X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3871 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Stayed on a floor with an annoying school group. No Internet access in rooms. Communal halls acustics were terrible. Room was dingy and bathrooms gross. Value for money certainly not there compared with other hostels in Europe, I wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day (including the bathrooms), but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. We are a youth hostel / budget hotel, so we have a lot of school groups throughout the year. We are one of the cheapest stays in the middle of Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Very loud in the hostel. Rooms for okay, nothing extraordinary. Nice bar downstairs. I'd recommend to others with the small caveat that the walls were pretty thin, making it a little loud at night in the hallways if people are talking.


20%

They will dont accept your deposit and you will pay more when you arrive

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to see you rated us 1. I do not understand your review. You need to pay 5 euro key deposit upon arrival, but you get it back at check-out. We do not let our guests pay more than what's on your reservation confirmation. Hans Brinker

86%

Showers are not good, but all the rest is pretty good! Good food for not much money, good beer, locations is excellent! Staff could be a bit more friendly, but it's not bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We hope you've enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

When a hotel says it's the worst in the world, you expect much less than Hans Brinker had to offer. The location was excellent, and I liked the common area where you could have a drink or some snacks at a very low price. The breakfast was included, and it was quite satisfactory. The rooms weren't perfect, the shower wasn't very good and the lockers were half broken. And the bath towels were tiny! The halls were noisy and the staff wasn't always friendly, but still, good enough for a short stay.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! As we are basic, we provide everything you need for a short visit to Amsterdam, as we are really central located and have our own bar, restaurant and club :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

Beds and sheets are clean. Toilets are dirty and small, with poor ventilation. It gets flooded after a person takes a shower and the water does not dry up even after many hours. It is a really noisy hostel where people are shouting and banging on the doors at 3am at night. Reception is 24 hours but the staff did not do anything to stop the noise. The hostel advertises itself as a noisy place anyway, so there is nothing much that you can do. Renovation and drilling started at 7.30am!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. We are a youth hostel / budget hotel, so sometimes the place can get noisy. Greetings, Hans Brinker

49%

Poor Staff. Really poor. THERE IS NO COMMON AREA !There’s nowhere where you can seat and read a book while you drink a juice! Be careful with GPS Apps guiding you to the HOSTEL! Some migh point you the wrong way!! The bedroom was infested with mosquitos!! I woke up with more than 10 bites! The locker was half broken, I couldn't use it. I will NEVER stay at this hostel again.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We DO have a common area: there are plenty of tables near the bar, where you can read a book and order a drink. Hans Brinker

89%

Sorry, but the slogan "worst hotel in the world" isn't correct! :D As in every hostel, the quality of your stay depends highly on the other people in your room. The Hans Brinker Hotel isn't a stylish Waldorf Astoria but proper quarters with a cool and freaky atmosphere. I felt very well! The room was clean and newly painted, in the bathroom were two rolls of toilet tissue (!) and the bed had fresh linen. All in all a very good value for money! Only minus: Too less towels, take your own with you!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Fantastic to read you've enjoyed your stay at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Indeed, we are not the Waldorf, but we have slightly lower prices :)! See you again soon? Hans Brinker

83%

Simple - no frippery around the dorm but Practical - all stuff you require in a cheap place Clean - room/ toilet cleaned everyday, found clean sheets and towels (towels were replaced with clean one on demand) in the lock; soap in the toilet. Service - considerin' amsterdam prices, breakfast included is a nice feature for this Polite staff, perfect positionin' between Leidsplain and Dam square; supermarket, at hand (5 mins walkin'). rent-a-bike ( 2!!) at 5 meters from the hostel!

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for you great review and summary of out hotel! You forgot to mention our Happy Hour ;)! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Was a great stay in Hans Brinker Budget Hostel: great localitation, great bar (perfect happy hour), great breakfast.... The only negative is the noise to the people on the street at night ....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Great you've enjoyed our Happy Hour and breakfast! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

What you see is what you get, but it is weel situated (even if it is not directly in the center) there is a lot of restaurant, coffee shop and club around. The staff was helpful and overall we had a great stay. The only "but'' wasthat we did not get wifi in our room but we could always go to the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Actually we are located in the middle of the center of Amsterdam: the Leidseplein is 2 minutes away, just like the Museumplein. We are located between the canals, which is the center of Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

I really liked the staff. The Bar staff were especially nice and welcoming. I had some good conversations there. I slept really well. The mattress was good. The only thing I didn't like very much was the bathroom in the dorm. Everytime one would take a shower the whole bathroom floor got wet and that was uncomfortable. Other than that I had a great experience. Thank you!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts and you liked staying at our hotel!!! We hope to see you again soon for a chat at the bar and a drink at the club! Greetings, Hans Brinker

31%

There were no letters on the beds, so I found a man sleeping in my bed one night i got home. One of my friends found blood and other unknown dirt on the sheets. The cabinets were in miserable state, and you really didn't need a key to get to your stuff - or in that matter, anybody else's stuff. If you have long hair it's almost impossible to wash the shampoo out of your hair with the amount of water coming out in the shower - and lastly - there aren't enough characters in this box for my complai

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Sorry to read you've experienced some downsides during your stay. I can assure you though our bed linen and towels are clean! We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam after all! Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

Rooms/dormotories worse than prison cells. No televisions, poor internet access. The hostel pretends it does not care about the facilities but this is just a poor excuse for bad customer service. By the way don't eat at the hostel, the food is digusting and full of grease.Very basic but cheap. You get what you pay for. Don't expect to get a good sleep, the beds are awful and the noise from banging doors will keep you awake. For an extra few euros you could get a decent hotel.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , We are a basic budget hotel / hostel in the middle of Amsterdam (and one of the cheapest). Our food is freshly made and we have free wifi at our bar, restaurant and club. Hans Brinker

29%

Wow they really are the worst hotel of the world...

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for pointing out what we are proud of!

74%

I stayed there for only one night and I basically went there only to sleep. I think that for this purpose it's a good hostel. Hostels in Amsterdam are very expensive, so if you book with time, you will get a more central and cheaper hostel. They have free breakfast and a happy hour that you pay only one of the two drinks they give you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again next time you're visiting Amsterdam with your friends? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Please have WIFI facility near to the rooms.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your remark. Currently you have use our free wifi at the bar, restaurant, lobby and underground club. Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

Private suit with bathroom was quite poor - bath is a glass doors inside the room, one small towel per person - you can only dry hands with such a towels, I'm not talking about the shower. After shower the whole floor in the bath was wet. no slippers. One can say that this is a hostel - but who will bring a shower towels in vacation? We were really disappointed, and really expected our days end in Amsterdam. Next time decided to get a normal hotel without any surprises.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This is a very basic budget hostel. Rooms weren't clean, cold showers, bed bugs! Awful wifi which they admit to immediately, and only available in the bar/kitchen area. Seems a loud but out of the way hostel. You get what you pay for and that is their policy! Upgrades included are nothing, literally nothing

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay, but I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We are a basics hotel, but we provide everything you need for a great stay in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Remark, curtains rooms could be more opaque/dark and prevent the return of light. My postcards sent from the hotel are very late arrival at destination. We were surprised that the dorms are mixed, but there was no problem.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We send the stamped postcards as soon as possible. The delay of the arrival of your card is due to the postal office! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(2008 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback