everywhere else in the bathroom. The rest was fine. And we would come back at any time :)

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice place, kind staff, perfect location, clean place, good value for money Negative point: towels very small (bring your own), in the "private ensuite rooms" the wall of the shower toilet is a see through glass


100%

Definetely coming back again :) Kisses

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Geweldig hostel. Alles wat we verwacht hadden, daarom dat we er ook al vaker geweest zijn. Great Hostel. Everything we expected. We have been there many times.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good location, the staff is helpfull, my room was clean and great breakfast for the morning ! Best value for money In Amsterdam !

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

We had no electricity both nights of our stay. We had gone out of our way to book a twin room to have a little bit of time out from the dorm life, and we're given no compensation for the fact that we were showing in the dark, without appliances and without heating. The hostel staff (including the manager) are rude, inconsiderate and above all, ignorant. Do not stay here if your life depends on it.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(173 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback