X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4055 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

location is perfect,clean beds everyday,comprehensive staff ! The bathrooms are kinda too small and the street are a little noisy,but you get used to it ! too bad the outside garden lacks of tables and chairs ! Nice stay anyway

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The bathroom in the room was not cleaned up during my 3 night stay (there was a smudge of something in the sink as proof). Also, it smelled as sewer, badly. And it propagated to the room. My particular room didn't have a window that could be opened to ventilate, so the smells piled up. The wifi was HORRIBLE. The lockers were very small, so you couldn't stuff a regular-sized suitcase in there.


77%

I was impressed by the quality of my matrass, it felt like new. The hotel has a bar with happy hour betweem 5 and 6 pm and a basement club open from 10 pm. Great and cheap place in the centre of Amsterdam to party and get to know new people from around the globe.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

good in terms of atmosphere: bar, restaurant and club.. But staff wasn't very helpful: didnt even mention the existence of the club or bar, or the fact that there is internet or basic rules... Didnt like much the room despite having a bathroom (which is a plus): it was difficult to identify the bags (it even led to a dilemma with another costumer) and there should be a ladder to climb to the top beds.


57%

My bedroom smelled like an open sewer with a hint of chlorine. Even for Bans Brinker that's bad.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Absolutely disgusting. Boogers on the beds, damp blankets, noisy room, sewer smell. Don't stay here! You will be sorry!


66%

need much cleaner bathrooms, beds are okay, nice bar & staff. the rooms need an upgrade, esp. the bathroom if someone is to stay for 2 days or more. the ad campaign is nice & funny, but a dirty bathroom can spoil it all.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

Shower didn't work. Staff the most unfriendly people I've met and the whole hostel smelled very bad, especially the bar area. Lockers were half broken and there was blood on the toilet seat when we arrived. DON'T STAY HERE.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location and amazing breakfast The staff is really nice. PS: do not forget to ask about your deposit right away when you make the check out. If you forget, they will not believe you and they will not give it to you. The bathrooms are not that clean/modern but they are ok.


69%

very very basic! very good location! did smell a little of swerage but you get what you pay for! breakfast was okay and free!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good all around budget Hostel, although the bar and underground bar were dead past 12. Staff was a bit uptight because of the amount of people checking in at the same time (i´d suggest getting there a bit earlier than the 2pm check in time, really long lines) but s really clean and organized, breakfast wasn´t bad either.


94%

There were lockers in the rooms that you didn't have to rent. The location was near a busy shopping street, and about 15-20 minutes from the Van Gogh Museum and Anne Frank House. There was a bar with decently priced drinks and a club in the basement. Our hallway smelled gross but the room was fine.


46%

What they dont say on the hostelworld website is that they are proud of their 'lack of service'. Its a gimmick and is kinda funny at first, but when they dont replace toilet paper, let peple scream in the halls at 4am for over an hour straight and dont give you the pillow that you paid for, its no longer cute. Not to mention, I seriously doubt that the bar has passed any health code checks in years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for being excellent at ignoring your complaints… But seriously, when you don’t have toilet paper or a pillow, you should definitely come to reception to report that, and we’ll get you new ones! That comes with the price and should be in your room, and if it isn’t, we’ll get it there. Our bar complies with all legal requirements and is regularly checked. Hope you did enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

83%

The shower was kinda uncomfortable cos the water goes easily everywhere in the bathroom... So, it gets dirty. Also, take into account that it is a hotel for young people: there would be people entering the room really late and making some noise...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, correct that we’re for young people! We’ll take your points into consideration. Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

Very basic hostel, does the job though and is in a good location. Nice and cheap by Amsterdam standards and includes a decent free breakfast. Not great on the facilities side of things though


43%

Wow, where do I even start... First of all, the 'rules' that this place are just stupid. So I booked this hostel and it was fine, they asked what the arrival time was and I put 9am. Not knowing this but this meant that if I didn't turn up on time that my booking would be completley cancelled. So when we arrived they said they had given our rooms away for he second night even though the email says confirm before 12pm (we arrived at 11 because of delays at the airport) Outrageous. Rude staff too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, very sorry to hear your experience with us was disappointing. We state clearly in our ‘things to note’ that if you don’t call us when you arrive later than you’ve stated, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. Even though, we completely understand that this hasn’t been a nice experience for you. We apologize and hope that despite this event you were still able to enjoy your time in Amsterdam.

89%

my locker was almost broken

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the notice, we’ve reported it to our handyman!

77%

Overall Hans Brinker is exactly what they said it is. We stayed during the week so the party crowd had died down a little but they still had a club and bar crawls being offered if anyone was interested. The location is definitely the best part of the hostel! If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your hostel other than to sleep it is a decent price for Amsterdam.


74%

We went there in 7 and stayed in a 8 beds room. The shower and bathroom ensuite were definitely appreciated. The room is very basic, nothing fancy but clean. Only issue, we were not able to open any windows which made it a bit difficult after 7 people showering and at night. Only down-side: no hairdryers available to rent! I would suggest buying some as the majority of people travel without them since most of hostels make them available! Great value for money and good location!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A place to put clothes in bathroom when you're in the shower would be useful as the floor gets completely wet!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we’ll take it into consideration!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback