Hostelworld.com

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 4,788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 4,788 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.2
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Located at Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam.
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1017 GR Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam
76% 4788
52.3635852 4.8880362
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Apr 2016
5.1

Very big but old building, extremely dull interiors, bunk beds felt shaky. There was no common room where you could sit and work or eat if dont want to disturb your rommies. Breakfast is included but doesnt matter. It is till 10 am and so is the check out time. So unless you are used to wake up at 7 am, you wont get to taste it. The walls have funny paintings of bad service of the hotel, but I guess its only funny if you dont plan to stay more than one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Maybe because you've skipped the breakfast you didn't see the big area around the bar where you can sit all day long? And yes of course it depends what time you wake up if you make it to the breakfast..or not.. but it's a matter of choice don't you think so? Well hope you still laughed a bit about the funny paintings and enjoyed your time in Amsterdam:)

  • christinahernandez
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.1

You honestly get what you pay for with this hostel but that not necessarily a bad thing if you're on a budget. Breakfast is pretty solid

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
9.7

Had a great time very central to every place also very friendly staff so over all excellent hotel to stay if traveling to the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow nice high rates, thank you!!

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.7

simply - value for money, next time too i will stay here only.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We like to see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Panama, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Location is not that bad, internet access is only in common room, breakfast is free, it has a nice garden, my only complain was the bathroom, it was in the room, but it seems nobody came to clean it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice hostel overall. Great location right near the canals so it gave it a small town feel...but walk 10 minutes and you're in the city. My one complaint is that the bunk beds don't have ladders (or bars on the headboards/footboards to step on) I nearly killed myself trying to get in and out of bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • karadepp
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.9

Was located in a fantastic spot, easy to get to and get around. Tram station very close for excellent transport links. Budget hostel at it's finest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sounds fantastic and fine and great and...thank you!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

I found the location pretty on point. The breakfast is the best I've seen in a hostel before in particular considering that it's free and when travelling breakfast is your biggest meal (to me anyways). All the facilities to have a great atmosphere were there, bar, big eating area, 'club' etc. However I found that there were too many large groups - and I'm talking 10+ - staying and obviously who just talked amongst themselves which made it close toimpossible to befriend anyone outside you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Some nice compliments, we like that :) We understand that with big groups it might be a little bit different to meet other people, but hey I am sure at the bar there was for sure somebody willing to have a beer and a nice talk? We hope to see you again and than we will go for a beer for sure!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Apr 2016
3.1

Stuff rude, room not clean when we got there and the blankets were in a dirty locker. They really enjoy being the worst hostel, if you want any cleaness or confort, that is not the right place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Too bad it wasn´t a good experience for you. We really try to offer basic but good service. And especially it should be clean. If the blankets were dirty in the locker, hopefully you went to the reception to check this? The comfort is basic in our hotel, but good for what you pay for. Hopefully you did enjoy the city though!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.9

Does what it says on the tin - budget hotel. Really big hotel so not great for hostel environment, although it does have a big bar. Music playing loudly until late at night. Rooms are basic but clean and fine for a couple of nights. Could do with ladders or barriers on the top bunk to stop from falling out! Overall I'd probably just pay a bit more to stay somewhere nicer next time, because although it's cheaper than other accommodation in Amsterdam it still doesn't feel great value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Hopefully you still enjoyed your stay, like the hostel environment in the bar. For Amsterdam it is quite a good rate, so hopefully you will consider to come back next time you visit Amsterdam....

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.