X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4223 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a little dirty and there is no bed linien but anyway is well located and for the price is okay


63%

Ideal for young travellers on the move as I probably wouldn't have liked to stay for more than the one night. Shower was old and dirty. Pillows had someone else's hair on them when we arrived. Staff were mostly helpful but also pretty disinterested. The luggage room isn't the most secure place as we noticed a lot of the bags had been looted. Bar staff were clearly very inexperienced. But good location, breakfast included in the price is a plus. Fun atmosphere.


91%

Loved staying here! The atmosphere was brilliant and the fact that a lovely breakfast was included was a bonus. The bar is vibrant and the drinks prices are a lot cheaper than in the town - 10 euros for a pitcher of heineken! Only criticism - I booked a 5 mixed room for 3 people (female) but we were put into a room for 4 with a lone male who did not speak english; I felt sorry for him as we are loud girls and he seemed very uncomfortable.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Wouldn't say a bad place but definitely wouldn't describe it as a nice stay , main complaint was the room (tiny,smelly and hot) and the noise

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall the Hostel was good for the price & the location is ideal being an easy bike ride to everything & really easy to get there from Airport. The breakfast was great with a nice variety. The bathrooms were the biggest downfall they were small & had no hooks, no toilet seat & nowhere to put your things when you were showering & when you're in a 6 bed mixed dorm this is kind of essential. Also it didn't bother us but if your the type who likes it quiet to sleep, it's quite noisey.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall good. Very basic place... definitely get what you pay for. Wifi was down.... not good. Staff is lame.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re sorry to hear you think we’re lame. We’re not per sé saying it isn’t true, but we would like to know why you think so, so we can de-lame ourselves. Wifi is having some hiccups lately, are solving it. Glad overall you liked your stay!

89%

The hostel is in a great location, has a good standard of cleanliness and all the basics you need for a holiday at a very reasonable price. Our only concern was the... 'Mess' left in the communal male toilets which included blood although that is probably a measure of the clientele than the hostel itself! I have reviewed it as a hostel (which it is and I knew it was), if I'd believed it was a hotel though, I would have expected more!! It also got quite loud some nights so take earplugs!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Please wifi is very important!!!!! Don't lie about having wifi in the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The thing is, we’re actually not a hostel. We’re a place where people go to where they need to rehab from internet. Just kiddin. Wifi is mostly here, but due to the reconstruction of our bar it had been off for some time. We didn’t ‘lie’ about it, it was just broke for a while. Now it’s back in the air!

91%

You get what it says, nice facilities the main criticism is the wifi, which is next to impossible to connect to.


83%

It was a really good hostel, big brekky and good bar. Can be really noisy at times sounded like a rave going on at 6am everyday!

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Apart from liking your positive words,we also like that we’ve learnt a new word (brekky) from you review. See you soon, we hope?!

86%

The worst hostel in the world!!! lol Check in was easy. Was briefed well by the staff. Room was basic and clean. Enough space for 4 pax. The locker was small but did the job. Toilet was clean. Fresh towel everyday. Was pretty lucky because both night, the room was for myself. Met a lot of travelers while staying. Really great and cheap hostel with a perfect location for roaming around Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review, very happy to read you’ve enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

100%

The hostel is huge with a lot of young people. There is a bar and an underground bar opened until 4am. Our room is more than enough for a weekend with friends. The location is perfect, just near the center. The breakfast is not so complete but it is ok. Bread with jam and cheese and some fruit and cereals. I strongly recommnend this hostel.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muuiittoooo obrigado! Love to read your review! Did you know we recently opened a hostel is Portugal (Lisbon) as well? Hope to see you again in either of both places!

77%

Good value. We're fairly certain our camera was stolen from the luggage room here, but to be fair, they had warning signs up to not leave important things in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the honesty! And we are sincerely sorry that you’ve lost your camera; next time, rent a safe at reception, you’re stuff is safe in there!

86%

i recommend, very good


31%

Probably the worst place I've ever stayed. They really embrace being the worst hostel out there and not in a funny way. The bathroom was a joke, beds were terrible, and everything smelled rotten.. Their bar staff didnt know what they were doing and don't get a Heineken, they water them down. Oo and it also felt like I was at a daycare.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Are you sure you stayed at our place? Because we are actually VERY funny. Oh, and never mess with our Heineken. It’s the only thing we’re very serious about

89%

Ideal location within walking distance of Dam Square, RLD etc with nice cafes and shops nearby. Rooms are very basic but if you're going to be out most of the time and just need a place to sleep it's good and comfortable. Wasn't around too much for the events the hostel has but nevertheless there was a nice atmosphere to the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Spot on review, makes us proud! Many thanks and hope to see you again sometime!

77%

Having booked the hostel on a Saturday morning for the same day, obviously defeated the "value for money" aspect of it, since I payed around 25e for the bed. The staff were great, and everything else was just enough of what you would expect from a hostel, especially one that claims to not worry too much about it!

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great B-fast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You’re great!

31%

Within 10 mins of check in, someone came into my room and stole my wallet. There were a bunch of high school kids running around all the time, my sheets were stained upon arrival, and the restroom spelled bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re very sorry to hear about this unfortunate situation. We’ve send you a private message to gain further information about this.

80%

Facilities and rooms are high quality, my biggest issue was that the bar area downstairs was perpetually empty as there wasn't much atmosphere. Not the most social of hostels in my experience but everything else was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Sorry to hear you think we’re not too social, it’s actually what we would like to be… Maybe it was due to the construction of our bar, where normally most social life is going on. We invite you to come and visit some other time to see if you like it better with our bar!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback